View Full Version : Recording soundings and locations.

22-04-2008, 04:50 PM
G'day everyone,

I have been thinking for a while that I would like to somehow record depths at intervals (spot soundings) and link them with GPS marks automatically with probably a laptop and software. Eventually over time I could create rather more detailed mapping for my usual fishing areas than any charts I could buy.
I have a Garmin 178c Combo and was thinking of using the NMEA connection and delivering that data to the laptop.

3 questions.

Is it possible to do this with my current combo automatically?

Is it feasible to do this without too much expense? I already have a laptop i can sacrifice to this.

What software would make this intention a reality?

Chine
22-04-2008, 07:52 PM
G'day everyone,

I have been thinking for a while that I would like to somehow record depths at intervals (spot soundings) and link them with GPS marks automatically with probably a laptop and software. Eventually over time I could create rather more detailed mapping for my usual fishing areas than any charts I could buy.
I have a Garmin 178c Combo and was thinking of using the NMEA connection and delivering that data to the laptop.

3 questions.

Is it possible to do this with my current combo automatically?

Is it feasible to do this without too much expense? I already have a laptop i can sacrifice to this.

What software would make this intention a reality?

27 views and no responses does not do this thread justice....personally, I think it is a great question(s).

Unfortunately, unless you go to a DGPS receiver as a minmum, I believe that under normal circumstances you may well be chasing your tail because of the fallability of GNSS.

This is basically a surveying task and at worst RTK is normally employed.

Having said that it may be worthwhile running a line of soundings using both GNSS and a terrestrial transit, shoot soundings and then re-run exactly the same exercise (with the same tidal height) and see what transpires. You may be pleasantly surprised.

22-04-2008, 08:53 PM
Thanks Chine,

Basically I have been wanting to find a way to map the bottom in 3 areas i frequent. One is a river and two are inshore areas within a fairly confined boundary (aprroximately 5km by 1.5km wide).

I am not looking for ultimate accuracy, but rather patterns of channels and reefs and high and low current areas. I would like to understand why some areas that have similar characteristics are so varied in productivity. I think by mapping the bottom and working out how currents and depths and eddies form and react with the sea floor I should be better able to understand why i get the results i do.

If i could simply log a series of waypoints and depths automatically as i travel these areas while going to and from and while exploring these locations then upload them to some map creating software or map editing software and embellish existing electronic charts.

My goal is not to have 10 000 waypoints but rather my own personal chart with a lot more spot soundings on it than is available anywhere else. From this chart I could then create a 3d model of the sea floor in these locations and study how it works.

It would be an interesting sideline to the fishing i already enjoy i think.

Eventually like minded people may do their own charts and we could compare how different locations work.

Chine
22-04-2008, 09:11 PM
Thanks Chine,

Basically I have been wanting to find a way to map the bottom in 3 areas i frequent. One is a river and two are inshore areas within a fairly confined boundary (aprroximately 5km by 1.5km wide).

I am not looking for ultimate accuracy, but rather patterns of channels and reefs and high and low current areas. I would like to understand why some areas that have similar characteristics are so varied in productivity. I think by mapping the bottom and working out how currents and depths and eddies form and react with the sea floor I should be better able to understand why i get the results i do.

If i could simply log a series of waypoints and depths automatically as i travel these areas while going to and from and while exploring these locations then upload them to some map creating software or map editing software and embellish existing electronic charts.

My goal is not to have 10 000 waypoints but rather my own personal chart with a lot more spot soundings on it than is available anywhere else. From this chart I could then create a 3d model of the sea floor in these locations and study how it works.

It would be an interesting sideline to the fishing i already enjoy i think.

Eventually like minded people may do their own charts and we could compare how different locations work.

Jack,

Your highlighted aim(s) tells me that your task is doable, using GNSS..... and makes sense.

So it gets back to your original question and whether the Garmin combo has the capability. Cannot offer any advice there as I have had no experience with this unit.

Best of luck

26-04-2008, 08:32 PM
I just found this program on the net:
http://www.piscatus.modnet.com.au/#Piscatus%203D%20Inshore%20Pro

Has anyone come accross something like this or used this program?

Charlie
26-04-2008, 10:45 PM
There is a program called 3Dfield http://field.hypermart.net/
it’s even reasonably priced, to get the data you need a plotter which saves a lot of track points or a data logger and probably have to take into account of tidal range. Once you get into mapping you can sure waste a lot of fishing time as well getting a great case of RSI .

26-04-2008, 11:10 PM
Thanks Charlie,

I'm not looking at dedicating any particular time to mapping this out. I might back off the speed to about 15 knots traveling to and from spots but I am not going ot be gridding out my areas in 2m spacings to get a contour. I was looking at moving my route to and from each time by maybe 5m tho to get a bit of variation adn width to my travellings.

27-04-2008, 06:09 PM
bump bump

27-04-2008, 06:42 PM
Would you be better of with a side scan sonar or is the water to deep?

27-04-2008, 06:48 PM
It is generally less than 20m. I don't know how side scanning can be interpreted for depth charts tho?

25_ponies
27-04-2008, 06:49 PM
Jack,

I think this is definitely possible, and without too much hard work. I've played around with a similar setup on my Humminbird sounder.

The two sentences you will be looking for in the NMEA output from the 178 are GPRMC and SDDPT - google those strings to find the data formats. According to the manual (p89), these strings are output by default. All you need to do is capture the text into some kind of serial terminal program on the laptop, import the data into excel or something else to convert from csv, then use a mapping program, like the one charlie suggested.

I think the biggest challenge will be to keep to your grid pattern over water without deviating too much. Having said that, if there are any gaps in your mapping, you can always go back again, as the area seems fairly small.

I'd be interested to hear how you go.

Alan.

Chine
27-04-2008, 06:53 PM
I just found this program on the net:
http://www.piscatus.modnet.com.au/#Piscatus%203D%20Inshore%20Pro

Has anyone come accross something like this or used this program?

Jack,

This link read well although my gut feeling is that it would not be cheap. It interests me that a single beam conventional non side scanning sonar can drive this software and achieve the results they claim.......I do not dispute that claim.

In my work arena, to achieve these results, an $800,000 multi beam sounder interfaced to RTK positioning is employed. They cover large areas quickly and accurately in full 3D and you can see the perfect outline of a 15" tyre 30m below...brilliant outputs. Let us be quite clear that I am not a Hydrographer.

I believe that you need to phone both the Piscatus and Garmin people to explain what you are trying to achieve and get it from the horses mouth.

There are numerous areas of coastal waterways which are well frequented by recreational users and are not covered by AHO charting and therefore not covered by C-Map, Navionics etc. One of those areas is Lake Macquarie, Newcastle. So I understand what you are trying to achieve and hence my initial response to this thread.

I feel a few phone calls tomorrow will either put it to bed or move it forward for you.

Good luck.

25_ponies
27-04-2008, 06:56 PM
forgot to mention, the NMEA sentences will be output from the 178 every 2 seconds, which means great resolution for your mapping, but heaps of data to store and manipulate.

27-04-2008, 07:22 PM
There is a program called 3Dfield http://field.hypermart.net/
it’s even reasonably priced, to get the data you need a plotter which saves a lot of track points or a data logger and probably have to take into account of tidal range. Once you get into mapping you can sure waste a lot of fishing time as well getting a great case of RSI .

Thanks for the heads up on the program!!

Checked out the program this arvo and its good. I'm already using Autocad a lot and it utilized it a lot for many different results.

In a month or so I think I will score a copy of this and get into modelling the areas I am interested in.

25_ponies
27-04-2008, 07:38 PM
hell, that 3DField software looks damn good. It even imports NMEA directly according to the web page, so no need to convert from csv. I think I might even give it a try....

J-MAN
29-04-2008, 08:51 AM
The Piscatus 3D seabed mapping software is very popular with-in the commercial deep sea trawl industry and is gaining a strong reputation in the rock lobster fishery in W.A and S.A. Pricing is approx. $7000.00. It constantly referances the depth / GPS position and redraws the 3D image, it also compensates for tidal variation. It allows for very accurate positioning of gear (trawl or trap) on particular depth contours, holes ect. The system has awesome graphics and features for the commercial fishing industry.

Best regards,
J-Man.

hodges4
29-04-2008, 02:00 PM
Give this site a try.
http://drdepth.se/

08-05-2008, 08:58 PM
Seeing that Ipods are so bloody cheap and have 60 gigs of memory I am wondering if they could be connected to the NMEA system instead of a laptop?
I could easily stash the ipod within the fusebox on my boat and have zero worries about water.

Has anyone heard of or done a connection from gps combo to a Ipod or similar?

Jru29
09-05-2008, 12:12 AM
Actually I've got an old pda that I'm looking to connect up in the next couple of weeks. Shouldn't be too hard - I'm just waiting on a $9 cable from ebay. I'll put an SD card into the unit and then occasionally drag the data across to my main pc. What I'd really like to do is add the info to my existing retail maps - but I've got no idea how to do that. It'd be nice to see the coast line on a map!
I'll let you know when it's up and running.

Jru

Brooksy
09-05-2008, 01:30 PM
Furuno do a system that does this I think it is called seamax?

Brooksy
09-05-2008, 01:37 PM
Found it http://www.furuno.co.jp/en/product/special/navnet2/maxsea.html