View Full Version : Berkley Dropshot Rod?
spinifecs
21-05-2008, 09:19 PM
Gday,
Just wondering what your thoughts about the 1-3 kg, 6'6" model where??
Wanted to throw some plastics and all sorts around with it, maybe even throw a worm at a trout. Any good??
Also if anyone has had any experience with the Live Fibre "lightning" bream rods?
Thanks for the help
plaztix
21-05-2008, 09:47 PM
I have the 3- 5kg 6'8". For the money they are great little rods.
I mainly fish plastics and have caught everything from bream to 69cm snapper and yesterday almost boated a 6-7kg mack tuna on it (after a half hour fight i got one glimpse of him). The rod went great just not the 8lb line. 'ping' ::):P
bigtez
21-05-2008, 10:21 PM
This was caught on my first outing with it. Have since bought another combo the same and neither have let me down since. GT was 3kg on 4lb fireline 4lb leader using 1-3kg 6'6" Dropshot and Shimano Sienna 1000.
frankgrimes
21-05-2008, 10:56 PM
This was caught on my first outing with it. Have since bought another combo the same and neither have let me down since. GT was 3kg on 4lb fireline 4lb leader using 1-3kg 6'6" Dropshot and Shimano Sienna 1000.
Awesome work on the light string there mate - GT's pull hard!!
BARRAkid
22-05-2008, 08:56 AM
for the price they are good have snapped one (accident not fish)
but for around $100 you can afford to snap one every few years
cheers BK
themissus
22-05-2008, 09:35 AM
I have one match with a 750 symeter and love it. Great for bream, bass, flatties and it's even handled a 50cm jack. Nice and lite to use all day.
Cheers Kim.
22-05-2008, 06:11 PM
I have two berkley dropshots in 7'2" 2-4kg i use for soft plastics on reefies and whatever else. Excellent value for money and they do the job very well indeed. You will be satisfied with your dropshot rod.
Outsider1
22-05-2008, 06:13 PM
for the price they are good have snapped one (accident not fish)
but for around $100 you can afford to snap one every few years
cheers BK
You can get them for $79 at the moment at Crew Marine.
Luke mcleod
22-05-2008, 07:23 PM
Gday,
Just wondering what your thoughts about the 1-3 kg, 6'6" model where??
Wanted to throw some plastics and all sorts around with it, maybe even throw a worm at a trout. Any good??
Also if anyone has had any experience with the Live Fibre "lightning" bream rods?
Thanks for the help
Is it a 1 peice mate ? i wouldve got a 1-3 kg if i could have found one in bcf but i couldnt so i just bought a 2-4 kg 6'6" model. Landed a good sized gt on it the other day so i was impressed, pretty good for a bream rod i thought. heres a small pic of the fish it handled
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v281/chronickilla2005/PICT2760.jpg
22-05-2008, 09:49 PM
The 1-3 is a pretty good rod. The tip is pretty soft, so will throw light plastics pretty well.
The 2-4 suited my fishing & retrieve style a little better, but it's all personal preference. Alot of people prefer the 1-3.
Have a cast with both and see which one you prefer. You can fish the rods pretty hard, and they take heaps of abuse. I have a 2 piece 2-4 that lived in the back of my Landcruiser (that went offroad a bit) for about 3 years, and it never had a problem.
bigtez
23-05-2008, 06:57 AM
If you can stretch the budget to $120 then the Pflueger Trion 1-3kg 7' would also be worth a look. I got one last week and after one session it seems to be a better rod. Was definately easier to cast accurately and feels a bit more powerful in the but without sacrificing any sensitivity.
Terry