View Full Version : whats long,,,silverish/grey,, and hits like a steam train
15-05-2008, 06:13 AM
with the tide turning full just after dusk yesterday,,, we hit the water around 12ish and fished the normal haunts before going for a run down the passage to try buckleys hole,, and then the markers
whilst in buckleys,,, the action was ok,,, but the bait school that was floating about made us change from mullet to hb's and we tried to snare whatever was hitting into them,,,
got hammered twice and dropped whatever hooked up on both occassions,,, no aerial's,,, just bang,,, and run like all crap,,
the bait school was making a lot of "nervous water" and we were running along side of it,, when the pack hit it like there was no tomorrow,,
would have seen maybe 6-10 school sharks make a pig of themselves in less that a minute,, and dont really know how many were under the water,,, but the sounder picked up quite a few,,,
time to move,,,,
other than that,,, we managed to get into a few squire and found a nice patch of flounder that kept the rods bouncing around,,,, fished the pylons of the bridge right on the high,,,, but only got undersize
out again in a few minutes,,, pick up the pots and see whats happening today,,,,
nuggstar
15-05-2008, 09:11 AM
what do you think it was chop, a trev or jew. i hope you get them next time. good read mate
84mick
15-05-2008, 01:25 PM
I've stood right on the ledge there a few times wondering if those bust ups were jew..... or sharks! Another time I was fishing there same thing happened but they were dolphins! they would chase the bait fish right up onto the bank no more then 2 meters away! it was bloody awesome.
Any luck this time out choppa?
Cheers, Mick.
Just_chips
15-05-2008, 03:24 PM
With the water clearing so well at the moment you could possibly call them for tuna. I have seen the tuna schools as far down as the mouth of pacific harbour before but they are very flighty when that far up the passage.
Kev
Mullet Musketeer
15-05-2008, 07:07 PM
I have been fishing that ledge a bit on a low tide recently in my waders and wondering what is spooking the bait. I have caught good Bream, Flathead, Soapies, Moses perch a couple of good cod and even the odd resident turtle in the last month or so.. Last year there were a few days when the tuna came in but usually they start jumping around so you can see what they are. I have also seen the dugong pass by early am and nearly shat myself when the dolphins suddenly surge into the bait right next to you. Please don't talk about sharks!!
Slider
15-05-2008, 07:33 PM
Mac tuna I'm thinking - lived at bongaree for a little while and saw them regularly there.
nonibbles
15-05-2008, 07:53 PM
Barracouta?
16-05-2008, 06:07 AM
I have been fishing that ledge a bit on a low tide recently in my waders and wondering what is spooking the bait. I have caught good Bream, Flathead, Soapies, Moses perch a couple of good cod and even the odd resident turtle in the last month or so.. Last year there were a few days when the tuna came in but usually they start jumping around so you can see what they are. I have also seen the dugong pass by early am and nearly shat myself when the dolphins suddenly surge into the bait right next to you. Please don't talk about sharks!!
MM you would be surprised at the amount of school sharks that frequent this area,,,,, but they don't seem to "stick" around,,, there annoying the hell out of you one minute,,,, and then dissappear for awhile,,, the occassional slab of flake is ok tho';D
yesterday proved to be a bit more successful,,, squire are really starting to show again,,, but theres a few unders amongst them,,, and most of the catch was an hour or so before high tide,,,
i also managed to snare a 15 footer yesterday,,, really,,,haines hunter i think was the species,,,;D ;D
poor bloke was broken down at the mouth of ningi creek and had a long swim back to spinnaker,,,, so threw him a rope and motored him back,,,, was an interesting trip actually seeing that i'm in a 12 foot tinny,,,, one sharp knife resting on my leg,,,once he was safely back,,, hit the throttle and fished til 7-8ish,,, the moses perch started giving me the s##s ,,, damn things were prolific,,,
a couple of locals were back at the ramp when i ventured in,,, they were cleaning a nice esky full of snaps caught around the top of moreton,,,, (presume huskies area),, so i scavanged a couple of frames to throw into the dillies as the crabs are about,,,
one more trip planned for this arvo,,,,,,, i've been called into work this morning for an hour,,, and i'm planning on the old favorite cooks/tigers area,,, saw acouple of boats there yesterday that hung around for a while,,, so i'll burley it up this arvo and see what can be extracted,,,,,
oddly,,,, for the amount of water i've covered over the past couple trips,,,,, no flatty,,,,, normally i get 1-2,,,, ?????
Kleyny
16-05-2008, 08:23 AM
Good to see people still helping others in need out.
Most little tinnies would shy away from towing a 15foot glass boat. GOOD ON YA
It would look funny the little black flash towing a 15 glass boat.
keep the reports good or bad coming watching them with interest
neil
Tailortaker
16-05-2008, 02:06 PM
Let us know how cooks goes Choppa, Got the ford going in to get a tow bar fitted next week than taking two weeks off work,,,if the weather gods are nice to me I'm sure I will be fishing 99.9% of that two weeks (make that 80% fishing and 20% drinking)
Cheers, Grant
nofrills
17-05-2008, 08:15 AM
hey chop
the other scotty (reel scream)and i were on our way back in from outside and had a shot at what we thought was a few choppers out the front of buckleys just over a week ago.I hooked up big time on a light rod and was surprised when a very good sized spotty surfaced only to pull the hooks while eyeballing me.
also i saw you towing that boat in wished i had a camera.Ive been fishing a bit further up than you the last couple of nights you prolly noticed me playing with my spot light last night.
cheers scotty
jez and suze
18-05-2008, 10:54 AM
an old girl on the pokies?
19-05-2008, 10:35 AM
hey chop
the other scotty (reel scream)and i were on our way back in from outside and had a shot at what we thought was a few choppers out the front of buckleys just over a week ago.I hooked up big time on a light rod and was surprised when a very good sized spotty surfaced only to pull the hooks while eyeballing me.
also i saw you towing that boat in wished i had a camera.Ive been fishing a bit further up than you the last couple of nights you prolly noticed me playing with my spot light last night.
cheers scotty
was that u,,,,,, should've called out mate..... i had a spare snakebite kit in the tinny that i would have shown ya how to use,,,,;D ;D
friday nite was a repeat on the prior trips until the fog rolled in at 11 ish,,,, bloody cold,,,,,, cooks was a little uneventful,,,, buckleys died,,, and there was a bit weed about,,,,,
dropped a couple crabs on the rod,,, and picked a few up in the dillys,,,,,,, (theres one still floating out there,,,, with my name on it somewhere),,,
thought i spotted another joker out there venturing the weather conditions?????? ,,, but i promised not to tell anyone that he wasn't really at work,,,,,
anyways,,,,,, planning this wednesday/thursday night to do it all again,,,,, i'll keep ya posted
straddy77
19-05-2008, 10:34 PM
mate ive seen longtails out from buckleys hole before when i was in my boat.
u just never know hey