View Full Version : Big Brissie River Threadie

Richo1
12-05-2008, 10:39 PM
Hi all in fishing land,

Recieved a call from my mate Sam early this morning to say he has found a new fishing spot I should try:D

After Buying tiles for the verandah, shopping for groceries, painting the bathroom and getting puked on by the baby I managed to clock up enough brownie points to go for a fish for a few hours. :) Well as it turns out, 5minutes after arriving at spot xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (it was caught between the Ampol wharf at the river mouth and colleges crossing), cast number 4 produced my PB Threadie:D ;D ::) :o 8-) :D :o which nailed a 4inch atomic prong! The photos aren't very good as we wanted to release it as quickly as possible. Suffice to say the fish measured 125cm and weighed approximately 14kg;D

Richo

PS Thanks Sam;)

3rd degree
12-05-2008, 10:43 PM
Very nice

eotbmg
12-05-2008, 10:44 PM
Great effort. Your beanie says it all. SNORTA or should that say STONKA!!!!! Photos look the goods as well. Gee those browny points are hard to come by these days, good on you for using them to your best advantage!!!!!!!

MEGA'bite
12-05-2008, 10:44 PM
gr8 fish mate would love to catch one of those well done

Richo1
12-05-2008, 10:47 PM
Here are a few photos and my daughter Kate after I showed her the photos:D

jackextracter
12-05-2008, 11:34 PM
Great fish mate, good on ya.

gaintsquid
13-05-2008, 12:19 AM
Ripper! fish mate, congrats. Somthing i dream of.

zigfreed
13-05-2008, 08:59 AM
Thats a great fish Richo
Did he play up much?

sp nut
13-05-2008, 09:05 AM
That's an absolute ripper of a fish, and congrats for releasing it. Hopefully, there will be plenty more Threadies in the Brissie River for years to come.

James

matt fraser
13-05-2008, 09:31 AM
Great Catch Richo, all the sweeter when you've had to work so hard to get the brownie points up.

I've got a Katie too, 2yrs old now.

The brownie points are still tough to earn.

sharkymark2
13-05-2008, 09:57 AM
Good on you for releasing it. I was told by a tackle shop owner that a Asian guy came by with over limit on squire and lying in the bottom of boat was a large number of goldens from the river mouth. With that attitude future generations will only have photos to look at. :(.

Richo1
13-05-2008, 10:53 AM
It fought really well on 30lb braid and fight lasted about 20minutes. Probably could have given it more stick however was too scared of losing it. Such a nice fish couldn't bring myself to keep it! As soon as it came aboard we knew we just had to get it back in the water. I don't mind a good feed of fish either, but this one was just too big! Still blows me away that fish this good are soo close to home! Hope it stays like that and gets even better!

blue_mako
13-05-2008, 11:16 AM
Great fish mate. In what sort of depth are you hooking the fish? The 130cm I got the other day went crazy. Fight lasted a good 15mins on 20lb braid. Like you I was scared on pulling the hooks so I backed the drag down from about 4kg to 2kg after the first screaming run when I saw the massive chrome gold flash and huge boil as it turned. I want another! I wonder how they will perform over winter?

Troy

Freeeedom
13-05-2008, 11:45 AM
Great fish Richo. Well done
Cheers Freeeedom

Az
13-05-2008, 01:30 PM
thanks for the report mate, fish looks to be in superb condition too.. great to see!

Richo1
13-05-2008, 02:47 PM
120cm was my goal now I guess it will have to be 150cm! Geez Troy 130cm must have been a monster, wonder what size they'll get to?

13-05-2008, 05:03 PM
Nice one Richo. See what happens when you bank up brownie points. Karma.

How come Sam hasn't signed up yet? or is he to busy buying more rods and reels.

Cute baby,,, although i didn't realize they brought them out in camo. ;D

Richo1
13-05-2008, 06:22 PM
Cheers Davo,

I think he must have been looking up too many dodgy internet sites and wrecked his computer:) Don't think he has bought one this week but his fancy set up last night sure worked a treat! Not sure what it was but certainly worth over $1000

bigjimg
13-05-2008, 07:18 PM
wELL DONE SCOTT ,BUT WHAT HAPPENED TO SAM DIDN'T HE WANT TO UPSTAGE YOU? Jim

Richo1
13-05-2008, 07:41 PM
It was his payment for using my boat, putting me onto a snodger Threadie. Unmarried and no kids he is heading out to night and probably won't rest until he has beaten the 125cm. His PB to date is 120!

BLOOEY
13-05-2008, 08:33 PM
Wow what a cracker of a threadie. Congrats. Ben

Briz
13-05-2008, 11:42 PM
Good on you for releasing it. I was told by a tackle shop owner that a Asian guy came by with over limit on squire and lying in the bottom of boat was a large number of goldens from the river mouth. With that attitude future generations will only have photos to look at. :(.

can someone tell me why is there a need to narrow the focus down to "Asian Guy" ... come on we've moved on from this kind of discriminatory lumping together of the generic "ASIAN" in our posts - times change and we as an online community also need to move with the times! - I fully realize the risk in putting my neck on the block - but there has to be others who feel we need to drop the ethnic stereotyping in our posts - this is racist and discriminatory and it's not what this forum is about!
briz

Pistol_P
14-05-2008, 09:20 AM
can someone tell me why is there a need to narrow the focus down to "Asian Guy" ... come on we've moved on from this kind of discriminatory lumping together of the generic "ASIAN" in our posts - times change and we as an online community also need to move with the times! - I fully realize the risk in putting my neck on the block - but there has to be others who feel we need to drop the ethnic stereotyping in our posts - this is racist and discriminatory and it's not what this forum is about!
briz

When did it become 'Racist' to refer to someone by their Country of origin.
We refer to people as 'Aussies',Pommies,Aboriginals,Islanders...etc..etc ...
I hardly think it is racist to mention someone was Asian....Please...::) ::)

T1
14-05-2008, 09:34 AM
It fought really well on 30lb braid and fight lasted about 20minutes. Probably could have given it more stick however was too scared of losing it. Such a nice fish couldn't bring myself to keep it!

Nice fish RICHO! I think i missed out in the fighting stakes... The one i got at 150cm was in the boat in under 15 mins on 10lb Braid (ok, so it towed us around for about 10 mins but hey, thought it would take longer...)!

Take Care T

Richo1
14-05-2008, 09:34 AM
Tend to agree with Pete there, but as small unit said take the argument somewhere else!

nuggstar
14-05-2008, 11:29 AM
that is a bloody nice fish well done. did he jump 4 you

Richo1
14-05-2008, 01:58 PM
I have been envious of your photo for some time now T1 at least I'm getting close now. What bait did you get the 150cm on? It didn't jump at all, only broke the surface when it smashed the plastic. We drifted into water around 15m and it went down deep at one stage slowly circling its way up to the boat almost tuna like, was hopinhg there wasn't any bull sharks around. Had a strong current around which added to its fighting capabilities.

nuckle
15-05-2008, 11:37 AM
awsome fish, how deep was the water where you hookd it?

Richo1
15-05-2008, 03:39 PM
Hi Nuckle, deep drop off to 15m comming off shallow flats

bdowdy
15-05-2008, 04:10 PM
awesome fish, congrats..bdowdy..brett

Scotth
16-05-2008, 02:35 AM
Great Fish mate. Sorry for this but what exactly is a threadie? Look slike a half bred catfish?

T1
16-05-2008, 12:19 PM
I have been envious of your photo for some time now T1 at least I'm getting close now. What bait did you get the 150cm on?

Hi RICHO!

I got it on the 5" TMSK special (Berley Gulp S/Water Jerkshad in W'melon/Red/Glitter)... I'm bloody envious of my pic! I think mine was one of the 1st few landed that became public and now everyone seems to be getting them! I haven't caught another since but only fished the river a handful of times since then... Been meaning to get back in there for another crack (hint hint TINN). Mate, the 1st 5-10 mins, forget about it! This thing towed us down the river in TINN's tinny towards a very big ship docked - TINN was having heart palpitations as we got closer! But then, FLOP! Once it stopped it's run, it was just pump and wind till we got it to the boat - bit disappointed in hindsight, but super stoked at the time! And it was one of my very 1st fishes on SP's so that's why the avatar is still there.

Good luck in getting the 'bigger' one - i'd just be happy to get another...

Take Care T

Richo1
20-05-2008, 06:22 AM
Went out again Sunday night after finishing a late shift. Must be possessed as the cool windy weather should have put me off, but the voices inside my head kept saying "could be a good night for a Threadie" Sam is aways keen so after a brief phone call another session was on! 2330 arrived at location just in time for the run out to get some speed up. Sam was first up with a 120cm followed shortly after with a healthy 115cm from me. Both fish fell to a Berkley powerbait 5inch prawn ;D

Now I'm wondering if they will bite all winter as water temp was down to 17.5C?