View Full Version : Cheer up session 9/5

sunny
10-05-2008, 08:04 AM
About two weeks ago at work, the boss had a quiet meeting with some of us that basically said, “Business is bad, we can’t afford to keep you. Here have this manila folder and good luck with your future career”.
So, all of a sudden I found myself with a lot of free time on my hands.

Free time is wonderful, but not having a job at the same time means you get to spend plenty of time wondering why they choose you, what you did wrong and all the other fun thoughts that go with being retrenched. Some much needed fishing therapy was called for. My little sister has been asking to go fishing for while and as she had a day between jobs yesterday, the call was made to make a trip across to Moreton for the day.

Crossing the bay was way too lumpy as the wind was coming straight from the South. We snuck around the corner to the cape to see if it was any better and settled in at Smith’s Rock. It wasn’t long before we hit a big school of redthroat. Most were that very annoying 1cm under size but we still managed to put two into the esky before the increasing swell gave sis that lovely green colour.

To make her more comfortable I pulled us in to the shallows at the cape and decided to jig up some livies. It wasn’t long before the bait jig connected, but not to the expected yakka, but a nice sized whiting. “Oh well” thinks I, “that can be added to the whiting I caught the other day” and tossed it in the esky. Of course the whiting wasn’t alone, and I soon had a feed of them caught one after another on the bait jig.
By now the wind had swung to the South East and we headed around to drift the Bulwer ledges.

Now, I’ve been bricked by some monsters here in the past and never managed to figure out what they were. This time was different. We hit plenty of squire, all that annoying 1cm under size and all I managed to add to the esky was a lone bream. I was just thinking that it was time to pull up for lunch when I got slammed properly.

After ten minutes of thinking I was on to at least a decent bay snapper, we saw colour under the boat. Not that lovely red, but a slatey blue grey. Soon a chunky mowy hit the deck. Don’t they give a bit of curry for their size?

Too bad it wasn’t something decent, but being the first time I’ve ever caught one of these, I tossed it into the esky to put on the barbie that night. Do they deserve their reputation as mother in law fish? Probably. Bled an iced properly it wasn’t a bad eating fish, but definitely won’t be at the front of my list.

All up a great day on the water, and I feel infinitely more cheerful than I did.

kingtin
10-05-2008, 08:40 AM
Good report sunny.........well done mate.

Outsider1
10-05-2008, 09:12 AM
Good report Sunny, thanks.

What boat have you got?. Looks like a good set up for the bay and near off shore. Some good shade and plenty of freeboard.

sunny
10-05-2008, 11:08 AM
It's an old (1982) Haines Hunter that we bought a few years back and have been slowly improving. The new canopy is a fairly recent addition and has made a huge improvement.

She's an old heavy glass boat which makes her just pefect for bay and short outside trips. The hull handles rough weather quite well, but as it is only 5.2m I pick my days carefully.

chief
10-05-2008, 05:47 PM
One door shuts ,another one opens ,Hey nice read and mate being on the bay is a nice way to destress. Enjoy yourself and good luck Cheers

reel scream
10-05-2008, 05:50 PM
Good report Sunny. Sorry to hear about the job. What type of work do you do? Someone on here may be able to help out?

Cheers Scott

chief 1
10-05-2008, 05:53 PM
Great report mate,it was a good read and well done

robersl
10-05-2008, 06:15 PM
well done sunny hope things pick up mate

shane

Plastic_Magic
10-05-2008, 06:47 PM
Good work mate sounds like a awsome trip...

plastic_Magic

Murks
11-05-2008, 11:26 AM
Great report sunny...better days ahead

BayDog
11-05-2008, 04:02 PM
Nice day out mate and those mowies sure do give a good account of themselves, but ten minutes on a little mowie *sigh* I hereby invite you to one free personal training session with yours truly to toughen you up a bit and work those biceps and you'll have those fish coming in in a respectable time :)

ps you'e right about the colour slatey grey, they also call them slatey's or slate bream and they love crab baits

11-05-2008, 04:09 PM
Gidday Sunny,

It's awesome to have the time for reflection while on the hunt for another job. During times of extreem pressure at work, I sometimes could throw in the towel myself, you can bank that having a day on the water is the 1st thing I would do.

Good read, and good luck!

12-05-2008, 07:10 AM
When things are going well and I feel the need to celebrate I go fishing. When the chips are down and I need cheering up I go fishing. Good to hear that you too have the same escape as I do. Just remember that when one door closes another one opens. I just hope that the next door reveals something better for you. Good luck!

sunny
12-05-2008, 07:37 AM
Gee, thanks for all the kind words guys. This community is what makes Ausfish such a great site.

I'm an IT project manager by trade and there seems to be a bit of work around at the moment, so I'm not too worried yet. It's more a case of going through the two or three months it normally takes to get a job in this game.

In the meantime, it sure is nice to have fishing to take my mind off things.

nuggstar
12-05-2008, 11:55 AM
i hope ya get a new job soon so you can afford to get back out there and show us some more great fish.

For Steve
12-05-2008, 06:24 PM
Good report - thanks sunny.

Enjoy the fishing during some time off. Use the time wisely as you'll be back at work in no time.

Best of luck
Brad