View Full Version : Ross river crabs
horseboy
04-05-2008, 12:20 PM
Took the wife and kids for a run in the ross yesterday morningto put the crab pots in. It took some time to find a place to set the traps as there was floats everywhere. I was gonna leave them for 24hrs but my suspision got the better of me and i check them on the high last night. Got 2 alright bucks a chernobyl buck with extra parts and the nuclear rut mark and the other a greeny with barnicles on him so they will be full. The usual million jennies and undersize then reset the 3 pots i still had bait for. I have special way of setting my pots and tying them of all 3 had been done this morningand 1 had even been moved to the middle of the river and some one elses pot tied where mine had been 2 where even still open. The silly bugger that had moved my pot i have the name of the pot that was where mine was and will keep an out to see if it happens again. I know there name phone boat rego and address so if it happens again with the same guy it will be open season.
ronnien
04-05-2008, 01:23 PM
mate sorry 2 hear about your pot,not what i would like 2 happen 2 me(dogs).
ron.
horseboy
04-05-2008, 01:32 PM
and some one also nicked the hook of my winch cable and i was only of the trailer and in the water 20 mins
ronnien
04-05-2008, 01:43 PM
something i dont have 2 worry about as mine's welded.
ron
jackash
04-05-2008, 10:23 PM
Pricks. You reckon the bloke moved your pot then dropped his where yours had been..? Maybe he pulled up a heap and just threw them out randomly? the details youve got might be of someone who got done by the prick aswell? haha sorry jsut didnt follow the story to well. Hope you catch him anyhow.
Went to the Bohle Saturday with eight pots, they were all raided, retangular ones were cut open and my round pots(expensive) were stolen.>:( i would just like 5 mins alone with who ever did it. This is the third time in 5 trips the pots were raided and I only left them for 2 hours
08-05-2008, 01:28 PM
Thats why I never venture too far from my pots in the bohle. It is notorious for pot raiders/stealers. The people that do it have some balls though, they don't care who's around, once dad and I were fishing about 100m away from our stiring of pots and 2 blokes drove right up and started pulling them. I was quick to retreive the anchor and we scooted over, they didn't even budge and then tried to argue they were our pots, let it be said that we got our crabs and our pots and they 'walked' away hurting a bit with a couple of new dings in their boat and leave it at that.