View Full Version : Ausfish Premium Membership option

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 08:40 PM
After many requests for a paid subscription with less ads, etc, I have now setup an Ausfish Premium Membership option. This is a voluntary option, you are welcome to leave your subscription as is if you like.

It is a 6 months paid membership to Ausfish.
$39.95 for 6 months, that's just $6.66 a month

You get
Less ads
No video popups
No 728 x 90 top banner
No 160 x 600 side banner
You will only see the banners at the top and through the forums. This may decrease as well as more people take up Premium Membership
Access to the Pemium members Section

More message storage, 500 PM's can be stored

More gallery images, 10 galleries with up to 20 pics per gallery

No charge to post in the Classifieds

Member status will show - Ausfish Premium Member

Payment is via Paypal or credit card via the Paypal credit card system. just follow the on screen prompts. It only takes less than a minute to do.

To take advantage of this feature just click on Member CP - Edit Options - Paid Subscriptions

It is a completely voluntary option.

Thoughts, comments, requests for additional features welcome

Screen shot of what it looks like without the two main ads.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/1noads.jpg

Instructions on how to subscribe

Click on Member Control Panel, located in the top right corner of the forum

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/2noads.jpg

On the next page you will see the following at the bottom of the selections, just click on Paid Subscriptions

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/3noads.jpg

Then on the subscriptions page select the Premium subscription and follow the on screen instructions.

You can pay via Paypal or Credit Card

Have added this to the first post as well.

Tailortaker
04-06-2008, 08:55 PM
Done, thats great, thanks Steve
But no fish in the member level???

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 08:59 PM
Will fix that.

Thanks for the subscription.

How do I get rid of the ant, it will not die?

Simmo2
04-06-2008, 08:59 PM
Dont forget Steve....!!
The secret gps marks section...only for Premium members!

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 09:02 PM
Yep, can do that

Tailortaker
04-06-2008, 09:03 PM
Will fix that.

Thanks for the subscription.

How do I get rid of the ant, it will not die?
Thanks steve,,,the ant is annoying is'nt it ?;D
Cheers Grant

04-06-2008, 09:25 PM
Steve as it stands & the advertising today the site is as great as it has ever been & have no complaints however :-X

I did notice adverts at the bottom of members photo thumbnails in threads today which I don't agree on IMO ;)

As far as subscriptions are concerned I have no issues with that ;D

PS: AF did ask for comments :) good or bad :(

Searaider 2
04-06-2008, 10:08 PM
Geday Steve ,
I just signed up for 6 months & happy to do so .
Its the best value for anything that i've spent on boating or fishing for years 8-)

See you at the River to Mud .

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 10:20 PM
I did notice adverts at the bottom of members photo thumbnails in threads today which I don't agree on IMO ;)

Attachments, images, pics, whatever you want to call them, are a huge user of bandwith, and therefore cost. This was implemented a few days ago to try and off set the cost. There is very little restriction on the number of attachments/pics members can have on the site, which is a good thing as far as the members are concerned. Unfortunately it does come at a high price as far as site running costs.

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 10:21 PM
Geday Steve ,
I just signed up for 6 months & happy to do so .
Its the best value for anything that i've spent on boating or fishing for years 8-)

See you at the River to Mud .

Thanks, much appreciated

See you at the R2M

04-06-2008, 11:00 PM
Attachments, images, pics, whatever you want to call them, are a huge user of bandwith, and therefore cost. This was implemented a few days ago to try and off set the cost. There is very little restriction on the number of attachments/pics members can have on the site, which is a good thing as far as the members are concerned. Unfortunately it does come at a high price as far as site running costs.

Steve,

Not against advertising at all ;) What I don't agree on is if a member (despite there "status") wants to attatch an image to there post (being a fish / boat / or sharing something) for everyone to share :) I don't agree with slapping an advert on the bottom of that image which I saw for the first time today :)

Damo.

mod5
04-06-2008, 11:04 PM
Steve,

Not against advertising at all ;) What I don't agree on is if a member (despite there "status") wants to attatch an image to there post (being a fish / boat / or sharing something) for everyone to share :) I don't agree with slapping an advert on the bottom of that image which I saw for the first time today :)

The advert isn't attached or part of the image, it is on the page below it.

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 11:19 PM
That is correct. The advertising is not attached to the image/attachment. It is sitting below it on the page.

I'll edit the code for you so you can see a gap there.

04-06-2008, 11:33 PM
The advert isn't attached or part of the image, it is on the page below it.

That is correct. The advertising is not attached to the image/attachment. It is sitting below it on the page.

I'll edit the code for you so you can see a gap there.

Multi quote :P

I know it's not part of the image or attatched but it is in your face when you just want to see someones image they have specially selected for us to see and/or admire :)

I'll leave it at that ;)

sleepygreg
04-06-2008, 11:36 PM
Would love to sign up, but i dont have a credit card.....how do i do this?

Hornet Rider
04-06-2008, 11:39 PM
Dont forget Steve....!!
The secret gps marks section...only for Premium members!

Steve,

secret gps marks section?? fact or fiction?? if fact, I'm in on a Premium M'ship.

cheers, Mark

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 11:51 PM
Multi quote :P

I know it's not part of the image or attatched but it is in your face when you just want to see someones image they have specially selected for us to see and/or admire :)

I'll leave it at that ;)

No different to the way the rest of the site works, viewing a post, PM, etc

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 11:54 PM

Just setup a Paypal account, you can use your Bank Account if you don't have a credit card.

See http://www.paypal.com for details

Ausfish
04-06-2008, 11:58 PM
Steve,

secret gps marks section?? fact or fiction?? if fact, I'm in on a Premium M'ship.

cheers, Mark

A GPS marks section can be setup just for Premium Members. It would be up to the Members to add the marks.

Ausfish
05-06-2008, 12:05 AM
Make that - A GPS Marks section has been opened for Premium Members.

kingtin
05-06-2008, 12:18 AM
It's late..............the deckie has just come home after being run off her feet................SORT THE HEALTH SYSTEM RUDD!.................I'll sign up tomorrow.

Mindi
05-06-2008, 02:28 AM
Why would you want to divide the community..? ignore the ads. Personally I wouldnt subscribe, and knowing that I was only in part of the forum and there was an "elite" elsewhere I would lose interest. I would be very surprised if the forum didnt suffer from doing this. I was talking to a member tonight who is selling his new boat under financial pressure of rising interest rates and costs...fishos like him are not going to pay $40 for 6 months.Sorry to be a dissenting voice but I think this is a bad mistake. Much better to reduce operating costs by limiting posts to one photo or other cut backs.

Even though I think this one is a really bad idea wnat to congratulate admin on running a really good board.

sctj88
05-06-2008, 05:32 AM
Sounds like a good idea

BobbyJ123
05-06-2008, 05:39 AM

Me, too, only cheque.

05-06-2008, 06:21 AM
I'm in favour.

It will allow those running it to take the pressure off trying to find money to run it.

It will give Ausfishers more bragging space (for those that need it - I can't catch fish, so I don't need it!);)

I had asked myself previously how these folks manage to run this without personal cost. Many thanks for doing so, I bet it's been more for love than money. I very much appreciate it!;D

$40 for 6 months? Hell, that's chook feed for the majority, and it's the majority that have to be catered for.

I think it's well done to have the no paid option. It is important to retain full content viewing for this option - the gps section won't show any really funky spots anyway, if I know fishermen!:P

05-06-2008, 06:31 AM
Steve,

It amazes me how you continue to offer great innovations, upgrades and options to this site. It just goes go show that you listen to the membership and have your finger on the pulse.

If everyone had seen the humble beginnings of Ausfish, they would now be appreciative of how far it has come and how it keeps up with the times and in fact is a market leader.

One of the most attractive offerings of the site is its ' options ', you have a choice... most internet forums will NOT offer this.

All innovations come at a cost to the Administrator and it is up to them how these costs are funded or absorbed. By offering choices to the membership, creates the options, this is probably similar to buying a new car... still a great car and will do everything you want it to, but you can have the extras at a nominal fee, the choice is yours.

The current offers are fantastic, nice work.

I'll get working on my GPS submission list asap. ;)

Sea-Dog
05-06-2008, 06:39 AM
Just a suggestion - Make it a straight $40.

When I'm charged 95 cents on the end of a price, I feel like I'm being ripped off somehow.

To me, $40 sounds better than $39-95

Its a two figure amount, rather than a four figure amount.

Well, it makes sense to me anyhoo. :P

Cheers, Ross

uripper
05-06-2008, 06:53 AM
.....just follow the on screen prompts. It only takes less than a minute to do.

feeling like such a dumb @rse - can't find the link to sign up ????
where is it please ??
Mal

05-06-2008, 06:57 AM
Personally I have no problems with the adds.
As a small business person I understand your need for advertising to cover running costs.
As Mindi stated earlier, I would be hoping elitism doesn't raise its' ugly head, though I doubt it will, given the quality of the membership.
I am a member of quite a few similar sites both here and OS, IMHO this is by far the best in Aus and certainly equal to anything OS.
For me it is the quality of the membership that make this site so good, most folk are fair dinkum, happy to both give friendly helpful advice and receive it from others, and most importantly from my (older) POV, happy to embrace the concept of respecting others and their sometimes contrary opinions. It is this wonderful maturity of attitude that sets this site apart, IMHO.
Whatever you want/need do in your wisdom as site owner/administrator/moderators etc is fine by me.
I appreciate this site very much, but at this point I am happy to remain an un-subscribed member. I thank you for the choice, and for the opportunity to remain an active site-member.
Best wishes, nigelr.

05-06-2008, 07:02 AM
I have been on ausfish since 2001 - close to the beginning - and I am not thrilled with this. I am not poor, but I do watch how I spend my money. I think it will split this site into the elite and the rest. I'll put up with extra adds for now and see what happens.

I would prefer a user pays system. Make those people who want to post heaps of photos and have galleries pay a small additional cost for the privelege.

Last thing, a bit more transparency might help convince me and maybe others to bear the extra cost. What are the running costs for this site? Tax deductable? What is the advertising revenue you make? Are the moderators paid?

Lapras
05-06-2008, 07:02 AM
Just like to reiterate that this site does a great job. I just subscribed, although the ads and speed never really bother me as I have a pretty fast connection. I look at it as a sign of support more than anything.

As for having an elite area (like GPS marks), it doesn't bother me too much, but why not allow PLATINUM members to also get access. That way anyone who is true committed to the site is rewarded.

Keep up the good work, it is truly appreciated.

MarkDiver
05-06-2008, 07:09 AM
I thought the site was fine as it was - bloody good in fact.
I was happy to pay the small amount for listing in the 'for sale' section.
I guess this in not a poll and you've already made up your mind about this however I would've suggested increasing the price of advertising to cover costs e.g. compare listing price v.s. the likes of bo@tpoint or other websites.
I'm not going to rush out and spend the $40 but I may come around later, I won't argue with the owner because...

Keechie
05-06-2008, 07:24 AM
great idea steve i will get this onto my to do list, and i will pay asap.

regards,
keechie

05-06-2008, 07:31 AM
will the premium memberships be divided into categories also to show how long the person has been around on ausfish?

05-06-2008, 07:37 AM
I think it is a bad idea.

Apart from the regulars that frequent and post a lot, there are many lurkers that come on and view. When you open sections that are only available to paid up members, these lurkers will reduce in number. Which will reduce the overall numbers on the site. Possibly reduce the advertising income. Of course I have nothing to back this up. It is just what I think will happen. I lurk on a couple of sites, but not a member. If I found that I was only seeing part of those sites, I would stop visiting them.

I suppose there are 2 parts. The fee, and the paid members only section(s). Keep the paid section if you like, but don't exclude non paid members from anything.

rob tranter
05-06-2008, 07:59 AM
I don't care either way.

I enjoy reading whats on here, and joined so I could comment and be part of it all.

Have since met some great people, and had some great times, seen some great places.

I would join the Eletest's if I thought it would benefit me, and may do, but at this stage I don't see the need for me personally, alllthoooouugh the thought of being an ELETE and rubbing others the wrong way, hmmm;)

Steve is that GST Inclusive for the tax minded;D

Mate you have to cover costs and that's a fact of life so go for it, those that wish to become Premium members will and those that don't? well some of them will whinge as seen.:'(

Last thing, a bit more transparency might help convince me and maybe others to bear the extra cost. What are the running costs for this site? Tax deductable? What is the advertising revenue you make? Are the moderators paid?

You have to have enitial cost first and there is none, so what's extra cost?:P and as it is Steve's business, we don't really need to know.

Just my opinion

Rob T8-)

05-06-2008, 08:06 AM
I think it's on the money:) but personally it is neither here nor there atm, will be interesting to see where it goes, cheech's comment above might hold some reality given time. There has been a captains club on another site for years I have noticed, not sure if it was more of a charity like payment that didn't exclude, not sure if this one strictly does or not, people can be pretty fickle regardless, given a little time might see the mods big red button getting a workout over in economy class LOL!

05-06-2008, 08:06 AM
I visit Ausfish nearly every day and then a few times a day when I'm around. I guess for those for whom the advertising/speed thing is an issue an unencumbered premium membership access may have benefits.

Extra PM space? Just means I accumulate more - anything i want to keep a recod of i do a copy paste and drop into my ausfish file so that's not so much an issue for me,

Extra photo gallery space? again currently not an issue as I haven't set one up.

As far as elitism - it will only happen if we allow it to. As far as dividing the site or discouraging visitors, time will tell.

GPS marks??? We mostly find our own, wouldn't want to profit at the expense of someone elses hard work.

Steve, its your site, there are costs, if the $40 is an expression of support - It's only a carton of beer and I'd reckon most blokes here would not have a problem and shout you one every 6 months for the privelege of participation any way, and you've kept the door open for those who want participate who don't like a drink so no harm donw.

I gues its one of those suck it and see things...if the visitors or numbers drop off, it might need to be reviewed, but I would expect as costs are escalating everywhere, there will be a lot more user pays stuff emerge. I know of churches where parents pay to have their kids in sunday school or creche now - what ever happened to Christian Chivalry???

But Ausfish is an enterprise so no problems here with your proposal.

05-06-2008, 08:07 AM
I think it is a bad idea.

Apart from the regulars that frequent and post a lot, there are many lurkers that come on and view. When you open sections that are only available to paid up members, these lurkers will reduce in number. Which will reduce the overall numbers on the site. Possibly reduce the advertising income. Of course I have nothing to back this up. It is just what I think will happen. I lurk on a couple of sites, but not a member. If I found that I was only seeing part of those sites, I would stop visiting them.

I suppose there are 2 parts. The fee, and the paid members only section(s). Keep the paid section if you like, but don't exclude non paid members from anything.

Hey Cheech is right - if we get rid of Lurkers we might not get so many bogus ETEC threads, and we won't have anywhere near as much fun!;D;D;D;D

Ausfish
05-06-2008, 08:10 AM

Me, too, only cheque.

See reply number 18 to this thread

05-06-2008, 08:12 AM
Timi - you are reprehensible!!!!! (pronounce the R as "w" in true life of brian fashion!)

tasreeling
05-06-2008, 08:18 AM
I will sign up. Its a good idea. Next pay.

THX

kingtin
05-06-2008, 08:27 AM
To save doing more than one transaction (now) Steve. Have you considered a nominal fee (say 10 bucks) for kids who's dads have already signed up?

The full cost might prevent some kids from hitting the site in their own rights and using their parents accounts, thereby reducing the overall picture of membership.

05-06-2008, 08:31 AM
To save doing more than one transaction (now) Steve. Have you considered a nominal fee (say 10 bucks) for kids who's dads have already signed up?

The full cost might prevent some kids from hitting the site in their own rights and using their parents accounts, thereby reducing the overall picture of membership.

Hi dad! will be around this weekend I swear..see you then.

your loving son;D

Sorry but that door was left wide open, good idea though.

DR
05-06-2008, 08:37 AM
for me the jury is still out on this one.

The ads don't bother me..
I think it may lead to an 'us & them' attitude from some, these will probably be the first to deny that will happen..you will always get the diehard loyalists to pay..
I doubt you will get any decent GPS marks anyway;D
As stated before, having to pay for full access will stop a lot of lurkers from bothering..

& does this mean if we are paying for membership that mod5 will leave all as is or keep putting his own personal slant on things??;D

Ausfish
05-06-2008, 08:41 AM
As for having an elite area (like GPS marks), it doesn't bother me too much, but why not allow PLATINUM members to also get access. That way anyone who is true committed to the site is rewarded.

Keep up the good work, it is truly appreciated.

Great idea, thanks, it has been done. Platinum members now have access to that area.

backlash08
05-06-2008, 08:41 AM
great idea Steve, I'm in
thanks

05-06-2008, 08:46 AM
As far as elitism - it will only happen if we allow it to. As far as dividing the site or discouraging visitors, time will tell.

Steve, its your site, there are costs, if the $40 is an expression of support - It's only a carton of beer and I'd reckon most blokes here would not have a problem and shout you one every 6 months for the privelege of participation any way, and you've kept the door open for those who want participate who don't like a drink so no harm donw.

If some elitism develops, there are enough hard nuts on this site to squash it. The wankers will rise to the top and they can be skimmed off!

I'm going to keep to putting in 40 bucks. If everyone shouted him beer I've no doubt the quality of the site would rapidly descend!!!!;D;D;D

Mtx
05-06-2008, 08:46 AM
all Paid. happy to support the site

Little grey men
05-06-2008, 08:52 AM
$40....geez, the amount of information and genuine help I've gathered from this site, the people I've met and the things I've been asked to participate in is well worth $40 I'd say.
I'm signing up now ;)

A more than happy little grey man.

imnotoriginal
05-06-2008, 08:59 AM
Hmm, I love that Steve is so keen to keep the members happy, but I just don't want to see the site split by premium and non-premium members. I'd personally keep the premium members only content to a minimum, just so everyone who can't afford it doesn't feel left out.
Joel

mod5
05-06-2008, 09:07 AM
Are the moderators paid?

Yes Jeremy we are paid on a commission basis ......... so much for deleting dumb posts, more for aggressive posts and even more for abusive and threatening posts with the price continuing to rise in categories.

I am disappointed that we get very little for simply moving a thread to the right board because someone is too lazy to read the board headings. Infractions and warnings although necessary, don't pay much either.

The big money though is in banning someone. A spammer is well worth my being here. They pay reasonably well. Don't get a real lot for new and bronze members but it's ok. Silver and gold are pretty good but its the platinum blokes where the big bucks are. They pay for my holidays.

However, still waiting for the boss to put a price on the head of one of these premiums. I reckon that's where the money is going to be in the future.

Actually it's all said in jest, and no the Moderators don't get paid, and this post is like a lot here on Ausfish - full of crap but helps to get the post count up. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

the gecko
05-06-2008, 09:07 AM
This all looks like a great idea.

If the pages will load faster, then Im in. Im usually on ausfish while Im at work, and so time is money. My question is how much faster will the pages load without SOME advertising?

Perhaps a 7 day free trial will improve the takeup rate. Is there anyway this can be done?

PS - well done on paypal too. Nice to see us keeping up with the latest technology

Bubba Gump
05-06-2008, 09:14 AM
I have spent more on things I have never used, $40 for something I use every day is a bargin!

Rosco4x4
05-06-2008, 09:21 AM
40 clams is fair.

snatch
05-06-2008, 09:21 AM
Black-Rat I think it is trivial.

Awesome website. Like the fish ,I'm hooked.

Mindi
05-06-2008, 09:23 AM
Well I am in a very small minority with concerns about this so that noise you just heard was me pulling my head in. I dont think I am poor..but retired and "OK" ..probably wouldnt spend the $40 each 6 months but hey...! that may be no loss to the board.
Whatever happens it is a great forum, and Steve is to be congratulated for a superb job.

05-06-2008, 09:29 AM
So where do we sign up? I've been scanning for an hour with no joy - bit like fishing lately, maybe it's me after all????

mod5
05-06-2008, 09:32 AM
So where do we sign up? I've been scanning for an hour with no joy - bit like fishing lately, maybe it's me after all????

It's in the first post. Go into your Member CP then Edit Options then Paid Subscriptions

05-06-2008, 09:47 AM
It's in the first post. Go into your Member CP then Edit Options then Paid Subscriptions
now come on mod 5, that wasnt really a good value answer, you do need to earn your money. Nest time a more graphical answer, pics and all that stuff.
By the way Steve, I'm in and in the long term think it will have a positive outcome.

Ausfish
05-06-2008, 10:07 AM
Hmm, I love that Steve is so keen to keep the members happy, but I just don't want to see the site split by premium and non-premium members. I'd personally keep the premium members only content to a minimum, just so everyone who can't afford it doesn't feel left out.
Joel

I can not see where people are getting this idea of splitting the site, elitism, etc.

You either have ads or you don't have ads. It is your choice. Members wanted a way to get rid of ads and video ads and said they would be happy to pay, so I gave them the option.

Some people are simply doing it to show support, others to get rid of the ads and show support, it is your choice.

The only difference is you get access to a GPS section, which by the way is empty. It is for GPS marks only, no other discussion is allowed.

SCOTTYGC
05-06-2008, 10:30 AM
done
i need all the help i can get with fishing

thanks

scotty

Fish Guts
05-06-2008, 10:44 AM
i think im in the minority but i dont support the subscription. Dont get me wrong its a great site, but i dont see the benefit in paying $80.00 annually to:

1- to simply not see advertisments. ( i didnt think they were that intrusive ?)
2- look at a gps marks section
3-to increase an inbox storage.
4- have no charge to put in classifieds (is there a limit ?)

I understand that a few appreciate the site and will pay the $39.95 as gratitude and support, but i hardly see this as getting value for money. Dont block or ban me for this but il be honest. I see this as a money spinner for little to no benefit to members, apart from the 'PREMIUM' status some might use to their advantage.

cheers, and thanks for a great forum.

Fish Guts

Didley
05-06-2008, 10:55 AM
Yes Jeremy we are paid on a commission basis ......... so much for deleting dumb posts, more for aggressive posts and even more for abusive and threatening posts with the price continuing to rise in categories.

I am disappointed that we get very little for simply moving a thread to the right board because someone is too lazy to read the board headings. Infractions and warnings although necessary, don't pay much either.

The big money though is in banning someone. A spammer is well worth my being here. They pay reasonably well. Don't get a real lot for new and bronze members but it's ok. Silver and gold are pretty good but its the platinum blokes where the big bucks are. They pay for my holidays.

However, still waiting for the boss to put a price on the head of one of these premiums. I reckon that's where the money is going to be in the future.

Actually it's all said in jest, and no the Moderators don't get paid, and this post is like a lot here on Ausfish - full of crap but helps to get the post count up. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Mod 5, I detected a sense of humour there, does that come with premium membership? I'm on 5 non-expiring Infraction points, do I get extra on "Premium Membership" or do I just loose my 40 bucks as well as a holiday.;)

05-06-2008, 10:59 AM
wow..so much discussion over about 21 cents a day..amazing. As said..you either want the ads or you don't.
I rarely get PM's...never catch any fish to bother having more pic space...but I will still pay the money.

OMG..Mod 5 has a sense of humour...will wonders never cease!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mod5
05-06-2008, 11:00 AM
Mod 5, I detected a sense of humour there, does that come with premium membership? I'm on 5 non-expiring Infraction points, do I get extra on "Premium Membership" or do I just loose my 40 bucks as well as a holiday.;)

this post is like a lot here on Ausfish - full of crap but helps to get the post count upI see your still trying to get your post count up Didley.

Fish Guts
05-06-2008, 11:05 AM
Will premium members be dealt with the same as non-paying members in regards to infringments ect ?

mod5
05-06-2008, 11:13 AM
Will premium members be dealt with the same as non-paying members in regards to infringments ect ?

All members are required to comply with the rules of Ausfish. A copy can be seen here http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=54614

cbruh1
05-06-2008, 11:14 AM
A couple of things, firstly I am all for a membership, am suprised it hasn't come up earlier. The adds don't really bother me and the speed issue isn't an issue as it might make it quicker by about 0.1of a sec. So I am more then happy to pay the $40 for the memebership as Pinhead said its only 21cents a day. I think the membership as support for the running costs of the site and its a small price to pay for a great site.

Steve/Moderators

I have tried to subscribe but the following msg come up-

"The email address or credit card has already been added to a PayPal account. If you have already opened a PayPal account, enter your email address and password into PayPal Checkout and click Log In. Otherwise, enter a different email address or credit card number to complete your purchase."

I don't have a PayPal account that I am aware of. I used the credit card option. Anyhelp would be apprieciated.

Reel Nauti
05-06-2008, 11:23 AM
Personally, I feel a sense of loyalty to Ausfish and to Steve Brown. I believe a subscription is a good thing as I'm sure it will free Ausfish up for further innovation. When we speak of 'user pays' we all use the site, I think primarily as a means of entertainment and enjoyment, as well as the educational component, therefore a subscription fee is well justified in my opinion.

However, presently being out of work puts me in a situation whereby I simply cannot afford to pay at the moment, but I will when I can.

I wish this had come up last year, as this year seems to be one which has become considerably expensive for boaties. Fuel prices, now rego increases, and now $80 for Ausfish. I know it's voluntary whether to subscribe or not, but I think the timing is a little out.

Steve, please don't take my post as a slur on the site or on your decision. I have much to thank Ausfish for, some good friends, hours of enjoyment, and a lot of lessons. I am grateful for all that is offered, and will pay my subscription when I can release the belt a bit.

Many thanks

kingtin
05-06-2008, 12:06 PM
Hi dad! will be around this weekend I swear..see you then.

your loving son;D

Sorry but that door was left wide open, good idea though.

Nah! The membership of dad and offspring would have to come from the same email address.................... easily policed.

scorpionNQ
05-06-2008, 12:29 PM
Im with fish guts on this. It is a great site, no doubt about it, but I don't use it as much as others, and the things in question do not bother me either,

HOWEVER if it was an annual subsciption of $40, or choice or 6 months for $20 (just like rego) you may get more support and obviously more subsciptions. Most at the moment are watching there pennies, and may feel that $40 for six months is a bit rich.

Cheers anyway.
Lee

Mrs Ronnie H
05-06-2008, 01:36 PM
Hi Steve

Just logged on and saw the message. Thought I was in trouble for a minute.HEHE
On my work computer now so will sign up when I get home.

PS-- If you work out how to kill that ant let me know--- better still when we catch up to Grant we can swat him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ronnie

battler1
05-06-2008, 03:06 PM
I Agree i would just go to anther Fishing Website as my name says Battler ! don't you guys make enough bucks from Sponsors ? or are you to hungry ? You will drive people away ! GPS Marks they are every where these days ! Maybe if you got something for you buck like a Shirt a Hat you might have a chance but other wise it will fail.You need to get more Sponsors to the site that are in Australia Like Lowrance Shimano Silstar Furuno & all other Australia fishing wholesalers and this might get you some more cash in the bank and it will keep the posts coming as with out posts you have nothing.

Regards Joe.

Why would you want to divide the community..? ignore the ads. Personally I wouldnt subscribe, and knowing that I was only in part of the forum and there was an "elite" elsewhere I would lose interest. I would be very surprised if the forum didnt suffer from doing this. I was talking to a member tonight who is selling his new boat under financial pressure of rising interest rates and costs...fishos like him are not going to pay $40 for 6 months.Sorry to be a dissenting voice but I think this is a bad mistake. Much better to reduce operating costs by limiting posts to one photo or other cut backs.

Even though I think this one is a really bad idea wnat to congratulate admin on running a really good board.

kingtin
05-06-2008, 03:25 PM
I Agree i would just go to anther Fishing Website as my name says Battler ! don't you guys make enough bucks from Sponsors ? or are you to hungry ? You will drive people away ! GPS Marks they are every where these days ! Maybe if you got something for you buck like a Shirt a Hat you might have a chance but other wise it will fail.You need to get more Sponsors to the site that are in Australia Like Lowrance Shimano Silstar Furuno & all other Australia fishing wholesalers and this might get you some more cash in the bank and it will keep the posts coming as with out posts you have nothing.

Regards Joe.

You're missing the point Joe...................it's voluntary. You don't need to pay or go to another site, you just need to accept that you have to put up with the advertising if you don't pay.

Personally, if I can afford it then I pay it, there's no principles involved here as far as I'm concerned. I like the company here and don't need to go to another. I'll pay because I can and it's a way of showing appreciation and getting rid of those bloody pop ups. Some like a fag, some like a bet on the horses........I like speed at my 'puter and clean pages.

As for "getting something for your buck like a shirt or a hat" I think the fact that we get good knowledge and the company of good members, is priceless, and the fact that it is free is even more priceless. How many clubs nowadays don't have an annual membership fee. It's all about what value you place on that club, I'll pay seperately for my shirt and hat, thank you.

Like I say, it's voluntary so there's no issue as far as I'm concerned and certainly no need to tell the owner how to raise revenue from his own business.

Riv_71
05-06-2008, 03:28 PM
Good idea if it helps the site survive and grow as well as keep the free aspect as well i think its :thumbsup:

As for deviding the site into the elite and the others i cant see that happening iv been a member of other forums and the same system has been used with nothing like that happening.

Also i wont be taking the premium membership option at the moment as i dont think it will benifit me, once i have a boat however and those GPS marks are needed that may change;)

ashh
05-06-2008, 03:40 PM
if your having problems with the adds slowing things down, and dont want to go the premium way, just use this simple tutorial on how to get the most out of your browser. ;)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=116017

Dicko
05-06-2008, 03:44 PM

There is good money in polls. They should be encouraged, if only for your benefit.

baitwaster
05-06-2008, 03:49 PM
There is good money in polls. They should be encouraged, if only for your benefit.

Hell yeah, I know a poll dancer, and she makes heaps of cash ;D

bondy99
05-06-2008, 04:11 PM
I too dont have a credit card, going to uni fulltime on Austudy payments makes it difficult to pay additional dollars unlike people who are earning a wage and could afford these payments. Any discounts for persons in my situation?

Thanks, Peter

Wahoo
05-06-2008, 04:17 PM
got rid of all the adds long ago, nothing on the left of my screen, and no pop ups...

my wife will be back Saturday, (only one with C/C:o:-X ) and will make my payment then, great idea for this site,

will/do payed members get free ausfish stickers;D

thelump
05-06-2008, 04:49 PM
If you choose to be a platinum dude will your free adverts be seen on battler vision as well??:-/

couta1
05-06-2008, 04:58 PM
ok..........

05-06-2008, 05:37 PM

Well you have certainly knocked off a few of them over your time 8-)8-)8-)

sambos
05-06-2008, 07:10 PM
withdrawn.

kingtin
05-06-2008, 07:28 PM
What about all the youngsters (kids and teenagers)who rely on this site for information to improve their ability.Are we gonna deny them because they cant afford it.

NO THANKS

What the hell are you and some others on about? Have people actually *read* what is written on this thread? Nobody's denying anybody anything, they're simply offering the ability to buy yourself out of the ads with another few benefits thrown in. If you don't want to take up the offer, that's fair enough but to imply that it somehow deprives the membership (and in particular the emotive referral to kids) of what they are already getting is ludicrous.

05-06-2008, 07:39 PM
Its just about your choice as said before, Im not worried about ads etc, I'd be doing it as a sign of support, these sort of sites arent easy to run and maintain and its not a charity.

I was a paying member of a similar setup with a motorsport site for a bit, benefits where less ads, a few specialised articles every once in a while BUT you had the ability of organising the way you browsed the site and what you wanted to see ( ie if you where a F1 or V8 nutter you could choose to have mainly that load up so you didnt have to browse through a lot of stuff you werent interested in. I never got a sense of elitism there.

Like this there was no requirement to pay but also there was no distinction in viewable membership levels either. That i thought was good.

UNCLE NUGGY
05-06-2008, 07:42 PM
just realised ----oh there are ads on here,been to busy reading about fishing to notice
no thanks
UN

mowerman
05-06-2008, 07:58 PM
I was going to say something......

But now I wont.....

Rod..

sambos
05-06-2008, 08:21 PM
ok kingtin
I stand corrected I. interpreted the info incorrectly.
I logged on and thought i had to pay to view in future.And saw red.But after reading again as u sugested i got the whole picture .Some of us are only carpenters after all.l,ll remove my post,but dont see the value in membership.Whose gonna give away good gps marks that will be flogged in no time.you how ever will appreciate the extra photo oppotunities as your ad on the end of your posts suggest.

05-06-2008, 08:44 PM
The way I see it, everyone still contributes the forum so there is no distiction between paid and unpaid. If I pay up, i get less adds and more PM space. Everyone will see my posts if I pay, and everyone will still see my posts if I dont pay. Everyone who pays will see my posts, everyone who does not pay will see my posts.

Why would I pay? The only thing I hate about this forum is the pop up video adds that appears occasionaly, which I have not seen in a while. Is missing that worth $80 a year, probably not. But $80 a year to help keep this place running is less than what I pay for my fishing rag subscriptions. This place provides a lot more knowledge than the fishing rags.

However, if this was subscription only, then count me out. Some of my best fisho mates could never afford it, and we would miss out on a lot of info from some really talented guys. So I am happy to throw in a few bucks to support what I think is a good thing. At the end of the day we are all here for the same thing, so there is no elitism.

kingtin
05-06-2008, 08:59 PM
ok kingtin
I stand corrected I. interpreted the info incorrectly.
I logged on and thought i had to pay to view in future.And saw red.But after reading again as u sugested i got the whole picture .Some of us are only carpenters after all.l,ll remove my post,but dont see the value in membership.Whose gonna give away good gps marks that will be flogged in no time.you how ever will appreciate the extra photo oppotunities as your ad on the end of your posts suggest

Cheers mate. An apology on one hand, and a shnide dig on the other.........a sign of a true diplomat ;D

If you look at my "ad" properly, you will see that it as there as a (free) offer to Ausfish members who may want something to hang on their wall that won't cost 'em an arm and a leg. Just as you jumped to conclusions about this thread, you have jumped to conclusions about me, but hey! I ain't no carpenter as I left school at 14 and was in the army at 15, so perhaps I don't express myself too well. My apologies.

05-06-2008, 09:17 PM
I actually don't mind the ads. I seem to be able to focus on the fishing related content and look past the advertising material.
However it must be said that advertising is a way to pay for operating costs and I don't want you to lose those dollars. I hope they do not see that less people are seeing their adds so they want to pay less.
This will not stop me from browsing the forum and adding my 2 cents and puting up a post of some future trip where I actually catch something.
I have been a part of this site for a long time now and am addicted to it most every night, less I be out fishing. I would like to contribute in the near future to its founders for such an outstanding site. I will just wait and see for now though as the ball and chain is watching all funds at the moment.

I agree with donating on a voluntary basis as this is. Thanks Steve

Dylan_Rylatt
05-06-2008, 09:19 PM
The only reason i think that subcription would work would be is if there was a completely differen section for reports, gps marks and general info. This site has completely changed my life since i joined at least 5 years ago. Met great mates, been on remote fishing trips,caught new species,jacks,jew,snapper on plastics,pearl perch, dolphin fish,amberjacks... and the lists go on and we all have steve to thank for that... i would just like to see maybe a seperate body of information to those fisherman that are that dedicated to fishing/training. that general hawkers arent allowwed to see... and thats what payment would include.
Also maybe a live chat forum would also be a good privledge for paying members,
I am getting married this year and overseas honey moon... i would like just like to more kickbacks for people that join and i'll be there.... again cheers Everyone and thanks for the help ova the years

Dylan

Simmo2
05-06-2008, 10:01 PM
Far out!!
I was gonna quote so many posts on the way through reading this thread!

I have seen this situation occur on other forums.
The whole point of the exercise is not one of making money as such, just some recompense. Ausfish has indicated this is voluntary, you can pay to become a 'XXX' member.... Being an 'XXX' member you should be able to access some stuff that 'normal' members cant..otherwise why would you bother???

Pm's..nup
Ad's... with the faster server...mostly no worries..
Pix....dont catch enough fish...

The idea should/could perhaps be modified and make a user that WANTS to donate to the upkeep of the site...a sponsor....
You could perhaps have bronze, silver gold etc...sponsors... (not advertisers...)
$5, 10 $50 $500...etc...

The gps marks thing originally posted by me was a little bit of a jest.

Certainly, if there were a section that included this, It would be good, no doubt. Perhaps a swap system?? I dunno!!
I would post some of my marks up here, but rock up on a saturday to find 20 ausfish stickered boats on my mark?.......

sid_fishes
05-06-2008, 10:04 PM
me ,i dont care about the pop ups, making the site move faster, just get seamonkey[ its great]. ill pay for it as i do know that steve pays for it. if poeple here that make a dollar from others here[ i to am to blame]made donations from time to time it would be all good.to the guys that ive just done work for , and any in the future i will make that donation. as steve and i spoke about it a couple of days ago. as for elitism i dont think that will happen, the site is for fisho,s buy fisho,s. the bottom is really in this day and age you dont get nothing for nothing cheers guys sid

05-06-2008, 10:54 PM
nail me to the wall if this has been covered,,, but i read up to page 4,,, and i'll stand by my decision,,,

why segregate??

i have no probs in paying 40,,,50,,,100 dollars to enjoy anything that encompasses fishing,,,making new friends and knowing an m&g or a healthy debate on line helps pass the time and creates more friendship

we have seen and heard numerous query's re membership status,,,

understanding 200% that running this board costs $$,,, and also looking outside the square,,, there are a lot of people out there that an outlay of $$ will mean hardship in someway of contributing

my choice,,, is simple,,, i'll pay,, no probs,,,but most of the benefit wont be used

i dont believe in a special emblem to mark my handle that i contribute,,,much the same as mrs choppa doesn't believe in the outlay of branding the truck,,, (trucks) with the ausfish logo

but i still do it,,, and will keep doing it,,,

to me personally,,, i've had the chance of meeting some good people on this site,,, and i'll hopefully continue to do so,,, whether there was ads/pop ups didn't stop it

steve,,,,,,,your still doing a great job either way,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,i still have the bank account details ,,,i think,, if not i'll pm4 it

John Martin
06-06-2008, 12:50 AM
So it's true, everything is more expensive in Australia. A 1 yr subscription to The Hull Truth (US website with same type of system) is US$20 (per annum)

06-06-2008, 06:58 AM
So it's true, everything is more expensive in Australia. A 1 yr subscription to The Hull Truth (US website with same type of system) is US$20 (per annum)

The point is, IT IS STILL FREE. You dont need to pay.

alantani
06-06-2008, 07:41 AM
deleted ........ ;D

Didley
06-06-2008, 09:43 AM
Steve, I'd like to suggest U get rid of the GPS section, nobody is going to post a secret location there and we all know where Scarby reef and Mud island are. Make that forum a general area for Premium members to post anything they want, ie. special offers to those who help support the site financially, some one might want to give something away or be a bit slow at work and able to do trade work at a discount. Anything!

Edtied by Moderator

Regards Dids

Fish Guts
06-06-2008, 09:51 AM
-------------

rob tranter
06-06-2008, 10:06 AM
:-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Rob T8-)

06-06-2008, 10:28 AM
A question if one may.

If advertisers spend money on this site to reach the 25,664 members and the number able to be reached is significantly reduced as a result of this offer (Premium) will advertisers choose to spend their money elsewhere?

Instead of the site being increasingly attractive to advertisers who have up until now been able to reach the exact demographic they seek its attraction may decline particularly as those who no longer have a chance to read the adverts are potentially the early adopters and similar with disposable income to spend and to spare.

This change may well decrease advert readership to the point where advertisers find it far less attractive to spend their dollars here.

On the other hand as membership numbers grow and the reach is enhanced advertising rates could have reflected this.

The current move may result a negative and totally undesirable outcome for all concerned.

At present one suspects the symbiotic relationship between AF members and advertisers has been growing and perhaps this change to exclude adverts etc may not yield all the results that were hoped for.

Time will tell.

Respectfully

John Martin
06-06-2008, 10:29 AM
The point is, IT IS STILL FREE. You dont need to pay.

and I agree (understand that). My point is that if you want to join the Ausfish"membership club" you do pay and IMO it is expensive when overseas sites charge half that for twice as long (ie: $20 / yr and another site charges a once off $20 fee and you've got premium membership for as long as you visit their site, but everything else on the site is free. Membership only allows you to access certain areas and load images/videos etc). This backs up many of the discussions that are held on the electonics forum of this site that equipment is more expensive in Aus. So, it's my observation that it's not only marine electronics that is more expensive in Aus, it's everything, website membership included! That's just an observation......not a complaint 8-)

06-06-2008, 11:51 AM
and I agree (understand that). My point is that if you want to join the Ausfish"membership club" you do pay and IMO it is expensive when overseas sites charge half that for twice as long (ie: $20 / yr and another site charges a once off $20 fee and you've got premium membership for as long as you visit their site, but everything else on the site is free. Membership only allows you to access certain areas and load images/videos etc). This backs up many of the discussions that are held on the electonics forum of this site that equipment is more expensive in Aus. So, it's my observation that it's not only marine electronics that is more expensive in Aus, it's everything, website membership included! That's just an observation......not a complaint 8-)

I cannot work out where you are coming from..membership costs nothing.
I thought it was a simple concept to grasp..if you don't mind the ads then don't pay. If you do not want the ads then pay.

06-06-2008, 02:07 PM
With regard to the GPS waypoint section.

Those who are focusing on secret spot 'X's, ...what about other marks which are important.

Wave Rider Bouys

Cardinal markers

Bar Crossing set-up points

Wrecks

Navigation Points

Popular Reefs ( exposed )

Green Zone Boundary points

Navigation Hazard Points

Bait Grounds

Shark Nets

Dive Sites

Navigation Routes

Channel Markers

FAD's

Public Bars, Suncorp Stadium and Broncos Leagues Club ?? ;) ;D

I have shared and will continue to share certain GPS marks that are proven fish haunts. BUT :-

You can lead a horse to water, but ya can't make it drink ! ;) ::)

Elitism... what the ? are you kiddin ?

OH, did anyone mention registration and use of this site ( baring classifieds over $200 ) is

FREE !!!!

mod5
06-06-2008, 03:37 PM
This section is ONLY for Fishing related GPS marks and is not for any other discussion.

With regard to the GPS waypoint section.

Public Bars, Suncorp Stadium and Broncos Leagues Club ?? ;) ;D

Sorry but Fishing related GPS Marks only ;)

Braddles
06-06-2008, 03:42 PM
Sad day when Ausfish has gone commercial.

06-06-2008, 03:44 PM
Mod5 talking to himself?? Thought I had that masked man pegged! Ok NEXT!!.. on the list!:):)

Cheers fnq

sid_fishes
06-06-2008, 03:55 PM
i,m done ,

rob tranter
06-06-2008, 05:36 PM
Can I just say this

:-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X
;D

Rob T8-)

Bubba Gump
06-06-2008, 06:17 PM
Its amazing with all the talk of supporting local products/tackle shops that people are stressing so much over $40 for a great locally run product. I personally don't care to much about the adds/extra space, I thought here is great product that I have used quite a bit and would like to show my support. The knowledge and help that I have received far out ways the $40 I have laid out. Here is a great product and I am only to happy to help out/support when possible.

Ausfish
06-06-2008, 07:28 PM
A question if one may.

If advertisers spend money on this site to reach the 25,664 members and the number able to be reached is significantly reduced as a result of this offer (Premium) will advertisers choose to spend their money elsewhere?

Instead of the site being increasingly attractive to advertisers who have up until now been able to reach the exact demographic they seek its attraction may decline particularly as those who no longer have a chance to read the adverts are potentially the early adopters and similar with disposable income to spend and to spare.

This change may well decrease advert readership to the point where advertisers find it far less attractive to spend their dollars here.

On the other hand as membership numbers grow and the reach is enhanced advertising rates could have reflected this.

The current move may result a negative and totally undesirable outcome for all concerned.

At present one suspects the symbiotic relationship between AF members and advertisers has been growing and perhaps this change to exclude adverts etc may not yield all the results that were hoped for.

Time will tell.

Respectfully

Advertisers pay to sponsor a category of the forums, that is still there. The other banners are a pay per click, a small number are pay per view. The number of people that do take up the Premium membership will not alter the amount of views for the other banners as there are still thousands of people that will see them.

We have contacted all major players in the tackle and marine electronics industry in Australia and they declined to advertise, except for Fisher Boats. I guess some people can't see the forest for the trees. Hence why we have a US based business advertising in the Electronics section.

We have increased the exposure for these companies that support us by displaying their ad on every page of the category they advertise on instead of just the main page.

Hope that explains it for you.

07-06-2008, 12:03 AM
Steve, I'd like to suggest U get rid of the GPS section, nobody is going to post a secret location there and we all know where Scarby reef and Mud island are. Make that forum a general area for Premium members to post anything they want, ie. special offers to those who help support the site financially, some one might want to give something away or be a bit slow at work and able to do trade work at a discount. Anything!

Edtied by Moderator

Regards Dids

Would have been interesting to read this entire post unedited. May I ask why it was edited?

uripper
07-06-2008, 07:06 AM
Fair dinkum people, I cant believe the idea of a paid membership is creating so much dribble :computer: .

Frankly, if I were the owner of this site, I would have no hesitation in introducing a paid membership for EVERYONE.

Those who think its not worth $50 or $100 a year can simply BUGGER OFF.

Mal :angryfire:

07-06-2008, 08:53 AM
Sorry Mal, don't agree with your 'bugger off' statement.
I could say more, but I choose not to.

07-06-2008, 09:29 AM
Fair dinkum people, I cant believe the idea of a paid membership is creating so much dribble :computer: .

Frankly, if I were the owner of this site, I would have no hesitation in introducing a paid membership for EVERYONE.

Sorry Mal, don't agree with your 'bugger off' statement.
I could say more, but I choose not to.

Great way to welome new people to the site ::)

07-06-2008, 09:37 AM
Advertisers pay to sponsor a category of the forums, that is still there. The other banners are a pay per click, a small number are pay per view. The number of people that do take up the Premium membership will not alter the amount of views for the other banners as there are still thousands of people that will see them.

We have contacted all major players in the tackle and marine electronics industry in Australia and they declined to advertise, except for Fisher Boats. I guess some people can't see the forest for the trees. Hence why we have a US based business advertising in the Electronics section.

We have increased the exposure for these companies that support us by displaying their ad on every page of the category they advertise on instead of just the main page.

Hope that explains it for you.

Well there you go, if the near absolute number of industry players her in oz will not support ausfish for the very clients they would expect to purchase from their Australian arm or national/state business why should those potential ausfish member clients also support them?

Far more logical and also better financially for members to take a leaf from their industrys marketing book and pay the 40 clams and purchase O/S from a supplier who does contribute it's not as if ausfish or any member is a charity.

How about approaching those fancy pants industry players to see if they will sponsor the other half of the year a proportion of those who have already paid subscriptions. Can be a piece of paper in a hat type of ballet.

These individual people would be the hardcore rec fishing consumer after all...Would need to be a refined marketing package as opposed to my blithering, I can see just one reason why it will not fly at some level but shall not broach it.

DR
07-06-2008, 10:12 AM

& an awful lot would probably happily do so....:(

07-06-2008, 10:52 AM
GDay all,

I'm guessing this thread is probably going to be one of Steve's biggest and will probably surpass some of the mighty ETEC and 2 foot chop threads and such:D

For what it's worth I worked in the Internet industry for about 5 years and the model that Steve is putting forward is actually extremely cost lenient on members. Most avid Internet users would have noticed a lot of sites, forums etc going down a similar path as they reach "that" point in their cyber existence. When there were 200 members and run off a home server Steve could do it as a hobby. Now there 25,000 it's really spawned a life of its own and a $cost of it's own which he is still having to pay for. It's ironic that the more popular it gets - it puts more pressure on it's existense.

A lot of sites folded because costs got too high - others went full subscription or some went - donation members. Two other sites I'm a member of DiveOZ and AusHunt have got similar versions of the same thing. DiveOZ has got the donation/supporter model where you don't get much other than the warm and fuzzy feeling from knowing your helping out one of your favourite pastimes, while Aushunt went the other way where subscribers or VIPs actually get more info then a general member when they part with the cash. But both of those sites - like Ausfish will continue to do - still off the same free content through the forum boards as if nothing has changed.

Steve's model is similar to the first - he's basically asking for assistence in running the site - think of it as a co-op, but he's also throwing in the benefit of subscribers being free of adds (the way pay tv should be:P ).

For those getting ancy - I'm sure you'll realise over the next few months that nothing will change here for you as a users and it will be the same site as it always has been.

kevros02
07-06-2008, 06:35 PM
i am a pensioner and this seems expensive too me are there any cheaper options

Ausfish
07-06-2008, 07:14 PM

Yep, the Free Membership that you currently have.

Didley
08-06-2008, 08:30 AM

Send $15 to Didley , 6 monthly, There are no added features to you, but you can feel your contributing and Didley will feel a little better too. Win win situation

With thanks Didley

BrewGuru
08-06-2008, 09:21 PM
I am happy to pay the membership fee for joining Ausfish, but playing the devils advocate, If I was an advertiser on Ausfish would my advertising fees be less because I have lost some of my viewing audience?

Ausfish
09-06-2008, 04:25 AM
I am happy to pay the membership fee for joining Ausfish, but playing the devils advocate, If I was an advertiser on Ausfish would my advertising fees be less because I have lost some of my viewing audience?

See post #114 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showpost.php?p=836455&postcount=114)

09-06-2008, 06:55 AM
I was confused with all the talk of ad's, as I'd never seen them on here. So I loaded the page up in IE & now I can see the ad's.

My ad blocker on Firefox must be working well, as I don't even get 1 of them on the screen ever.

twotins
09-06-2008, 07:46 AM
Personally I dont mind the ads but if that is going to be the only "benefit" to the website the for the time being I am happy to be a non paying member. Though if a real difference between paying and non paying members is created then I dont feel that would be fair, but I would probably become a subcriber. Soft option I know but thats how I feel.

Ausfish
09-06-2008, 10:44 AM
For those that asked via PM and want to support the site, here is some screen shots

Click on Member CP, located in the top left corner of the forum control bar

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum_files/subscribe1.jpg

A drop down menu will appear, click on Member Control Panel

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum_files/subscribe2.jpg

On the next page you will see the following at the bottom of the selections, just click on Paid Subscriptions

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum_files/subscribe3.jpg

Then on the next page select the Premium subscription and follow the onscreen instructions.

Have added this to the first post as well.

first_mate
09-06-2008, 08:06 PM
Thanks for the service on this site. I have now subscribed.
Angus

Peter4
10-06-2008, 09:23 PM
That was a very amusing read, some of the replies are priceless, ridiculous and plain ignorant, beats paying money to see an average comedian on stage!!!
I'm joining. It has been an extremely invaluable source of information and one you can't put a price on..
Good work Ausfish

Benno
Agree, wholeheartedly!;)

Hardb8
10-06-2008, 10:23 PM
With my house repayments :( ,My new baby ;D ,And the rising cost of fuel and food :( ,I simply can't afford it.:'(

My splurges on JDM tackle,And lure collecting have also come to a screaming halt :'( :'( :'( .Looks like I'll just have to remain a regular member.I am happy with this regardless.:)

Cheers. B8.;)

Ausfish
10-06-2008, 10:55 PM
With my house repayments :( ,My new baby ;D ,And the rising cost of fuel and food :( ,I simply can't afford it.:'(

My splurges on JDM tackle,And lure collecting have also come to a screaming halt :'( :'( :'( .Looks like I'll just have to remain a regular member.I am happy with this regardless.:)

Cheers. B8.;)

That is not a problem Hardb8. If you can't afford 22 cents a day it is fine. As stated in the first post it is an option that some members wanted so it was offered. Everyone is a valued member of the site regardless of taking up the option.

21-06-2008, 11:23 AM
It may cost 22cents a day to subscribe but i advertise Ausfish daily (Stickers on vechicle). I travel major roads ( Nudgee, Kingsford Smith etc) up to 4 times a day. Plus my hat, shirts, boat decals and i happily paid for the privilege to try to get "bums on seats" so sponsors will be attracted.

So I'm still doing something for the site regardless.

Ken Mills
15-06-2010, 07:36 PM
This thread if I read right, appears to have been last answered 2 years ago. Joined a couple of days ago and have been reading, sometimes laughing and others a bit confused, on and off since joining. Love the site and the posts and will be asking advise soon. Happy to have paid subscription and understand that it is not a viable option for all. Dont know how this will appear but here goes
Ken Mills

16-06-2010, 06:05 AM
Hi Kenny (I can call you that because these bastards call me Timi),

You ARE delving deep, aren't you? ;D;D;D

Cheers and welcome,

16-06-2010, 08:23 AM
Oh Timi.
We call you Timi because that's your name Timi.
Says so above your picture Timi. :)