View Full Version : Brissie river bream

chief
01-05-2008, 04:17 PM
Had a chance to have a quick fish tosarf so we hit the river for bream session. One thing is the bream have suddenly gone quiet on plastics and HBs have been far more productive with some quality fish. Great way to fish but it can get a bit expensive when you get hit by a few good stonkers and those brissie river squire take a likeing to your offering around those pylons.Anyway a nice little sesh with seven better fish finding their way into the airated esky (for a later release)and a few smaller rats released on capture . Beautiful afternoon on the water with biggest going 32 to the fork. Cheers

Callop
01-05-2008, 04:31 PM
Some nice bream there, Chief. Well done. I think I have a leave pass for Saturday morning. Might have to give them a go. What HB's are you using?

chief
01-05-2008, 04:41 PM
River 2 sea has a lure out at the moment that is like a chubby, swim fantastic and pull a few fish and have a approx. $11 price tag Not bad

bayfisher
01-05-2008, 05:54 PM
River 2 sea has a lure out at the moment that is like a chubby, swim fantastic and pull a few fish and have a approx. $11 price tag Not bad

Is that the baby crank 30? I have a few in my kit they are a great lure I have even nailed me some decent squire on me. Anyway sounds like you had a fun little session.

Cheers Chris

gaintsquid
01-05-2008, 06:07 PM
Nice work Mate! Some solid breambos for the river there. Whats your biggest from the river on lure?

nuggstar
01-05-2008, 06:14 PM
top work mate. you shore know what ya doing with them bream dont ya

chief
01-05-2008, 07:03 PM
Spot on bayfisher but D40F s crank them to about 2 meters and there deadly.Some great colours to and giantsquid the best was around a 42 cm model and on a plastic.Its the one in the avatar

chief 1
01-05-2008, 07:07 PM
great work mate,i might have to get a few of them lures

ddobson
01-05-2008, 08:01 PM
Well done chief it seems to be a new addiction of yours the brimbo and a great one at that. I snuck into the warfs on wed night at the turn of the high tide and dropped a few plastics into the dark pilons and blow me down i had all my rods pulled and bitten off and the snapper rod had a 30 pound leader on the end and bitten of like butter. Big fish under there big fish. No takers though only 1 30cm flatty at the mouth and a few hits of good sized brim on the rock wall but only pull and then let go. Next time i will throw some HBs. Good weather to. Cheers.

For Steve
01-05-2008, 08:25 PM
Nice fish Chief. You've got the river mouth area worked out I reckon mate. I'd like to hire you as a fishing guide one of these days.

Brad

lunatic
01-05-2008, 08:39 PM
G'day Chief,
You are a machine! You definately have the River sussed. Well done.
We went out last weekend and didn't catch squat, even though a few of our plastics got monstered, we just couldn't connect.
Ah well, I guess that is fishing... Do you use your electric when fishing the pylons?
Lunatic

chrisallangler
01-05-2008, 08:56 PM
Nice, i was waiting for a report. Good to see some more quality fish. Is that a daiwa sol?? If so nice upgrade there a awsome reel. Im still yet to see a report from the gold coast, have you had a fish there yet? See you at the minnibucks.

chief
01-05-2008, 09:59 PM
Lunatic..couldn't fish the sticks without the electric,Hey mate the plastics have gone very quiet for us as well. The HBs are the go and I'm giving the blades a fair go this weekend.

Chris..My wife gave me the sol a couple of weeks ago, nice reel but i have Finns yellow line 4 bl on it. Water was pretty clear today and that line stood out like crazy and I wasn't getting the hits until I used my other sic stick with the diawa and crystal fireline. No mate haven't fished down there yet. Spent last weekend at the tinnie tackle show and a few days with the wife but fishing everyday this long weekend. Will see ya at the mini bucks.Cheers

chrisallangler
02-05-2008, 06:30 AM
Sweet, yeah i definatley found big improvemments all round when i changed form fins to crystal.