View Full Version : Mud Island - Tue 22 Apr
For Steve
22-04-2008, 08:48 PM
G'day Ausfishers
Fished Mud Island today from about 10am to 2pm. Kept 3 squire - 38cm, 42cm and 45cm. Just enough for a couple of nice meals.
Lost 3 good fish that were far bigger than what I boated - boy I was getting annoyed. 1st one got off the hook after 30 seconds of good hard run, the 2nd rubbed the leader against the bottom, and the 3rd got off the hook again after only about 15 seconds. They hit like decent squire but I can't tell you why they didn't hook up properly. Anyway, I'll get them next time.
Brad
Nice Brad! At least you got a feed and in the middle of the day too! Did you fish SCALEM's spot?
Looked gorgeous on the water at 2ish - came down the top of the hill at Manly and it looked pristine - hope tomorrow is as nice!
Take Care T
SummerTrance
22-04-2008, 09:14 PM
Another good trip, well done mate! any pics?
Bait or plastics ?
For Steve
22-04-2008, 09:41 PM
Nice Brad! At least you got a feed and in the middle of the day too! Did you fish SCALEM's spot?
Looked gorgeous on the water at 2ish - came down the top of the hill at Manly and it looked pristine - hope tomorrow is as nice!
Take Care T
Hi T
Most of the action was just west of Scalem's territory in about 25'.
The S/SE was in at about 12-16 knots according to the observations. It made it a bit choppy between Mud and St Helena on the way back to Manly. I just slowed down to around 25km/h and the ride was ok. It looked pretty smooth from the Manly esplanade too - maybe I'm getting soft?
Good luck tomorrow. Look forward to your report.
Another good trip, well done mate! any pics?
Bait or plastics ?
Thanks SummerTrance. Will post up some pics tomorrow.
All on plastics - mainly 4" powerbaits, any colour.
Thanks guys,
Brad
Jigsrule
22-04-2008, 10:11 PM
well done brad.
i know this may sound stupid but what does scalems territory mean? is it the name of a beacon?
we normally do pretty well S/E of mud using bait but now wana get into plastics.
For Steve
23-04-2008, 09:02 AM
i know this may sound stupid but what does scalems territory mean? is it the name of a beacon?
we normally do pretty well S/E of mud using bait but now wana get into plastics.
G'day mate. Scalem is a mate of ours (and Ausfish member) who taught me how to catch bay squire on plastics. It's great fun, you've gotta give it a go. There's heaps of good tips on here.
Brad
I am keen to get amongst the action at Mud tomorow, I have fished there before "blind" (not drunk blind but blind in the fact that I went without knowing any spots etc) any tips would be very welcome even pm me if that works for you. even better it would be great if a meet n greet for some first hand advice one day
thanks ( is it just me or does that sound to much like a dating ad in a seedy mag?)
m not that way inclined!! just want to catch fish
23-04-2008, 09:50 AM
That is a nice feed there, Mate. :)
Lovely pic with your lad also. That pic will become a favorite of yours. :)
Well done!8-)
even better it would be great if a meet n greet for some first hand advice one day
thanks ( is it just me or does that sound to much like a dating ad in a seedy mag?)
:builder2: :policeman: :kiss: :whip: :curtain:
your just digging a deeper hole for yourself Mamu;)
PM on the way.(about mud, not your secret fetishes!!):o
Cheers Roo.
For Steve
23-04-2008, 11:47 AM
I am keen to get amongst the action at Mud tomorow, I have fished there before "blind" (not drunk blind but blind in the fact that I went without knowing any spots etc) any tips would be very welcome even pm me if that works for you. even better it would be great if a meet n greet for some first hand advice one day
Yep, rightio. :-*
It's alright mate - I know what you mean. I don't mind giving you some tips. Will you be fishing with plastics tomorrow?
That is a nice feed there, Mate. :)
Lovely pic with your lad also. That pic will become a favorite of yours. :)
Well done!8-)
Thanks Charlie. I was trying to find a way to make a picture of a squire a bit more interesting. My little man sure did a fantastic job.
chief
23-04-2008, 03:10 PM
Nice feed there mate, I'd like to place a bet on what that young bloke will be doing in a few years. Hanging with the old man and pulling a few fish,Fantastic
23-04-2008, 03:15 PM
Well done Brad. I headed out to Mud today and did quite well. Started off slowly but then found a patch of hungry fish and boated several between 34cm-39cm which were all released. For the table I kept a 45cm and a 35 cm sweetlip which will be my dinner tonight. The quality fish are far and few in between but there are some good healthy squire around.
Shagga
23-04-2008, 03:28 PM
Nice feed Brad.
For Steve
23-04-2008, 03:53 PM
Nice feed there mate, I'd like to place a bet on what that young bloke will be doing in a few years. Hanging with the old man and pulling a few fish,Fantastic
Thanks chief. I'm really looking forward to the day when I take the lad out fishing. I imagine it will need a far bit of patience and he'd get bored pretty quick but isn't that what Dad's are for. Need to plant the seed early I reckon.
Well done Brad. I headed out to Mud today and did quite well. Started off slowly but then found a patch of hungry fish and boated several between 34cm-39cm which were all released. For the table I kept a 45cm and a 35 cm sweetlip which will be my dinner tonight. The quality fish are far and few in between but there are some good healthy squire around.
Good on ya Poodroo. It sounds like we had similar trips. They seem to be schooling up in a few patches. How did Nauti~Gal go?
Squire and sweetlip for dinner mate - those grassies are delicious. Enjoy!
23-04-2008, 05:51 PM
Thanks chief. I'm really looking forward to the day when I take the lad out fishing. I imagine it will need a far bit of patience and he'd get bored pretty quick but isn't that what Dad's are for. Need to plant the seed early I reckon.
Good on ya Poodroo. It sounds like we had similar trips. They seem to be schooling up in a few patches. How did Nauti~Gal go?
Squire and sweetlip for dinner mate - those grassies are delicious. Enjoy!
Conditions sounded very similar and the fish caught were similar too. Nauti~Gal is going great. She's a very pleasant vessel to go fishing in.
23-04-2008, 06:51 PM
I gotta get another PC I tell you, having 2 teenagers with assignments ( at least thats what they are telling me:-X ) is reducing my time on the net, so I get to reply when most consider this thread almost over!!>:(
Well done Brad! The young fella is a reflection of all the good parenting skills you and the good wife are doing, won't be long before the 1st fishing rod arrives under the Christmas tree!!:D
The place in question you caught these fish is also frequented by Silent, Foggy and now T1, so maybe we inadvertedly found our own sink hole;D But Foggy and Silent found it all on their own I think.::)
Really, I think that any areas around Mud will yield fish if you target them often enough when there is probably better around, just that we can't bare to change.
Well done ( again)
Silent
23-04-2008, 07:08 PM
The place in question you caught these fish is also frequented by Silent, Foggy and now T1, so maybe we inadvertedly found our own sink hole;D But Foggy and Silent found it all on their own I think.::)
Hey Scalem I'm watching you;D no hard feeling;)
Hey Brad, first thing want to say "well done on nice feeds"
If you want to play so well and I can give you good advice....
the important word is "persistence" ;)
I have a small range of plastics ( gulps mostly in the popular colours) but I have never had any real sucsess with plastics mainly due to my paitence level, or lack of.
I will try both fresh strip soaker baits (pike) and the plastica fantastica tomorow. morning. Its a 6 am low and 11 high so what would be the better time to hit mud?
M
23-04-2008, 07:50 PM
I have a small range of plastics ( gulps mostly in the popular colours) but I have never had any real sucsess with plastics mainly due to my paitence level, or lack of.
I will try both fresh strip soaker baits (pike) and the plastica fantastica tomorow. morning. Its a 6 am low and 11 high so what would be the better time to hit mud?
M
So long as there is a reasonable tidal run, fishing from 5 mtrs to 8 mtrs over rubble or reef area, thats about it. But I notice the bait..... which begs the question, are you planning to anchor? If you are, resist the temptation to stop and burley, but keep drifting, casting as far up current as you can, allowing the plastic to waft down to the bottom using around 1/8th or 1/4 oz, making sure you use flurocarbon leader tied to Braid main line, around 15lb for both. Ezy pezy!! Don't give up if you see thick black lines of fish on the sounder. I've often seen people bug out thinking the tide is over and the bite period gone, only to have a place all to myself with multiple hookups. Good luck!
axelsnappa
23-04-2008, 07:50 PM
sorry to hear about the unboatables. I was out there the other week, and i am sad to say it was unboatables 3, axel 0!!!! Same story as yours, hookup and run like a decent pinkie, but then bricks. Needless to say i left earlier than usual with my tail between my legs. Never had so much trouble with bustups whilst at my pink fish spots; ever. On the plus side the local tackle shop is happy, as after each trip its more leader, more hooks more jig heads etc.
Maybe we will get them next time.
Axel
23-04-2008, 07:51 PM
Hey Scalem I'm watching you;D no hard feeling;)
Hey Brad, first thing want to say "well done on nice feeds"
If you want to play so well and I can give you good advice....
the important word is "persistence" ;)
Who's watching who Silent, I know what you are up to!!!!:P ;D ;D
So long as there is a reasonable tidal run, fishing from 5 mtrs to 8 mtrs over rubble or reef area, thats about it. But I notice the bait..... which begs the question, are you planning to anchor? If you are, resist the temptation to stop and burley, but keep drifting, casting as far up current as you can, allowing the plastic to waft down to the bottom using around 1/8th or 1/4 oz, making sure you use flurocarbon leader tied to Braid main line, around 15lb for both. Ezy pezy!! Don't give up if you see thick black lines of fish on the sounder. I've often seen people bug out thinking the tide is over and the bite period gone, only to have a place all to myself with multiple hookups. Good luck!
Yes I admit it I am a bait soaker, ( is this like A A ) I am as keen as, you know what, about softies, but have had no real luck, and therefore, no real interest .
Score so far Softies = THOUSANDS
Fish caught = 2 flaties ( if you cant catch a flatie on a softie, give up. They are the pigs of the ocean.)
I am very interested in the science of it all, ie weights, tide, water clarity, colour and type of plastic etc so I can begin to collate a pattern to guide myself toward more reasonable sessions and not just burning fuel in the name of fishing.
m
23-04-2008, 08:24 PM
Hey Mamu,
1st thing to do is tell the family you are predisposed for around 30 mins.
2nd thing to do is make yourself a coffee, or crack a beer - your choice.
3rd thing to do is click on this link which is possibly one of the best placcie education threads you will read - and I am not biased just because I was part of the thread. Enjoy!! http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=106941&highlight=plastics+fishing+for+snapper
Sorry Brad, I'm highjacking your thread. Nice fish!! Did I mention that???;D
For Steve
23-04-2008, 10:34 PM
I gotta get another PC I tell you, having 2 teenagers with assignments ( at least thats what they are telling me:-X ) is reducing my time on the net, so I get to reply when most consider this thread almost over!!>:(
Well done Brad! The young fella is a reflection of all the good parenting skills you and the good wife are doing, won't be long before the 1st fishing rod arrives under the Christmas tree!!:D
Really, I think that any areas around Mud will yield fish if you target them often enough when there is probably better around, just that we can't bare to change.
Well done ( again)
Thanks mate.
Shame about Sunday. The forecast was pretty much right - it would have been very uncomfortable out there. Just let me know when we can give it another shot.
M
There's plenty of areas north, east and west of Mud - heaps of drop offs and gravel and reef patches that hold fish on the right day. Drift around in 15'-25' feet of water, when you get a hit or even better catch a decent fish, mark that spot in your GPS so you can drift over it again.
1/8oz or 1/6oz jigheads and work them slowly with heaps of pauses. I know this sounds too simple to work but it really is that easy. Regarding the tide, as long as there's some run, there'll be some fun.
Finally, I reckon if you're trying to find your feet with plastics, leave the bait at home. That way you've got no choice but to keep trying with the plastics. Don't get me wrong, I like bait fishing as well but I've been determined to learn as much as I can about fishing with these plastic things. So far so good.
Good luck mate.
Brad