View Full Version : PB snapper at Mud

27-04-2008, 01:28 PM
Time to take the new boat into the Bay and see how she performs. We left Whyte Island ramp just after 5am and enjoyed a pleasant trip over to Mud. There were quite a few boats there but not overcrowded. The weather was superb.

My fishing partner decided to catch a grinner or two..some Moses perch and heaps of coral.

I had some fun..a knot eel..caught a sweetlip of somewhere between 30 and 35 cm..had it in the boat..I was trying to get some line off the reel and then the hook parts company with the line..the fish hits the side corner of the boat and back into the water it goes…hmmmmmmmm..one of those things I guess.

Then it happened…no zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz as my great skill and dexterity shone through..the fish bit the bait..i applied some pressure and it was on. Not a long battle nor did I have to start the motor to run it down. The battle was mine..the fish landed in the boat..my very first snapper..onto the measuringstick and yes..a whole 17cm..ya gotta love fishing.

The boat did perform well also.

Mark-P
27-04-2008, 01:47 PM
But still a day out is a day out ! Did you put the raibows down for live bait ?

28-04-2008, 12:07 PM
Well you hve to crawl before you can walk mate ????
I also believe someone is about to give birth to a YAK, this is going to be a sight to be seen ????

Jackinthebox
28-04-2008, 12:14 PM
Where's the photo?

Come on Greg, you should have been where i was yesterday off the Goldy, you could have caught some 25cm monsters!!!! :D

28-04-2008, 12:56 PM
mate, looks like a top day out, but you've been outdone by Bec, she has caught a 13 cm monster snapper off Peel, no 'zzzzzzzzzz' either but the little fella tried to pull the tinny around.

Speaking of zzzzzzz, when Bec first read this site she thought all the zzzzzz meant people where having a snooze on the boat which she does regularly, now she knows better;D

bluefin59
28-04-2008, 01:03 PM
Fantastic effort great for your first trip in the new boat ,it can only get better from here i suspect . Hope the boat went well lots of luck next trip out...matt

28-04-2008, 03:12 PM
Well you hve to crawl before you can walk mate ????
I also believe someone is about to give birth to a YAK, this is going to be a sight to be seen ????

the YAK..I was there at conception..amazing scenes at that time and one very huge smile on one of the parties faces. Seeing as how the proud parents were on the inaugural trip on my boat I hope I get an invite to the launch.

I had never really looked at one previously...sure impressive with the gear they can fit on them.

28-04-2008, 04:23 PM
Any GPS marks for that spot, sure sounds like a ripper Pinhead.

One thing that is amusing is that you rarely see the people on this site and you build an image of them by what you read. When you see a pic of them they look like nothing you imagined.

For the record Pinhead i imagined a rugged handsome dude with massive forearms, like popeye. :oops: Boy how wrong can a bloke be. ;D ;D

28-04-2008, 06:37 PM
Any GPS marks for that spot, sure sounds like a ripper Pinhead.

One thing that is amusing is that you rarely see the people on this site and you build an image of them by what you read. When you see a pic of them they look like nothing you imagined.

For the record Pinhead i imagined a rugged handsome dude with massive forearms, like popeye. :oops: Boy how wrong can a bloke be. ;D ;D

Dave,

Imagine away for that is not I in the pics..that is my fishing mate on the day but be warned..do not cast aspersions on him.

rugged? handsome? massive forearms ? I hate spinach. none of the above I am afraid.

28-04-2008, 06:53 PM
If ya gonna fish in the car park at Mud, ya ain't gonna get the big ones that only grew that way because they stayed outta car parks!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

28-04-2008, 06:56 PM
Greg,

Plenty of room for improvement and you can have the satisfaction of setting a lot of PB's along the way. Looks like you and Steve had some nice weather for the day. The new boat will be a Snapper magnet once you get everything sorted

mik01
28-04-2008, 08:56 PM
thought it looked suspiciously like Mr Ausfish!

29-04-2008, 05:29 AM
Hey greg, no pic mate???????????????????? gotta see the evidence mate to believe.......:):):)

Bout time you ventured into the real part of the bay and not the pin

29-04-2008, 05:41 AM
Hey greg, no pic mate???????????????????? gotta see the evidence mate to believe.......:):):)

Bout time you ventured into the real part of the bay and not the pin

didn't have a macro lens to get a pic of the tiny thing.

nothing wrong with the PIn..at least can go there regardless of what the wind is doing..AND..cooler weather now..time for some overnight bream fishing down there and Caloundra.

It was a great day weatherwise...did not really care what the fish were doing..it was great to be out there. The boat ran like a dream and very comfortable..no complaints there at all either.

29-04-2008, 07:14 AM
Good on you for getting out and giving it a go. If you enter the R2M you may win the lucky door prize with that sort of quality. ::) So I have to ask the question. Is fishing and actually catching fish as relaxing as sitting back on the Gin Palace sinking a few ales?

29-04-2008, 01:11 PM
Good on you for getting out and giving it a go. If you enter the R2M you may win the lucky door prize with that sort of quality. ::) So I have to ask the question. Is fishing and actually catching fish as relaxing as sitting back on the Gin Palace sinking a few ales?

Nope..but it is about $200 per week cheaper. best of both worlds now I suppose..can still visit the old haunt for a week or 2 away and go other place. I do hate the towing and ramp crap..sure is much easier just to drive to the boat..step on and drive away.

I am going on the R2M.

29-04-2008, 03:58 PM
Good to see that cruise craft ate up those terrible bay conditions;) , they really are a remarkable boat!!!;D 8-)

29-04-2008, 04:01 PM
Good to see that cruise craft ate up those terrible bay conditions;) , they really are a remarkable boat!!!;D 8-)

not a cruise craft..those are swear words as far as I am concerned.

29-04-2008, 04:04 PM
not a cruise craft..those are swear words as far as I am concerned.

Good one greg, cruise craft is what employee is to me, a swear word :P

missami
29-04-2008, 05:39 PM
Gotta love your snapper fishing. Always nagging my boyfriend (brooker1) to get out on the water. He is always sleeping. (lazy bugga) Ive always gotten my 30-40cm at peel. But weather has been crazy. So been staying closer to land. Tell you what. Stuff wasting fuel to peel. Get the same size snapper mins from boat ramp. Aigutso tell bec she is a champ. Fishing and sleep. My boys use to me sleeping on the boat. For the fact that im a chef. head out after work at night or any night i can. And stay out till i have to start work at 5:30am the next morning. Talk about keen or stupid. Happy Snapper Fishing this winter!!!