View Full Version : Aerial display in Noosa River
ffejsmada
28-04-2008, 08:27 PM
Went for an afternoon fish today with GT's the target.
Started off trolling a tiny Smith Lil' mate and it got smashed, wrapped around a pylon.............lure gone! They look the goods these tiny fellas, gotta get myself more of those babies!
Started throwing the placcy, got a couple of hits but things were quiet, so a change of venue was in order.
Got to another of my haunts, first cast, I was on! After a solid little fight a GT of 50cm hits the deck! Slice the throat, into the kill tank. I love eating GT's!:P
Pulled a few small bigeye and another smaller GT, then something else decided it wanted to eat my plastic! This fight was different, then the line arced up to the surface and this thing jumped everywhere!!!! Queenie, and not a bad one for the river, the thing wouldn't stop jumping, it was great!! I just hoped it didn't throw the hook. After a solid fight it hit the net, at 60cm, I was happy with that.
All fish caught on 4lb braid, 12lb leader, all fish released bar 1 GT for tucker.
Cheers Jeff.
SummerTrance
28-04-2008, 08:31 PM
jeez, nice one! thats some good fishing in the Noosa River mate. Youve been doing well lately. Top effort!
Keechie
28-04-2008, 08:33 PM
some nice fish once again and thats a nice set-up on your boat. how do GT's taste my dad caught one the other night and he asked me howt hey tasted and i sid bad so he threw it back so how does it taste?.
regards,
keechie
Pistol_P
28-04-2008, 08:38 PM
Nice one Jeff,
Always good getting a Queenie after all the trevs.
geoff72
28-04-2008, 08:47 PM
mate thats a great queenie,specially on light gear,the trev would have given you nice run, got any pics of the lure you lost,sounds like the goods.
LIVE_2_FiSH
28-04-2008, 09:25 PM
nice work mate. I reckon trevally are quite underated as an eating fish, especially when fresh. That size is perfect as well. Cheers and keep it up.
abbot_86
28-04-2008, 09:52 PM
good fish jeff. u wanna be carful that left nacker doesnt pop out in those down low photos. cheers nick
Pistol_P
28-04-2008, 09:58 PM
good fish jeff. u wanna be carful that left nacker doesnt pop out in those down low photos. cheers nick
;D ;D ;D .....Yes there could be a hairy bean bag on the boat shortly.
Ha Ha Ha....;D
nuggstar
28-04-2008, 10:27 PM
you bugger, i wish i was there
Tewantin
28-04-2008, 10:54 PM
I'm only new to the area and have bagged heaps of bream in the river over the last few months. Aside from getting spooled by a fast moving submarine last friday, I haven't been able to catch anything else. I obviously need to start throwing a few lures around. Seeing fish like you're holding makes me very happy I've made the move north. Well done.
Creek Vermin
29-04-2008, 04:38 AM
Nice work jeff. Good little queenie and right on time after we were just talkin bout them. The lil mates can be a bit tough to find. I normally just get em from brads shop at currumbin when I'm down there. Might be able to order them in though. Cheers.
Chuckmeister
29-04-2008, 06:25 AM
Then he'd have to change his name to 'Nuclear Pants'...suffers from fallout.
BAR UP
29-04-2008, 06:49 AM
Hey there Jeff, top session & a good read, Peter.
chris_lure_man
29-04-2008, 08:23 AM
niceeee fish jeff good to see the river is finally fishing well after all that rain.
are u heading out thursday ,i think ill be on the water in the arvo.
cheers chris
ffejsmada
29-04-2008, 09:32 AM
Thanks guys,
Keechie, GT's = Great Tucker! Best eating trevally of them all.
geoff72, sorry mate no pic of lure, as Creek Vermin said they are very hard to find.
abbott - well what can I say????? 'Ol one hang low lefty has a mind of his own, he likes to see daylight now and then;D;D
Keith, I'm gonna track some down, I like 'em!
Chris, Yeah probably see you thurs mate.
Thanks guys, Jeff.
Didley
29-04-2008, 10:36 AM
Great stuff Jeff, I see that invironet in the background , I just bought one, hate it. It's like a parachute in the water , it doesn't want to move, whata U think?
ffejsmada
29-04-2008, 12:19 PM
Great stuff Jeff, I see that invironet in the background , I just bought one, hate it. It's like a parachute in the water , it doesn't want to move, whata U think?
Mate that one is an Environet copy, it's a piece of crap!!!
Very had to push through the water, I'm getting rid of it. Your lures get caught in the mesh also, hate the thing.
I'm buying one of those rubber mesh nets, they're heaps better although a little heavier.
Jeff.
Didley
29-04-2008, 12:28 PM
Mate that one is an Environet copy, it's a piece of crap!!!.
So Is mine, is the "Original" or real thing any better. If anybody wants mine $10 it yours, it's a great net !
Pistol_P
29-04-2008, 01:18 PM
Mate that one is an Environet copy, it's a piece of crap!!!
Very had to push through the water, I'm getting rid of it. Your lures get caught in the mesh also, hate the thing.
I'm buying one of those rubber mesh nets, they're heaps better although a little heavier.
Jeff.
Those rubber mesh nets are the best....Never get trebles stuck in them.
Heaps better than Enviro's I reckon.
seapup
29-04-2008, 01:39 PM
Some Nice fish there Jeff well done mate!
Benny.
stack
29-04-2008, 01:53 PM
Nice one Jeff,looks like the size of the one I dropped on the weekend.
Stack
T H I R S T Y
29-04-2008, 02:15 PM
nice queenie there mate, your lucky i wasnt there this time.
ffejsmada
29-04-2008, 02:59 PM
Thanks Benny, the river's been fishing ok of late.
Thirsty, I missed you throwing a lure over my line whilst connected.............not!;D
LOL
Jeff.
Creek Vermin
29-04-2008, 05:40 PM
Thats prob the best pic I've got of one at the moment.
richieboy
29-04-2008, 05:47 PM
Nice stuff Jeff. A mate of mine up here also swears by the Trves. Loves em he does. Golden's are his fav.
Some nice trevs there and considering 12lb used is a top effort. I remember landing one in the seaway on 4lb fishin with Nick and that took long enough for me, especially in deep water.
Up here, it's nuthin under 30lb champ. Cheers,
Richie ;)
cultiva_king01
30-04-2008, 06:46 PM
thats a nice queeny and GT, its good to see the river back in action,
Nice work jeff
:) tom
imnotoriginal
30-04-2008, 07:21 PM
Well done Jeff. Love the aerials.
Joel