View Full Version : Shipping Channel Townsville

04-05-2008, 08:31 AM
Had plans to head out to the shipping channel casting slugs for macs. The original plan was to leave at 7, but after a night on the piss, that wasn't going to happen.

Once we woke at the gentleman's hour of 8am, when loaded the boat, fueled up and were on the water by about 9, greeted by great weather (and a dirty great trawler, netting all along the out side of the channel, "there go all the mackeral for the year" was my first thought), no where near the 15-20knt wind predicted. So I punched the boat through the minimal chop and after a few hard knock the deckies were complaining "Ow my back, ow I just bounced on my manhood, slow down" I slowed down, only because we'd reached the desired destination.

All 3 of us (Fishing_Dan, Taipan and I) started casting th first few beacons for no result, other than a little golden trev and a couple of small macs. Taipan was the first (and only one) to bring a decent mac aboard, a doggy, going about 60cm. We do a couple more drifts for no more results. Next beacon I managed to foul hook my self a live bait (literally, it would've been lucky to be 4 inches long), and we moved on again, in hindsight, we should've done a few more drifts past that beacon, as we all know, where there's bait there's predators.

We moved onto the next beacon a Corey hooks into something big, hoping it was a large grey like we'd seen a couple weeks earlier, Dan had the gaff at hand, only to switch to the net when a 90cm Queenie surfaced. A couple of pics and we had to swim it a bit for a safe release, he was buggered. Hoping for another good queenie or 2 we completed another couple of drifts with no result. On to the next beacon and Corey hooks up again (prick), another good fish, with the fight looking a lot tougher than the battle with the queenie, gaf at the ready, another change over to the net was done and with my superior netting skills a 80cm Gold spot trev was soon on board, another couple of pics and it was sent safely back into the briny. A few more drifts of this beacon an the others with no more fish and it was time to head in for the day.

A few pics of the queenie and trev below:

horseboy
04-05-2008, 11:41 AM
I was thinking of heading out in the next day or 2 for a basjh around the channels. Just watch the coastgaurd ramp at the moment went down the othere night and ruined my cast net on low tide had a look on the ramp and found a big lump of cement with reo bar hanging out. supprised no has smaked a prop on it. i shifted it of the ramp ( itwas a big effort) it was deliberatly put there as i had trouble shifting it dont know if it was kids or some one trying to ruin the prawning. Are you fellas gonna head out tomorrow?
wade

ronnien
04-05-2008, 01:53 PM
sounds like the 3 of u had a ball! like u said not as rough as the weather said it would b,did u's c any mackerel at all? options still open 4 tomorrow, got monday off. nice fish boys.

ron.

Fisher4life
04-05-2008, 04:07 PM
Sounds like corey was on a roll... good to see a few townsvillians getting out. If only i still had the boat.....

Josh

04-05-2008, 05:00 PM
Yeah there were a few around, some missed hits and bite offs the mackeral really made their presence felt.

Wade, I won't be taking my boat out tomorrow, but if you need a deckie give us a yell. Not too early though, big weekend, I'm exhausted.

horseboy
04-05-2008, 05:30 PM
Plans changed scott the trouble and strife has put the kybosh on a day trip so just gotta hit the coastgaurd ramp for my monster tonight.

Wade

levinge
04-05-2008, 06:52 PM
Thanks for the Report Scott, Guess who's working all Weekend including the PH on Monday, Yep ME!. Still going to make up for it when the Upgrade arrives, countdown has begun and getting itchy. Just got 2 new reels and rods for the boat. 2 Okuma Salina SA80 High Speed Reels and a 30-50lb Broomstick thick rod and a 10-15Kg Fast Taper Spin Rod. One for the Unstoppables and the other for Jigging. Both virgins at present, but that will change!!!!

04-05-2008, 07:17 PM
Forgot to mention this was the first test of the new spin gear. A shimano Saragosa 5000F (27lb drag straight out of the box!) and a berkely pro tournament. I never even got to give it a test out, the only 'fish' I caught was the live bait and a baby mac, still waiting to hear that drag scream.

04-05-2008, 09:21 PM
Cheers again boys for the awesome weekend! Had a blast! Thanks also to Mr Bunnings ;)

I did tell you I felt like a couple of drinks friday night, so you should've known it was gonna be a big one...

Unfortunately my total for the day was a little trevally & a undersize macky. All a good day but, so didn't really matter. There was one big mackeral that followed the slug, but didn't bite unfortunately... He would've been a good one...

Corey was definitely on the roll that day. I blame it on him drinking the "fancy" beer the night before!!! ;D

Canoedle
04-05-2008, 10:10 PM
NICE QUEENIE!
I bet that thing pulled like a freight train!
Dan, you should know better than to drink XXXX.

Outsider1
05-05-2008, 09:06 AM
Forgot to mention this was the first test of the new spin gear. A shimano Saragosa 5000F (27lb drag straight out of the box!) and a berkely pro tournament. I never even got to give it a test out, the only 'fish' I caught was the live bait and a baby mac, still waiting to hear that drag scream.

That is an interesting reel Scott. As far as I am aware it is not available in Oz as yet, so I assume you bought it in from O/S.?

http://www.tackledirect.com/shimano-saragosa-spinning-reels.html

and video bottom of page;

http://www.mahitackle.com/saragosa.html

plus an earlier mention here;

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=125837

Taipan
05-05-2008, 10:56 AM
Haha, yes a big shout out to Mr Bunnings!!!

It was a great morning for some, some being me!! Yeah I don't know about making it a weekend ritual Dan, Ah yes I do, keep em coming...Wooooo

The Queenie pulled hard, but he did stay deep, would have been nice for him to put on an air show for us.

05-05-2008, 11:31 AM
Outsider, no I bought it from a local tackle shop up here. They'd only just got them in stock a couple of days before hand. They're not even on the shimano Australia website yet.

Outsider1
05-05-2008, 11:35 AM
Outsider, no I bought it from a local tackle shop up here. They'd only just got them in stock a couple of days before hand. They're not even on the shimano Australia website yet.

Thanks Scott,

will have to keep an eye out for them. What sort of price if you don't mind me asking? I have only seen the US market prices so far.

05-05-2008, 11:37 AM
RRP is about 390-400 but I got mine for $320, US prices are a little cheaper, but by the time you pay freight and then have to wait for it to arrive, I'd rather go support the local bloke and walk out with it there and then. Great reel can't wait to hook into something decent.

Outsider1
05-05-2008, 11:42 AM
Thanks Scott,

yes I prefer to buy local as well. One to keep an eye out for.

horseboy
05-05-2008, 11:58 AM
I might head out tomorrow morn for a while about 830 9 am if anyone is keen to have a look.

Wade

05-05-2008, 12:06 PM
Would have liked to Wade, but back to work tomorrow :(

Hopefully this wind dies off too. It's actually been blowing a fair bit today...

horseboy
05-05-2008, 12:59 PM
Yeah bit windy but bugger it see what happens in the morn after dropping the wife and kids off i am back to work wednesday so gotta get some fishing in.

Wade

richieboy
05-05-2008, 04:04 PM
Some nice fish Scott. Great pics. The barra have slowed a little up here. Coller water temps may mean it's time to smack the sticks. Found a small one up to 70cm in skinny water this morning tho and missed a few more.
You chasing any over your way?
I'll be doing the bluewater a bit more methinks.

Rich

05-05-2008, 05:31 PM
Rich, I haven't chased barra for ages, but to be honest, most of the barra I've caught have been in the middle of winter, early morning soaking big fat live mullet.

Lately I've been venturing around Maggie Island chasing trout, grunter, finger mark and mackeral. I haven't been out in the creeks in months now.

Taipan
05-05-2008, 07:36 PM
I notice that your saying chasing Scott....hehehe, meanwhile I've been catching fish..hahaha, those lessons are still on offer mate....;)

06-05-2008, 08:08 AM
Them's fightin words Scott ;)

Next time he's lookin for a live bait, don't give him any of the ones you've caught! Make him get his own ;D

06-05-2008, 11:01 AM
mah, next time I'll make him swim home.......he has been saying he wanted to start doing laps.

Taipan
06-05-2008, 03:41 PM
hahahaha, that's one big bloody lap....mmmthe thought of me high speed slicing for live bait...sounds fun..hehe

06-05-2008, 06:05 PM
at least it will only be one lap.........

spinning for live bait, tested, tried and true, don't knock it.

07-05-2008, 03:33 PM
Ah stop your bickering you two... Just kiss and make up ;D

Rod Fishing
07-05-2008, 08:38 PM
Its sounds like you two are married!!!!

Well done lads.

Not this weekend but maybe next will have to get together for some beers!!!!

08-05-2008, 01:29 PM
Yeah sounds like good timing Rod. Will be in Mount Isa during the week, but should be back for the weekend. Saturday night would probably suit me better...

08-05-2008, 01:43 PM
yeah maybe. I might be up at cattle creek that weekend, thats if dad grows some balls before then.

Dan, I'm thinking of heading over to liver point this weekend to catch some grunter.......well you can catch them, I'll catch all the batfish, remora, grinners and undersize nannies. Saturday's looking ok, 15knt winds but we'll be out of the wind, sheltered behind the Island. Interested? If not I'll take the wife, Corey, how bout you?

ronnien
08-05-2008, 03:22 PM
scott i will b keen if it's going 2 b around 15 kts, will leave from pallranda what time u's lookin at.

ron.

08-05-2008, 03:31 PM
Probably launch from coast guard ramp at about 830-900 to fish the incoming tide, than on the way in, make a call into the beacons and have a go for a mac or 2, depending on what the weather's doing.

Its a small tide so the current should be ok, last time it was roaring through. Which could be a bad thing, not a lot of run, so later on the macs might not come on the chew. Might try my hand at a bit of trolling for some spaniards but I can't venture too wide as I don't have a current epirb.

Fisher4life
08-05-2008, 04:18 PM
scott

Don't think you'd want to venture out too wide in your boat in 15-20's. It get's pretty lumpy out past the cape/island...

Taipan
08-05-2008, 06:27 PM
I won't be able to make it Scott, my weekend's pretty much full up.

08-05-2008, 10:11 PM
Got to work saturday night Scott, but cheers for the offer. Normally I would jump at it!

Trouble with the missus I see.... Maybe you should drink all her beer! ;)

09-05-2008, 11:28 AM
as long as she knows her place! lol

ronnien
09-05-2008, 01:26 PM
mate with the weather the way it is it might b a bit lumpy 4 my boat. but i'm dieing 2 get out there & get among them,if u get out there good luck & catch plenty of fish just leave some 4 the rest of us.

ron.

09-05-2008, 01:44 PM
The wind has increased a bit hasn't it? Should still be Ok for me though, only bumpy bit will be south side of Maggie, it should be pretty calm around West point. I'll just have to ease off on the throttle a bit.

Fisher4life
09-05-2008, 04:50 PM
at least you won't have to fight the ppl off for a park at the boat ramp...

ronnien
09-05-2008, 05:47 PM
never have to fight ppl off at pallaranda boat ramp being only 4 tinnies of corse! last time i was down there it was full of sand is it still the same now?

ron.

Mozza
10-05-2008, 09:56 AM
ronnien

Yep, still got a heap of sand on it. Keep and eye out for me - the boat's called Mozza and I drive a grey dual cab 4X4 hilux.

Curm and I went out Thursday 5:30 am for a troll and a look. The wind was a steady ~8-10kt southerly on the way out but was stronger by 10:30 and swung SE on our way back.

No spaniards despite dragging a fresh wolfie around for 2 hrs but we found some smaller mackos once we anchored and set a burley trail. They were hammering small live yakka that I jigged up.

No reef types but the pillie attracted a bunch of XOS remora. The 1st one was over a metre - we were convinced we'd scored a nice little cobia until after we had netted it...

Had to take it slowly on the way back, Scott it would have killed ya heading back from West Pt to the harbour as it would've been directly into the teeth of the breeze.

Hope you got out and got into a few..

Mozza