View Full Version : Run in with fisheries off Mooloolaba ...lesson learnt.

ROBENDOG
30-04-2008, 02:58 PM
Recently purchased a boat (6m plate cuddy cab) and have discovered fishing….lots of lessons to learn. Here is a story about one I learnt yesterday.

Put in at the boat ramp on Harbour Parade Mooloolaba yesterday morning. Found this ramp to be a little shallow.

Are there any deeper ramps up this way?

Put in about 4:30am and away we went. Was a little rough but not enough to stop us fishing. Went to a few spots I have been told of, Inner Gneerings, 5 mile, and Murphy’s Pinnacle.

Caught plenty under size, cod, emperors, pearl perch etc. Only 1 to take home and eat (or so we thought), but a good excuse to be out on the water.:D

Ok, what happened with fisheries???

We were out at Murphy’s Pinnacle when we saw this zodiac looking thingy hooking out to us. So he pulls up, identifies himself as fisheries, and asked to jump aboard, “No drama.”

Had a look through the safety gear and all was sweet.

Can I look in your esky?

No dramas buddy, just one keeper, a cod.

It was under size!!!! What the???:-/

When we caught the cod we immediately grabbed the tide timetable and flipped to the back.

Cod 38cm
Flowery Cod 50cm
Two other types of cod with a size limit (don’t recall as I have tossed the time table for reasons that will become apparent).

Oh well better find out what sort of Cod it is. Look it up in the book and find it is a ‘Maori Cod’.

Back to the tide timetable……not listed separately so must fall into the general “Cod” category – 38cm. Measure the fish, 40cm, woo-hoo into the esky.

No no says fisheries, 45cm on Maori Cod, $150 fine, who caught it?:o

Showed him how we came about our decision to toss it in the esky. Thank god he believed us and could understand how we were confused…no fine. He was very decent about it and gave us a warning, slit open the fishes gut and tossed it back into the ocean. Gave me a DPI&F Size and Bag limit handout and also a book to identify fish.

Lesson learnt…..ONLY USE THE DPI&F HANDOUT TO DECIDE IF A FISH IS LEGAL!!!!!!

I am sure that all the experienced fishers are fully aware of this, but thought my experience was worth posting for less experienced fishers.

I have no interest in breaking the rules, and fully support size and bag limits. We need to look after our fishing environment so it has a sustainable future.

I also love eating fresh legal fish.

30-04-2008, 03:10 PM
Close call on that one. At least the fisheries guy was understanding. Just one question though, seeing how the fish was already dead, why would they throw it away like that? It's a bit late for catch and release. I can see their reasoning behind it, obviously you couldn't have taken it ashore, but its not like they could bring it back to life, they could've at least let you cut it up for bait/burley and get some use out of it.

30-04-2008, 03:12 PM
Welcome to the wonderfully confusing world that endeavours to turn otherwise honest people out to try and catch a fish into criminals.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif

Whitto
30-04-2008, 03:13 PM
Big Clap to the Fisheries guy, He could have easily gone in one direction ($150.00 worth) gave u the latest guides and a Fish ID book to boot Whitto

Riv_71
30-04-2008, 03:14 PM
I carrie a copy of the size limit printed from the net with me at all times while fishing to avoid the confussion, but then again id have to accually get a fish in the eskie for it to affect me:-[

Didley
30-04-2008, 03:15 PM
slit open the fishes gut and tossed it back into the ocean.

Sound like a job well done on the fishery guy's behalf, but what is the slitting open bit all about, was it still alive and that was the swim bladder your talking about?

ROBENDOG
30-04-2008, 03:33 PM
The fisheries bloke was really good about it all and we were all impressed with his attitude. He took the time to explain a few other things and also fielded numerous questions from us.

It had been on ice for about 3 hours and was dead. I think he slit the gut so it would sink and we would not grab it soon as he left and toss it back in the esky. He stated that legislation required him to toss it over board.

I certainly had no issue after he had been so understanding in relation to our slipup.:) :)

Donny Boy
30-04-2008, 04:14 PM
Had the same thing happen at the 'Pin 2 months back, thought we had a Sandy Flathead, but no, it was a Mud Flathead, and 2 cm short of the mark. Put it back in the water, let us off, and gave us a picture card to ease the confusion. Took the mates rego number so that if we re-offend they hit him up for the lot.
.............Didn't have to think too hard when we pulled out a Mud Crab 1mm undersize 3 weeks later.....Wooshka............... straight back in.

Cobia Kid
30-04-2008, 04:29 PM
It had been on ice for about 3 hours and was dead. I think he slit the gut so it would sink and we would not grab it soon as he left and toss it back in the esky. He stated that legislation required him to toss it over board.

Sounds pretty fair on the coppas behalf,

Mexikan
30-04-2008, 04:50 PM
Close call mate,fair dinkum coppa though.You should try getting your head around NT fishing legislation.When I was up there people had lost boats and cars to the fisheries-taken care of by the NT police so they have a bit of clout.So we checked out the regs pretty thoroughly when we were there.
Mex

30-04-2008, 05:59 PM
For my way of thinking ..... it was a pretty good outcome :thumbsup:
A little education & the latest ID book & regs ........... + No $150 fine8-)

Pretty good PR from the inspector! .....

It just shows though .... you need to be up to date with the current regs + identification!

IF IN DOUBT ... THROW IT OUT!

Nagg

30-04-2008, 06:11 PM
Lesson learned and congrates on the guy letting you off is a rare thing and yes some many different sizes are confusing for sure mate

bustastu
30-04-2008, 08:34 PM
ROBENDOG:

The Kawana ramp, Harbour Parade, Buddina is probably the best ramp your going to get up here. You could always try the ramp on Parkyn Parade, Mooloolaba next to the coastguard. (on the other side to where you would of put in). In my opinon Kawana ramp is however alot better and easier to get to especially in high traffic times.

BS

ROBENDOG
30-04-2008, 10:18 PM
Thanks BS. Appreciate the heads up on ramps. That will help a lot.:)

r3volt
30-04-2008, 11:03 PM
Where can i get my dpi handbook? lol

Mr__Bean
30-04-2008, 11:50 PM
We would have been in the same position last trip when we kept an undersize cobia.

we looked in our references for a size limit and couldn't find one.

When you look at the fisheries limits they don't specify a limit for "cobia", see here: http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/dpi/hs.xsl/28_3042_ENA_HTML.htm

How the hell were we meant to know they are listaed as black kingfish??

Point being, even fisheries could assist more with some of their documentation.

At times there are these honest mistakes.

- Darren

01-05-2008, 12:47 PM
We would have been in the same position last trip when we kept an undersize cobia.

we looked in our references for a size limit and couldn't find one.

When you look at the fisheries limits they don't specify a limit for "cobia", see here: http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/dpi/hs.xsl/28_3042_ENA_HTML.htm

How the hell were we meant to know they are listaed as black kingfish??

Point being, even fisheries could assist more with some of their documentation.

At times there are these honest mistakes.

- Darren

I didn't know that either. I thought they were an unregulated fish.

Dignity
01-05-2008, 03:55 PM
Mr Bean, thanks for the link, I usually update my size limits on a regular basis but had forgotten to do so recently.

For the newbies Tuck fish are not Parrot even though most of us call them that - 5 cm difference int size limit, although you wouldn't get much out of a 25cm Parrot (if you some how manage to catch one)

For Steve
01-05-2008, 04:10 PM
You live...you learn.

I reckon it would happen all the time with flathead and mackerel as well.

Good on ya for trying to do the right thing.

Brad

BeachBabe13
01-05-2008, 04:22 PM
Phew that was lucky..They knew you were genuine..Good that they let it go..Keep it for the real mongrels out there that keep undersized fish on intent..We had the fisheries all over us here when the snapper comp was on, checking safety gear, boats, and what they brought in..Was good..