View Full Version : Maroochy river advice
Little grey men
30-04-2008, 09:50 AM
G'day Ausfishers,
My olds will be making their annual two week trip to the coast from out west next week.
They'll be staying on the Maroochy river, fairly close to the mouth.
The old blokes keen to get in quite a bit of fishing, early morning, late afternoon.
Mum can only drag him around the shops for so long until he chucks a poopy.
He's all set with the good gear. 7ft graphite spin rod, 10ft surf rod, medium baitcaster. Tonnes of plastics and hard bod's.
Can anyone suggest any decent spots that will produce for him. He'll be landbased. I'll be joining him on the weekends and I know the basic layout of the river.
I'm not after your favourite secret spots...your second favourite will do fine;)
Any help would be great. I'm sure the old boy would love a bream or two for his breakfast.
Little grey men
30-04-2008, 10:42 AM
WOOOOOPS !!!! wrong place. Could a mod please move this one to a more suitable locale.
'sorry
nuggstar
30-04-2008, 11:41 PM
ok if you want bream get ya old man and hit up cornmeal creek (the plaza) work close to the bank with ya hb or plastics and work the bank right up to the shops. i never do well at the mouth of the river unless im using live herring or mullet or silver biddys for the big flattys, there is flats there and you might be able to get a whitting or two there on poppers as i droped a big one there at the mouth 2 weeks ago. give chambers island ago as well, there is a nice channal on the northen side and you never no what you are going to get there and try around the bridge and the bridge on duporth av that leeds in to the cannals, you get lots of flattys and a few tailor and bream in there. the cod hole (the motorway bridge) can be good at times with every thing turning up there like trevs, bream, flattys, tarpon, tailor jew and lots of other cool critters, it a bit snagy so be carful. i will try and think of some more spots 4 ya and i will post them 4 ya when i can think of them.
Little grey men
01-05-2008, 08:14 AM
Thanks for the info Nuggs, We actually fished that little creek running into the plaza on his last holiday. We pulled some seriously fat bream out of there.....they must live one a steady diet of Maccas fries and dohnuts. That channel sounds good, I know that little island.
Mangfish
01-05-2008, 10:42 AM
another good spot i've picked up a few good bream at is godfreys road, some big flattys there too
BaitThrower
01-05-2008, 12:14 PM
Yeah rock wall at Godfreys road is ok. Got a few flatties there last time I went.
nuggstar
01-05-2008, 06:51 PM
i love that spot, i was there on sunday fishing with some bait for a change. i got a few nice bream and busted off 3 times on my 20lb outfit, i have no idear what thay where but that had teath and a lot of power and headed for the rocks as soon as i hit them. i was useing hole pillies with no sinker and casting them up current and letting them drift down on a slack line and watching the braid 4 twitches like when you are fishing with plastics 4 bream. i was useing 2/0 mustad big red hooks and i droped heaps of fish just after hook up.
BaitThrower
01-05-2008, 09:22 PM
i love that spot, i was there on sunday fishing with some bait for a change. i got a few nice bream and busted off 3 times on my 20lb outfit, i have no idear what thay where but that had teath and a lot of power and headed for the rocks as soon as i hit them. i was useing hole pillies with no sinker and casting them up current and letting them drift down on a slack line and watching the braid 4 twitches like when you are fishing with plastics 4 bream. i was useing 2/0 mustad big red hooks and i droped heaps of fish just after hook up.
Put a drop of superglue on your hook. No drop-offs then ;D ;D ;D
Can't wait to come up and fish the river again in Sept school holidays... I still got a seat on my little dinghy for ya nugg ;)