View Full Version : Coomera River Snapper :)
azzure
26-04-2008, 12:20 AM
We went out bright and early this morning, got up at 4:30, by the time we got there it was around 5:30. Around 6 when the sun actually came out properly we were bombarded with hits. One big hit and i was on to something that felt very solid. I ended up dragging it up to the bank and there it was a nice 38cm Snapper. I didnt even have time to take the hook out of this fish when i was hooked onto another 34cm snapper :) threw the 34cm one back. At around 8:30 we went to spot x where we both fished with SP's. First time ive actually used the new squidgy pro range with that "S" factor in it. Was fishing with gulp new penny shrimp then i went to the new squidy cray. Within 3-4 casts i was onto a monster 73cm*edit* flathead *edit* :) caught a few smaller ones but they all went swimming happily ever after. I cant find the cord from the digital camera but will post pics up very soon :)
happy fishing
CreelReaper
26-04-2008, 12:38 AM
awesome sess mate.....don't you just love it when it all comes together
FISHAWN
26-04-2008, 04:19 AM
well done mate, great to here there's some good snapper getting into the coomera river
the gecko
26-04-2008, 07:22 AM
Wow, first time Ive heard of snappa in the coomera. Well done. I cant wait for the pics......73cm thats huuge.
masterdusky
26-04-2008, 07:48 AM
damn! post up them pics asap mate :D;)
geoff72
26-04-2008, 08:08 AM
bloody hell snapper in the coomera. Cant wait for the pics. Well done. Was it lower or upper coomera river?
SummerTrance
26-04-2008, 09:05 PM
Top effort mate! I think you will inspire a few people to try the river very soon.
azzure
26-04-2008, 11:49 PM
upper reaches mate and land based :)
bloody hell snapper in the coomera. Cant wait for the pics. Well done. Was it lower or upper coomera river?
jackextracter
26-04-2008, 11:54 PM
Sounds awesome for the coomera, but will have to see the photos,cheers
LIVE_2_FiSH
27-04-2008, 12:35 PM
love to see the photos as well. But top catch.
yellahunter
27-04-2008, 02:58 PM
hahaha funny that u never got a pic of the 73cm model.
spose the camera battery ran out ey,
cmon guys that squire was not caught in the upper coomera.
more likely around the broadwater or seaway on pilles hahaha
LIVE_2_FiSH
27-04-2008, 03:20 PM
doesn't really look liek the seaway area judging by that pic, could be wrong but. What happened to the 73cm one but?
Gold_Coast_Chaser
27-04-2008, 06:32 PM
Im still waiting for that Photo, I would be suprised to catch a 35cm in the coomera river let alone 73cm one......if i went to the reef and caught a 73cm one id be over the moon, sure u didnt get the numbers the wrong way round, 37 not 73??.
youngy
27-04-2008, 07:11 PM
I have read this post several times now and i dont know if it is just me but i thought that when they moved to a different spot in the river they changed the species that they caught as well, maybe it is that i live in that area and i doubt very much that there is a snapper that size in the coomera.[ happy to be proven wrong]. cheers wayne.
TeamRamrod
27-04-2008, 07:23 PM
Hey guys
Ive been fishing the coomera pretty hard over the last 2 months.. we have got heaps of 30-40cm snapper/squire on gulps..So no doubt their in there
But 73cm.. I wont believe it to i see photos!:o
Jimbo73
27-04-2008, 07:26 PM
Azzure i dont suppose your fishing mate could of been another Ausfish member called [NO LUCK] . He claims some mighty things aswell without photos. Such as 55cm whiting. Not saying i dont believe you. Maybe you did catch a 73cm snapper in the Coomera. ::) As i said to him show us a photo. Cheers Jamie
loophole
27-04-2008, 08:21 PM
wouldnt mind seeing photo proof.
shano
27-04-2008, 08:38 PM
hmm the pic in the first post looks to be around 30cm. surely you would have a pic of the big guy???????? i know i would of!
shano
27-04-2008, 08:44 PM
just scaled the pic and it appears to be 32.5cm!!!! ;)
jackash
27-04-2008, 09:00 PM
GOod on ya mate. If ya got a 73cm snap thats bloody awesome. Probably pretty damn rare but stranger things have happened. The smaller squire arent uncommon though. Get a fair few on softies around the marina and in the seaway.
jackash
27-04-2008, 09:01 PM
Ps. Shano what did you use to scale the fish?
CreelReaper
27-04-2008, 09:09 PM
Hey Azzure like I said before awesome effort........don't listen to these guys though......they are just jealous hahahaha!!!!!! It wasn't really all that long ago that squire started appearing in the good ole brissie river.
azzure
27-04-2008, 10:12 PM
sorry about the confusion, just that ausfish member "gecko" highlighted to me an mistake. i forgot to write that it was a 73cm flathead. sorry if i have confused anyone
LIVE_2_FiSH
27-04-2008, 10:24 PM
no worries at all mate, still a 73cm flaty is a nice fish. good work!
jackash
27-04-2008, 11:40 PM
Thought that mightve been the case. Good fish though mate. Good work the the keeper squire as well.
the gecko
28-04-2008, 08:40 AM
It was all just an honest mistake. I had a few pms with Azur, and he didnt mean to mislead anyone. As Youngy said, we might have also misread it...he did catch some 30s squire in the Coomera, and with a 73 flatty, thats a good session.
MEGA'bite
28-04-2008, 08:54 AM
If you take the time to read it properly the 73cm he is refuring to is a flathead.
Jimbo73
28-04-2008, 10:49 AM
No worries Azzure ,honest mistake. The way you had it written did seem to suggest you had caught a 73cm snapper. Im not the only one that thought this.Cheers Jamie
childers
28-04-2008, 11:06 AM
i was getting exited when i read 73 cm snapper thinking thed be more about ,oh well back to the elusive coomera river barra !
Gold_Coast_Chaser
28-04-2008, 01:17 PM
Hey, thought something like that must have been the case, anywayz forgetting about that, they are some good fish for the Coomera river.