View Full Version : Quality Fish-Bribie

Creek Vermin
29-04-2008, 05:33 PM
Went for a quick arvo session up to bribie today. Sent a quick text to an old bloke I know up there to see if he was keen to jump aboard, a quick yes and it was on. He doesn't get out much these days in his old age. (arthritis and bad eyesight I think) Anyway the plan was to throw for a few lizards on the flats with plastics while waiting for the tide to slow enough to get some big prawnstars down amongst the pylons. Started very slowly and took a good 15 min to get the first hit. It hit hard and ran straight at me, as a lot of big lizards tend to do in shallow water and it was obvious this one wasn't going in the esky. A few mins later a good fish of 86cm slid into the net. A few pics and it swam away happily. Only one more hit over the next half hour signalled that the bridge was ready, but just before we went my old buddy (with his bad eyes) saw something following his lure. It turned out to be a nice squid so on went the jig while he kept it entertained and it was quickly put in the esky. Went to the bridge from there and started jigging the big prawns. On the 3rd pylon the big red got smashed and up popped a nice black spot cod measuring 54cm. A few pylons later the same happened and up popped a gold spot cod of 55cm. Apart from them we never scored another hit under the bridge which is really odd. Maybe they were still full from the long weekend. Cheers. Keith

Outsider1
29-04-2008, 05:38 PM
Great pics Keith. Thanks for the report, well done!.

ffejsmada
29-04-2008, 05:38 PM
Nice Keith, well done!
Gotta laugh though, another in the 80's;D;D;D, on the Bozo as well!

Well done mate, you got some good chewin' there!;)

Jeff.

That shot of you holding the lizard is a ripper!

Creek Vermin
29-04-2008, 05:42 PM
Fejjy-Thats the 4 inch trop angler mate. Bozo doesnt get much of a swim in my tinny these days. But yeah another 80. We called it closer to 90 when it came in the boat. Bit of a chubby unit.

richieboy
29-04-2008, 05:43 PM
Hitting the old haunts again hey Keithy. It's around this time you're into the lizards. Good report mate.
Barra have gone a bit quiet up here but the bluewater seems to be coming alive. Hoping to get onto a few Jewies soon after nailing some Goldies last week. I reckon this weeks springs may be my last cjhance to snare a few chromies on the flats in the harbour.

Richie

Creek Vermin
29-04-2008, 05:54 PM
Sounds like your doing it tough rich. Jacks are slowing right down now especially after this cold snap. Got a 45 on sunday with fejjy and dropped one but it was quiet.

indy
29-04-2008, 05:55 PM
Your mate might have bad eyes but he sure can take a good photo nice fish there

cheers pete...

richieboy
29-04-2008, 05:59 PM
Sounds like your doing it tough rich. Jacks are slowing right down now especially after this cold snap. Got a 45 on sunday with fejjy and dropped one but it was quiet.

You poor bloke. I reckon you've had your quota catch of em this season anyways mate. :P
Noticed you slayed a few bigger boys toward the end of the season as well. Must be feeding up before the cold sets in eh. Great pics, good to see the Hb's getting a run this year as well.
I'm back in July for 2 weeks so a snapper sesh with old sparring partner Nicky-boy will be on the cards. Keep the reports coming bro. Cheers,

Rich

Thorbsy
29-04-2008, 06:02 PM
Great catch mate ,

You have fuelled my enthusiasm of fishing the bridge again. As for your so called slow start, 15MINS I"m pumped to get first hit some days after an hour, must be doing something wrong. Still trying to master the art of the artificials.

Awesome pics!!

Didley
29-04-2008, 06:35 PM
Great report thanks Keith.They are quality fish and the photos are exceptional. I take it you've got a new wiz bang camera. Trying to get some magazine cover shots perhaps;D

Leighton
29-04-2008, 06:43 PM
you're killing them with the Prawns mate, great pics.
How are you working the P S lures? A quick flick or slower roll?

loophole
29-04-2008, 06:53 PM
some good fish there. Big flatty sure is nice and fat.

jeffo
29-04-2008, 06:55 PM
good stuff keith. I was down there on the weekend. Found a little patch of rubble near where you were fishing and got stuck into a heap of squire. All just under size but they were good fun on the 4lb. Also got a 46cm gold spot and a few tailor. All on plastics and in the middle of the day with a billion boats around. Im itching to give the spot a go in the twilight.

29-04-2008, 06:58 PM
Nice catch there for a quick arvo session !

There are some nice big flatties being caught of late :o

Creek Vermin
29-04-2008, 07:03 PM
Stabs-Very short sharp flicks mate using just the wrist. Most males have the necessary wrist strength.
jeffo-any size to the tailor mate? It's great catching fish round a heap of boats. Most don't even notice you doing it.
Didley-Nothing whizz bang bout my camera mate.
indy-yeah once I lined the old fella up he went alright.

jeffo
29-04-2008, 07:21 PM
Stabs-Very short sharp flicks mate using just the wrist. Most males have the necessary wrist strength.

;D ;D ;D

Just choppers Keith. The more i see of the passage the more impressed with the place i am...and to think of all the years i have spent being annoyed by jet skiiers in the maroochy!!

abbot_86
29-04-2008, 07:25 PM
good work kieth you certainly get onto some good fsh

cuzzamundi
29-04-2008, 07:39 PM
Great session mate! awesome.

cuzza

Pistol_P
29-04-2008, 08:14 PM
The topic says it all....Quality fish...8-)

The plastic looks very much the good old Renosky Shad......Looks like a good substitute for them.

stessco
29-04-2008, 08:17 PM
g;day keith nice flathead do you reckon the bigger plastics catch the bigger flathead, i use the 2'' range gulps and catch alot of 40cm to 50cm but no big ones.

Pistol_P
29-04-2008, 09:19 PM
g;day keith nice flathead do you reckon the bigger plastics catch the bigger flathead, i use the 2'' range gulps and catch alot of 40cm to 50cm but no big ones.

Absolutely....Big bait...big fish.

Those big flatties have huge bucket mouths on them and have no problems scoffing down a 20cm whiting or mullet.

jackcowboy
30-04-2008, 12:38 AM
nice work vermin! im not sure if you remember me? we used to work together, i wouldn't mind catching up for a fish and maybe a brew if ya keen some time.

nuggstar
30-04-2008, 02:16 AM
top work again vermin. it would have been fun trying to stop them cod

Creek Vermin
30-04-2008, 04:36 AM
stessco-yeah mate. I use some monster lures down the pin when chasing the big fish and they have no probs eating them. Still get plenty of small fish on 4 inch shads too.
cowboy-yeah I remember you mate. Buddies with pigeon aren't you?
Pete-Yeah they do look a bit like a renosky. Just as tough too.

T H I R S T Y
30-04-2008, 02:44 PM
do you ever work mate........... or sleep .

Az
01-05-2008, 04:20 PM
awesome estuary fishing mate.. be happy with that anywhere actually!!
great to see good cod numbers around.. has been a while

ddobson
01-05-2008, 08:19 PM
Good session and a full sized flatty. Good to see the old prawnstar pullen some deeper fish. Cheers.

straddy77
02-05-2008, 12:34 AM
hey keith next time u see that old bloke, tell him hes not welcome in my boat anymore! his colostomy bag must have been leaking, because there was this liquidy sh*t in my boat from the other day!!!!
nice fish too mate. have to get up there with u for a jig myself soon.

Mullet Musketeer
02-05-2008, 08:18 AM
There have been a lot of Choppers and Pike around the Bridge lights early am at the moment. I have had a few good flatties from under them - good effort on some very decent cod.

Mullet Musketeer
02-05-2008, 08:20 AM
Stessco - I caught my pB flattie - 86cm on a fluoro yellow 2" Gulp Minnow Grub. At that size, if its passing and they see it - they eat it.