woody74
28-05-2008, 09:07 PM
Hey there everyone, looking at purchasing a combo for offshore, and since have no idea what to buy, thought I'd ask the silly questions here first before I hand over money for something I dont need. I'm looking at something that you can throw slugs for macs, tuna, ect as well as soak baits or livies and even have a crack at these sp's I hear so much about. Something like a allround outfit would be the go. Now seeing that I probably wont be going out as much as I would like, what would be a ballpark price on such a outfit as this. Would I have to go to a Tackle shop or would kmart of Big W or other outlets have what Im looking for? Told you there would be silly questions;D . Be gentle as Im still a virgin in this area and would like some input into this. CHEERS woody.
dazza
28-05-2008, 09:32 PM
hey mate,
what are you giving the freshwater away or has it all dried up??
29-05-2008, 06:29 AM
Hmmm Woody, the parameters are pretty wide, a general purpose rod for throwing slugs, soaking bait, livebaiting and suitable for soft placcies? You haven't mention line class or depth of water so I will assume 8- 10kg and suitable 1/2 oz to 11/2 oz jig heads up to 40-60 mts
You're mixing a few disciplines there mate but for an acceptable solution, without breaking the bank I would look at a 560 Penn slammer combo, loaded with 10kg sufix performance on a matching Slammer rod. I'm not sure on the rod length, but I'd be going to 7' or 7'6" for the casting capacity.
The Slammer combo has a bit of versatility and flexability given the rod is a graphite composite (so it has some glass). You really need the graphite for plastics to get some action into the jig head. Pure glass rods just don't give the reaction you need when jigging, you put a bend in the rod, but it doesn't translate to the jig head.
In terms of a reel, the Slammer has massive drag capacity for its class and you're in under $200 - they were selling for $175 at the tackle and tinny show. I've been using the slammer reels for a little over 12 months now and I'm very satisfied. I've got a bit of an aresenal of them with a 360, 460 liveliner, 560, 560 liveliner and a new 760.
I've had a warranty issues with the liveliners, got smashed and smoked by some big xos hooah's but Penn have stood behind their product all the way even though they were imports. You can buy with confidence of excellent product backup.
I don't know that there is much else with the flexability for the money - The only other Rod I might consider as I don't reckon you'd get a more suitable reel for the dollars, would be a Starlo Stix squidgie snapper heavy, it is a graphite rod, so would be perhpas a little more suited to plastics, bit is still strong enough to cast lighter slugs at tuna etc and float a pillie or livie down.
Personally, I'd go to a local tackle store, depending where you live, there are some very good stores around that will give excellent advise and service and still be in the ball park of the marts dollar wise and you can be assured of more personalised service and support.
If you're on the south side of Bris I've found Water Tower Bait and Tackle at Manly an excellent shop. If Toni hasn't got what you want she can get it in a day or two. The Tackle Warehouse at Coorparoo has an excellent range in store and the guys there are dedicated fisho's who really know there stuff. Duncan at Fish Head Viccy Point has a ripper of a shop and some lovely trinkets to drool over. He's also very knowledgeable and will point you in the right direction.
On the north side at Redcliffe Joel and Ant at Crew Marine are really switched on and looking after Ausfishers. Danny at Outdoor Adventure Morayfield has a great range and he is a cracker of a bloke - talk the leg off and iron pot, but is very knowledgeable and his prices are very sharpe. The fellas at All Round Angler Caboolture are worth checkin out too.
All these guys and gals know their stuff and as I said, will give you much more personalised service than the marts or bcf. I've found very little difference in pricing, and on the occasion there is, i mention it to Toni and she if she can't match the price (because of the buying power of the bigger chain stores) she certainly gets in the ball park. I'm sure you would find that with all your local tackle shops. Mentioning that you're an ausfisher will help too. All the shops I've mentioned know the value of this web site and do look after members.
Happy researching, hope this gives somewhere for you to start