View Full Version : Huge Jack
seaspirit
15-05-2008, 11:56 PM
First post for me and a goody;D went for a fish in secret:wiseguy:spot and landed this huge jack well over 4 kg:o :stunned: and some nice bream.total of 3 bream 1 jack.
jackash
16-05-2008, 12:01 AM
Far freaking out. thats a big. any measurement on him? Theres been some monster caught this season, and thats gotta go close to the biggest ive seen. Bloody thick fish. Whatd u get him on? Are you up north or down south?
AWesome fish mate
seaspirit
16-05-2008, 12:16 AM
Thanks Jackash they were caught on mullet strip and the jack went 79.5cm and 6kg neat
seaspirit
16-05-2008, 12:21 AM
Jackash i'm down south brissy.Fish was 80g off record
Luke mcleod
16-05-2008, 12:26 AM
Thats one awesome jack mate biggest ive seen this season what line class were you using when you got the jack ? i bet he didnt give up without a good fight. Nice looking bream aswell mate looks like you had some good fun mate.
seaspirit
16-05-2008, 12:59 AM
G'day luke it was caught on 15lb mono to swivel to 30lb leader to 4.0 hook no wieght.Fishing off the bank
Scotth
16-05-2008, 02:28 AM
How big is the mullet strip you would use?
childers
16-05-2008, 07:19 AM
great jack seaspirit, fishing off the bank unreal ,have you pulled other big ones simmular to that .
zigfreed
16-05-2008, 07:45 AM
Thats a cracker seaspirit, especially off the bank.
Great first report, keep em coming.
Mozza
16-05-2008, 07:52 AM
Bloody hell!
Thats'a monster - not likely to catch them that big up nth QLD - they're out on the reef drop-ff at that size. Anything pushing 50cm is a big jack in the creeks up here...
Top catch, well done and welcome onboard.
Mozza
ffejsmada
16-05-2008, 08:42 AM
That is a huge estuary Jack. Big fish.
Reel Nauti
16-05-2008, 08:46 AM
That'a a bloody beauty!! Congrats and well done!
Pistol_P
16-05-2008, 09:00 AM
MASSIVE....:o
Thats the 08 winner right there...!!!
BrandonH
16-05-2008, 09:32 AM
Biggest Estuary jack I have ever seen!! and off the bank:o Nice work;)
also welcome to Ausfish!!!
Brandon...
jimbo59
16-05-2008, 10:07 AM
Huge jack dave did you get him at swearin' bobs spot;) ....jim
the gecko
16-05-2008, 10:24 AM
Fish of a lifetime. They wont beat that for many years, not from an estuary. Go the mullet strips, best jack bait out.
Jackinthebox
16-05-2008, 10:40 AM
Well done mate!
As long as it's a legit. estuary fish, then you have absolutely creamed the competition for the '08 jack awards.
Go the stinky bait boys!
Mick.
JEWIENEWIE
16-05-2008, 10:58 AM
Seaspirit, what a way to enter the world of Ausfish. That is a fantastic catch mate. Welcome and i will be looking forward to more reports like that.:thumbsup:
Jewie
Didley
16-05-2008, 11:06 AM
That's a beast, Seaspirit, U come in after the seasons over and clean up big time, very impressed. Do you target jacks a lot, I hope we'll see more great fish in the future. No body has come close to that, with a la git estuary caught fish that I've seen, ever. You and Creek Vermin are showing us all there still around, we might have to give it another try boys.
ps. Maybe it's an early start to the 08-09 season;D
Breambuster33
16-05-2008, 12:14 PM
what a horse:o:o:o
cuzzamundi
16-05-2008, 01:58 PM
Absolteu bruiser! Speechless. Very, VERY well done!
cuzza
geoff72
16-05-2008, 04:07 PM
holly shit,definatley the biggest i have ever seen, winner for 08 hands down
Gold_Coast_Chaser
16-05-2008, 04:09 PM
:o :o :o :o BIG! :o :o :o :o
r3volt
16-05-2008, 04:48 PM
Awesome fish mate, im jealous as :|
seaspirit
16-05-2008, 06:12 PM
Thanks all.don't target them no.but we were fishin for bream and hopefully a jack and that we did.G C C They are the 2 best times to fish.
BAR UP
16-05-2008, 07:20 PM
Bloody good Bream, well done, Peter.
Richo1
16-05-2008, 08:29 PM
That is a snodger Jack!!! Especially to be caught alongside bream, gr8 effort a fish to be really proud of.
Cheers Richo
For Steve
16-05-2008, 09:50 PM
That's amazing mate. Congratulations.
Keechie
16-05-2008, 09:54 PM
i;m suprised that jack didn't eat the bream you caught, thats bloody huge, keep up that awesome work.
regards,
keechie
frankgrimes
16-05-2008, 10:05 PM
Absolute HORSE of a jack!!!
You seriously caught him LB estuary??
Regardless of where you got him, monster of a jack - Congrats!!
whiting-wizard
16-05-2008, 10:54 PM
Congratulations mate thats huge:o
loophole
16-05-2008, 11:11 PM
Good Work That is a HUGE Jack. VERY WELL DONE!
Cobia Kid
17-05-2008, 06:34 AM
i;m suprised that jack didn't eat the bream you caught, thats bloody huge, keep up that awesome work.
regards,
keechie
I wouldnt be surprised if that is what the jack was doing around that area,
feasting on the bream:P ,
that is a HUGE FISH:o :o
jamie
8-)
Jimbo73
17-05-2008, 11:26 AM
Very nice Jack seaspirit.Just wondering what record you were close to for this fish?You said 80g off record.Cheers Jamie
rabbitohbill
17-05-2008, 09:40 PM
Its taken me 2 days to be able to know what to type in response to that fish.
I am speechless!:-X
Didley
17-05-2008, 10:10 PM
Very nice Jack seaspirit.Just wondering what record you were close to for this fish?You said 80g off record.Cheers Jamie
Yes Seaspirit, I wondered the same thing, Don't tell me you've caught a bigger one?
matt fraser
17-05-2008, 10:12 PM
Awesome Jack! well done, and those bream must be horses as well - they'd have to be pushing 40cm!
Good spot you've got there!
seaspirit
18-05-2008, 02:52 AM
Yes Seaspirit, I wondered the same thing, Don't tell me you've caught a bigger one?
No didley thats a pb.80g more than now old pb i caught in 05
the gecko
18-05-2008, 08:34 AM
Youve done this before ?? :o:o:o
Lets tie him up and torture him til he tells us where at ;)
Unweighted bait is interesting. Does the unweighted mullet strip sit on the top, mid or bottom of the water?
whatscracken
18-05-2008, 09:26 AM
Well done Seaspirit on the jack of the season. The benchmark has been set
Didley
18-05-2008, 11:11 AM
Sea Spirit, you've done this before:o:o:o:o. Are they estuary fish or open ocean, caught off a headland or something. That's all I want to know. In my experience its very unusual to get jacks over 60 cm, let alone 70cm, let alone 79 in an estuary. I think this has blown us all away mate.
Shagga
18-05-2008, 12:52 PM
Great Jack.
bigone22
18-05-2008, 01:02 PM
Thats a beauty mate, well done!!!;D
have you been out since?
Cheers mate
shorty 01
18-05-2008, 03:24 PM
wow thats a jack and a half nice catch mate
azzure
18-05-2008, 07:13 PM
mate you must have very small feet :P. nice session there mate, where you fishing on a ledge or something because i couldnt imagine a massive size jack lurking through the shallows. once again mate well done :)
peterm
18-05-2008, 10:34 PM
Well done dude ! That is certainly a nice fish and would have been heaps of fun to catch I bet .
My brother managed to land a 48cm jack on the weekend from up at Noosa. All I caught was a huge friggin stingray.
ddobson
19-05-2008, 09:07 PM
I had to adjust my eyes for a bit there cause that is huge. Big snapper and jack caught in the shallows. I need more time of work. Well done.
UNCLE NUGGY
20-05-2008, 12:47 AM
awesome catch seaspirit
just wondering about the right pectoral & the dull colour , maybe brackish water hey???
UN
tailorboi99
22-06-2008, 08:13 PM
Wonderful fish mate!!! You're lucky he didn't get his teetch into your leader :x, Welcome to ausfish too.
Cheers Tom
MeePee_99
22-06-2008, 08:17 PM
Great Fish!!!!!
Top Stuff!!!!!!
yellahunter
03-11-2008, 07:44 AM
Now thats what I call,
Taking charge of the 09 season,
I think we have our leader
Jackinthebox
03-11-2008, 10:24 AM
G'day Yella,
this fish was last season (May '08).
Mick.
Screamin Semen
03-11-2008, 05:55 PM
Now thats what I call,
I think we have our leader
Well said mate.
You beat my PB of 78cm :o .
We definitely have a leader for this season and will have a hard time topping that. Makes extractors fish look like a baby :'( :'( :'(
Keep up the good work!!!
yellahunter
03-11-2008, 06:04 PM
G'day Yella,
Mick.
Its still 08 isnt it,
definately a horse,
it looks like a cracker for an offshore fish let along landbased in the river,
DOMINATE THE BAY
taking charge of the 08 season
jackextracter
03-11-2008, 06:12 PM
G'day Yella,
Mick.
Yeah monster fish ,but wrong season, season starts from the start of summer and ends at end of summer that defently won last season if yous are doing a record comp thing on here, but would of been good if he swam off.:'(
natho
03-11-2008, 06:22 PM
Great fish mate .I know big jacks are in rivers(as seen here) catching them is another thing!
Bronson
03-11-2008, 06:24 PM
huge jack mate there is only one thing i can say is WOW
bron
wow mate good stuff!!!. what a lucky catch!!!! i've only ever seen two other jacks like this in an estuary before and i dive them all the time.
i could only imagine the bend in the rod. he could of pulled you in if you had of locked him up.
BeastMaster
03-11-2008, 07:11 PM
Great fish well done.
Beast
nuggstar
03-11-2008, 07:14 PM
im green with envy, bloody huge
blue_mako
03-11-2008, 08:07 PM
Now thats what I call,
A quote from a legend. Bring back Smallunit! :P .
Troy
Pistol_P
03-11-2008, 08:20 PM
Did someone say smallunits name was 'Kevin'....;D ;D arrrgh bring back dirty Kev...!!!...;D ;D
Tropicaltrout
03-11-2008, 08:37 PM
What ever or where ever mate that is the red devil king.... well done
DICER
04-11-2008, 09:16 AM
great fish - amazing!
mangrovejacks
13-11-2008, 02:27 PM
Absolute Horse mate!
A pleasure to look at.:D
385EXPLORER
13-11-2008, 03:00 PM
Strewth mate what a cracker,well done.Being new to ausfish ,you may not be aware that it is customary to include gps marks with your first post.....
peterm
13-11-2008, 08:24 PM
What a stonker mate ! Well done. Good old mullet flesh seems to do the trick ;-)
Barraboy7
14-11-2008, 08:08 AM
Plenty of these big boys on the reefs off Cairns, not to be mistaken as a Red Bass.
Colour is that Mulberry hue. We have caught quite a few up to the old scale 15lbs over the years, always at night in deep eater fishing fir other red fish.
Enjoy, dribble, get the shakes all you Mangrove Jack boys.
Check the pic
Barraboy7
yellahunter
14-11-2008, 08:18 AM
now thats a jack,
great pic Barraboy
Benno1
14-11-2008, 10:32 AM
holy crap!!! what a beast!!!...cheers for the pic and info :D
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
greenie.77
15-11-2008, 07:36 PM
yeah nice fish would have been nicer to put him back
Dorado
16-11-2008, 06:55 PM
OMG! That thing is a Horse! Fantastic Effort Mate and Welcome to the site!