View Full Version : Clarence River Jewie

matt fraser
02-06-2008, 03:46 PM
I got back yesterday from four days at fishing paradise - the Clarence River! I was down there for the Bream Pro event. It was a pretty good comp with 63 boats entered. Plenty of good fish caugth with several over a kilo, biggest 1.15kg I think. Biggest bag of fish 4.15kg.

My best day was the prefish, where me and my mate seemed to catch good fish in most spots we went. Between us we got five around 29 to 31cm, as well as another five or six legal sized.

In the comp I got 2.4kg (five fish bag) day one and 2.2kg on day two and ended up 18th.

Only the top ten get to fish the third day, so on sunday I went Jew fishing instead. I took out an old mate Robert Tombs, who was also keen to try and catch a Jew. Although we had heard that a few Jew had been taken at Middle Wall during the comp. We decided to hit Palmers Island wall so we wouldn’t get in the way of any competing breamers.

I’ve only ever caught a couple of Jewies on Soft Plastics before, both incidental catches while breaming. I’d also lost some good ones on bream gear that I couldn’t stop, including one at Maclean in the prefish. This time I rigged up spefically for the Jewies with a Berkley Dropshot 6-8kg rod matched to an ABU 804 spooled with 20lb fireline and a 40lb Vanish leader. I rigged up a Gulp 6” Grub in Sardine on a 5/8 Oz Saltwater Pro Head and I was ready to go. The big grub has an awesome tail action!

Things were quiet for an hour or so, but right on the tide change, as I was hopping the grub along the bottom in about 35 foot of water when I hooked up to something solid. Initially I though I was snagged but then there were two head shakes before line slowly peeled off the reel. I was on!!!!!!!! The fish steadily peeled line as it headed upstream. I turned the boat towards the middle of the river and powered away on the electric motor to get away from the bank and reduce the chances of the fish finding anything to bust me off on.

The fished slugged it out deep and wasn’t willing to come out from the wall initially. It felt like a strong heavy fish, but it never took any big runs. There were plenty of tell tale Jewie headshakes which got the adrenaline pumping. After about five minutes I felt I had the fish under control and out of danger of busting me off. As I worked it closer to the boat I backed the drag off a little to reduce the chance of pulling hooks.

That first glimpse of a long silver shape materialising out of the depths always gets the heart pumping. Fortunately it didn’t play up at the boat. Rob picked up the Berkley net and said, “How am I going to fit it in this?” I said, “Just get the head and I’ll grab him.” Rob did a good job and I grabbed the frame of the net and lifted the fish aboard, Woooohooooooo!!!!!!!!

It was a very nice Jewie!! and a great feeling to have targeted it specifically and come up with such a great result so quickly. The jighead was firmly embedded deeply into the top of the jewies mouth and the leader was scuffed a fair bit by the Jewies sharp teeth. If I was fishing a lighter leader I may well have lost the fish.

I put the fish on the brag mat and it measured 101.5cm, I’m guessing the weight would have been just over 10kg.

I gave Rob my Jewie rod after that and rigged up the same plastic on a lighter rod. We fished on for another hour, the only other bite was a 23cm bream that ate Rob's 6" Grub!!!

All in all, the Clarence trip was a great experience. Although I didn’t cross paths with any big bream this trip, I learnt a lot and had a good time socialising The Jewie was certainly a bonus! I’m looking forward to the next bream comp and certainly looking forward to getting back to the Clarence next year! Might have to stay for a few extra days Jewie fishing next year!

BTW Those that haven't experienced a bream comp, the number of big fast boats now is unreal! At least half the field were in 17 to 21ft glass boats with 115hp to 250hp motors plus there are lots of nice tinnies with up to 175hp. I'm still fishing out of my 14ft Edgetracker and 60hp Yammie (and loving it). it does about 55kph top speed. Over four days I used 60 litres of fuel. A mates boat is a 20ft Skeeter with a 200hp Etec does 110kph + and he used over $500 in fuel for the weekend!!!

Reel Nauti
02-06-2008, 03:53 PM
That's a beautiful Jewie! Always a thrill to go hunting and claim the quarry of your choice.

Goodonya

jeffo
02-06-2008, 04:03 PM
BTW Those that haven't experienced a bream comp, the number of big fast boats now is unreal! At least half the field were in 17 to 21ft glass boats with 115hp to 250hp motors plus there are lots of nice tinnies with up to 175hp. I'm still fishing out of my 14ft Edgetracker and 60hp Yammie (and loving it). it does about 55kph top speed. Over four days I used 60 litres of fuel. A mates boat is a 20ft Skeeter with a 200hp Etec does 110kph + and he used over $500 in fuel for the weekend!!!

110km on a river? sounds safe.......Sounds like the fuel bills are getting up their with those in gamefishing tournaments. A shame the target species is estuary carp. Im really curious as to why these guys think they need such big boats with hugely excessive engines to get around the rivers? Im sure your edgy does the exact same job as the rest and is a hell of alot better on the environment.

nice jewie !!:)

ffejsmada
02-06-2008, 04:12 PM
That's a lovely conditioned Jewie that one!

Nice fish Matt.

02-06-2008, 04:15 PM
How good is that ?
Well done mate, fantastic fish.

matt fraser
02-06-2008, 04:19 PM
Thanks Dave and Jeffo, love the Jewies!

Jeffo, The big boats are simply awesome, and can cover the distance very quickly, which can be critical in a comp on a big river. It just depends on how competitive you want to be, and how competitive you can afford to be.

I am limited in how far I can go and when it get rough I get hammered. It would be very nice to have a bigger faster boat sometimes. I just can't get my head around the fuel bill though!

Breaming is a lot of fun and the prize money is getting big ($10K) if you won on the w/e. But there are guys spending $40K a year to be at the top of the game. There is one high profile angler selling up and getting out of it, because its sent him broke.

slyman
02-06-2008, 04:58 PM
Nice fish mate!

simon

02-06-2008, 05:01 PM
Good Stuff Matt ....... Its a lovely jewie on SP:)

Tide changes = Jewie time (day or night) ....... If you are going to catch one ... That 30mins either side will usually produce :P .

Nagg

breamnut
02-06-2008, 05:05 PM
nice one matt
i fished that same spot u were a few weeks ago for jew and best we could come up with were bream eating our 5 and 7 inch jerk shads!
great fish

chief
02-06-2008, 05:35 PM
Thats a great fish mate, i know where your comeing from on those fuel bills. Love my setup now for fishing the brissie with 3 trips out of 25 lts. Its certainly gives great satisfaction pulling those jew on plastics. they slog it out on the light gear. Great read and great pics Cheers

abbot_86
02-06-2008, 06:14 PM
nice fish bud ,

BLOOEY
02-06-2008, 06:21 PM
Congrats mate. Top effort that. Very healthy looking jew. Ben

jeffo
02-06-2008, 06:58 PM
Thanks Dave and Jeffo, love the Jewies!

Jeffo, The big boats are simply awesome, and can cover the distance very quickly, which can be critical in a comp on a big river. It just depends on how competitive you want to be, and how competitive you can afford to be.

I am limited in how far I can go and when it get rough I get hammered. It would be very nice to have a bigger faster boat sometimes. I just can't get my head around the fuel bill though!

Breaming is a lot of fun and the prize money is getting big ($10K) if you won on the w/e. But there are guys spending $40K a year to be at the top of the game. There is one high profile angler selling up and getting out of it, because its sent him broke.

I just feel those speeds are only meant to be done by cars and at worst, boats in the open ocean- Just to many things to hit out there!
Victorywill be made even more sweet when you win in your "little" boat;) . Im looking to get the first billfish for my 12 foot quiny this weekend sat 1770;)

Pistol_P
02-06-2008, 07:26 PM
Top fish Mat....As the others said its a nice clean looking fish.

The sunnie coast has just has yet another hammering of rain so it should fire up the jewies here.

You have got me keen now...!!

matt fraser
02-06-2008, 08:18 PM
Thanks everyone, I just finished a feed of fresh Jewie for dinner, beautiful! Five more feeds in the freezer. It will not go to waste thats for sure!

I'm actually keen on starting to chase them locally this winter, I havent done it seriously in about eight years, when I used to get them on live mullet in the Seaway.

Then again there's snapper in the river and bay, bream in the river and at the coast, too many fish - not enough time!

Mike Delisser
02-06-2008, 09:11 PM
I just feel those speeds are only meant to be done by cars and at worst, boats in the open ocean- Just to many things to hit out there!

Those yanky boats can handle the speed, it's some of the drivers I worry about.
Driving a performance hull at speed is skill that takes a little time to learn. Hard to believe you can get your boat licence one day and be driving a 250hp at 110km the next. I realy think there should be some restrictions like they have on motorcycles here in Qld, limited to 250cc and under for the 1st 12 months when you get your bike licence. (Sorry Josh)

Nice jewy Matt, go the tiller steer tinny, I remember when your blue Stessl was the ducks guts in those comps.

Are you fishing Borumba?

Mike D

02-06-2008, 09:18 PM
The big boats for Bream fishing are a mainly wank factor in my opinion. A good fisho picks a spot and a game plan and gives it a good working. I doubt they catch too many fish at 110kph.::)
Don't forget the old codger in his 12' tinny with the chook gut and Alvey probably has 20 fish in his kit by breakfast time;D

Now back to the real buzz. That is a great Jew and beats all the Bream caught hands down;)

Franco
02-06-2008, 09:44 PM
Great to see you out and about for more fishing time Matt. Awesome catch there.

Haven't fished at all since last spoke to you until the last couple of weeks.
Just got back into the game myself so will be in touch.

Say Hi to the Mrs! Looking forward to more reports.

Mike Delisser
02-06-2008, 10:12 PM
Don't forget the old codger in his 12' tinny with the chook gut and Alvey probably has 20 fish in his kit by breakfast time;D

Don't forget they're talking about boats for Pro Bream comps Neil.
If the best fish are 40 km from the start area the old bloke and his tinny won't get there by breakfast time ;D
In the last big comp at the Gold Coast Wishy & Britto ran all the up to Mud & St Helena Islands for a lot of their bream, 60km + each way, a lot of open water. $10,000 better off now.(Bushn'Beach June issue page 2)

Why-ting
02-06-2008, 10:12 PM
Lovely jew Matt. Sounds like the boys found some big bream down there on the w/e. 18th place is a good finish in a big field and a big fat jew just tops ya weekend off.

Cheers Whytey

breamnut
03-06-2008, 07:59 AM
The big boats for Bream fishing are a mainly wank factor in my opinion. A good fisho picks a spot and a game plan and gives it a good working. I doubt they catch too many fish at 110kph.::)

Now back to the real buzz. That is a great Jew and beats all the Bream caught hands down;)

yes and no, when guys are trying to run from the seaway to the bay in a comp there isnt much point going there if you only have a 30hp on the back it will take ages. it takes some of them over an hour going flat stick just to get to there location.
although that is just 1 example, you dont NEED those boats but you also dont need a big flash boat to go outside either...
there is no way id buy a big glass boat like a skeeter just to fish for bream, although i do fish tourniment id go more along the lines of a 435 quintrex topender with a 60 on the back. (pritty hard to tack a 200hp of a boat to fish an ellectric only dam:D) plus you cant most glass boats outside.
but then again if you have the money why not?

matt fraser
03-06-2008, 09:42 AM
G'day Mike,

Yep, the edgetracker turns 10 this year, definitely overdue for an upgrade, but it just might have to get me through another season yet!

My next rig will be about 4.8m with a Yamy F80. So I can get around a bit better in the comps, but also fish the bay, offshore and take the kids out, even do some barra and flathead trolling.

The glass bass boats are unreal, but not versatile enough for what I do. I heard some great stories of near stacks from Starkey, Hickson and Mango on the w/e. They are very lucky that the boats handle so well, because they have gone so close to disaster on a few occasions. You've got a point on licences there!

I don't think I'll make Borumba at this stage.

G'day Franco,

Good to see you're back into it again, Short term pain - long term gain! I'm getting a few more opportunities to get out this year and have been lucky enough to get some good fish so far this year. Still haven't finished all the backyard renos yet, but getting close. We deinitely will have to get together for that session that we have been talking about for about five years now!

Thanks, Horse, Whytey, Pete, Blooey, Abbot, Cheif, Nagg, Simon, Nathan and anyone I missed.

I've learnt heaps from everyone on Ausfish in the past 18 months or so, particualarly some of you guys, and its nice to have a good story to share,

03-06-2008, 09:43 AM
Beautiful eating size jewy Matt, great to see such a clean, well-conditioned fish.
Not only a blast to catch, but superb on the tooth as well!
Cheers and congrats.

flickflack
03-06-2008, 09:52 AM

Congrats on the Jewie mate, thats a top fish. It is a major plus when you actually target a specific fish with a specific technique. Even better when it comes off.
Have to say I agree with you on the boating issue. Thats why I bought the Lewis so that I can fish offshore as well. Funny thing is that I bought it as a Bream boat and have only fished for bream once out of it. All the other sessions have been offshore chasing Snapper.
The fishing we have here up and down the coast is just too good isnt it. So little time so many fish to catch.!!!
If you get a chance give us a hoy and we can head out down this end of the coast for a quick fish.

Rod

leelee
03-06-2008, 10:59 AM
Nice work there Matt.

I heard that the Clarence was either tough or easy and not much in between, well depending on who you talk to. Alot of competitors for the super round.

Well done on the jew as its a fine looking fish and what a hoot to get one whilst the top boys are shooting it out.

You are right with all the fish to catch at the moment as I now find I am allocating certain times in a session to go chase certain species. There is certainly a heap of different species to catch everywhere at the moment.

Lee

the gecko
03-06-2008, 03:12 PM
good on you matt, Im still after my first jewie, but youve got me motivated now.

Dodgy_Back
03-06-2008, 03:41 PM
Great Report Matt

The Clarence has to be my most favorate place to fish and by the size of the field on the weekend ,everyone elses fave aswell.

On the boat scene, I love my new Stratos BUT my old tinny was so much better for the kids to come out for a ride.
And not too surprised to hear that Starkey had a near miss.

matt fraser
03-06-2008, 10:18 PM
Thanks guys,

Rod, your boat is the go! You must be pretty happy with it, because I've seen plenty of pics of you in the last few months with big fish and an even bigger grin!

Andrew, give those 6" Gulp grubs a go on the tide changes in the Seaway! and Nitro Jigheads of course! (5/8 - 1 oz - 5/0 or 7/0)

Mick, well done on the w/e - good result! The best story from Micheal was him and Dean S. hitting a cruiser wash in the bay, getting seriously airborne going fully vertical, coming down arse first, the motor and the back of the boat went under to the extent that their backs got wet!!!! thats crazy stuff!!! - popped out, kept going.

Glad you're happy with your rig. Cant wait till I can afford to upgrade, but I'll be staying with Ally, but it will be plate.

mattooty
04-06-2008, 09:24 AM
I think i may have seen you on one of the days of the comp. You werent fishing between the ramp and maclean on the walls wearing highly fluro rain jackets were you?
Thats a solid daytime jew. I fish that area quite regularly, and it almost always produces if you can get a tide change. No slack water and the fish are holed up down deep in the rocks out of the current. Next time you're down, check out the hole just downstream from the sitka. Its the big boats on your right as you are heading downstream are palmers channel. It drops from 15ft to about 35-40ft very quickly and quite often holds thumpers.

baggersace
04-06-2008, 07:37 PM
Great report Matty, I'm very jealous and can't wait to get back up there with my boat ;D

Heading up to Mildura this weekend to see the folks and try to catch a cod or two, doesn't really compare with the likes of the Jewy hey.:-[

say gidday to May and the kids

matt fraser
04-06-2008, 08:59 PM
Matt, thanks for the tip,

I did fish Maclean a bit on thursday, but wasn't wearing a fluro raincoat.

Is the Sitka the big blue boat upstram from the Caravan Park? I did go and check that one out, but it had signs saying stay 50m clear and it was only 15 - 20ft deep where I was.

Ian, Mate, I know you'd be itching to get back to QLD, next year we'll get some trips in. Good luck on the Cod,