View Full Version : Formosa Build Almost Finished

levinge
29-05-2008, 09:40 AM
Though I would post a few photo's of my ugrade, going from an old 4M Seajay Custom SideConsole to a 5.8M Formosa Centre Cab with all the bells and whistles.
According to Formosa, she is at the final stages of the build. Latest photos were taken last week, but I thought I would include them from the initial Jig Setup.

Should be getting my hands on her in about 2 weeks or so...

Full fitout will include

Redco Dual axle trailer
135HP 4 Stroke Honda
150ltr underfloor tank
Targa Bar
Rocket Launcher
Bimini
Screens
Eagle Sea Finder 640CDF Sounder
Eagle Intellimap 642C IGPS Chartplotter
Navionics XL9 Gold SD
Digital Epirb
Transom Door
Ladder
Bait Board
3/4 Rear Lounge
Seat Boxes and seats
Deckwash System
Heavy Duty Dual Marine Battery System
5 x LED Deck Lights
2 x 12Volt Outlets (Cab and Stbd Aft Quarter)
6 x Rod Holders

4 x very eager fisho's waiting to go wide

Hope to be posting many reports about the handling and fishability of this rig....

backlash08
29-05-2008, 09:52 AM
Looking nice, look forward to seeing some pics with blood all over it!
I bet you are looking forward to getting your hands on it!

cheers - Craig

29-05-2008, 10:08 AM
I bet you cant wait.
Looking forward to the reports of your seatrial's and fishing trips of course.
I just wonder why Formosa put that dopey marlin motif along the sides..right where the boat name should be.

levinge
29-05-2008, 11:11 AM
Thats why I have the Cab, names goin on that - "Hard Livin"

29-05-2008, 02:30 PM
Not too long now mate. You would've been cursing them a few weeks ago with near perfect conditions on the water. We better start making sacrifices to the gods for good weather when you finally get her hitched up.

stevea
29-05-2008, 06:33 PM
Hi Levinge, looks like it going to be a nice boat.I am seriously considering one of these rather than go for a custom built plate boat due to the long lead times on a custom plate at the moment.

Whats the go with the custom built Formosa?, Is it going to be any different from the standard rigs. I see some the brisie and gold coast dealers have some in stock. Apart from the options on the brocure were you able to ask for something else?

Will the cabin allow for sleeping length?

Wahoo
29-05-2008, 08:01 PM
sweet, should look great when finished, time would be ticking soooooooo slow for ya

tin can marlin
29-05-2008, 08:12 PM
Hi did you buy this boat from the factory direct or a dealer. Because a freind of mine got one out of the back door any sved a heap of hard earned.

levinge
30-05-2008, 06:54 AM
Stevea, I presume that if you were to ask for some custom work that Formosa would be more than happy to help. Form what I can see having talked to them that any innovation that fishos can come up with, will only help make a better designed boat. You can only ask!!! Cabin will allow you to get out of the weather, as for sleeping, I'm 6 foot and I don't think I will fit, kids yes. If I intend on sleeping onboard on an overnighter, I will get a canopy/storm cover custom made locally here in Townsville. Something like and awning that drops from the Targa Bar to the stern. Then we'll be able to drag out the bed rolls!!!

Tin can, my deal was done through the Tinnie Shack up here in NQ. Got quotes from dealers all over QLD and Tinnie Shack was the best value for money.
I dare say if you buy factory direct then you will obviously be cutting out the extra costs.

I can't wait to wet this hull, as most of my mates have said, the moment I get the boat it will blow 25/30 kts for 6 months just to give me the shits...

Hope to post some more photos when the boat arrives...

Murks
30-05-2008, 07:54 AM
you won't regret that purchase mate, welcome to the the FORMOSA club....mmmmmm...maybe we should do a M&G Formosa owners...I know your in FNQ but what the heck, they are good boats and capable of travel..lol

levinge
30-05-2008, 08:23 AM
What the Hell, we could always meet halfway, say either Whitsundays or Rocky???? Happy to be a member of the Formosa Club, seems to be growing at a rapid rate.

Will post some photos of her once she's prim and proper!!

Fopela Manki
30-05-2008, 09:44 AM
Hi Levinge
Picked up my Formosa 550 Centre Cab with 135 HP Honda & Redco tandem trailer, with alot of extra's last month from the Tinnie Shack. Had waited a long time 12 weeks for her, but worth it. Very Happy with the Boat, Honda is superb, quite, smooth. Just some teething problems, with prop size and need to fit a permatrim. Otherwise very very happy.

Fopela Manki

levinge
30-05-2008, 11:01 AM
Fopela Manki - looked at the 5.5m at the beginning of the year, and then saw the 5.8m. Missus said to get what I wanted in size so I did. Plus I have 2 teenage boys and the missus who are keen Fisho's so the extra size helps...

Permatrim - will try without at the start, if it is needed later, it won't be difficult to fit

What was the issue with the prop??

Fopela Manki
30-05-2008, 01:53 PM
Levinge
5.8 is a very nice boat, push my budget too much, I went for the 5.5. Very happy with her.

No major problems, just checking for correct prop size, and motor height. This is the first 5.5 Formosa with a 135HP Honda from the Tinnie Shack, all the other they sold had 115HP. So they're doing some more test runs, to check prop size, possibly putting a permatrim, they want to getting everything perfect. They are a good team at the Tinnie Shack and very good to deal with.

levinge
30-05-2008, 03:44 PM
Totally agree, have had nothing but a professional attitude and service from them. Let me know how you go with the extra tests as it may be useful for the final fitout for my rig. hope to have it up from Brissie shortly.

30-05-2008, 04:10 PM
Nice boat fella's I own an equvalent pressed hull, if you can make it work consider a rear CC instead of the conventional forward or center CC it makes traveling more enjoyable.

Pressed hulls of this width and length can behave a little like a ping pong ball (mine does) in comparison to other builds.

just a thought

levinge
05-06-2008, 08:04 PM
Latest Update, Sanctuary Cove Boat show put things back a little, but she has been painted and awaits the truck to bring her north next week. So delivery is getting closer by the day. Can't wait to wet a line and yes time is crawling!!!

levinge
11-06-2008, 06:41 PM
Latest pictures of the boat taken today, almost finished, painted

Screen and Baitboard were fitted after the photo was taken....

Decal only thing left to do, then its on the truck to North Queensland...

11-06-2008, 07:11 PM
She's getting there isn't she? t must be hell waiting....in some ways I'm glad its not me....who am I kidding, of course I wish it was me!

levinge
11-06-2008, 08:36 PM
Shouldn't be long now, I am glad its me because the wait will be worth it!!!

levinge
20-06-2008, 06:39 PM
Getting real close now, Boat passed by Townsville on Thursday on its way to the Dealers at Mission Beach. Going up tomorrow to do the fitout of accessories and electronics. Got a picture sent from the dealer when the boat was offloaded and parked in the yards.

Getting itchy for a fish

Skusto
20-06-2008, 07:03 PM
having a few sleep less nites know i bet. lets hope the weather is kind to u for the first wkend u get to get it wet!

levinge
20-06-2008, 07:39 PM
Agree, having a couple of beers now so I can have a good sleep. but I guess its a countdown now, so not long before she's getting wet....

levinge
21-06-2008, 01:57 PM
Well!!!! Just got back from Mission Beach and the Fitout, told them where I wanted everything and found a few extra pressies onboard (cabin Light, Big Cutting Board, extra storage spaces. Build is awesom and the boat is everything I had imagined it to be. Dealers most helpful and even came away with a few extras to consider. The guy who does their Biminis has just finished a new addition (Rear Facing Bimini on the Centre Cab) and I am seriously considering adding it on, more for comfort than anything else. It will make long days on the boat a little more bareable. The Bimini in shot is on one that is going out before mine. They will be fitting out mine on Monday...

Have attached a couple of photos from the yard

ronnien
21-06-2008, 02:29 PM
very nice mate,

be a shame to have blood all over her!

ron.

levinge
21-06-2008, 03:43 PM
Having fish blood across the decks means it was a good day. I take that any day!!!

Just gotta make it through the next week and I'll be right

21-06-2008, 04:20 PM
Geez, you've gotta be getting the shakes of anticipation now. Definately looks a treat.

stesslecc60
21-06-2008, 04:23 PM
nice outfit mate:thumbsup: , considered one myself, but i picked up an "04" 4 seasons 625 c/cab with all the right gear and repowered last year with a 225 4 stroke yami, i'm lovin it;D

cheers Paul

21-06-2008, 04:43 PM
It's looking really nice,Levinge.
Interesting Bimini construction....definitely a good idea to get the rear extension for your's and good to see a minimum of uprights to get in the way...
Does it fold up for transport?
Looks like you will get it just in time for chasing those big spanish mackerel ...you will be able to follow them around the boat as they circle with a minimum of fuss...

Gee they must be selling a few boats...great for such a small town...a builder I know picked up his new Razerline mid- week.

levinge
21-06-2008, 06:42 PM
They would have to be one of the best dealers I have ever done business with.

Bimini will definitely be a goer, as for travel I will get knobs instead of the nut and bolt setup, that way I can stow it for travel and easily setup when needed.

No intrusive struts to get rod tips caught up in and plenty of clear air for casting..

Getting itchy feet, need to be soaked in some saltwater, I hear its very theraputic!!!!!

Robbo03
25-06-2008, 08:35 PM
levinge have you taken delivery of your 580 yet ?? We were at Tinnie shack yesterday looking at the same model, but they didnt have one ready to demo so went out in a 550 with 115 honda. Taht went well so the 580 with a 135 onthe back must go real well ??

Tony at Cairns

levinge
25-06-2008, 09:01 PM
You would have seen mine there, 580 black hull, seat boxes. Fitout started on Monday. So hopefully soon. Did you see the custom Bimini on the other one that would've been there. Back bimini to cover rear of boat. looks good and I have had one added to mine, little extra cost but worth it for the comfort.

Should be ready sometime next week...Worth every cent

Seahorse
30-06-2008, 07:41 PM
I looked at the 580 last week. was impressed.
Scott said earlier that it was pressed. i thought it was plate.
please explain the actual difference.
urs looks fantastic.
good luck

greg

levinge
30-06-2008, 10:01 PM
I think Scott might be a little confused, they are a welded plate boat.

She's getting there, hopefully once they guys get back from their Townsville Show Display, they will be able to finish her off and then I can get the hull plenty wet.

Weather seems to be improving up here, so there could be a mack attack happening shortly

chillers
01-07-2008, 09:39 PM
Gday Levinge

I have a question for in regards to wether the the deck is sealed (full wash down with scuppers) i am looking at the same boat as you know.

Cheers Scott

levinge
02-07-2008, 04:30 PM
They are an oil sealed marine ply carpeted floor, no scuppers, for wash downs I have a drop in Kill tank which will allow water to pass under the floor to the stern drain holes, also a Bilge pump. Later when and if the floor ever needs replacing, I might look at a plate floor, but until then I will hold onto the extra dollars saved and when/if the day comes, I will have the money up front...

SNAPPERCOFFIN
02-07-2008, 06:03 PM
I think Scott might be a little confused, they are a welded plate boat.

She's getting there, hopefully once they guys get back from their Townsville Show Display, they will be able to finish her off and then I can get the hull plenty wet.

Weather seems to be improving up here, so there could be a mack attack happening shortly

I am a bit confused a plate boat would not need pressings in the side sheets to give it strenth. Are the sides pressed or is it the angle of the pics.

levinge
05-07-2008, 09:01 AM
I'm pretty sure the the boat is not pressed, but if it is, thats no drama at all. They are a good looking rig and strong enough to stand up to the conditions up here in NQ. Trust me to order a boat that gets delivered right in the middle of the show season up here, minor delays due to Townsville and Ingham shows, where they were doing displays and boat tests for people. Added to that the fact that I stole an idea off a boat that was almost finished its fitout (Rear Customed Bimini). Sorry to the skipper who owns that one, if I see you on the water I'll gladly handover a beer as payment on the idea.

Anyway this thread will go into history shortly as the firm date is 12July to collect my new boat. FINALLY!!!!

08-07-2008, 02:14 PM
Geez, I'm jealous as you lucky bugger, then again it could be you poor bugger, I'm guessing not much sleep is being had atm with the anticipation?

But as always, typical NQ winter weather.....blowing its ring out and the one good day we do get we all have to work!

levinge
08-07-2008, 08:33 PM
3 days to go, sleepless aint the work. Taking up clock watching as a sport. 84 hours and counting. Worst thing is that it will be ready tomorrow but I have engagements that I can't break and the only free time is Saturday Morning.

Leaving before sunrise to get there right on opening time, test, pay and bugger off home...

Yippee

tin can marlin
08-07-2008, 08:51 PM
I don't think they are real plate boat a lot of guys call there boats plate just because they have smooth sides but it is the grade of the alloy that makes it plate.

09-07-2008, 02:00 PM
tcm, if you are that concerned, instead of bagging someone's new and hard earned boat, why don't you check the specs on Formosa's website?

09-07-2008, 03:33 PM
tcm, if you are that concerned, instead of bagging someone's new and hard earned boat, why don't you check the specs on Formosa's website?

Scott,I dont think he is bagging the boat.....
Just stating that it is not a true platey due to the grade of alloy used...
This is partly why they are affordable compared to the more costly fishers,riptides etc.

Having said that I've had a bit of a look at the formosa's at the tinny shack and think they are a very nice unit.
I have also never heard an owner of one that hasn't been happy with it...so I guess this really say's something.

I think Levinge's boat will be a just about a perfect and affordable rig for heading to the reef http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif...if this crap weather ever lets up,anyway.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/sad.gif

I'm sure it will serve him well regardless of what it's classified as.

levinge
09-07-2008, 03:49 PM
Thanks for the vote of confidence in the product Scott. While not of the same thickness as the bigger plate boats (more expensive too). She will be perfect for the conditions here in NQ. Talked to them today, just doing the last of the bits and pieces, tidy up and Saturday morning 8:30am sharp, I'll be wet testing and towing her home.

Might even take a trip to church (fist time in my life) and say a little prayer for fair weather and bloody big fish!!!! Can hope!!

Will post some final pictures of her, when she's all wet and purring!!!!

levinge
11-07-2008, 07:34 PM
Well the countdown is definitely close now.

9:30am tomorrow morning Kurrimine Beach, wet test, cheque in hand and we're in business.

Only one problem, order a 4.5m sliding gate to be installed across the front boundary of my place and guess what, after much prompting and phone calls. Work started today, concrete footing is down and gate is to be installed tomorrow, while I'm on the road up to Kurrimine and back. Hopefully it will be okay or I'll be towing it to work tomorrow night (Military Base). So I guess, either way she will be safe.

THey assure me it will be ready but I would like the concrete to have a little more time to set. Hoping for a bloody hot day tomorrow (yeah right!!!).

Anyway to all those who have been waiting to have a look at her, give me a PM as I will be off from Monday to Friday next week. Weather not permitting I will be home...

11-07-2008, 09:39 PM
Well the countdown is definitely close now.

9:30am tomorrow morning Kurrimine Beach, wet test, cheque in hand and we're in business.

THey assure me it will be ready but I would like the concrete to have a little more time to set. Hoping for a bloody hot day tomorrow (yeah right!!!).

What?? are they saying it will be to rough to water test it at Mission beach??

As for your concrete ...well I hope they add something to make it go off quicker...we spent till 11pm last sat night till my shed slab was dry enough to finish...Started at 7am so I had a case of the wobbly boot by the end of the job..http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif...hope you fair a little better.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

Have fun with the new righttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

levinge
11-07-2008, 09:53 PM
Hey Scott,
Doing it right, they are using Rio etc and laid the concrete this arvo, got home from work at 6:30pm and it was hardening quite well, so I can only hope that it will set well tomorrow. Whats the normal set time for concrete???

Might have to take it with me to work tomorrow night???? Bugger work I'll just sit in the boat all night....pretend I'm out around Pelorus....

How has the water been like up there this week, hoping it will be good enought for the test first thing tomorrow morning...

12-07-2008, 04:53 AM
Nah your concrete will be fine...
I think one of my helpers musta asked the concrete truck drivers to make a sloppy mix so they could drink more of my beer while waiting for it to go off.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

The forecast is for light sw winds early on so I think I might swap boats over as I was looking to head up the creek this morning but I might instead head out too the mackeral grounds for a look.

Have fun with the new toy.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

levinge
12-07-2008, 05:10 PM
She has now taken up pride of place at the house, on slight teething problem, I have to remove the side wooden gates at the house to allow for fudge room when reversing. Small job and will allow it to be stored properly. She looks the goods, pitty I am working the next two nights. Mon to Friday off so I will have plenty of time to play, missus might even get suddenly sick during the week!!!!!