View Full Version : ???Adder Rock???
Keechie
28-04-2008, 06:00 PM
hi i am camping here this friday till monday i was wondering what am i likely to catch on plastics from the rocks and the beach and also big live baits(whiting, tailor etc...) off the rocks mostly during the day. all imfo much appreciated.
regards,
keechie
bballfisho
28-04-2008, 06:50 PM
saw some fella catch a nice king from there when i was younger. we caught plenty bream and dart of the beach i remember.
28-04-2008, 08:10 PM
G'day Keechie,
About half tide on the drop to the norht on Flinders beach, look for shallowish run out gutters 1.5-2 mts deep, you'll pick them as they will be a deeper green, cast to the other side of the run out and bounce your plastic across the run out - you're sure to nail a big lizard
Hope you get among them
rhys
Keechie
28-04-2008, 08:19 PM
thanks thats exactly what i was after, i have been looking for info on exactly that for about 2 weeks. if i had yet not thanked you already i would do it again.
regards,
keechie
Keechie
29-04-2008, 05:03 PM
Please some more info, i would believe that a few ausfishers have fished here before. :(
regards,
keechie
scoocer101
29-04-2008, 05:31 PM
They catch some nice tailor off adder rock at times. I would try fishing off the rocks infront of the surf club at point lookout that over looks main beach. They catch monster bream there on plastics. If your willing for a walk take the track that goes around the headland at the top of point look and goes around to surf club and try rock fishing in the gorge there.
Its really deep and protected from the wind. Only go there in calm conditions though as it can be dangerous, but the rewards are worth it catching monster kingfish and mackeral.
hope this has helped
scoocer
gaintsquid
29-04-2008, 11:07 PM
Mate stick to nudgee beach might catch some ripper 10cm whitin on gulp worms
Keechie
30-04-2008, 08:08 AM
Mate i hope your not trying to be a d!ckhead, i am after some information on here due to a fishing holiday with a few mates. i do pull good fish from nudgee because i have had 7 years of local knowledge so i know where to pull them.
regards,
keechie
JAY79
30-04-2008, 10:00 AM
Keechie,
Take no notice mate about the above dig at Nudgee beach and 10 cm whiting, if it even was a dig!
I have been fishing that area for over 20 years, the fishing there if you know where to go and what to use is second to none..
I have caught,
Summer whiting, biggest 57 cm..mouth of jacksons creek.
Bream, biggest 54 cm..schulz canal, drain on right opposite hovercraft ramp..
Flathead, biggest 82 cm...flats at mouth of schulz canal..
And the list goes on..
I don't and havn't fished the area for many years now, as I am into the offshore scene these days but am sure these monsters would still be there if you put in the time and effort mate which I am sure at your age you have plenty of..
Ok, back to topic Adder rock at straddie, good for tailor, bream,tarwhine, dart and the occasional flathead..
I know you love your plastics but if you don't mind being versatile get yourself some raiders, maniacs or any other chrome slug with action and spin these at high speed from the rocks...big tailor can't resist and heaps of fun on light gear!
Also mate, with regards to the rock fishing make sure you take extreme care and keep your wits about you..it also might pay to have an adult there to supervise and keep watch that you and your mates don't put yourself into a dangerous situation...rockfishing is unforgiving..
Also a tip for you which was passed onto me by my grandfather, in the unfortunate circumstance you end up in the drink...don't swim back to the rocks, swim away and around back to the beach...most damage is done because people panic and try and get back up to where they came from, big no no..
Enjoy your trip to straddie mate, have a good look around over there the fishing oppurtunities are endless..
Jay
Keechie
01-05-2008, 05:53 PM
WOW!!! thats a ripper bream and a massive whiting its good to hear that there is still great fish to be caught. regards to using metal lures i packed in a few slugs that were 15, 30 and 40g slugs and some big poppers to throw around. i have been reading lots on info on rock fishing over the last few weeks and my plan is to watch the waves for about 10 minutes then venture down slowly and find a steady platform and use that as a base that is about 10m out of reach of the water and to only fish the rocks on the run out tide. if i do go in (touchwood) i will swim out and around to the nearby beach thats located next to the rocks. thanks for the advice and goodluck to you in the future.
regards,
keechie
bayfisher
01-05-2008, 06:59 PM
Never fished adder rock but have done very well up at the rocks in front of the surf club. Using squidgy wriggles I have nailed a few bream over the 1kg mark. I have also done ok around the base of the southern gorge on live bait but have lost most of the good fish i have hooked (most likely big kingies, I've only landed the small models). If you plan on fishing the rocks be very careful you should watch the water for at a good while (more like 30 minutes rather then 10 minutes). Anyways have fun
Cheers Chris
01-05-2008, 07:23 PM
if you have to try the gorge, good day only and be extremely careful, off the surf club is a better option, good luck
mike
baitmaster
02-05-2008, 08:12 AM
y dont u go and catch ur 10mm ##### and eat that u D!ckhead:P
baitmaster
02-05-2008, 08:16 AM
OR
The alternative would be to go and ctch ur 10mm pen!s and eat tat at ur home in the pedestal bin :P
spelchek
02-05-2008, 08:47 AM
LOL.. i love internet tuff guyz!
Have fun keechie..
gaintsquid
02-05-2008, 06:48 PM
To far Baitmaster.
Good luck keechie..
Keechie
05-05-2008, 06:50 PM
thanks for the tips guys i was using my 7ft t-curve and 2500 twinpower in the surf with 4 and 8lb braid. god it was fun lost my pb flathead of about 85cm at my feet dragging it up the shallow water, lost my pb gt at about 90cm, lost my pb tailor about 50cm and also lost my pb queenfish about 75cm all on plastics great fun ic an't wait till next time.
regards,
keechie
Keechie
05-05-2008, 06:51 PM
gaint squid sorry if i took it the wrong way and i agree baitmaster took it too far.
regards,
keechie