View Full Version : Another Year Older and Still Stinking Like Fish.

23-04-2008, 05:53 PM
With a little bit of forward planning I convinced my boss (real boss, not the wife) that I should take a day off for my birthday so that I could get in the boat and enjoy a day on the water. What better way to spend your birthday? With the boat all prepared and ready to go I launched from Manly at first light. For a day that was predicted to be less than 10 knots from the southeast I was greeted by a 15 knots wind as soon as I was on the water. Fortunately it didn’t create a large swell but just a little bit of chop to take the edge off an otherwise smooth ride out to Mud. I had only just arrived at Mud when in the early morning light I noticed I wasn’t alone. There was another boat out and I noticed him waving at me. It was then I realized I was in the company of T1. A quick wave back and I continued my drift. I later stopped for a quick chat to be sociable (sorry about coming close to your line T1 but I honestly couldn’t see it and assumed it was out of the water) and then headed off to keep fishing.

Today I was fishing with two favourite plastics being the good old Nuclear Chicken and also on the other rod I had the Lime Tigers happening. To my surprise the first rod to scream off was the Lime Tiger and after a brief tussle I landed a nice 45cm squire which is an ideal size for the table. I put a fresh LT on the jighead and cast back out and as soon as it hit the water it got smashed and in comes a 34cm sweetlip. Content that I had enough to satisfy the taste buds for dinner I continued to fish but it went a little quiet for a while. T1 must have decided to try his luck elsewhere because I looked up and he was gone and I had Mud Island all to myself. Once the tide changed I tried a few different spots because the drift pattern had changed. It didn’t take me long to stumble across a patch of hungry fish consisting of squire, grass sweetlip, grinners, and whiptails. Most of the fish that came onboard were only just legal so whilst I was having fun catching them I decided to release them all to do some growing and to fight another day. I also caught a 40cm squire but decided to let him go as well because the fish I had were more than ample to provide myself and the kids a feed. Decided to call it quits at around 1:30pm and left the fish biting. Not much in the way of PB’s but it was a great day none the less.

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t315/Poodroo/P4230003.jpg

Cobia Kid
23-04-2008, 06:03 PM
sounds like a pleasant day on thewater mate for your birthday,
happy bithday,
jamie

imnotoriginal
23-04-2008, 06:08 PM
The day off work, fishing and a feed. I don't need to say Happy Birthday, looks like you've already had it;)
Joel

Keechie
23-04-2008, 06:15 PM
happy birthday mate i am glad it turned out pretty good for you.

regards,
keechie

BaitThrower
23-04-2008, 06:49 PM
Happy B'Day

T1
23-04-2008, 06:53 PM
"I later stopped for a quick chat to be sociable (sorry about coming close to your line T1 but I honestly couldn’t see it and assumed it was out of the water) and then headed off to keep fishing"

Gee POO, nothing to be sorry about at all my friend!!! I nailed a nice one and decided it was time to continue with Plan A (albeit 2 hrs late) as the conditions had settled a bit... Will report later.

Happy B'day again and nice to see you on the water!

Take Care T

PS: I SEE THERE IS NOTHING IN YOUR REPORT ABOUT THE 2 HOT BLONDES IN UNIFORM THAT CAME OVER TO WISH YOU A HAPPY BIRTHDAY... HMMMM ;) HMMMM ;) :-X :P

Silent
23-04-2008, 06:54 PM
Great present for day off going fishing on your birthday, i love your style;D
Nice feed as bonus;)

23-04-2008, 07:00 PM
I think your idea of taking the day off for your Birthday could well become parr for the course Poodroo, I might ask the Boss too!! But mine was in March!!

Nothing like being stuck on the M1 texting you in peak hour traffic, then learning T1 was out there too.>:(

There seems to be a little more happening with the nicer specimens about. Time to get my rig back on the water ..... soon.!!!!

Good to see you had a nice birthday.

23-04-2008, 07:13 PM
Well a pressie in a pink wrapper, thats odd. Happy B'day Poo.

23-04-2008, 07:18 PM
Thats not a bad way to spend your Birthday. Sounds better than what I was doing today

23-04-2008, 07:36 PM
Thanks everyone for the birthday wishes.
T1 I came REAL close to putting something in the post about the two goddesses in uniform but then I thought "Who would believe me?" But that's right, they saw you after they finished with me so I have you as my witness. Hubba HUbba. Where did they find those two?

Scalem I think it is a good idea to take a day off for your own birthday. Could I be setting an Ausfish trend perhaps? We will see just how many birthday reports come through from now on.;)

sleepygreg
23-04-2008, 08:38 PM
Happy birthday Poo. I cant think of a better way of spending your birthday......and catching a feed as well!!!!!! Does life get any better?

BAR UP
23-04-2008, 08:42 PM
Happy birthday & i hope you get a special present later tonight.

23-04-2008, 09:42 PM
Ive had the tradition of always taking my birthday off for as long as i can remember,, cant beat it, last year went for a fish as well, maybe this year as well if the weather is good.

Happy birthday Poodroo and looks like you had a good one mate

For Steve
23-04-2008, 09:45 PM
Happy Birthday Poodroo. Great way to spend the day. It's a good trend to get started - I'll be giving it a go for my next birthday.

Take it easy mate.

Brad

23-04-2008, 10:32 PM
happy b'day...a day off for the b'day..now there is a novel idea...just as long as none of my employess ask for it.

Herm
23-04-2008, 11:41 PM
Happy Birthday Poo!

I am glad that you had a great one!

Good to hear that the fish are keeping you busy out there!

Janine

BrandonH
23-04-2008, 11:48 PM
Happy B'Day mate!!!!! Glad to hear you got out for a fish on the day and caught a couple of nice fish;D

Gota be happy with the visit also!! I think I need to take some more week days off to go out fishing so I can be "checked" also lol

Brandon...

24-04-2008, 07:02 AM
Ive had the tradition of always taking my birthday off for as long as i can remember,, cant beat it, last year went for a fish as well, maybe this year as well if the weather is good.

Happy birthday Poodroo and looks like you had a good one mate

Thanks Mike and thanks for your birthday wishes while I was out there. Unfortunately we kept getting cut off thanks to poor reception. Yes it was a fantastic day out there. Have to catch up with you and Bec soon.

Happy Birthday Poo!

I am glad that you had a great one!

Good to hear that the fish are keeping you busy out there!

Janine

Thanks Janine. Was certainly a fun day out. I will have to do that again every year I think. Hope all is well with you. Regards to Pete and the kids too.

happy b'day...a day off for the b'day..now there is a novel idea...just as long as none of my employess ask for it.
Thanks Greg. I am sure your employees would love it. Would you like me to call them and suggest it? ::)

24-04-2008, 07:06 AM
Happy B'Day mate!!!!! Glad to hear you got out for a fish on the day and caught a couple of nice fish;D

Gota be happy with the visit also!! I think I need to take some more week days off to go out fishing so I can be "checked" also lol

Brandon...

Thanks Brandon. When I got that visit, from my end everything checked out just fine. ;D

Breambuster33
24-04-2008, 07:46 AM
Happy birthday poodroo. lucky you having the chance to fish on your birthyday.
now what a birthday dinner;D

Scott Ashe
24-04-2008, 07:55 AM
Hi Mate,

Happy birthday for yesterday. I could not think of a better way to spend your birthday, than out out on the water, especially because it was a beautiful day. Congratulations on your fish too, its always better if their is something in the esky to bring home.

JEWIENEWIE
24-04-2008, 03:02 PM
I am glad they found you Poodroo, Those strippers arent cheap! I am glad everything was ok from your end!! But no wonder they were dear, T1 got a visit to!!!!!!!;D ;D ;D I just hope you didnt try and put a fiver anywhere, you may have got done for bribery.
Jewie

chief
24-04-2008, 03:58 PM
Heres another happy birthday and I couldn't think of a better way to spend the day but I wouldn't tell my wife that ;D Cheers

24-04-2008, 05:11 PM
I am glad they found you Poodroo, Those strippers arent cheap! I am glad everything was ok from your end!! But no wonder they were dear, T1 got a visit to!!!!!!!;D ;D ;D I just hope you didnt try and put a fiver anywhere, you may have got done for bribery.
Jewie

Classic Jewie. I hate to tell you this however that if you paid money to send strippers out you did your dough because they didn't so much as take off their sunnies. ::)