View Full Version : Ordinary fishing but fun day in the bay

SummerTrance
27-04-2008, 01:50 PM
Got out for the frist time in three weeks yesterday. Headed over to Peel Island at 5:00am, and within 5 minutes landed a 32cm squire. I was thinking it was gunna be a good day. Things were very quiet after that, couple small hits, and dropped fish but no more landed.

Bout 10am I decided to head up to Mud Island. The bay was nice and flat, and the trip up took about 20 or so minutes. This was my first time at Mud, and I tried the east side. There were boats everywhere, so I tried an area away from other boats towards the northeast. First I landed two dirty grinners, so moved into a bit deeper water. Then I landed a 30cm red reef fish i hadnt seen b4. I later looked it up and ID'd it as a Saddletail sea perch. (didnt think to take pic til after i threw it back)

Soon after I landed a 30cm Estuary Cod which is another first for me. those fish pull hard for their size. Things went quiet after that, so decided to head back to the ramp at Raby Bay, via a last quick go at Peel. Got one small 25ish cm squire then went home.

All fish were caught on 5" jerk shad, nuc chooks and blue pepper neon. I aslo dropped at least 5 fish today. Might try different jig heads next time.

Well, no keepers, but a great day on the bay. The weather was fantastic, and I caught 2 fish i havnt got before. Much better then staying home.

Leighton
27-04-2008, 04:30 PM
Next time mate, you didnt miss much today either.
Landed my PB Grinner and PB Pike, didnt see any birds at all.
Any surface action on your run to Mud?

SummerTrance
27-04-2008, 06:12 PM
Hey there capt,

saw a few mac tuna pop up near the boat at mud, but no bird action anywhere

For Steve
27-04-2008, 07:08 PM
G'day SummerTrance

It's great to hear you got out on the water today. It appears it was nice boating conditions this morning. We were away visiting family for the long weekend so no fishing for me.

Good on ya sticking with the plastics mate. You're regularly catching fish so it won't be long until you beat your PB and you're eating fresh snapper fillets again.

Let me know when you're heading out to Peel or Mud again and we'll t up a M&G.

What brand/size of jigheads are you using with the 5" jerks?

Brad

SummerTrance
27-04-2008, 08:49 PM
Hey Brad,

Yeh im hooked on the plastics now. Dont even consider taking bait.

A m&g sounds good. will prob get out sometime next weekend if the weather is ok. I was planning on messaging you for a few extra tips about mud b4 my next trip.

I was using Nitro 1/8 - 1/0s. I usually use 1/8 - 2/0s but the local takle store has been out of them lately.

Cheers Marc.

Jigsrule
27-04-2008, 09:01 PM
eh there summertrance,

better luck next time. im on the same boat as u re sp's in the bay.
hopefully with winter not tooo far away, the action will start hotting up

john

27-04-2008, 09:19 PM
It's almost too good to be true isn't it?? Great weather, glassy seas, good mateship, and oodles of fish.....::) ::)

3 out of 4 isn't bad, the lack of fish doesn't spoil your trip when you've got everything else.

Keep trying, every once in a while it all comes together!!

For Steve
28-04-2008, 09:41 AM
Hey Brad,

Yeh im hooked on the plastics now. Dont even consider taking bait.

A m&g sounds good. will prob get out sometime next weekend if the weather is ok. I was planning on messaging you for a few extra tips about mud b4 my next trip.

I was using Nitro 1/8 - 1/0s. I usually use 1/8 - 2/0s but the local takle store has been out of them lately.

Cheers Marc.

If the weathers alright, I hope to get out for a couple of sessions between Friday lunchtime and Monday evening. I'll get in touch with you with what's happening and see if we can meet up.

The Nitro jigheads in 1/0 or 2/0 are spot on. Others to try would be TT jigheads in 2/0H (for 3 and 4" plastics) or 3/0H (for 5" plastics). 1/8oz and 1/6oz will suit most conditions around Peel and Mud.

Brad

28-04-2008, 09:50 AM
After yesterday's trip to Curtin artificial, I asked my mate what time the fish went off the bite.

"Oh about 10.30?" was his response.

Later, I checked Seabreeze for the Barometric Pressure graph, and bingo! It dropped below 1012 at 10.30 am.

Damn these fish are smart.