View Full Version : Brissie bream/ MBTBC Comp

chief
05-05-2008, 07:44 PM
Fished the MBTBC. family comp over the last 3 days. Having fished this comp for the last 3 years and seeing the quality of outside fish brought to the scales we decided our only option was to fish for bream.From the moment we made the decision we had a terrific time.Opening day saturday saw us catch about 25 bream, 1 on plastic and 24 on hard bodies and quite a few lost lures to some nice bream in some very tight structure.We weighed in a bream each.I did make it to 3rd place till the next weigh in on sunday.Sunday was a continuation of sat. with about another 30 bream caught and garrett weighed in another bream 160 grams bigger than my effort but at that stage I think he may have been in 4 th.I did have one hardbody that had caught around 25 fish and this lure nailed me a horse and after doing all the hard work of getting him into clean water and getting a great look at him, the hook straightened and he was gone. You could have heard me all over the river.We did have a small session this morning and landed a few fish but we did run out of lures and had an early day after a few hours.
Over the three days we caught a lot of rat fish.
Around 60 good bream ( I don't know how many were fish 30 to the fork)
Best was Garretts 32/33 to the fork.
My first squire on a hard body.
Lost at least 15 maybe more hardbodies:'( to some good fish in some tight areas but we did have a great time.
12 fish found there way to Mums place. 3 were weighed in and the rest released

and how good was the MBTBC comp and how well was it run this year. Shane from Watertower bait and tackle did a cracker job as the weighmaster and the whole show was just so smooth. Between Myself Garrett and oldest boy Clinton all took home a few prizes. Garrett and Clint both took home 3 crab pots each and Myself A New Marine battery
A 85 litre tropical Esky
$50.oo BIAS voucher
A Wilson tackle pack......... I raided the pack and grabbed a wadeing bag, a knife ,scaler and some leader and then looked for the first youngster on Manly harbour and gave her a pack of various hooks/lure /line/leader holder/Gimbal belt etc and made her day so it was a fine weekend all round. Took afew pics of fish on the rule but instead ofposeing for pics we were just rolling those H.Bs;D Anyway its been a great long weekend with a few tidy days and a few jimmies during the nights.Cheers

beefaman
05-05-2008, 07:59 PM
Awesome report Chief, did you get them all in the river mate? What hardbodies? Or was it a mixture? Bad luck on losing the gun lure too, always sucks when that happens.
Congrats on the prizes, and well done on giving a kid some gear, that would be priceless.

Jimbo73
05-05-2008, 08:02 PM
Hey Chief wish i seen ya there mate,would of said gday. Did look for familar faces and ausfish shirts but saw none.Was a good comp,i cant complain with the $1000 i got for heaviest whiting.And my friend winning the camper trailer. We both very happy.Sounds like you had good few days anyway and few goodies to take home.That 1.4 bream would of been hard to beat.Must say there is plenty around ATM,must of thrown back maybe 30 keepers i reckon.Cheers Jamie.

youngy
05-05-2008, 08:03 PM
Totaly agree CHIEF a great comp well run and well organized.
As a whiting fisherman i was amazed how many bream we had to catch and release to get to the whiting.
Ausfish did have at least one big winner there today with LIZARD WIZARD [jamie]
winning $1000 dollars for the heaviest whiting a great effort mate, i think he might have to change his name to WHITING WIZARD.
Congratulations to any other Ausfish winners. cheers wayne.

Jimbo73
05-05-2008, 08:27 PM
Thanks Wayne i was expecting some more flak from you.I thought you might say beginners luck since this was my first comp I've entered.Thanks for telling me to enter aswell mate,although you proberly regret it now.No i wont be changing my name to whiting wizard even though you pointed out to me that I've never even posted a pic of a lizard I've caught.Once i get my electric for trolling i might put a pic up of a lizard just for you Youngy.C&R of course;) .Cheers Jamie

chief
06-05-2008, 04:56 AM
Congrads to you fellas, All the whiting were real crackers, some great fish.
Beefaman... Fished the river for our bream ,seems all the size came from the pin area. I did pull one cracker fish that would have weighed up there for 2nd or 3rd but that treble straightened and he was gone.hey Youngy and Lizard wizard,that was a great effort from the MBTBC, A great weekend and we'll be back next year.

Jimbo73
06-05-2008, 03:27 PM
hey Chief you planning on going in the Redland bay comp early june?Everyone has said this is an even better comp then the MBTBC. Youngy you forget to mention you placed third in the whiting catergory,well done mate.Cheers Jamie

nuggstar
06-05-2008, 03:37 PM
top work again chief and wizard. great read. what hard body worked 4 you the most chief. was it the baby crank again. when are you going to come up hare and raid my bream stocks

chief
06-05-2008, 05:10 PM
Yeh Nugg, I had one lure I'd replaced the trebles three times and had reglued its tail end over night and it was straight on again first cast the next morning.Had a few fish before putting a cast into a tight spot and got nailed around some deep pylon by a better than average fish,I;ve got family at Yaroomba and Marcoola but haven;t been up for a while . when we're up that way I'll give you a PM for a fish

Jamie.. My young bloke keeps dropping the hint to fish the redlands comp,Might see ya there

nuggstar
06-05-2008, 05:27 PM
kick ass, i can wait to see ya critter tactics

goggles
06-05-2008, 05:39 PM
idint get down to see the weigh in great effort and lizard wizard and cheif.Lizard wizard what did ur whiting weigh please mate. Bloke at work told me it was one of the biggest whiting he has seen. Wayne

chief
06-05-2008, 05:52 PM
Goggles,both lizard wizard and Youngy's whiting were the biggest I've seen as well mate.Talk about stand out fish.

Jimbo73
06-05-2008, 06:04 PM
Thanks all for the kind words. Chief you are sure right about the standard of the reefies brought in.Some quality fish.That snap was a beauty.Im better sticking to the estuarys like you.Hope to meet you at next comp Chief.My missus wont mind me entering i think.Goggles both mine and Youngys whiting measured 40cm but the weights were 585g for mine and 540g for youngys i think.I caught another 40cm that only went 504g.Big difference for same length.Youngy told me that my fish was the lightest weight to win the comp so im over the moon to hold the overall and beat the guys who have won the whiting catergory for the past 5 years running.Cheers Jamie

youngy
06-05-2008, 06:20 PM
Come on Jamie your holding out on us you haven't told us the secret bait you were useing. cheers wayne.

Jimbo73
06-05-2008, 06:30 PM
They dont want to know what the bait is Youngy,its no good remember.;)

chief
06-05-2008, 07:02 PM
Yeh mate, Just PM me the secret bait. Promise I wont use it( shhh Garrett he might believe me);D

Jimbo73
06-05-2008, 08:31 PM
Im sure alot of people already know of this bait already.The 2 best fish for me over the weekend were caught on jelly prawns during the day.This was the first time using them for me and i found them very finicky to use.A matter a fact i rang Youngy to ask the closest place to get more ice and said to him i didnt like using them because they come off so easy when you get a bite.5minutes later i pulled a 40cm on them.Pays to persist.I only used them because i struggled with time on saturday to dig enough blood worms for sunday before the weigh in.There ya go Youngy i told em.Cheers Jamie

youngy
07-05-2008, 08:20 AM
Jamie- If you hadn't i would have, i personaly think there are no secret baits for whiting.
It is just a matter of keep trying and use a bait your confident with.
It takes a lot of patience to keep going when you only catch 2 whiting in a days fishing especially when your fishing by yourself but when they are both 40 cm and one wins a $1000 it makes it all worth while. cheers wayne.
ps I just counted 11 different baits i have used to catch big whiting [summer]
that is why i dont think there is a secret one.

Reel Nauti
07-05-2008, 08:31 AM
This has been an excellent read! Great thread Chief and congratulations to all!

madmackrel
07-05-2008, 01:39 PM
8-) Good on ya fellas, good to see the ausfish boys on the board. Our deckie ideas another ausfisher got second in the pelagic section:) Go the ausfishers
Cheers MM

chief
07-05-2008, 04:09 PM
Madmackeral..Just put 2 and 2 together as i read your post with the lt and the golden on the weekend.Didn't realise it was your LT that placed.Well done fellas

Jamie.. Telling a bloke at work about your whiting and he reckoned hands down you would have used jelly prawns. Thanks for the comfirmation champ.Cheers

youngy
07-05-2008, 05:17 PM
MM- I took a lot of photos at the weighin and from what cheif said was saying i was wondering if this is your mates fish. cheers wayne.

cobiaman
07-05-2008, 05:39 PM
yeah thats him...

Jimbo73
07-05-2008, 05:47 PM
No worries Chief.I knew Youngy would of told anyway,so i thought i better tell all for myself.Thanks for your help over the weekend Youngy,cant tell ya how much i appreciate yours and Debs hospitality.It was a slow weekend for the whiting fishos ,Youngy and others would agree with that.5 keeper fish on saturday and 2 on sunday for me.I think i only seen maybe 6 whiting weighed in over the weekend so on mondays weigh in i was sh#tting myself the whole time hoping no one else brought one in.What a relieve when the clock struck 1.Congrats to the other ausfishers aswell.Cheers Jamie