View Full Version : Counting to ten..it's over...I hope

17-05-2008, 07:52 PM
Not having a whinge but !

A couple of weeks ago the Nissan dropped all water from the radiator ( or so it appeared ) on the way back from Mackay to Brisvegas.

Made calls etc and got un-named as yet, mech to fix vehicle.

New head, Injectors, Timing Chain, Boost Sensor, Glow Plug, Gaskets, Idler Pulley, repair alternator and little bits extra.... cost.... ( 6 days in shop ) just under 6 g's....:o

Take Nissan back after 1000 k's to have head re-tensioned. 2 days in shop.

Oil leaks from tappet cover...... take it back. 2 days in shop.

radiator explodes... new radiator.... and water still leaks out .

Leaking from Timing chain cover. back to shop. 3 days in shop.

get vehicle back, drive 60 k's up the road ... uses 750mls of water....

get home, discover radiator overflow bubbling and spurting out water.

Make various calls.... all agree.... system is pressurising.... why... head issues/ gasket issues....

So, going back to shop Monday.... another 3 days.

The shop is 30 minutes across town from home....

I will add this is my work vehicle..............

No loaner was offered, but I do have another vehicle I can use... not the point.

Is anyone getting a tad frustrated ??????>:(

For those that want to know, the head cracked because the Boost Sensor broke, allowing 35lbs of boost to go through the turbo etc. Now without the fuel to compensate, it was running H O T T, but jeez it went. Don't know how long the sensor was not operating .

I have installed a Boost Gauge to keep an eye on things.8-)

I have the feeling this is the last time I will return vehicle to this particular mechanic to rectify his mistakes..... I mean, I know I have to return vehicle to allow business operator to make good his mistakes, but how many times is enough before one can go somewhere else and get it done right ?

No, he hasn't charged me for any follow up repairs, but is that the point, time off work to take vehicle there and pick up and the cost of fuel getting there and back is starting to add up......:'(

It's funny you know, in the construction industry, there is a thing called " retention " whereby a contractor gets paid all but 5% -10% of his quote. After a period of time, that retention is paid. This has to do with making sure the contractor comes back to make good any mistakes, and in my case " Painting touch-ups ". Wonder if this system could apply across the board to all trades and services ?

follow report next week..... I hope all is positive. :-/

17-05-2008, 08:23 PM
You are in a bad way Phill and it's the sort of thing you would not wish upon your enemy. Stay Positive and find a point where you go elsewhere.

I could see all prices going up by 5-10% if that retention thinking comes to fruition.

Government would love it as all the tax collected would rise by 5-10%

17-05-2008, 08:25 PM
Phill is that the same mechanic that I saw you doing a beer delivery to once to thank him for his services? I think the table has turned if that is the same guy because I reckon he not only owes it to you to fix his mistakes but he must be up to at least 2 cartons by now as a good faith payment to you.

17-05-2008, 08:55 PM
NO, Poo, I have never delivered beer to this guy. First time I have ever used him. Same as Brians..... man !!! shhhhhh ! for now.

BrandonH
17-05-2008, 09:52 PM
Not good Phill:'( Good luck with it all mate.. keen to hear what happens next.

Brandon...

18-05-2008, 07:15 AM
I have to say Phil that you are a lot slower counter than me. By now I would be telling said mechanic that said vehicle would be relocated to a certain part of his anatomy that does not see sunlight.

18-05-2008, 07:52 AM
Hi Phil
Seen this when ya first put it up and been thinking (thats dangerous), makes me wonder if you have a cracked block. Only ever seen it twice, once on a dry sleeve perkins engine, pinhole in a sleeve to the water gallery. This was on a forklift that I was contracted to do repairs and maintance on. Took for ever to find it as there was no evidence of water in the oil, seemed to only pressurisethe system some times. Ended up fitting a new engine. The other time I have seen a cracked block was in a Cat D7 and this was in an oil gallery. The leaking oil gasket should not happen, didnt take me long in the trade to use a gasket compound of some sort on all gaskets to eliminate these failures because if you dont use something there always seems to be a high percentage of failures (sholdnt be but thats the way it is). What to do, I think at this point I would have his left testie sitting on a plate with a blunt knife next to it and explain that his right one is going to end up there real soon. I think you will have to stick with him a bit longer Phil. Hope the prognosis improves.

18-05-2008, 08:07 AM
With Blaze here, something undiagnosed happening, its simply too easy to put an engine together with new parts if good care and preparation is taken, no excuse for the constant oil leaks - sounds sloppy:).

Mondays expert and all, not meant to be a downer with a 'shoulda' 'coulda' - my car has 2 fail safe's atm and if it were turbo it would have 3, 1 is an enginesaver low water alarm and the other is an after market water temperature gauge (that reads engine metal temperature) with settable alarm and low oil pressure alarm.

Outlay around the $400 dollar mark as I fitted them myself although the potential repayed value is litterally many thousands as nothing untoward can happen in real time now without me being warned, big peace of mind considering the outlandish costs these days, not to mention the down time involved as a result.

Kleyny
18-05-2008, 08:27 AM
sorry to hear your drama.
But i think blaze might be onto something. For your sake i hope he is wrong.
If the thing got super hot it may have cracked a piston sleeve thus pushing compresed air in through the crack and pressurising the cooling system.

Not defending the guy but if there is a crack maybe invisible to the naked eye.

either that or the guys a numbskull and hes put the gasket on the wrong way or something stupid.

neil

BILLY THE KID
18-05-2008, 08:59 AM
i would be asking if new head bolts were used . 35lb of boost hitting it would of stretched all the bolts on the head and maybe warped the tappet cover also ,

was the head bolt holes checked thourgly for stress cracks in them , they may have split in the holes into a water jacket

bobbyb
18-05-2008, 09:32 AM
hi mate i know what your going through its a bloody nitemare i had a all the same dramers whith my nissan. in the end it had a cracked block. what id like to know is it the same butcher that done my car in bris. can u give a hint on his name. all the best.
rob.

18-05-2008, 10:09 AM
thanks Blaze, I hope ya wrong though....:-/

FNQ, yes, I believe the newer nissans have a sensor that will adjust the fuel intake to suit the boost, thereby eliminating the heat problem, but you'll notice extra fuel usage. I have also been advised that a Oil Temperature gauge is a good idea.

No water has gone into oil system.....

Billy, yes, new head bolts were used in the repairs.

Bobby/ Honky , I won't name this bloke, I feel that there may be circumstances beyond his control that have lead to this issue,( basically giving him the benefit of the doubt ) but his shop is on the south side of Brissie. Also, he stated to me that he has done many of these , therefore extolling his experience........ so with that experience, a cracked block would have been taken into account, one would think... ::) I haven't asked yet.

Funny thing is, I was offered a long motor with 80,000k on it installed for the same price as the repair. From different source.

Greg..... I am up to 9.5........... see how things go next week.

Thanks for the feedback guys, I'll keep you informed...

Kevaclone
18-05-2008, 10:44 AM
With Blaze here, something undiagnosed happening, its simply too easy to put an engine together with new parts if good care and preparation is taken, no excuse for the constant oil leaks - sounds sloppy:).

Mondays expert and all, not meant to be a downer with a 'shoulda' 'coulda' - my car has 2 fail safe's atm and if it were turbo it would have 3, 1 is an enginesaver low water alarm and the other is an after market water temperature gauge (that reads engine metal temperature) with settable alarm and low oil pressure alarm.

Outlay around the $400 dollar mark as I fitted them myself although the potential repayed value is litterally many thousands as nothing untoward can happen in real time now without me being warned, big peace of mind considering the outlandish costs these days, not to mention the down time involved as a result.

All Turbo engines should be fitted with a Pyrometer
this will tell you more about the engine than just water/oil temp gauges
it will tell you in an instant if your engine is running too lean/over boosted or to rich/under boosted

gives you a good idea how hard the engine is working at all times
you won't need a boost gauge if you have a Pyrometer

for those that don't already know
it measure exhaust gas temperature

low coolant/oil engine cut offs should also be fitted as a matter of course(though most already have low oil cutoff as standard)

Kev

18-05-2008, 10:44 AM
All the best with it all Phill. I know there is probably nothing that I can help you with but if you think of something (Other than paying for your mechanical expenses) just give me a yell!

18-05-2008, 11:56 AM
thanks Kev.and poo !

I was advised some time ago to get EGT gauge, but this was in answer to my question about turbo timers and the need to have the turbo cool enough to turn off.

This advise was given by Big Kev.... Real Hard.... and hindsight is a wonderful thing hey ?

The Nissan has a low water / high temp cut off system in place and this is what saved the engine the first time coming back from Mackay.

SeaHunt
19-05-2008, 11:03 AM
Scary stuff Phill, makes you wonder what other damage may have been done to things like big end bearings etc..?
6 gs' ? I know its too late now but what would a new motor have cost?

20-05-2008, 07:54 PM
Any latest news Phill? I would have expected them to at least made the effort to get straight into it as soon as you dropped the car off to them and then have a phone call giving you an update remembering of course they need to keep good faith with you more than ever.

20-05-2008, 10:43 PM
Seahunt.. new engine is $9000 plus.....

Poo, no word yet, and yes, I would have expected them to contact me saying they have found the problem, even if the car wasn't fixed. ( this Tuesday night ).

I have asked about this model, and they do not have a ' sleeve ' that could be cracked inside the block.

So, still waiting...................

Kleyny
21-05-2008, 03:53 PM
Sorry to confuse you on the sleeve thing.
But what i meant is bore which is some cases is a sleeve and others the bore is just made into the block.

neil

21-05-2008, 05:52 PM
No worries Neil.. I didn't know, so I asked. No such thing as a stupid question, only stupid answers.

Wednesday Night now,,,,, still no news. !!!!!

Kleyny
21-05-2008, 06:19 PM
No worries Neil.. I didn't know, so I asked. No such thing as a stupid question, only stupid answers.

Wednesday Night now,,,,, still no news. !!!!!

dead right there

22-05-2008, 05:10 PM
I couldn't wait any longer. Called to see how car was going .

" OH, I only pulled the head off today, I've been busy ". This was met with my silence........ wtf !

So, the mech tells me to bring it in first thing Monday, which I do, then 4 days later he tells me he ' JUST ' pulled the head off " TODAY "...

Just about reached 10..................:furious::bomb: :wut: :furious2: :angryfire:

22-05-2008, 05:56 PM
Gee Phill. You are making me relive my brother's frustrations in that same place. Same deal. Bring the car in first thing on a Monday morning as per booking, organize a loan car from a very good friend, and then every week for 4 weeks explain to the very understanding friend that the car has not been repaired yet. Took more than a week just to look at Brian's car. Not a very good way to run a business.

Mrs Ronnie H
22-05-2008, 08:26 PM
Just read your post

I have a question--- Why do they call you lucky Phill.

Of all the meachanics to pick.

Hope truck will be going better-- look forward to your update.

Ronnie

23-05-2008, 07:48 PM
11, 12 ,13 ,14 ,15 at boiling point

23-05-2008, 08:57 PM
11, 12 ,13 ,14 ,15 at boiling point

Lol Blaze. I was just thinking that Phill must have started on his second hand by now and you just confirmed it. Next week he will be onto his toes perhaps?

24-05-2008, 06:39 AM
NO, Poo, I have never delivered beer to this guy. First time I have ever used him. Same as Brians..... man !!! shhhhhh ! for now.

Just discovered this thread Phil. If I said "I feel your pain" there is nobody better authorized to use that expression than me. I picked my Pajero up from our mate on Wed after head was retentioned. It all seems fine, but I have not lifted the bonnet since getting her back, not sure if I want to now......

Your woes with the Navara are scaring the pajeebas out of me, what a sad sequence of events from a mechanic who told me the same thing after 3 weeks of being in the shop, and nothing having been done. "I have been busy and all my commercial trucking businesses have had a spate of mechanical work that I have had to try get them back on the road quickly" That was his excuse.

In your case, it is precisely that, he needs to get this fixed because your vehicle is a commercial vehicle with a business riding on it, even though there are avenues for loan vehicles which might be the case for you.

In my case the car on loan was a mid 80's Porche 944, ( Nice to have GOOD friends)which is normally a garage car under a tarp, but hey, things could be different and I may have been forced to hire a car. BIG BIKKIES for 4 weeks when you would normally expect a timing chain job with head work to take one, maybe two weeks depending on parts availability.

The penny drops, I saw your car out on the road on Wed, certainly didn't look like any work was being done on it. In fact it was so far down the road it was parked at the neighbours place, I thought maybe you were seeing somebody next door. I hope this does not add to your escellating anger, but use it to dong our mate on the head if it helps. HELLO?? MATE?? ARE YOU LISTENING?? Wed the car was out on the road, and you obviously weren't working on it????WTF!!!!!

But after all said and done, I understand your frustration and don't blame you boiling over after counting to 100, he does not seem apologetic for the inconvenience he inflicts on you. Leaves you wondering if he really is worthy of the reason I went there in the 1st place - Highly recommended from where I get my fuel and injector work done.

I am frightened to lift the bonnet and look for oil leaks now Phil...... But I remain positive, even in spite of the bad run you are having mate. That's CRAP!!>:( I truely empathize!!!

Brian

27-05-2008, 10:04 AM
this is starting to get my hackles up Phil, image yours are standing on end.
Hope there has been some progress

27-05-2008, 04:18 PM
AAARRRRGGGGHHHHHHH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OK, news just to hand.

Phoned mech now ( 4pm ish Tuesday 27th ), he told me he found a small leak behind an ' insert ", it is a cast iron valve thing. He got it to leak by applying 60lb's pressure and getting the head ' hot '. It appears there is much more pressure applied when it is in the vehicle and in particular running a long trip.

This would explain why it didn't leak for the mech when he took it home and back ( 20 k round trip ).

Thing is, it was a genuine Nissan head and has been sent back to supplier ( lunch time today ) and they have faxed a " warranty claim " out to mech. The supplier will have to test head and discover the problem. The mech will then have to fill out warranty claim to get another new head. :-/

When will all this happen........... ? ::) ::)

Your guess is as good as mine as I asked the mech this and response is, I'll do the best I can and when I get it I'll get the car back to you as soon as possible ".

I am changing my name....................:'( :'(

signed.... Bruce

Awesome
27-05-2008, 04:24 PM
Hey Bruce. This situation is just not acceptable
I would be majorly majorly pissed off by now.

maztez
27-05-2008, 04:43 PM
This isnt the same BRUCE from the famous "They call me BRUCE " movie.If so you might be able to use your kung fu skills on that lost cause of a mechanic ....
cheers Terry

27-05-2008, 05:46 PM
They also call certain parts of the male anatomy Bruce. Perhaps you might like to reconsider calling yourself that? Perhaps Richard or Dick for short? ::)
Seriously though Phill I feel for your situation. How frustrating it must be for you. Perhaps our next 4x4 M&G should be on the said mechanic's driveway?

29-05-2008, 07:00 AM
Any news Bruce? Have you counted to 20 yet? ::)

Raesen
29-05-2008, 08:03 AM
Hey Phill

All this stress may have a bad impact on your footy tips this weekend. :)

Only kidding mate and I hope all is well for you soooooooon!!!!!

30-05-2008, 01:14 AM
Friday morning 1.14am..... still no word.................

What am I going to tow my boat to the Touchy M & G with ?

1,234,765............ 1,234,766............1,234,767..............1,234, 768...... !!!

Bruce

30-05-2008, 07:22 AM
Here I am with two tow vehicles but Trudy will be working and I can't drive two cars at the same time to help you. You would be more than welcome to use Trudy's Pajero if you can think of a way to get it. The other issue is that it has a Hayman Reece towbar and someone thieved the tongue out of it. Could pinch Scalem's out of his Pajero but then he has nothing to tow his boat with.
If you are really stuck then I may have to buy a new tongue seeing as I can't find one second hand but they are expensive things for what they are. Give me a call if you want a loan of it. Can work something out I am sure.

30-05-2008, 07:30 AM
Thanks Poo.

Will make decision by midday today.

phill

Kleyny
31-05-2008, 08:19 PM
Here I am with two tow vehicles but Trudy will be working and I can't drive two cars at the same time to help you. You would be more than welcome to use Trudy's Pajero if you can think of a way to get it. The other issue is that it has a Hayman Reece towbar and someone thieved the tongue out of it. Could pinch Scalem's out of his Pajero but then he has nothing to tow his boat with.
If you are really stuck then I may have to buy a new tongue seeing as I can't find one second hand but they are expensive things for what they are. Give me a call if you want a loan of it. Can work something out I am sure.

I've got a spare tongue you can have if you want to give me a call and your heading up the caboolture area.

neil

31-05-2008, 09:55 PM
I've got a spare tongue you can have if you want to give me a call and your heading up the caboolture area.

neil

Neil that would be great. Name a price and I will be on my way. It just so happens I have this week off (Hence the lousy boating weather). :-/
Thanks,

Kleyny
01-06-2008, 10:01 AM
i have two to pick from.
Just before you get to excited the distance from the front of the square bit on the tongue and the holes (centre) are 45mm and the other is 50mm.
So you need to measure from the end of the bar to the centre of the hole.

I have no idea why each manufacturer would put hte holes in different spots.
One is a genuine Mitsubishi Triton tongue so you would think it would fit your pajy.

let me know how you go
neil

shano
01-06-2008, 02:49 PM
the distance is to clear the bumper bar! so it is not too far under the bumper! but 5mm aint much!

Kleyny
01-06-2008, 03:31 PM
the distance is to clear the bumper bar! so it is not too far under the bumper! but 5mm aint much!

it is if the holes dont line up

i got a hold of these to fit onto my 60 series cruiser and they didnt come anywhere near fitting. the cruiser hole was about 75mm from the face of the bar:-[

neil

01-06-2008, 06:38 PM
Neil I may as well come for the drive. The weather is too crap to take the boat out so I may as well utilize my time. Good excuse to meet up and have a yack anyway. Shoot me a PM if there is a time that suits you and I will get your address off you or meet somewhere perhaps.

Kleyny
01-06-2008, 08:36 PM
PM sent poo

Kleyny
02-06-2008, 02:22 PM
Did it fit??

good to meet you hopefully see you again soon with better weather.

neil

02-06-2008, 07:11 PM
Phill I didn't intend to hijack your thread and turn it into a M&G opportunity with Neil but it was great to meet you for a liquid lunch Neil. Thanks again for the tongue. It does fit but needs a minor modification.

03-06-2008, 01:47 PM
Tuesday 3rd June at 1.45pm, I call said mechanic.

" Oh I am still waiting to hear back from that mob, I'll call them now and get back to you ".

............!!!!!!!!!!!!!...............

bruce !!!!

03-06-2008, 03:07 PM

" Oh I am still waiting to hear back from that mob, I'll call them now and get back to you ".

bruce !!!!

Phill at this stage I would start telling the idiot that every event involving his poor service is being diarized on Australia's largest "Public" fishing chat forum and that the company name is edging perilessly close to being mentioned if they don't start providing some satisfaction PRONTO!

Mtx
03-06-2008, 03:26 PM
have you got to 10 yet?

I would be at 24 by now

Kleyny
03-06-2008, 03:32 PM
your a more patient man than me.

Either that or you forgot where ten goes when counting;D

you would want ot hope that its the best motor ever after this.

neil

03-06-2008, 03:49 PM
now 3.47pm and NO return phone call.

Has anyone got some " bail " money on standby ???

bruce

Outsider1
03-06-2008, 04:02 PM
Phil,

you need a Garden Gnome (see last 20 seconds)!;

3sv5s9IK10k

Dave;D

03-06-2008, 05:14 PM
Those nut crackers I spoke of Phil, there are in the post, I think the time has come.

Mtx
03-06-2008, 06:50 PM
I am sure if you needed bail money for this situation, a few people on here would chip in to cover it.

03-06-2008, 07:01 PM

bruce !!!!

And the apologies came fast and furiously didn't they Phil?? Is he off your Christmas card list by now???::) He is stalling for some reason.....Bet your bottom dollar he is on credit hold with Nissan or something stupid, but can't lay his balls on the table because he knows you have every right to brick him. Time to say " what's the real story here dude????"

Brian

Mtx
03-06-2008, 07:03 PM
name and shame. Something dodgey is going on here :|

03-06-2008, 07:59 PM

Bloody hell phil, i'm surprised you haven't killed the bloke yet

What's next?

04-06-2008, 11:29 AM
:angryfire::hammer::wut:

11.25 Wednesday. Rang the ' mech ' back.... he said the guys didn't get back to him and something about them being in Dalby ?? !!!! he said they should get back to him today and he will call me as soon as he hears from them............

bruce

Mtx
04-06-2008, 11:38 AM
you are a better man than I am.

He would be hanging from his hoist by now.

04-06-2008, 01:43 PM

I hope you will take the cost of your lost income off of his bill

04-06-2008, 04:48 PM

I hope you will take the cost of your lost income off of his bill

What bill? If this idiot has the nerve to charge a cent after all this he deserves to be hung at dawn (Probably should be anyway).

04-06-2008, 08:13 PM
What bill?

I feel the same way but I garuntee he'll produce one

04-06-2008, 10:52 PM
No he won't.... I have paid for the initial repairs and this issue is a problem with the part that was supplied by a Nissan dealer.

In fact... I may be compensated........ I'll wake up one morning and realise I should have bought a Toyota.......... ::) :o :-/

bruce

Leigh77
05-06-2008, 05:01 PM
I just dropped in to check to see if you have had a win yet...The drama is still going!? Gets you thinking how a simple job can turn to pooh so easily.

Maybe you should change your nic to Waiting_Phill

4x4frog
05-06-2008, 05:48 PM
have you got to 10 yet?

I would be at 24 by now
He is under too much pressure to boil.........the mechanic is lucky that raising the pressure raises the boiling point;D

05-06-2008, 07:05 PM
He is under too much pressure to boil.........the mechanic is lucky that raising the pressure raises the boiling point;D

Phill is like a radiator. Don't undo the cap whilst he is hot. Stand back if you do!!!;D

06-06-2008, 09:15 AM
You are right Leigh, seems my whole life revolves around... waiting.. for someone or something.... it is always out of my control....:-/

Maybe it is time to take control.8-)

BTW....... no word yet... another long weekend without the Nissan...>:( >:( :'(

lol at the Poo's analogy.

bruce aka waiting-phill

06-06-2008, 09:54 AM
Hi Phil
Your paitance is serving you no justice, its time to take the cap off the radiator. At this point he is playing on your good nature, its not on. You really do need to pay this chappy a visit and start telling him the costs that he is up for (maybe with a letter from the lawyer). This prick should have at least the decency to imform you on a daily basis as to where it is all at. I can understand the new part being faulty, it does happen but there is no way I can understand the attitude of the prick you are dealing with. I'm angry to put it mildly, the time for action is here phil, you really do need to work on this fellow, dont wait for more phone calls

BrandonH
06-06-2008, 12:05 PM
I agree with Blaze Phil... Time you told this prick what he is costing your business, your own time and your mates time. I like the idea of a letter from your lawyer but thats just more expenses for you too outlay:-[ May be the only way to get your truck back before Christmas though:-X

Maybe.... if he keeps on about Nissan taking their time, try to get the contact name and number from him and call them up yourself and complain, it may be that this prick isn't pushing Nissan hard enough??? maybe if Nissan knew exactly what has happened with this job they might work a little faster to keep you happy??

good luck with it all mate.

Brandon...

07-06-2008, 06:44 PM
OK, had a call from mech late Friday.

he told me the people that have the head have done an inspection and he is awaiting the results.

I asked for their phone number and got it.

Called them immediately. Spoke to " stuart ', and he said " the boss came in today and did an inspection and testing. Said it had a 5thou bow in the head, he has gone back to Dalby to write up a report and he'll send it to me next week ".

This is so funny I cannot contain myself :behead:

Firstly, the place I called are NOT a dealer.... supplier yes, maybe supplied from a dealer, I don't really know or care... I was told it was a genuine head, so maybe this mob ' imported ' it.... who cares.....:-/

Then to be told that the boss knows the problem, the mech knows the problem, but the boss has to write a report and send it with his recommendation next week. I asked what was to be done , playing ignorant of all things mechanical. Do you shave the head, get a new one ?????? No specific answer other than, I'll have to wait for the report and recommendation next week.

At this point I made it clear that vehicle Hire costs are getting out of hand.

I also told him that due to the pressurising, my NEW radiator has expanded and may need to be replaced. I also told him of the Radiator mob that tested new radiator and cap so he is aware of the situation.

Near the end of the phone conversation I told ' stuart ' that the vehicle was a business truck and was indeed needed for such business, but that is nothing compared to the " issue of not having a tow vehicle for my boat and weekends that have good weather ".. I said " it's now getting personal ".

The State Vs State 4 x 4 Challenge this weekend at Rover park

The Boyne-Tannum Hook-Up this weekend

Both of which were in the mix until ...........>:(

BTW, 20 days and counting..........

bruce... aka ( waiting -phill )

07-06-2008, 06:52 PM
well Phill...just start sending them invoices..lost time at $100 per hour. I am sure they will soon see it your way.

Can't the boss write anything unless he is in Dalby..that is a classic.

Outsider1
07-06-2008, 07:01 PM
What's the bet it is a reconditioned head!?

Interesting that there is an Engine Reconditioning business located in Dalby, coincidence perhaps? (Edit, actually there are 2 in Dalby, one of which specialises in reconditioning diesel heads!)

07-06-2008, 07:30 PM
I hope you are wrong, Dave. I was told AND paid for a NEW head.

Strange you should mention that, when I first spoke to ' stuart ' he said Quote " I have your old head here ",

and I corrected him, saying it was a new head......

please don't tell me :'( :'(

07-06-2008, 07:45 PM
"A Current Affair" material Phill. Absolutely unbelievable. I'd have been showing extreme anger at this stage well and truly. I don't know how you do it but I might ask you for lessons in "extreme restraint!"

07-06-2008, 08:51 PM
Phil - I bet youre man got that head from here

http://www.engineaustralia.com/

May have been a new head but probably not "genuine Nissan"

07-06-2008, 09:07 PM
In fact... I may be compensated........ I'll wake up one morning and realise I should have bought a Toyota.......... ::) :o :-/
bruce

Now say 9.9999991 and give yourself an uppercut ;D Toyo:-X toy:-X t:-X

The patience you exibit is unreal :o I'd be *%^%&^$^%##(*( you %***^*&^*& and i'll $^%(&%*$&%$&% >:(

09-06-2008, 01:13 PM
sorry Phil
I think you have been ripped

09-06-2008, 02:07 PM
Yep, I've been holding off on commenting on this thread, but I think it's reached that point. If it smells like poo, tastes like poo, and sounds like poo, it sure as hell ain't candy.

I'd be pulling off the gloves and going on a rampage. Get a Nissan tech to look at the head and check it is legit, too.

09-06-2008, 03:10 PM
Have just checked invoice/ reciept.

it states " Cylinder head ( new ) "

Doesn't say Genuine !!!

09-06-2008, 03:40 PM
Should it really make a difference? The service you've had is shite, and you have a right to expect better even from a non genuine part.

10-06-2008, 02:01 PM
I called shop that has head at 11.58am. Spoke to Stuart and he said he will call me back in about 20 seconds as he hasn't the paperwork in front of him.

Now. 2.05pm........ tic toc........

:-/

10-06-2008, 03:29 PM
Ring the bastard back! Don't let him off the hook. Show him that you expect service! Honestly, this is an all too common picture of business in this country, and when you make a song and dance, they act like YOU are the problem!!

10-06-2008, 03:56 PM
Ring the bastard back! Don't let him off the hook. Show him that you expect service! Honestly, this is an all too common picture of business in this country, and when you make a song and dance, they act like YOU are the problem!!
I agree but I think at this point in time the response is 10, maybe 20 times too mild.
ps
Phil if you was half as pissed as I am feeling, maybe enough said. I know going off half cocked will do no good but I would be over phone calls, it would be face to face contacts withy all parties concerned, invoices in hand with a letter from solister informing them of acruing costs.

10-06-2008, 06:08 PM
Seeing as they insist on having you chase them up all the time I would be adding phone calls to their bill. Let's think of how many more out of pocket expenses we can conjure up in the meantime. You may well get your original $6k back Phill.

10-06-2008, 06:41 PM
I believe you guys are right.

I am working out of town tomorrow, but will be about Thursday. I should consider that " D " day ?

Thursday's weather looked bloody great, thought I'd have reckie hit at Mud ... then remembered I have no tow vehicle... aaarrgghhhh

Still doesn't mean I can't open a can of Whoop Ass on the SP boys at the R 2 M.

blaze, it has taken me many years to be ' calm '..... I am not going to blow it over a mechanical device and a few ****heads.

stay tuned...............

bruce...... waiting Phill

10-06-2008, 07:04 PM
Thursday's weather looked bloody great, thought I'd have reckie hit at Mud ...

I know Phil.... guess where i'm headed...........

10-06-2008, 08:29 PM
Thanks Dave :P :P

good luck

10-06-2008, 08:53 PM
Phill,

Probably too late but I hope you have documented all this from the start. A lesson for everyone here, the more paper work you can produce the better when going into battle against a buisness.

I hope it all works out Phill

BrewGuru
10-06-2008, 09:21 PM
Phill, I have a spare toyota hilux space cab sitting in the shed doing nothing, equiped with tow bar etc if you need it, its yours to use for a month or two, no charge, I can deliver it to your joint Thursday am if you like, let me know, it yours

10-06-2008, 10:00 PM
Hi Phil
Know where you are coming with the agro thing, learnt many moons ago that it dosnt pay to show agro when dealing with like situations, dosnt hurt to follow through with good clear concise action though driven by that agro.

11-06-2008, 05:22 AM
Thanks Garry, yes, kept a pretty good record of times/ dates etc.

Thanks Ed, muchly appreciated but I believe there is a result just around the corner.

Yes, Robbie.... hopefully my message is getting across that ' action ' is on the way.

11-06-2008, 06:31 AM
Hi Phil
Know where you are coming with the agro thing, learnt many moons ago that it dosnt pay to show agro when dealing with like situations, dosnt hurt to follow through with good clear concise action though driven by that agro.

Dead right, you lose your temper, you lose the war. Facts, facts, nothing but facts.

BUT, you can be very damned testy, very coldly logical (go in steps) - speak slowly (like you are giving them time to understand), with a slightly raised voice (add a slight quiver if you can) and it really puts the shits up people. I know - I use it all the time!!! ;D;D;D

Good Luck,

11-06-2008, 05:09 PM
well, called ' head ' people at 4.34pm Wednesday 11th, and they referred me back to mech. The report is yet to arrive.:-/ Phoned mech at 4.40pm same day.

Mechanic said that they ( head people ) are sending head back tomorrow with new parts. Mech will ' mill / machine ' head , fit new parts " seats/ insert " etc and replace it on Friday. maybe not get vehicle back that day......:(

Any issue after that will be referred straight back to head supplier as they are insisting there is nothing wrong with head except for 5thou bow. Head supplier are aware that if vehicle goes back to them down the track it will be accompanied by claims for loss of income, inconvenience, hire costs, LEGAL costs and more....

Mech has been dealing with head supplier for 20 years and has never made a warranty claim, first one and they dump him, fob him off.... as I am told.

The story continues.........

bruce...... aka...... waiting, desperate, unlucky, confused and tired...Phill

11-06-2008, 05:26 PM
bruce...... aka...... waiting, desperate, unlucky, confused and tired...Phill

You forgot to add Doormat_Phill, Bend_me_over_Phill. All jokes aside I am glad there is finally light at the end of the tunnel (although you have not got it back yet). :-X Well I did throw the towel in with my job and handed in an official written resignation after my week off. Final date of employ will be on the 20th. of this month. My employer has offered double what I am earning to keep me but too little too late because I have already said yes to my new employers who have offered more than twice my current income, company car, and less hours. Sounding pretty darn good to me. ;)

11-06-2008, 06:01 PM
Nice work Andrew....

Kleyny
11-06-2008, 07:05 PM
sorry to devert off the topic again bruce :)

You forgot to add Doormat_Phill, Bend_me_over_Phill. All jokes aside I am glad there is finally light at the end of the tunnel (although you have not got it back yet). :-X Well I did throw the towel in with my job and handed in an official written resignation after my week off. Final date of employ will be on the 20th. of this month. My employer has offered double what I am earning to keep me but too little too late because I have already said yes to my new employers who have offered more than twice my current income, company car, and less hours. Sounding pretty darn good to me. ;)

good for you poodroo.
they should have been a better employer in the first place. now watch them struggle.;D
Like we both said last week plenty of good jobs out there.

congrates

neil

11-06-2008, 09:16 PM
sorry to devert off the topic again bruce :)

good for you poodroo.
they should have been a better employer in the first place. now watch them struggle.;D
Like we both said last week plenty of good jobs out there.

congrates

neil

Thanks Neil. Funny thing is once I officially resigned my employer who claimed he was unable to afford any more pay increases suddenly offered me an extra $300 per week? Well I was tempted to stay right up until the point where he started talking about laying some staff off to afford to pay that kind of wage but my immediate question was "Um doesn't that mean I will have to work ten times harder than I already am working and I will still have to pay for my own fuel?" :-X >:( A BIG no thankyou.

Nice work Andrew....
Sorry if I created a thread hijacking Phill.
Thanks Phill. Funny thing is my new bosses name will be Phil. Hmmm.
Let me know if you want to come out for a fish one day to take your mind off the Nissan. Happy to take you out on the water although this weekend is crap.

11-06-2008, 10:32 PM
OK, Andrew, this weekend is good for me, I'll hook up Skanky Hoe behind the Paj and we can hit Awoonga or Monduran,, some nice barra waiting there for me.

Bugga.... fuel costs.... :o

Oh,, and I have Brooke this weekend and......

Queensland won the S.O.O... tonight.

and a miracle might happen Friday and the Nissan will be back on the road / dirt !!

'tis a good night to be a Queenslander........... see I still have a sense of humour ::)

phill

11-06-2008, 11:02 PM
well, called ' head ' people at 4.34pm Wednesday 11th, and they referred me back to mech. The report is yet to arrive.:-/ Phoned mech at 4.40pm same day.

Mechanic said that they ( head people ) are sending head back tomorrow with new parts. Mech will ' mill / machine ' head , fit new parts " seats/ insert " etc and replace it on Friday. maybe not get vehicle back that day......:(

Any issue after that will be referred straight back to head supplier as they are insisting there is nothing wrong with head except for 5thou bow. Head supplier are aware that if vehicle goes back to them down the track it will be accompanied by claims for loss of income, inconvenience, hire costs, LEGAL costs and more....

Phil - I would personally go and check out the cylinder bores etc before they reassemble. If it has overheated and they have just ripped the head off and sent it away you could have oil consumption issues (or worse) down the track if the pistons/rings have picked up.

If the failure is their fault I would want the pistons out and the bore honed minimum. The job needs to be done properly or you will be back having problems down the track.

12-06-2008, 07:09 AM
OK, Andrew, this weekend is good for me, I'll hook up Skanky Hoe behind the Paj and we can hit Awoonga or Monduran,, some nice barra waiting there for me.

Bugga.... fuel costs.... :o

Oh,, and I have Brooke this weekend and......

Queensland won the S.O.O... tonight.

and a miracle might happen Friday and the Nissan will be back on the road / dirt !!

'tis a good night to be a Queenslander........... see I still have a sense of humour ::)

phill

Does Skanky Hoe even know what it is like being hooked up behind a real 4wd? ::)
Yes Qld did win the State Of Origin last night. How big a killing was that all you blues supporters? ;D
It is good to be a Queenslander. ;) Good to see you still have a sense of humour.

Okay back to fishing Phill, it just so happens I was planning a slightly more local trip if you are interested. I know a nice little squire/snapper spot in the Pin that will be slightly more out of the wind than in the Bay. Planning to meet up with Scalem and For Steve in the early hours of Saturday. As yet I don't have a deckie but you and Brooke are welcome to join me if interested in Nauti~Gal if you want to.

I am still trying to understand why people love travelling all the way to Monduran to catch Barra that you cannot keep? I know they taste like crap in fresh water (apparently) so where is the attraction to going so far to catch them? Let me know when you want to venture into the salt water croc territory. I wouldn't mind catching one of those Barra. ;)

12-06-2008, 04:34 PM
Greg, I may not get a chance to check bores, but attempt to.

Can the issue be detected with a compression test once I get the vehicle back ?

12-06-2008, 07:44 PM
More of a long term concern causing premature problems. Given what you have mentioned regarding his workmanship I would say they would take the quickest,cheapest way to fix something.

The bores maybe fine but personally as a diesel fitter if it were my engine I would inspect the bore , replace the rings and give the bore a quick hone (if recommended by Nissan) while it was down. 70-80k down the track you don't want to be pulling the engine down again cause of oil usage or something.

12-06-2008, 10:02 PM
OK, I will make big attempt to get and have a look down the bore tomorrow.

13-06-2008, 12:31 PM
Called mech today 12.15pm. He has looked and tested bores etc as this was part of the requirement for him to do, when he placed a warranty claim with the Head supplier. All is good.

He has head, will face it today and get it ready for fitting Monday. New VRS, head bolts etc.

The head IS a genuine Nissan product but not from Nissan. The story goes along the lines of Nissan has stopped making this model engines so offers the spare parts up for bulk sale. The head supplier bought shitloads. Ended up being cheaper than buying from Nissan.

Mech suggestion to add Low Water Buzzer to top of radiator tank for peace of mind.

Mech also stated that he has heard of other '; heads ' not being right from the factory, not common, but I am not alone. Mech also stated that I will know if there is going to be an issue within the first couple of weeks of getting the truck back.

I see light at the end of the very long tunnel.8-)

I will then be in a quandry.

I will have a vehicle that has endured many ' issues ' but in reality is in tip top shape with many $'s of extras added. So, do I sell it off and hope the next vehicle ( if it is second hand ) does not have similar problems, or do I persist knowing that just about every part of the vehicle has been upgraded or replaced over the last couple of years and in fact should provide many many more years trouble free running .

I started to add up the extras..... dollar wise,, and holy crap:o... there has been some big chunks of lettuce spent on the Nissan. Never get my money back, but it would make a great vehicle for someone that wants to hit the road running.. dirt road that is.

bring on Monday.................;D

phill

13-06-2008, 03:42 PM
You have spent the $'s on that vehicle Phil and unless you buy new, you will never Know what has come before. The problem you have had could very easily happen on a car with 20 000 km on it.
The only issue (apart from down time) is the fact you have payed top $ for a new head and you will end up with a second hand head because it will have had 5 thou + shaved off it. What you need to know is what is the max that can be planed off the head?. Has the hardness of the head been affected & tested (does happen and they get soft, no end of problems). Some ali heads cant be planed at all.
I feel you have every right to expect a new head ( sold not fit for intented purpose) or at the very least if that one is accepted you should have a written extended warranty and a partial refund on the value of the head as it is now second hand.
Thoughts for you to ponder
I also think your mechanic is talking shit in reguards to the bores, he should have checked the surface of the block in relation to the warp in the head.

13-06-2008, 04:05 PM
He did mention the surface of the block, now that you reminded me....

I see what you mean about now having a ' second hand head ". certainly food for thought there.

I will ask around about the head shaving.. it is a alloy composite head I believe... I can find out.

13-06-2008, 06:28 PM
Called mech today 12.15pm. He has looked and tested bores etc as this was part of the requirement for him to do, when he placed a warranty claim with the Head supplier. All is good.

He has head, will face it today and get it ready for fitting Monday. New VRS, head bolts etc.

The head IS a genuine Nissan product but not from Nissan. The story goes along the lines of Nissan has stopped making this model engines so offers the spare parts up for bulk sale. The head supplier bought shitloads. Ended up being cheaper than buying from Nissan.

Mech suggestion to add Low Water Buzzer to top of radiator tank for peace of mind.

Mech also stated that he has heard of other '; heads ' not being right from the factory, not common, but I am not alone. Mech also stated that I will know if there is going to be an issue within the first couple of weeks of getting the truck back.

I see light at the end of the very long tunnel.8-)

I will then be in a quandry.

I will have a vehicle that has endured many ' issues ' but in reality is in tip top shape with many $'s of extras added. So, do I sell it off and hope the next vehicle ( if it is second hand ) does not have similar problems, or do I persist knowing that just about every part of the vehicle has been upgraded or replaced over the last couple of years and in fact should provide many many more years trouble free running .

I started to add up the extras..... dollar wise,, and holy crap:o... there has been some big chunks of lettuce spent on the Nissan. Never get my money back, but it would make a great vehicle for someone that wants to hit the road running.. dirt road that is.

bring on Monday.................;D

phill

Phill provided they get it right this time and have done everything correctly there is no reason why the Navara won't come up like new. After all she has been through I would personally keep it especially after the expenditure.

14-06-2008, 08:24 AM
Thing is the Brand new ones are 33k plus onroads.... not bad.

But I would get bugga all as a trade in. As for a private sale, jeez, a near to fully optioned 3ltr turbo diesel dual cab with 190k's on the dial.....

Reason is, dealers don't like all the " crap " on the car.

ARB Bar
T-Max winch
IPF Floods
135ltr fuel tank
Alloy Tray
Colorbond/ vinyl canopy with ladder racks and internal lighting
Water tank
3000kg tow bar
Dual battery w/ electric isolator
Safari Snorkel
UHF
Doof Doof with 4 speakers
Sheep skins
Rear flood lighting
CSA Villian 15 x 8 mags
Cooper 31 x 10.5 ATR's
Color Coded front flares
Turbo Boost gauge
Fully kitted recovery box, bolted in.

and did I mention it was a Nissan ;D ;D ;D

bruce

16-06-2008, 07:36 PM
In the last 12 months ( all was fine until recently) my Paj has had

New Timing chain and head work 2K
New clutch and pressure plate $1200
4 new ATR cooper tyres and idler arm, other bits I can't remember the names $1500
Reco Alternator I forget how much
Water pump Don't want to know
Fuel pump another $1100
New shocks before EFYDo you think I am selling it for the sake of another 2nd hand 4WD? Or go totally new where my monthly repayments will still be more than all these expenses totalled up, and averaged over the 4 years since I paid the residual out on the lease? Try find a better condition turbo Deisel Pajero for approx $145.00 per month and I think that is my answer. There will come a time when market value will be less than the amount of expense to keep it on the road, but I don't think either of us have reached that point.. Or have you Phil?

Keep it Bruce

17-06-2008, 05:33 PM
Tuesday 17th in the arvo at 5.32pm and still no word, no call, no update, no nuffin.... This officially makes it ONE MONTH..................>:( >:(

bruce

Outsider1
17-06-2008, 05:37 PM
I would be sending them my first "time and car hire" invoice!.

17-06-2008, 09:09 PM
Tuesday 17th in the arvo at 5.32pm and still no word, no call, no update, no nuffin.... This officially makes it ONE MONTH..................>:(
bruce

I think they have done it up and sold it by now Bruce. They obviously think they can string you along for at least another year so you won't miss it. ::) By next month they will be holidaying in the Bahama's at your expense. :-X

18-06-2008, 07:44 AM
I think they have done it up and sold it by now Bruce. They obviously think they can string you along for at least another year so you won't miss it. ::) By next month they will be holidaying in the Bahama's at your expense. :-X

Agreed. Mate, you have way too much self control. You must be sick of getting nailed by Businesses that see you as a soft touch. I'll buy you a loin cloth and a big stick and give you some cave man lessons. You need 'em;D;D;D

19-06-2008, 06:29 PM
Today ( thursday 19th ) at 2pm I couldn't wait so I phoned mech.

He told me I should have the Nissan back tomorrow arvo ( Friday 20th ). OK,, you may think that is good news....:-/

I asked again about the head and he said that the supplier told him it was 6thou out using a straight edge. He then said that the supplier used this on the head with still some gasket left there. Once he tested it, he ( mech ) found a 3thou bow. So he ' faced it ". he also did a hardness test and the heat tab he placed on the head does not indicate any cooking or heat. he has replaced the insert and pressure tested it, seems ' OK ". The cam " things " are straight.

When I asked for his honest opinion of what to expect... he replied " wait and see ". " If it is OK after a month, it should be fine "...

Well folks,,,,, that's my warranty for a $5,600 repair " wait and see " " should be fine " FFS !!! >:( >:(

I did mention to him that the head is now secondhand as it has work done on it... but he wouldn't have a bar of that, insisting that the casting is only 3 months old.

He then goes on to tell me that, should the head create problems, I should take it to the supplier............. WHY ? " you did the job ", " reply... " yes but they insist there is no problem ". Well, they have already dismissed a warranty claim, so why would they entertain me in regard to further issues ?

OK.... I contacted radiator mob, and they will install low water alert system when I get the car back. They are good to deal with... very good.

So, being Thursday night and I am getting up at 3.30am to go fishing ( yes, someone has to do it ),,, I will hit the sack fairly soon.

I may have a Nissan tomorrow arvo :-/ 8-)

bruce.....aka.............. expectant phill

19-06-2008, 06:46 PM
Phil,

I know a Landy going cheep. Tows well and only driven by a little old lady on Sunday's ;D

20-06-2008, 05:06 PM
whats the latest Phil, did ya do yourself a favour and buy bretts landie

20-06-2008, 08:07 PM
No Robbie, but mech phoned me at 4.45pm this arvo asking if i was in the area so I can pick up the Nissan. Knowing full well that I was going to Gatton to work and had to be there by 5pm.

So it has been arranged to be picked up tomorrow ( saturday 21st ) and he asked " can you pick it up before midday ? ".... ffftttttt

Still deciding whether to keep the Nissan or trade it.

NO,, no landies for this little black duck... :P ;) ;D

bruce

Noiseworks
20-06-2008, 08:30 PM
Hope everything works out well for you. Don't worry.....you'll always be Lucky_Phil to us.

BILLY THE KID
20-06-2008, 08:43 PM
No Robbie, but mech phoned me at 4.45pm this arvo asking if i was in the area so I can pick up the Nissan. Knowing full well that I was going to Gatton to work and had to be there by 5pm.

So it has been arranged to be picked up tomorrow ( saturday 21st ) and he asked " can you pick it up before midday ? ".... ffftttttt

bruce

play him at his game , borrow the car offered earlier and dont ring him and leave the car there for a bit ;)

20-06-2008, 09:06 PM

bruce

I'd leave the Nissan there at his workshop for a week not just to see how he likes waiting. :P ;D
Glad that there is finally signs of closure on this for you Phill because every time I looked at this thread my blood raised in temperature at least by 10 degrees. I still don't know how you remained so calm through it for so long but it is a credit to you. I'd have lost it ages ago. ::)

20-06-2008, 11:59 PM
I let off some steam today....:-

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=132980

;D ;D ;D 8-) 8-) ;)

feeling lucky ?

21-06-2008, 09:27 AM
"Lucky Phil"
we can only hope

21-06-2008, 05:14 PM
Well, picked up the Nissan today.

Not much was said.

taking a trip to Toowoomba tomorrow, so we'll see if there is any ' issues '. That's about a 200k round trip for me.

phill

22-06-2008, 07:48 PM
Headed off to Toowoomba this morning at 4.30am.... it's about 110k's from me....

After an 11 hour work day, I checked the radiator level and it took about a large cup full of water. ??

So, upon getting home I immediately lifted the bonnet to check for noises, heat, spurting water or gremlins...... none were found. This could be a good thing.

I will check the water level again in the morning... here's hoping the radiator is full.

The Nissan went well for the trip. Strange how the cost of Diesel gets cheaper the further you drive from Brisbane.. ??? what gives ??

$1.78.9 at Sherwood
$1.77.9 at Ipswich
$1.73.8 at Gatton

Must be the transport costs ???? anyway, I filled up at Gatton for a cost of $179.80.. ouch !

Oh, I did ask the mech on Saturday to fax me a detailed letter setting out what was done and who done what when etc. He agreed and took my number.

I'm back ........ cheers Lucky_Phill

Noiseworks
22-06-2008, 07:55 PM
Congratulations Phil. Let's hope that things have finally turned the corner for you and you can get back to enjoying life.

Noiseworks

22-06-2008, 08:38 PM

Phil, now that you're lucky, are you going to name the "said" mechanic?

22-06-2008, 08:57 PM
Headed off to Toowoomba this morning at 4.30am.... it's about 110k's from me....

After an 11 hour work day, I checked the radiator level and it took about a large cup full of water. ??

So, upon getting home I immediately lifted the bonnet to check for noises, heat, spurting water or gremlins...... none were found. This could be a good thing.

I will check the water level again in the morning... here's hoping the radiator is full.

The Nissan went well for the trip. Strange how the cost of Diesel gets cheaper the further you drive from Brisbane.. ??? what gives ??

$1.78.9 at Sherwood
$1.77.9 at Ipswich
$1.73.8 at Gatton

Must be the transport costs ???? anyway, I filled up at Gatton for a cost of $179.80.. ouch !

Oh, I did ask the mech on Saturday to fax me a detailed letter setting out what was done and who done what when etc. He agreed and took my number.

I'm back ........ cheers Lucky_Phill
I filled up today @ $1.90.09
The little bit of water could be an air pocket, used to take 5 days to get all the air out of our 626 mazda at about 1/3 of a cup a day.

23-06-2008, 01:49 AM
You had a blast of a fishing trip so hopefully the Nissan is all good too.

4x4frog
23-06-2008, 07:13 AM
:'( Yeah, great Phil. It's a bit like your fav soapy has finished, what are we all gunna do now;D
Hope it's all plain sailing along for you now.

Funny though, I read comments here and hear from lots of people how hard it is to bleed cooling systems in cars......solution, get a Renault, they have little bleed screws built into the cooling circuit, makes it dead easy to bleed. :P

23-06-2008, 06:36 PM
You are on the money Robbie.

I checked water this morning..... FULL ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Drove around today and all seems fine. I am still a little bit hesitant and waiting for something to shit itself. The mech said i didn't have to bring the car back to have the head bolts re-tensioned ????? OH, and he said the battery is weak, not too good, so I replaced it immediately and thought, shoot, my radio has to be turned off manually and when I picked the car up, it was on but turned down. 33 days with radio on should the flatten battery ????:-/ So I have a new battery..... all is good.!! the old one was 2 years old anyway.

I am now planning an offroad trip... mmm thinking... Fraser, sounds nice this time of year ::) 8-)

and these are the days of our lives...... ;D :P

OK, now that all seems to be in order the mechs name is

Logan Specialised Engineering and the head came from Engines Australia.

shano
23-06-2008, 08:24 PM
are you serious!!!! LSE...man they used to know there stuff phill! well whenthey used to sponser me when i raced at speedway! this was about 10 years ago now! i will say that they were slow back then! but built a bullet proof engine!
so when is the next 4x4 m&g?????? i wanna take the pajero for a play to try out my new lift!!!!
spent $160 today on a new oil cooler pipe! mine has a hole in it, mitsubishi says it is the first time they have heard of it going!!!!!! hmmm trust it to happen to me!

anyway need another trip:)

4x4frog
24-06-2008, 07:57 AM
Excellent that all is now well.
Don't be too worried about the ehad not needing retensioning, there are mono-torque gaskets available for petrol engines and they must have varied now to deisel as well.
Having major stuff done is actually terrible for your blood pressure isn't it, like you say you drive around on tender hooks waiting for the inevitable:o every little extra noise makes you jump.

SeaHunt
24-06-2008, 11:29 AM
OH, and he said the battery is weak, not too good, so I replaced it immediately and thought, shoot, my radio has to be turned off manually and when I picked the car up, it was on but turned down. 33 days with radio on should the flatten battery ????:-/ So I have a new battery..... all is good.!! the old one was 2 years old anyway.

I am now planning an offroad trip... mmm thinking... Fraser, sounds nice this time of year ::) 8-)

Well fingers crossed all goes well for you from here on in Phill.
What did you do with the old battery?
Not that 2 years is OLD.
My boat still has the same battery it came with, and that will be six years ago in September, still going strong, though with a boat it is probably better to be safe than sorry, a bit hard to jump start it.

29-06-2008, 12:27 PM
I left my old battery at mates 4 x 4 shop.

I don't use a battery to start the motor in my boat as she is a pull start, but that battery in her now is good. And I refuse to use old batteries melted down to make sinkers.

So, the Nissan has traveled 1,100k's and has not use any water. :)

I am getting the new radiator fitted by the end of July with the low water alert system as a ' peace of mind ' accessory.

Now to get the rego sticker on, oil change done and spray the central locking that is starting to stick.:-/

The Nissan is back and ready to take to the hills, bush, sand or tarmac. ;D 8-)

Noiseworks
29-06-2008, 06:49 PM
Happy to hearing things are going well. Got to admit that when i saw this thread had resurfaced I caught my breath. I thought geez hasn't Lucky_Phil been through enough. Just glad things are positive.

Noiseworks

02-07-2008, 06:52 AM
Thanks everyone for your input, thoughts, opinions etc...

It's been a while now, and all the signs are good.

I will be taking the Nissan for a 3 day offroad excursion from this Saturday. :)

I have NOT recieved promised fax containing all work done and a review of the situation regarding the head....... did I really think I would get it ? ::) :-/ >:(

At the end of the day, the service I recieved from this place was well below standard and in fact poor. The communication levels were none existent and the time taken to complete the job was way too long. Whether the workshop is understaffed, busy etc is not my problem, it is a business and therefore must provide the service it offers, in this case it did not.

I know I will never take my vehicle back to that business and I encourage others to ' get in writing ' any work to be done and time limits etc, if they intend to use them.

To sum it up, the Nissan ( work vehicle ) was in the shop a total of 44 days for a job that should have taken no more than a week and in fact, speaking to others, could have been completed in 3 days.

I spent hard earned on travelling back and forth to drop off Nissan, missed several hours of work, stress waiting for return of vehicle, missing weekend adventures with family, and the 44 days car hire, which could have cost in excess of $1,300, had I not been in a position of having another vehicle.

I will put this down to experience, but I do not want to experience this sort of thing again >:(

On the bright side, I rang local mech about an oil change and he said just phone ahead an hour and we'll fit it in. Did that Monday, rang shop, turned up 40 minutes later...... 25 minutes after that I was on my way again, job done. To add to this, it was one of the cleanest workshops I have ever seen, all apprentices and mech's wore a uniform and were efficient and polite. This is a private business, not a franchise, so to Clint at Sherwood Automotive Services, thanks for the professional" service ".

05-11-2008, 08:50 PM
bugga !

It appears that all is not OK.

A couple of weeks back a noise started under the bonnet. Came in at about 2200rpm through all gears.

Would not do it while car was stationary, only under load.

This noise to me sounded like a Throw Out Bearing........

It also had me thinking of a bearing of some sorts ( maybe one that was drowned some time ago ::) ) air con, power steering ???? It even sounded like a fanbelt, you know that skreeching sound.

So, stopped off at my fav 4 x 4 shop at Slacks Creek and spoke to Brad.

Looking under the bonnet he noticed a bolt missing from the alternator bracket... mmmmm not good. Put in new bolt, but noise still there. We managed to get the motor to make the noise while stationary.

he and other mech decided I should not drive car as it appeared the problem could be in the turbo. damn.....................:'(

Next day I get phone call late arvo saying issue is fixed. ;D

Seems that ' other ' ( problem mechanic ) got a little slack. All bolts around the turbo, intake and manifold were loose. The gasket at the flange was also loose and " not happy ". :-/ The noise was intake sucking air.

There is not doubt how this happened. >:( >:( So, I am now at pains whether to call "other ' mech and let he know about his ineptitude.

I will have to replace the manifold / flange gasket down the track of course, but again, it was not my fault. The ' other ' mech caused this to happen. It will cost me a day labour ( mechanic ) and bugga all for the flange gasket and my vehicle off the road for another day. NO......... this is not a Nissan issue :P you Toyota drivers.

The Nissan is going well and has just clicked over 200,000k's..... and is 6 years old.

05-11-2008, 09:16 PM
Maybe the time has come Phil

06-11-2008, 05:54 AM
I have been pondering that question blaze.

I have a few things to consider atm in regard to the Nissan.

Firstly, only the bottom end of the motor and turbo are the items that have not been touched or renewed. So the car is fairly new... considering.

I now know it inside out.;D

It has a shit load of extras that have made it a ' comfortable " car.8-)

It is setup for work and play.... which I now realise is to my detriment. :-/ :(

There are tax issues involved. 8-)

I also am at crossroads whether to place myself into a big financial commitment buying a new vehicle.....atm.

I did look under the bonnet of the new 300plus kilowatt Toyota HiLux yesterday..... HOLY CRAP !!!!!:o :o :o

I am sure an omen will come to me.............. trouble is ... will, I recognize it ??? :-X::) :-/

phill

06-11-2008, 06:15 AM
I'd be taking a dump in his letterbox, for sure. Beyond that, hell, what have you got? I can maybe organise a couple of Maori Boys to go and "visit" him, if you like...:smash:

06-11-2008, 06:31 AM
Going back to original mechanic might help with the cost again Phil, it must still be under warranty?? Especially for work that is obviously due to slackness.

But the question lies in whether you want to take the risk of getting him under your bonnet again, the downtime in how long he is likely to have your truck is enough reasoning for me not to. Then there is the risk that he might snap a bolt, or something that will have a dominos affect to the other parts ofthe motor. There is no amount of complaining or leaving presents in his letterbox that will cough up an apology - the man has no conscience. Tough decisions!

Chris Ryan
06-11-2008, 08:22 AM
I recommend the Hilux. I got an SR5 petrol version as a work car now. Nice is an understatement.

06-11-2008, 08:49 AM
Phil, mate, digger, buddy, pal. It doesn't end....EVER!!!

Didn't your dad ever teach you. If it's got t@*& or tyres your gunna have to pay for it. FOREVER!!

And the last time I looked your ute had tyres so.....

Have a nice day :)

06-11-2008, 11:09 AM
Get one of these Phill!:P

SeaHunt
06-11-2008, 11:30 AM
Get it fixed, hang on to it and start saving for when it does need to be replaced.

It didn't let you down this time, some slack prick did.

Kleyny
06-11-2008, 03:16 PM
I recon Finger has hit the nail on the head with this one.;)
Many a time i have reminded myself of that little saying.
The trouble is i cant live without either.;D :P

neil

06-11-2008, 03:34 PM
I'm with the boys on that one, and having seen what you do to cars first hand Phil - no new car you buy will stay that way for long so I'd recommend persisting with the Nissan. Sounds like you've got a good mech now - get her checked out. If not I've got a datto man at Buranda who'll restore your faith in the old girl. The time to lose her was one week after LCMP - not now.

06-11-2008, 06:20 PM
Holy crap Phill that was an epic. You certainly are a patient man,, We all could learn something from that.

A mech that i trust down that way is Logan City Automotive in Monte st. He's worked on my cars for years,,, from 54 Holdens to 02 Mitzy van. It's good to know who you're dealing with and the peace of mind is priceless.

shano
06-11-2008, 08:56 PM
hey phill did you take the car back for retensioning of the intake and exhaust manifold bolts? this is ment to happen after you have any of the manifolds off! the heat causes expansion and contraction of the motor and there for when the gaskets settle the bolts will be loose! same thing when ya go to get a new exhaust/extractors, they tell ya come back in a week for a retighten!

06-11-2008, 10:07 PM
GBC hit the nail on the head....you know you really love that car Phil really,,

it just needs a bit more TLC mate... between beatings:-X :P

06-11-2008, 10:23 PM
I gotta pull my finger out and go see that brad soon, i need a lift kit fitted to my navara. Only problem is I reckon he will want to do more to it than I want!!!

07-11-2008, 05:55 PM
He has a nice 5.7ltr V8 there that he wants to put into my navara.....!!!!!!!!

07-11-2008, 08:13 PM
He has a nice 5.7ltr V8 there that he wants to put into my navara.....!!!!!!!!

It'll be more useful in my 1 tonner I reckon ;D

08-11-2008, 06:58 AM
Mate,

I know a good Landrover;D

BenDover
08-11-2008, 09:55 AM
Thats the problem phil with turbo'd engines. 1 small hick up and throw them away. Ive seen many a engine melt down or blow itself to pieces. Yep, go the 5.7 mate. Cant go wrong :)...

Mod11
08-11-2008, 08:04 PM
maybe a ford motor would be better Phill

a beefy 351 would make it hummmmmmmmmmmm

08-11-2008, 09:20 PM
That 5.7 wouldn't be the one located in the scout would it? Might need to toughen up the nissan driveline and build a bigger fuel tank if you want it to be usefull;D;D

08-11-2008, 10:11 PM
Nope, it's sittin on the floor in the shop....

BenDover
09-11-2008, 05:48 AM
Does it look like this phill? ;D 8-)

Small, beautiful, and more power than you eve dreamed of.... Brings a tear to your eye doesnt it.

09-11-2008, 08:39 PM
I have come to realise that I will show complete faith in my D22 and keep her.

I think she deserves to be cared for.

Despite the issues, they have basically been the fault of humans and not the vehicle.

She's clicked over 200k and does still drive beautifully. Needs some cosmetic touches here and there, but it does have all the bells and whistles.

I have 110KW's at my disposal, and that will be fine for now.

Thanks for all the replies guys, hope this is the end of it

phill

Kleyny
10-11-2008, 08:56 PM
Phill,
Good decision.
I've been watching the post over the time and to be honest i was disgusted in my fellow mechanic.
As you have said most of the dramas was no fault of the the car. Just some fool that had no idea on mechanics and customer service.

If i was in your situation i would ask myself, if the job was done right the first time would i be thinking of selling it. The answer would have to be no.
200ks is nothing for a diesel.
Hope you have many a happy kilometer.

neil

11-11-2008, 09:36 AM
Wow Phill that Faulty towers vid is exactly your situation. I plan on buying a 3.0L Patrol in the future and if i need work expect a PM from me finding out where not to go. Hope you get another million K's out of her you deserve it.

12-11-2008, 05:56 AM
Yes Chris.... it has been an ' episode '.

If you ever need a good mechanic and good customer service.. call in and see Brad or Brett at. On Track 4 x 4 Centre, Moss Street, Slacks Creek.

Madaddy
13-11-2008, 11:05 PM
Hmm...I read the first 2 pages and the last 2 pages, can I be filled in a bit?

I believe the problem was with a D22 3.0L Navara? (my guess)

If so the D22 3.0's were pretty good, but in the earlier patrols they had some issue's with piston's melting due to poor engine management systems.
I feel sorry for the poor mechanic who had to scratch his head for so long to try and resolve your problem. Was your work performed by a dealership or some place like or worse than ultra tune etc?
The only reason I ask is that if it was all done by a dealer they would have (or should have) had nissan involved, and chances are if you were a loyal customer you may have easily had a brand new replacement engine and other possible defective parts replaced at no or very little cost to you.
I am not sticking up for nissan or any of their dealerships as they are rip off merchants like every other dealership and manufacturers, but honestly, it is worth the big bucks to get things done in the right place at what ever the price, to ensure a better out come.

I will say that I am glad that you have a D22 Navara and not a D40, as them and the R51 Pathfinders are the biggest lemons that Nissan have ever produced. Other brands like Toyota, Holden, Ford, etc all have issues aswell, but it is a shame that nissan have lowered their standards a bit by cost cutting to meet the euro spec for emissions and safety etc.

Imo, if one buys a new car that they have it serviced by the dealers, that way you stand a chance of some assistance if needed. Then after the WTY period if anything fails, start by going back to basics, get a fully mechanical engine, with a solid flywheel, and step up the driveline, etc. Then you will have a nice looking car but with a reliable drivetrain to keep it all active.
Old mechanical diesels will outperform and use less fuel than the garbage that is on the market these days.
And are we all aware that the award pay rate for a mechanic or should I say automotive technician is $16/hr, and the BOSS charges the customer $100/hr.
Poor buggers can push trollies for that!
I have a lot I could dribble about, maybe I should write a book, anyway I will shut up and let you back to it. I have a lot of things to say about the automotive industry. We can only thank the greens for sh%t.

dirty_GQ
14-11-2008, 09:35 PM
Hey Phil, I think its really time you considered the end of the shite box and stepped up to a patrol. Really, I think you would have saved a heap seeing as the nav has cost you so much. Cheers, FLEA :P

27-11-2008, 09:51 PM
Not really Flea.

The Navara cost me 18 grand at a time when they were going for 31. The ins company even agreed on the 31 grand market value. So you see, I was 13 grand ahead from the start. I could probably sell the Nissan for what I paid for it now !! ?? maybe !

Extras include:-

15 x 8 Villan ROH mags, air horns, arb bull bar, 9,000lb T-Max winch, dual batteries, 135ltr long range tank, IPF flood lights, UHF, remote central locking, CD player with 4 x loud speakers, full recovery kit / box bolted in, 3000kg tow bar, water tank, sheep skins, tinted windows, alloy tray with steel ribbed, colourbond canopy with canvas / vinyl sides and interior lighting, and for good measure:- in the last 12 months :----

new head, new radiator, new injector pump, new injectors, new batteries, new tyres, new h/d clutch / pressure plate t/o bearing, new shockies, new brakes pads, new bearings, new gearbox input shaft bearing, new rear springs and has been serviced more regularly than Manufacturer specs.

Shit, sounds great... I might buy it ;D ;D ;D 8-)

Along with the fact, Patrols drive like trucks and not cars :P ;) ;D

The work done has been a tax deduction, being a work vehicle. That doesn't really matter as you still have to fork out for it in the first place. :'( :'(

Madaddy, I have explained all your queeries in the thread...somewhere...:-/

Now Flea, get yourself down to Rover Park with the rest of us during the Xmas break !!!!!!