View Full Version : Ross Creek Monster
horseboy
02-05-2008, 11:44 PM
Went down the coastgaurd ramp at about 730pm couple of people prawning I had one cast of the net and got about 10 good prwns so had another cast got another 12 and a big lump of concrete some ahole has thrown there( moved once the tide had droped) So as you can imagine my cast net is wrecked. If i couldnt get a feed of prawns i was gonna use them as live bait. Had a few good hits no hookups. Then i managed to stick the hook to some thing. It got about 150m on me and was heading for the seawhen it turned ( i thought it was all my skill) when it proved me wrong it headed straight past me and up creek. a few minutes later i busted of after rubbing on a pylon under the ferry terminal. had a few more strikes but nothing exciting ended up with a couple of wolf herring and thats about it. I lost a lot of bait to sand crabs and good looking ones at that so might take the traps down tomorrow night. Just gotta buy a new cast net.
Wade
jackash
03-05-2008, 12:28 AM
What do ya reckon? Jewwy? ray?
horseboy
03-05-2008, 08:18 AM
i reckon a big groper or maybe a nimitz class sub. to slow for a shark no throbing like a ray. Would be nice if it was a jewbut havent heard of any yet.
Wade
ronnien
03-05-2008, 09:14 AM
if it got u under the ferry terminal it's not a shark or ray, something better i say maybe a big barra or black jew. i was thinking of going down there myself tonite.
ron.
horseboy
03-05-2008, 09:33 AM
might seeya down there i will be the one withoutr the cast net. just about to head out and soak the crabpots for 24 hrs
ronnien
03-05-2008, 09:39 AM
where u putting in the pots?
ron.
horseboy
03-05-2008, 10:00 AM
in ross river gonna try and hide them for the night but there was heaps of sandys at the coast gaurd ramp last night
ronnien
03-05-2008, 10:05 AM
mine r going in tomorrow nite in the ross on the high tide & get them on the high tide monday morning, need high tide 2 b able 2 get where i want 2 put them, once the tide drops i know no 1 can get across 2 them.
ron
horseboy
03-05-2008, 11:43 AM
just got back ppl everywhere but hopefull will be still there might check tonight and rebate if needed and retrieve in the morning
jackash
03-05-2008, 12:17 PM
yeah i was thinkig barra but thought it probably wouldve jumped. guess you never know up there.
ronnien
03-05-2008, 12:20 PM
mate, did u get 2 c what outside looked like (rough?). my plan is starting 2 change.
ron.
horseboy
03-05-2008, 12:28 PM
no just put the pots in didnt go that close to the mouth had the wife and kids for A quick run. Was a few tinnies come back in the mouth while we where there.
horseboy
04-05-2008, 01:36 PM
Gonna hit the ross creek again tonight gonna take the 80lb boat rod as well the monster will not beat me. Shame my castnet is dead gonna have to try some other bait.
Wade
ronnien
04-05-2008, 01:41 PM
yeah i dont like a fish 2 beat me!
04-05-2008, 09:26 PM
Bugger about the loss(s) Wade. I had 1 rod broken & 1 guide broken when the boat I was in today picked on a mangrove tree... Unfortunately the tree won...
Might have to fish these rockwalls at night... Where you on the actual ramp fishing, or on the pontoon?
horseboy
05-05-2008, 08:00 AM
of to the side of the pontoon cast net was done on the ramp just in side th end of ramp sign