View Full Version : Sydney Breamin 2 .....

03-05-2008, 08:47 PM
Hi All

After last Saturdays fun in the sun ...... Mighty Whitey wanted to have a crack at those Cooks River bream! ..... It didn't take too much to convince me to have another go ( do you want to go for a fish ? .... Yep!) ..... 2.5 seconds;D
With the plan set ( Friday)..... Whitey was to meet at my place by 6am.
5.30am ...... I get one of my funny feelings::) ( ring him!) ..... No answer
5.35am ..... Returned call ( Ohhh .. I slept in .... The alarm didn't go off!) i told him to get his ass into gear ..... he can use my spare rod ( & food /drinks are organised)
well he arrived (7am) .... & we are launching 7.15am ...... & off to fish the mud/radioactive waste bank where I had so much success the previous week! ..... An hour or so later ... nothing! ...... & the words start to flow! ....... Nagg you're full of shite! ....... no bream here ! ...... Shut up & make the coffee!
not long after I've missed a couple decent bream boatside on a Rapala glass shad ... They are not sticking! ..... I drop down to a SX40 & not to long later i've landed my first ( 25cm) ...... Ok 1 down
We move up a little side creek ..... & get I get several vermin!
Whitey persists with a 3" gulp minnow! ......... I'm onto another 25cm bream (SX40) & another
We move further up this fishy looking creek till we could go no further where I manage another 27cm job on a Strike Pro Pigmy ( after some fine tuning) ... Question : do these ever track correctly straight out of the box??????

As we move back down .... on a rapidly falling tide
Whitey manages a nice flatty on the SX40 that I gave him .... Then another the next cast + a couple of Vermin ( Tailor) ....... Then I manage a flatty straight after ( but bigger!)
By this time we reach the rail bridge for the run in tide ....... not much happening ! Except for a coal train that sounded like it was derailing ( while we were under it:end: ) .
Lunch & we were off to fish some moored boats! ...... I manage a littleun ( but really quiet with a very low tide) ...... Off to fish a drain ( canal) that is up the back of the airport ...... not too long & I've got slammed a couple of times .... but no fish! ...... Then I manage a 27cm ish bream!
Whitey finally lands his first bream of the day ..... lots of whoo hoos ( ffff uuu s)
....... & another .... oh ohh, this is the best of the day ..... & he is letting me know it! ...... then he manages another ( we call this section ... Whitey straight) ...... i'm getting smashed on Atomic Prongs ... but cant hook up!

Its starting to get late in the day ...... so we are off to have a look at our first little side creek with the incoming tide ! ........ We get a few more vermin & as we get to the mangroves ...... i've landed the perfect cast in the mangrove roots ..... A flash of silver ... Thump & i'm on ! .. the T Curve is loaded up & the Certate 1500 is loosing line on an erratic run ! We soon see that its a good fish that wasn't going to come easy on 4lb braid ....... after some tense moments around the leccy ( dont mention Minn Kotas>:( ) ..... Whitey nets the fish of the day!
A quick measure (37cm)... & pic26143 ........ & several expletives by Whitey ( your F^c%e& ! ..... you do it all the time .......:D :D :D while I'm trying to stay humble!::)
we keep going ....... up creek ....... I manage 3 more 25-28cm babys & whitey makes a good coffee!;D
Time to call it a day ....... specially after he throws my lure up a bank into the long spear grass & looses it
So in the end .... not a bad day ..... Bar the Minn Kota running like a piece of shite & changes in wind that had has freezing one minute & boiling the next
Most importantly ..... I kicked Whiteys butt 10 - 3 bream .... Who cares about flatties::);D ....... & besides ... as it was my gear :P Whitey then finished with a negative score + since I supplied the food & drink ........The negatives carry over to the next trip!
all bream were caught on SX40s , Pigmys & Kokoda sprogs
Whitey is now a convert to HBs for Bream!

Nagg

PS ..... Did I mention that I kicked Whiteys butt ;D ( though he does make a good coffee:dankk2: ) ...... but he should leave his mobile at home ..... It scares the crap out of ya ..... when it rings:o
Seriously ..... a fun day ... with lots of Yah hoos
PPS ...... One of Whiteys bream26144

PPPS ...... Don't believe anything that Whiteys says about this report:-X or the accuracy

tiges
03-05-2008, 09:07 PM
I reckon if Whitey didn't have his fluro yellow, council issue jumper on, he'd of had a better chance. Those things aint quite stealth.

nathen77
03-05-2008, 09:10 PM
lmao..i told you he straight came from work..still got his work jumper on...lol
nah top report nagg..
and seriousely guys.whitey is a champ...
has tought me a shit load..
i realy cant wait to get a session in with you guys...

hopefully my offsider will be available next time

nathen77
03-05-2008, 09:12 PM
I reckon if Whitey didn't have his fluro yellow, council issue jumper on, he'd of had a better chance. Those things aint quite stealth.
lmao..mate not council issue..we arnt that bad lol

03-05-2008, 09:15 PM
lmao..i told you he straight came from work..still got his work jumper on...lol
nah top report nagg..
and seriousely guys.whitey is a champ...
has tought me a shit load..
i realy cant wait to get a session in with you guys...

hopefully my offsider will be available next time

So you dont know much then Nath ?;)

For sure ..... We'll organise something ! ....... If the fish are on >.>.... I'm on :P

03-05-2008, 09:18 PM

tiges ..... I was going to say something about that!

also .... it may have something to do with the Chilli paste & sump oil that I rubbed on his lures ;D

Obi _ Wan
04-05-2008, 11:59 AM
Chris,

Another well written report mate, don't know what you are going to do with the Mighty Whitey though, being late for a fishing trip is worse than stealing gold.

Has he been down South chasing the big Yellowfin yet? i used to get a heap of the bloody things fishing The Peak at night time. They used to steal bait meant for decent fish, trag, snapper and the bloody yellow kings used to get in the way as well.

Enough of that stuff, seriously, you guys are getting some good results out of that Nuclear Waste Drain, i do hope you are carefully washing your boat and all your gear afterwards?????

Why didn't you get out onto the bank to retrieve the lure that Whitey chucked into the grass?? they are bloody expensive lures, maybe you were frightened of coming across a body or two, or maybe, some weird malformed gigantic animal??

Mate you will be gratefull when you move North, i was when i did and that was thirty years ago, i could never go back, even my daughter has trouble getting me to visit for a couple of days and she lives on the outskirts of Sydney.

Tip, don't worry about smearing Whiteys lures with Chilli paste and sump oil, just leave the little clear plastic sleeves over the barbs, works a treat mate.

Once again Chris, Thanks for the report it's good and good result, no excellent result, considering the location'

John.

04-05-2008, 01:16 PM
Chris,

Another well written report mate, don't know what you are going to do with the Mighty Whitey though, being late for a fishing trip is worse than stealing gold.

Has he been down South chasing the big Yellowfin yet? i used to get a heap of the bloody things fishing The Peak at night time. They used to steal bait meant for decent fish, trag, snapper and the bloody yellow kings used to get in the way as well.

Enough of that stuff, seriously, you guys are getting some good results out of that Nuclear Waste Drain, i do hope you are carefully washing your boat and all your gear afterwards?????

Why didn't you get out onto the bank to retrieve the lure that Whitey chucked into the grass?? they are bloody expensive lures, maybe you were frightened of coming across a body or two, or maybe, some weird malformed gigantic animal??

Mate you will be gratefull when you move North, i was when i did and that was thirty years ago, i could never go back, even my daughter has trouble getting me to visit for a couple of days and she lives on the outskirts of Sydney.

Tip, don't worry about smearing Whiteys lures with Chilli paste and sump oil, just leave the little clear plastic sleeves over the barbs, works a treat mate.

Once again Chris, Thanks for the report it's good and good result, no excellent result, considering the location'

John.

g'day John

Being late! ......:-X
No, MW leaves for Bermi .... Tuesday week ( Hopefully he does well !)
Don't worry ..... we were on the bank looking for that lure.... 4 foot high reed & grass ( but it was getting dark! ..... we even used the spotty to see if we could get a reflection) ..... So that's one he owes me:(
Hey John ..... MW leaves those little plastic sleeves on himself ( specially on Slick rigs::) )
Yeh .... The toxic waste dump is fishing quite well atm ..... & the little side creek that we fished was a gem! Good fun .... but strictly C&R!
Living in Brisbane will be great ...... I can see lots of time spent exploring the Estuaries up to Gladstone ....let alone working on my IBD8-)

PS ... The boat was decontaminated .. along with the gear;D

Mighty whitey
04-05-2008, 07:02 PM
[quote=NAGG;814120]g'day John

Yes it was a great day at cooks river, shopping trolleys,old car big planes, small bream and big bream but i did catch the most bream up untill the afternoon ,Then i must say yes he kicked my butt, But had a great day. as for nathan you need to find someone or a crew that is not hen pecked, you know who.....;D

04-05-2008, 07:31 PM
Well .... i'm glad that you agreed with my report Whitey:)

& you do make a good coffee ;D

nathen77
05-05-2008, 03:43 PM
[quote=NAGG;814120]g'day John

Yes it was a great day at cooks river, shopping trolleys,old car big planes, small bream and big bream but i did catch the most bream up untill the afternoon ,Then i must say yes he kicked my butt, But had a great day. as for nathan you need to find someone or a crew that is not hen pecked, you know who.....;D
lmao...yep..;D ;D

05-05-2008, 07:03 PM
[quote=Mighty whitey;814262]
lmao...yep..;D ;D

Christening I heard ! ...... pretty poor excuse to not go fishing ;)