View Full Version : Mud this morning, Silent's lies exposed!!

juju
02-05-2008, 09:36 AM
Im sure like many others yesterday i was sucked in by Silent's report....so i went and filled up the boat...$95.00....(will last for many trips anyway...E-Tec....)....put off an early job....checked the gear....and went to bed last nite dreaming of 60cm + snapper climbing over the gunnels..........up and gone at 4am.....out of a nice warm water bed into the cool morning air.....boat in....off to Mud.....try here....nope....try there.....nope.....have a look at those other guys.....are they catching anything?.....no.....move again.....sounder showing a barren bottom....one more try.....WOO HOO.....hookup......Grinner.......another hookup....Grinner......that was it .....8am....bugger this head home.....For those at work today reading this (bad get back to what you should be doing).....it was /....and at this time 9.33 still is a very nice day out on the bay.....but those snapper ???.........makes you think but......what sort of guy would go to the co op buy some expensive whole snapper, hitch on the boat...run out to mud ....take his pic with them.....just to screw with us poor hopefulls........almost feel sorry for the guy....
pS used squid, whiting, fillets....while also flicking Lime tigers......

02-05-2008, 09:41 AM
You have to be in the right place at the right time ;)

Wags

02-05-2008, 11:36 AM
Hmmm, maybe he just caught them all ?
Maybe he caught you too ?
Better luck next time I guess

Silent
02-05-2008, 12:34 PM
Gidday JUJU,

I'm sorry your trip does not successful this morning....
Maybe I could give you few tips as I can see your errors:-

Im sure like many others yesterday i was sucked in by Silent's report....so i went and filled up the boat...$95.00....(will last for many trips anyway...E-Tec....)....put off an early job....checked the gear....and went to bed last nite dreaming of 60cm + snapper climbing over the gunnels..........up and gone at 4am.....out of a nice warm water bed into the cool morning air.....boat in....off to Mud.....try here....nope....try there.....nope.....have a look at those other guys.....are they catching anything?.....no.....move again.....sounder showing a barren bottom....one more try.....WOO HOO.....hookup......Grinner.......another hookup....Grinner......that was it .....8am....bugger this head home.....For those at work today reading this (bad get back to what you should be doing).....it was /....and at this time 9.33 still is a very nice day out on the bay.....but those snapper ???.........makes you think but......what sort of guy would go to the co op buy some expensive whole snapper, hitch on the boat...run out to mud ....take his pic with them.....just to screw with us poor hopefulls........almost feel sorry for the guy....
pS used squid, whiting, fillets....while also flicking Lime tigers...

Dreaming is unhealth & bad luck...;D
Moving & moving... I think you moved too many... Maybe you try to be patience a bit till a school of squires running in especailly tide movement...
Working on both (bait & plastic) is a bad idea! pick one and focus...;)

Freeeedom
02-05-2008, 01:15 PM
LOL - I was out there too juju. I managed 4 squire - the biggest about 20cm. I managed to bring home 2 quite nice parrot (purple tusk fish), 2 tarwhine, 3 bream, 1 good grass sweetlip and 25 big river gar I caught close in to the island when it was obvious the snapper weren't going to arrive. It was a beautiful day on the bay and I reckon there were quite a few Ausfishers out there from the number of boats drifting past me flicking SP's - ( I was anchored and using bait only). I didn't start fishing until about 6.00a.m. so maybe I need to get out a bit earlier - then I can follow Silent to his new spot.
Cheers Freeeedom

T1
02-05-2008, 01:40 PM
LOL Guys! Our take home catch this morning was a 42 & a 48cm pinkies - both caught on placcies... The Whiting Head got hammered only once for a short run (& we had 2 lines out at all times with a Head). Can't even say we got hammered by a freight train! Back at Manly by 9am. Maybe it was too calm and it certainly wasn't cold at 4am (or as cold as i thought it would be...)! Should have gone to SILENT's Spot Y ;) (don't worry ole mate, your secret is safe with me :-X )...

Did have a bit of a scout around though and found a bit of :o :-X ground that's worth a look next time so all was not lost...

Take Care T

chief
02-05-2008, 03:40 PM
Heard a few reports today of Peel being slow this morning,only small stuff 20- 34 cm.

Reel Nauti
02-05-2008, 04:31 PM
You blokes make me laugh!!!! Poor Silent. I hope he appreciates this Aussie humour!

It's as I said Silent, you're on top now and we're all jealous!!

Good luck all for a great long weekend.

Silent
02-05-2008, 05:06 PM
You blokes make me laugh!!!! Poor Silent. I hope he appreciates this Aussie humour!

It's as I said Silent, you're on top now and we're all jealous!!

Good luck all for a great long weekend.

;D ;D ;D....

For Steve
02-05-2008, 05:45 PM
Yep, I got sucked in too. Only keeper after 6 hours was a 38cm squire.

I hope tomorrow goes a lot better.

Brad

02-05-2008, 06:54 PM
I am heading out for spot B tomorrow. (The "B" stands for "Bugger, should have fished Spot X) ::) Will keep an eye out for Ausfish stickers.

juju
02-05-2008, 07:05 PM
well at least i wasnt the only one doing it hard......i will have another go next week...an arvo/eve fish this time i think.....berley....sit and wait.......it was nice weather but.....and not cold early at all....

notsa
02-05-2008, 07:45 PM
My mate and I went to mud today and bagged out by 7:30 am, then the alarm went off (3:00 am) it was just a dream. The truth is that we were on the water by 5:30 am went to mud and a few other places and all we got was a few under size squire. It is nothing like it was last year around this time.

Obi _ Wan
02-05-2008, 11:04 PM
juju, you went the wrong way mate! I was out at daybreak this morning and managed to boat two nice snapper, 56cm & 48cm. Sorry no photo's, i will only snap fish over 65cm now.
I also bagged out last Thursday with fish 53, 51 46, 39, 38, plus a lot of small stuff, so it has been pretty good for me lately but i must admit they are hard to find, a few here and a few there so you have to chase then.

John.

mickstar001
03-05-2008, 11:01 AM
Ok ok ok i got sucked in too! Didnt make it to Mud tho, and by the sounds of it didnt miss much!! Maybe the key is to try and be a little more SILENT?? Fished the mouth for um zippedee do dar:<

Mickstar

03-05-2008, 11:16 AM
LOL - I was out there too juju. I managed 4 squire - the biggest about 20cm. I managed to bring home 2 quite nice parrot (purple tusk fish), 2 tarwhine, 3 bream, 1 good grass sweetlip and 25 big river gar I caught close in to the island when it was obvious the snapper weren't going to arrive. It was a beautiful day on the bay and I reckon there were quite a few Ausfishers out there from the number of boats drifting past me flicking SP's - ( I was anchored and using bait only). I didn't start fishing until about 6.00a.m. so maybe I need to get out a bit earlier - then I can follow Silent to his new spot.
Cheers Freeeedom

Hey freedom can I fish with you, nice adapt to target the gar.(thumbs up)

Silent
03-05-2008, 05:44 PM
Ok ok ok i got sucked in too! Didnt make it to Mud tho, and by the sounds of it didnt miss much!! Maybe the key is to try and be a little more SILENT?? Fished the mouth for um zippedee do dar:<

Mickstar
Yep you make a good point "be silence is Golden rule";)