View Full Version : No Trevally, Jack's will have to do.

ffejsmada
04-05-2008, 06:50 PM
On the water early again this morning hoping to get more GT's and Queenies.
Started throwing a Black Pepper popper in the dark to entice a GT when i got a solid strike and hookup.
Into the fight I knew it wasn't a Trevally as the fight was different with solid head shakes coming through the braid.
To my amazement, after a short solid fight on 14lb braid, a Jack of 45cm slides into the net. Yahoo!!;D Happy boy! Some photos and off he goes. You beauty!

Kept casting the popper and the sp's but surface activity was almost non-existent this morning. Hard to understand because the amount of bait around was unbelievable. It was everywhere. Maybe the Trevally had gorged themselves during the night.:-/

Anyway, went to another spot and started casting the sp.
After an hour of twitch, twitch, whack, I get another hookup!!
This thing hit hard and swum away from danger out to deeper water.
On 8lb braid, I had him under control as he had no structure to get to.
Bugger me dead, another Jack!!!:o I was stunned! This one went 43cm. He had a few scuff marks on him and didn't look real healthy but It didn't worry me. I was pretty happy, no Trevors but 2 Jacks!!!!!!!!;D;D
Pose for the camera, thank you!
Although my intended target was non existent this morning, I'm stoked to get 2 good Jacks.
Lady luck was shining on me today!;D

Cheers, Jeff.

shin25
04-05-2008, 06:56 PM
cpl of nice red fishies there Jeff
gotta love the suprise encounters
hope you had plenty of sunscreen that sun looks pretty hot

cheers Shane

loophole
04-05-2008, 07:05 PM
Some nice fish There,, Dont know who looks more scary in the 1st pic You or the Jack:o ;D

imnotoriginal
04-05-2008, 07:06 PM
Jacks as a bycatch... Geez, life's a bitch sometimes, hey Jeff?;D
Joel

jeffo
04-05-2008, 07:14 PM
good stuff jeff. They are still about hey. I took the easy option of a late start offshore today. One mahi mahi about 10kg was all i could find.

Im still waiting for that phone call for a fish. hehe.

nufin_flash
04-05-2008, 07:18 PM
nice jacks mate , i bet there a more than a couple of peed of fishos who target jacks for many a yrs and here you are gettign em as bycatch , love it,

Pistol_P
04-05-2008, 07:19 PM
Hey Jeff,

Nice ones...8-)

All the young kids know about you getting them already....:D
I had a fish with Nick this arvo and when we asked the young fellas how they were going they said....'No good'.....'But Jeff got 2 Jacks'.....

Paaa....Word travels fast in Noosa....;D

BAR UP
04-05-2008, 08:15 PM
Well done Jeff, 2 good fishes there, Peter.

abbot_86
04-05-2008, 08:43 PM
nice one ffej. you deffinately have been giving the fishing a good nudge lately. nick

Creek Vermin
05-05-2008, 08:58 AM
Nice work fejjy. Was definitely a slow morning. You did well with them pair.

noddy1786
05-05-2008, 10:15 AM
was there much traffic up there this weekend? i went up early friday morning, got trevs and good tailor, then i got keen again for weekend but decided against it seen as its a long weekend! i'll be back up next week tho, loving it!
actually i thought i seen you up there early jeff friday throwing poppers, i left my lure box at home so had to stick with livies
cheers, can do

the gecko
05-05-2008, 10:17 AM
Thats great jeff, well done. Youre obviously targeting the wrong fish....

dark poppers at night eh, thats one i havent heard of...have you used dark poppers much?

Seems the sunny coast has fished better than goldy for jacks late in the season. 7 news said sunday morning min was 16 at sunny coast, and 11 at southport. You must have warmer waters up there. Might be something to do with La Nina and the way currents flow down from the North.

BLOOEY
05-05-2008, 10:37 AM
Top fish jeff. Definately looks like you caught a major dose of jack fever in that fist pic. Put a dark robe on and we can call you jack the ripper. Scary stuff. Ben

ffejsmada
05-05-2008, 11:03 AM
Thanks for your replies and comments boys,;)

One mahi mahi about 10kg was all i could find.

Im still waiting for that phone call for a fish. hehe.

Nothing wrong with a 10kg Mahi! jeffo, have I got your phone #???

dark poppers at night eh, thats one i havent heard of...have you used dark poppers much?

You must have warmer waters up there. Might be something to do with La Nina and the way currents flow down from the North.

Andrew, the popper was actually clear. Black Pepper is the brand, japanese.
Water temp up here at the moment is low to high 22's.

Cheers, Jeff.

Dantren
05-05-2008, 11:39 AM
Yo!

Jeff, was it the popper in your avatar?

I've got a theory about black lures.
I use them at night, around lights & bridges.

If a hungry fish is looking for a feed & is attracted by the blooping, it will look up at the lure which will project a "shadow" against any light above water level.

A nice black lure usually works well. Try one under Munna Pt bridge.

Nice Jacks mate.

Dan.

richieboy
05-05-2008, 04:00 PM
Nice stuff jeff. Bit late in the season for ya to be putting the runs on the board. (LOL)
Kidding bro, any Jack is a good Jack. Well done.

Richie ;)

Frank OO
05-05-2008, 04:54 PM
Great work Jeff,

I would be excited as well if I could catch two Jacks in a couple of hours.

Frank OO

hodaddy_11
05-05-2008, 06:09 PM
nice jacks 2 in one day
great stuff

ffejsmada
05-05-2008, 06:58 PM
Yo!

Jeff, was it the popper in your avatar?
Dan.

Yes Dan it was. It's a clear 70mm Black Pepper.

Nice stuff jeff. Bit late in the season for ya to be putting the runs on the board. (LOL)
Kidding bro, any Jack is a good Jack. Well done.

Richie ;)

Richie, Yeah mate last season is over, I'm getting a head start for this season;D;D

Jeff.

T H I R S T Y
05-05-2008, 08:31 PM
nice work jack slayer............

ffejsmada
06-05-2008, 12:23 PM
nice work jack slayer............

Settle down T H I R S T Y, we both know who the Jack Slayer is!:-X

I'm nowhere near being in his league!;D

Jeff.