View Full Version : Good berly recipe

trevor46
04-05-2008, 05:55 PM
I am after a failsafe berly recipe, can someone help me out?

Reel Nauti
04-05-2008, 11:37 PM
$50 at Morgans, Trevor. Never misses. Will get you anything you want!

Seriously mate, there is no such thing as a failsafe berly recipe. If there was, no one would ever come home empty handed?

CHAPPY
05-05-2008, 07:02 AM
I am currently trying a new method. Brought an old meat mincer at the local markets. All prawn shells and heads, crab shells, fish frames not required for rhe crab pots is hand minced to a small sized pulp. Freeze into old butter dishes and when you go fishing break bits off and broadcast. So far, bream, whiting and flathead have shown interest. Secret is to put a dish under the mincer to catch all the juices as the liquid helps with the freezing.

Next move is to freeze them into ice-cube trays with a swivel embedded to attatch to the line. Could be used in place of a sinker when fiushing light. Gets the bait out there and then dissolves to leave the line unweighted.

Gets rid of the unwanted shells and frames and makes full use of the catch.

Probably been done before but new to me and agrees with current pressures on recycling from the grandkids.

.Chappy

05-05-2008, 07:19 AM
I do similar to chappy except i mince into a 4L bucket with a rope loop going from the bottom of the berley to out the top about a foot. I fill the bucket as much as i can with fish and crab/prawn shells all minced up finely and add some fish oil as i'm mincing. If I find myself short of filling the bucket i generally top up with dried cat food like whiskas or something of that nature. Chicken feed pellets also work. I then freeze this block as a complete big icecube basically.

When I go fishing i take the bucket and all and have a 6 inch float with 4 feet of rope to a cleat and a shark clip under the float. Attach the berley bomb and drop it over frozen solid. When you move just lift it back into the bucket and you are on your way again. It usually takes about 2 hours to completely be used up, which by that time I am ready to be heading home.

Dignity
05-05-2008, 09:02 AM
I do similar to chappy except i mince into a 4L bucket with a rope loop going from the bottom of the berley to out the top about a foot. I fill the bucket as much as i can with fish and crab/prawn shells all minced up finely and add some fish oil as i'm mincing. If I find myself short of filling the bucket i generally top up with dried cat food like whiskas or something of that nature. Chicken feed pellets also work. I then freeze this block as a complete big icecube basically.

When I go fishing i take the bucket and all and have a 6 inch float with 4 feet of rope to a cleat and a shark clip under the float. Attach the berley bomb and drop it over frozen solid. When you move just lift it back into the bucket and you are on your way again. It usually takes about 2 hours to completely be used up, which by that time I am ready to be heading home.

Do much the same except use milk cartons. thread a piece of rope through the bottom and tie a loop to which a weight can be added later. Place the minced fish offal with some chicken pellets in the carton (dont overfill as the pellets will swell and make it hard for the burley to get out, and staple the top of the carton and put in freezer bag and freeze. When I go out with a stanley knife I just cut a few diamond shaped holes in the catron, add the weight and tie off from the top and over the side it goes. Used to use a piece of conduit with holes drilled in it but after losing a few to snags and sharks found this method better as if I lose the odd one it hasn't cost me a lot of work, also the cartons stack niocely in the freezer.

05-05-2008, 11:18 AM
OK, I have said this a thousand times before(well almost) why would you berly with something, but then use some other thing for bait?? fish can be very single minded at times, anyone who has spent a thousand casts trying to catch a Tuna in a feeding Tuna school that is feeding on a tiny baitfish will verify this! use a bigger imitation and you will not catch a thing! so if you are using (say) Prawns for Bait, then prawn and Prawn shells should make up the bulk of your berly, if using Pilchards, then cut up Pilchards should be your preferred berly, I do not see the sense in (say) putting out your secret recipe, and then using something else for Bait, also the over use of berley will attract rubbish to the Boat as well, all sorts of little "pickers" and crap will invade a pile of berly in no time flat.

kingtin
05-05-2008, 01:15 PM
To put the burley right at your hook, use a swim feeder as your weight. I've only seen them in one shop in Oz a few years ago and none since. This guy is the importer though.:

http://www.piscesfishingtackle.com/online/index.php?cPath=97&osCsid=hcalgsilht2131ubq0ancgr7u1

You can make your own from old film canisters.

ronnien
05-05-2008, 02:30 PM
when out on the reef , i will put a hook through the eye of of a pille sink it 2 the bottom & give a hard yank this will b my berly, straight back down with another pille with the hook in the eye & through the body usally get a trout straight up.;)

macks, just mince a pille up in my hand & spread out only 1 every now & than, keeps the rubbish away. trevor46 what r u fishing 4?

so i agree use the same berly as the bait used.

ron.

CHAPPY
06-05-2008, 06:11 AM
Nolem,
You are right about attracting fish with prawn and crab so fish with prawn. But with a mix of crab also, those little black rock crabs found under rocks on the bank works well as bait in that burley trail . The prawn spray on soft plastics in the mix can be productive also. But remember ,what works here doesnt always work there. Sometimes attracting small bait fish can work as you slip in a livey the same as what is attracted can work.The larger fish feed on what has been attracted.

Chappy

Keechie
06-05-2008, 07:15 AM
hi whati have done is make a big clump of dough and then crushed in leftover prawn shells and a few prawn berley pellets. this stuff was great except about 100 toadfish came around and 1 huge stingray started swimming around.

regards,
keechie

p.s i was landbased and lobbed it about 2m out

06-05-2008, 08:11 AM
OK so then your heap of berly attracted 100 Toads?? that was what I was saying, the best catches are made by People who do a small amount of berly and introduce a bit of 'berly" with a hook in it, most who take out a Boatload of crap (except Shark fishermen) will come back with crap catches, to be successful you need to Fish smart , remember the old saying "90% of the Fish are caught by 10% of the Fishermen" it is as true 50 years ago as it is today.

06-05-2008, 08:26 AM
6 pints of Guiness, 8 shots of Drambuie, & 6 glasses of Baileys... Add a rolling swell, and it should all mix together to create a good constant berley trail ;D

I agree with you too Noel... Should use the same bait as you're berleying with.

Keechie
06-05-2008, 04:25 PM
OK so then your heap of berly attracted 100 Toads?? that was what I was saying, the best catches are made by People who do a small amount of berly and introduce a bit of 'berly" with a hook in it, most who take out a Boatload of crap (except Shark fishermen) will come back with crap catches, to be successful you need to Fish smart , remember the old saying "90% of the Fish are caught by 10% of the Fishermen" it is as true 50 years ago as it is today.

i only tried it once and didn't like it so i no longer use berley.

regards,
keechie

06-05-2008, 06:58 PM
I tend to fish not over reefs but near them. I use berley any let it waft back towards the reef and i find that any fish that decide to come away from the reef are hungry enough to attack anything swimming in my berley trail. I get regular decent catches of good squire and a few snapper up to 50m away from reef areas on soft plastics and generally I am away from the mob that is giving the reef areas a flogging with noise and movement.

I tend to think that when boat traffic comes to a reef system the fish get wary and will often move away after a few fish have struggled on lines. I simply give them a reason to leave the reefs and find refuge away from the commotion. It does not matter what berley I use as I am generally using lures of some kind and very rarely these days bait or livies.

kahla_creek
09-05-2008, 09:12 PM
Whatever you have left in old bait, fish frames and heads put through an old hand mincer and add chook pellets, a hand full of bread crumbs, a handfull of lawn clippings and a half bottle of tuna oil. I have a big container in my bait freezer that never empties and works really well. But if it ever tipped over in the boat I would have to burn it as you would never get the smell out.

Muddy

shaman
12-05-2008, 06:34 PM
I used to make up berley bombs and sell em...... I reckon the working ingredient was aniseed....... ;)

paul cooper
13-05-2008, 06:16 AM
the burley i use is simple and cheap chook pellets in a bucket soak overnight in fishoil add a couple of cans of cheap tuna cat food and get an onion bag or if going deep a burley pot fill with soaked pellets and you have a burley that works every where just hang the onion bag over the side so the boat rocks it it lasts for hours coop

paul cooper
13-05-2008, 06:27 AM
i tried all the methods you guys are talking about but over the years found that i was spending more time making the burly than fishing and the missus cracked up too couldnt handle the smell . ive found with this burly it brings every thing in to the trail but theres nothing to eat so every thing you put down is going to work its great in the rivers for breaming too a 7dollar bags lasts 2 0r 3 trips