View Full Version : Soft plastics arsenal on Bream

Jigsrule
29-04-2008, 05:27 AM
Gday Ausfishos,

Just wondering what is everyone’s favorite soft plastics arsenal for bream?
I mainly catch flatties and believe it or not, flounder, on sp's but the bream seem to have eluded me. Info on rod, reel, line, sp’s, jig head weight and hook size and for what depth, and what type of retrieve works best will be very helpful.

John ;D

going_phishin
29-04-2008, 07:38 AM
G'day John,
Mate I'm using a Penn PinPoint Tournament 6'6 3-5kg on a Shimano Symetre 2500 with 4lb fins braid. I like using an Atomic Prong 3" in pearl core shot and also the pearl in 3' curly tail Gulp seems to work well. I usually use about a 3gram jig head but depends on what the tide is doing and how deep you wanna fish. I usually fish my plastics right on the bottom with a stop start retrieve over the top of rocks and holes.
Hope this helps.

Josh

Jigsrule
29-04-2008, 03:03 PM
Thanks Josh

il check em out next time i visit the shops

bigtez
29-04-2008, 03:23 PM
I have had success on most plastics in the 2-3inch range. Some of my favourites are Flick Baits / Power Minnows on resin head or HWS jigheads, 2inch atomic fatgrubs on mid weight heads, and 2inch Gulp shrimp or 3inch Atomic prongs on heavier jig heads for when they are sitting on the bottom.

My favourite comb is a Pflueger Trion 30 reel with 4lb fireline on a Strudwick SicStik Pro 7' 2-4kg rod.

Terry

shaunl
29-04-2008, 06:01 PM
I go out to the brissy river every now and then for a bream flick. In terms of gear, I use a gloomis dsr820s glx with a stella 1000fb using 1lb fireline crystal. i'll use leader anywhere from 1lb to 3lb. jig head wise, i'll stay relatively light and will fish no heavier than 1/16 if the current is running with a size 2 or size 1 hook.
Soft plastics wise, I love the 2" powerbait grub tails in all different colours. The 2" minnows also work well. If the bite is tough, i'll throw on a 2" gulp minnow grubtail and this seems to get all the little fellas biting. Here's a couple of photos of some of the brissy river bream.

lunatic
29-04-2008, 07:22 PM
G'day guys,
Hey shaunl, without giving away your spots, were you land based when you got those bream?
Lunatic

stessco
29-04-2008, 08:23 PM
go the gulps and as light as possible jigheads

Nobby
29-04-2008, 08:34 PM
Gulp shrimp:-/

breamnut
29-04-2008, 09:44 PM
no dont fish gulp its to easy use a real plastic!

Jigsrule
29-04-2008, 09:47 PM
Thanx fellas particularly bigtez and shaunl for greater insight (luv those bream pics shaunl).

Pistol_P
29-04-2008, 10:12 PM

Hey Breamnut,

Question for you...What about plastics that have been rubbed in scent like 'S' factor etc.....Do they still classify as real plastics...???

or are they on par with Gulp...???

nuggstar
29-04-2008, 10:21 PM
its still a oil based plastic even with crap on it so yes it falls in the plastic catogory but gulp is a bait and allways will be. why is this post in this section

Pistol_P
29-04-2008, 10:46 PM
its still a oil based plastic even with crap on it so yes it falls in the plastic catogory but gulp is a bait and allways will be. why is this post in this section

mmmm dunno about that mate...???

Half the plastics being thrown around with all the garlic,aniseed,S factor and stimulate sprays with fish pheremones etc smell alot more than the gulp....

All the same to me....

nuckle
30-04-2008, 07:51 AM
gulps still alot harder to get a fish on then bait i reckon

30-04-2008, 08:01 AM

I always thought that plastics were a generic term for soft artificial lures ..... whether thay are made of Silicone (rubber) , PVC (plastic) or starch based
Gulps .... for me just fall into the same category ! They have a profile , soft ( till they are left out of the pack::) ) & are fished the same way as any other artificial soft lure

Just my opinion

Nagg

PS ...... You can dead stick any soft plastic & catch fish!

Keechie
30-04-2008, 08:16 AM
I always thought that plastics were a generic term for soft artificial lures ..... whether thay are made of Silicone , PVC or starch based
Gulps .... for me just fall into the same category ! They have a profile , soft ( till they are left out of the pack::) ) & are fished the same way as any other artificial soft lure

Just my opinion

Nagg

PS ...... You can dead stick any soft plastic & catch fish!

hey nagg i agree i still call them soft plastics if they were bait then why aren't they in the freezer at bcf??? exactly they are a soft artificial bait(lure). i did a test (dead sticking) at nudgee one day through out 3 soft plastics 1 a squidgy, 2 a storm soft plastic and 3 a gulp worm suprisingly the storm picked up the first fish (a flathead 39cm), second fish bream on the squidgy and nothing on the gulp. the lures were spaced about 1m apart. Anyway i will tell you about the bream stuff after school.

regards,
keechie

30-04-2008, 08:36 AM
I have a few favorites ...... 3" Atomic prongs in shrimp core , Squidgy flick baits in evil minnow , Gulp craws in pumpkin seed / Camo & Squidgy bugs in Jellyprawn/wasabi ....8-)

Having said that ...... my biggest bream over the past 12 months or so (39,41 & 43cm) have all come on larger 80 / 100mm Squidgy fish:P

Nagg

imnotoriginal
30-04-2008, 05:49 PM
Now now, we can't all be purists::) . I think using gulps is fine, if you get to a level of skill where you can, or want to try to catch them solely on just plastics made from plastic (maybe even not covered in s factor) then more power to you. But I think your average plastics fisho doesn't need to limit themselves like that.

Getting back to the original point... Plenty of good options already pointed out here. My personal favourites are the gulp 2" shrimp in new penny and the gulp turtleback worms cut down to about 3". But the powerbaits and prongs still do the damage. Don't be afraid to try something different. I caught one on a 5" jerkbait once, that was quite a surprise.
Joel