View Full Version : flattie majic

Dylan_Rylatt
25-04-2008, 08:21 PM
hey guys went for an early morning landbased plastics session in the redlands with fellow ausfisher big_steve001. hit spot x 2 hours after low and the flatties were on, only rats about at 40-45cms but managed a good dozen in a couple of hours and a nice bream all on gulps in variarous colours. we then hit the same spot again mid afternoon jus in time for the run out. the water was more murky when we arrrieved due to the run out and expectaions were low as we already pulled double figures in the morning. after being snagged and losing my vanish leader. i had had to resort to using 12pd shogun line as my leader on my 6pd berkly braid...(nervous times) .... well i was thinking.... second cast with new leader and the beast hits. a slow move with good weight makes me thinking that i had snagged a ray or something... then all of a sudden huge head and the magic zing from the reel, suddnly knowing i had hooked a big girl flattie of a lifetime. after a good 10min fight on light gear the beast was lukily dragged upon the bank. as i landed the fish on the bank the leader snapped as my foot seperated the top fish and the water.... the fish tried to jump my foot and managed to spike me through my shoe as i carefully managed a few quick photo's and then was able to perfectly swim the fish back to good health for a perfect release...the animal measured 90cm exacact and was fat as. my mate steve lost another big flattie the very next cast which i estimate to be upto 70cm.we ended up with another 10 faltties for that session which ended up a perfect day with 23 flatties landed 2 cod a bream(all released). just shows everyone u dont need a boat to get good fish. steve will post pic which he took on mobile in a day or so

Dylan

p.s does anyone know what a fish that sise would weigh?

Keechie
25-04-2008, 08:28 PM
WOW great fish and on lures well done. i just watched something today on flathead and they measured it and it went 95cm and they said it was very fat and estimated it to be 7kilo's plus. also i read on the dpi website that a flathead at 90 cm is on average 7kg's. keep it up it seems more crocodiles are starting to show up.

regards,
keechie

Jigsrule
25-04-2008, 08:34 PM
gday mate,

well done today. 90cm is huge. ive no idea what itl weigh tho, sori.
And ur right...u dont need a boat to get good fish esp. flatties, bream and the like. im from the bayside area too and do real well on flatties on the foreshores using gulps. My average is bout 50-60cm.

Keep up the good work

stack
26-04-2008, 09:23 AM
My pb 93cm weighed in at 6.7kg sorry to say it was in the dark days when these breeders were often taken.Never kept one over 55cm since!!!

Stack

codz22
26-04-2008, 09:44 AM
Sounds like a good session. Its awsome fun when the flatties are around i have yet to get one over 72cm and that was a big fish on 8lb so 90cm is a ripper.

big_steve001
26-04-2008, 05:51 PM
mate that ws some hot action we had thanks for the day even though u caught 3 fish to my one.

cheers steve

Dylan_Rylatt
26-04-2008, 06:01 PM
wow gald that phone pic turned out ok.... was a lump of a fish was just happy to let the big girl go in good health