View Full Version : Threadie Thread
20-04-2008, 10:47 PM
Well it feels like a thousand years since I've done a report. All i can say is what a way to come back.
Got a call from Custaro bout 12 today seeing if i was keen for a fish. Ah that would be yes so grabbed a rod or two and I find myself at his place within half an hour.
A bit of tinkering with his boat and we were off,had a quick stop at Bias to get a new battery as the old one was showing it's age. Hit the water about 2.30 and proceed to the mouth of the Brizze River where Clay threw the cast net for a few livies. Scored a couple of Whiting and some Silver Biddies. Motored a few meters and dropped the pick.
While I was rigging up Clay lets one of the whiting go over the side. Within the space of 3 mins BANG( I want to hit the Z key but I'll refrain) and a short fight ensues. We didn't know what it was but it looked like something good, and good it was a meter Threadie,, over the side it came. You beauty.
I finally got my rig set up and put over a livie, quietly thinking ok my turn, not to be,, Clay's on again to something good so i wind in to help out, again, only to have the hook pull. Bummer mate.
Tide has turned and i was thinking this is it my last throw of the dice. Over went a Silver Biddie had to wait about 20mins till something got interested in my offering,,, BANG rod goes off and takes some line, crank the drag a little and after a few runs up pops another meter Threadie, my first. What a great feeling to catch such a beast.
All up a short session but very productive. Till next time. Thanks Clay,,, I'm a good deckie just ask me I'll tell ya. ;D
That's AWESOME guys! When both the Skip & the Deckie both nail a good fish, it makes it that little bit more enjoyable!!
Well done to both of you!!!
Take Care T
PS: I think i'm well overdue for a sesh in the river...
mat_anderson04
20-04-2008, 11:03 PM
looks like boggy is still producing, shame to see 2 dead salmon tho!
richieboy
20-04-2008, 11:20 PM
Great report and pics. One of the first blokes to post a thready pic without photoshopping the background. A pleasure to see.
Richie ;)
Pistol_P
20-04-2008, 11:41 PM
Some cracker fish there fellas....Top effort.
21-04-2008, 06:39 AM
Well done guys. Thats a couple of good fish there.
Gazza.Boyne
21-04-2008, 07:02 AM
A couple of nice size fish there guys. Sounds like some good fish getting around the mouth of the Brissie river, just a matter of putting in the time.
Gazza
Richo1
21-04-2008, 07:34 AM
Nice work, good sized fish too! Can't wait to get one a 1m+
Raddish
21-04-2008, 08:23 AM
Nice fish Dave. What are the eating qualities of threadfin?
Custaro
21-04-2008, 09:25 AM
Good report Dave! Hope you managed to get the blade down the side of it ok.
You are a tops deckie Dave. Like I said, I wouldn't have been there if you had other plans for the arvo. Just remember how to tie your own bimini next time! You weren't throwing back any JimBeams for the tuition, so no excuse.
Raddish, they are up there with the tastiest! Very unique also.
Obi _ Wan
21-04-2008, 10:47 AM
Well done guys, nice fish. Might just have to have a shot at a Brisie River Threadie as i have only caught them up North.
John.
dayoo
21-04-2008, 10:56 AM
Nice fish fellas. The threadies are being caught as far upstream as the Indooroopilly Bridge. Large herring are their favourite food.
Barry
Mattg68
21-04-2008, 03:21 PM
not a bad return for a lazy arvo sesh guys. nice thread, threadie, thread, threadie.
21-04-2008, 04:10 PM
Mat hows a bloke to get a feed? If you let them go thats good, but you won't get me saying to you "mate you should have kept em". So please afford me the same courtesy. Thanks.:-*
Richieboy I'm a non believer in photoshop what you see is what you get.
T1 I think it's time you started using some of those Tings for bait. ;)
Custaro Yeah i managed to fillet it ok. But i think some bastard threw a heap of golf balls in there. ;D
Thanks for the comments fellas.
chief
21-04-2008, 04:32 PM
Great fish mate and well done .they yeild a dam fine fillet,Cheers
mat_anderson04
21-04-2008, 04:33 PM
it might be legal but it was once legal to kill big breeding flathead, take a smaller threadfin for the table or an average flathead and some bream.
leave the breeders to do what they do best:P
Sure you guys only did catch two threadys, but why keep both ? You only need one for a feed, they are to good of a fish to be killing for a feed!
21-04-2008, 05:06 PM
I take one fish home in the last 10 months and this is what i get.
You guys are hilarious ;D;D;D;D
Nuff said.
upstart
21-04-2008, 05:17 PM
Gummy, fair go. A bloke deserves to keep a few fish from time to time. And it was the mouth of the Brissy River! Good on him I reckon.
marty+jojo
21-04-2008, 05:31 PM
Mat, Gummybusta,
I too caught a threadie and i ate the F%$#&r and it was damn good chewing, it fed 9 people. It was a legal fish and i was within the law to keep it, just like these guys. If you don't like it stiff s**t.
Pics attatched of family feeding threadfin.
Marty
SWANY22
21-04-2008, 05:34 PM
at the end of the day who cares that they keeped to threddies.good on you.i practice catch and release but no need to winge about it..every body is diffrent that what makes life so interesting.this is why i dont bother to post any more as some one all ways has some thing negetive to say.
cobiaman
21-04-2008, 05:36 PM
nice fish mate and i bet they tasted great! i would have kept them too...
dayoo
21-04-2008, 05:42 PM
There are some drop kicks on this site who think they know the breeding habits of all fish species. Threadies are prolific breeders and there numbers are not in any danger. Trust the marine biologists at Fisheries to do their job.
Nothing wrong with taking a legal fish.
Barry
bluefin59
21-04-2008, 05:54 PM
Great afternoons fishingmate what a pleasure to see someone catch such magnificent fish and eat them i know i would yumyum omega 3 plus thanks for sharing ...matt
21-04-2008, 06:04 PM
Mat, Gummybusta,
I too caught a threadie and i ate the F%$#&r and it was damn good chewing, it fed 9 people. It was a legal fish and i was within the law to keep it, just like these guys. If you don't like it stiff s**t.
Pic attatched of family feeding threadfin.
Marty
Nice one Marty looks like it was caught in the same area.
They got the weirdest backbone I've ever seen. Makes you work for the fillet thats for sure.
atlantic_salmon
21-04-2008, 06:07 PM
the day is coming, mark my words, a fish kept for the pot will be talked about in hushed tones at odd hours at a deserted boat ramp, pity though, i love a feed of fish, good catch boys, no shame in keeping a feed every now and then. Anthony...
alfish
21-04-2008, 06:27 PM
at the end of the day who cares that they keeped to threddies.good on you.i practice catch and release but no need to winge about it..every body is diffrent that what makes life so interesting.this is why i dont bother to post any more as some one all ways has some thing negetive to say.
swany you beat me to it, why do people have to bag others for doing something that is within the law but don't agree with the principle. :'(
al
mat_anderson04
21-04-2008, 06:31 PM
There are some drop kicks on this site who think they know the breeding habits of all fish species. Threadies are prolific breeders and there numbers are not in any danger.
Sounds like your one of those people.:o
Deffently not a hard fish to catch, so hopefully people will put them back;D
http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z116/andobhb/releasesalmon.jpg
http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z116/andobhb/1-13.jpg
chief
21-04-2008, 06:36 PM
hey dogsbody, find the two knodules in the back bone cut down either side of these bone's with your knife and then rip them out with a pair of plyers and then you have a straight through fillet with no obstructions
cheers chief
bigjimg
21-04-2008, 06:47 PM
Davo that is some cracker threadfin did you mate with it apparently it is a breeder.chortle chortle smiley smiley wink.jimbo
dayoo
21-04-2008, 07:42 PM
mat_anderson04
I like many others on this site are sick and tired of a few catch and release fishos bagging other Ausfish members for not releasing legal fish. Some of us have families to feed. Looks like you are a young single bloke who can afford to buy fish from the supermarket. Start up your own website for catch and release fishos and don't bag other people when you don't know all the facts.
At least I am qualified and have the experience to comment on the subject. See my profile.
Barry
BAR UP
21-04-2008, 07:58 PM
I would have kept them both aswell, stick that in your pipe & smoke it.:o
mat_anderson04
21-04-2008, 08:19 PM
Barry I guess it looks like we all have been brought up in different generations. I guess back in your day it was normal for people to take home as many fish as they could fit in the esky.
Times are changing
ando
atlantic_salmon
21-04-2008, 08:29 PM
well im 34 and love a feed of fish??? why judge people on your own morals, are you trying to put yourself on a higher plane, but you are right about one thing, times are changing, changing for the worse. Anthony.
dayoo
21-04-2008, 08:38 PM
Gummybuster and Mat
I have spent a lifetime studying marine species and know what I am talking about. I was young once and thought I knew everything too, but now, I guess I'm not young enough to know it all like you two guys.
I'll have to contact my mates in Fisheries and recommend that they contact you both for a job as it appears that you both have a degree in marine biology.
Barry
21-04-2008, 08:59 PM
Mat
I respect your opinion of releasing your fish but just remember that depending on the technique and specific species involved you are normally KILLING between 10% and 50% of the fish you release:o
Just because those big Threadies in your pics swam away it had little to do with their long term survival. You might pat yourself on the back and head off to catch and release the next one but just remember you are leaving a trail of dead or at least very physiologically stressed fish behind.
How many Threadies have you C&Red. Even given optimistic survival rates you will have undoubtably KILLED a lot more than Dogsbody ever has. At least he put his to good use.
Perhaps you should consider another hobby where you will not have such a negative impact on our fishery.
nufin_flash
21-04-2008, 09:35 PM
geez i dont see what the problem is , they went out caught 2 monsters and took em home to eat. Its not like they said whohoo look at this monster that i caught while fishing and then thew em in the bin when they got home, I would of taken those home myself to feed the family. Now had they of taken 3 or 4 home each then yeah have a go at em, but one fish each who cares.
great effort guys
Mr Walker
21-04-2008, 09:52 PM
Interesting that the below words are from gummybusta from another thread.
you are kidding right
he hasn't done nothing wrong and releases most of his fish yet it is a shame that he kept just one???
FFS some of you blokes are off your rockers it is OK to kill a fish for a FEED or BAIT or other leagle things you may want it for
as far as i'm concerned it is the great aussie way to go out and kill a few fish and then have that fresh fish on the BBQ with a couple of cold ones
you never hear the captuer and fillets blokes bag one of the C&R blokes out and i think you C&R blokes should do like wise
get off your high horses and have a feed of fish
gaintsquid
21-04-2008, 10:04 PM
Nothing wrong with a feed......... But cmon..... Why target the best fish brisbane has to offer!? The threadys have got an absolute belting in the last year or so. They are the best inshore fish brisbane has to offer. A fantastic fighting fish, also yes, very good eating but surely the blast of catching one is far greater than eating one, doesnt mean you shouldnt take the odd one for a feed, but two big breeders like that just makes me sad.. Why not just settle for a nice feed of flattys or whiting, not an amazing sport fish?. Sure you have the right to eat what ever is legal but i think its just taking these amazing fish for granted. For some people catchign a 1m+ threadfin is a dream and would be the fish of there life including me. Somthing you cannot buy unlike a feed..
I think a max size limit is needed for these incredible fish. Somthing along the lines of 60 - 100cm. Doesnt bother me keeping the odd thready in that size range. Cheers.
Very nice fish. (not directing this at you personaly but just keeping large threadys in general, because its becoming very common)
mat_anderson04
21-04-2008, 10:25 PM
Nothing wrong with a feed......... But cmon..... Why target the best fish brisbane has to offer!? The threadys have got an absolute belting in the last year or so. They are the best inshore fish brisbane has to offer. A fantastic fighting fish, also yes, very good eating but surely the blast of catching one is far greater than eating one, doesnt mean you shouldnt take the odd one for a feed, but two big breeders like that just makes me sad.. Why not just settle for a nice feed of flattys or whiting, not an amazing sport fish?. Sure you have the right to eat what ever is legal but i think its just taking these amazing fish for granted. For some people catchign a 1m+ threadfin is a dream and would be the fish of there life including me. Somthing you cannot buy unlike a feed..
I think a max size limit is needed for these incredible fish. Somthing along the lines of 60 - 100cm. Doesnt bother me keeping the odd thready in that size range. Cheers.
Very nice fish. (not directing this at you personaly but just keeping large threadys in general, because its becoming very common)
VERY WELL SAID8-)
Custaro
21-04-2008, 10:34 PM
I wasn't going to say anything in reply but...this is AusFISH not AusVEGETARIAN. I catch fish (well, some of the time) and I eat fish. It will save me from buying a piece of beef this week. That comes from a life too.
What was a shame that day…was the clowns who left half a dozen shovel nose sharks lying around the car park back at the ramp. You will probably find the people responsible don’t get about on these forums, they probably can’t read. Most members on AusFISH, I would say are very responsible in looking after and caring for their environment. We don’t need a lecture from righteous do-gooder for doing what we enjoy while staying within the bounds of the regulations.
Every post, especially in the reports section is a privilege for others to read. Members take a moment of their spare time and generously give to others what was about, or not about, while they were out fishing. Yes Dave and I took a fish home each. Our preference is to eat it. If you let it go…great! At least we told you what was going on, posted a couple of pics and maybe given you a plan for next time you go fishing. Toss pot posts of knocking others especially when nothing wrong was done, only results in members giving less information, posting less or not posting at all. If you want to preach your ways do it away from the reports and not directly targeted at anyone that might take offence to critical remarks. But seriously, do we need this crap? It’s not like we haven’t heard it all before.
You got to be kidding giantsquid,…60 to 100cm!! These fish are not far from school size. That is if they aren’t still school size. They grow much much bigger and they are plentiful right around the top half of aus! Go visit the Fitzroy! Still plenty of big threadies there, all while the commercial blokes have been stringing up big nets for decades!! Give facts not propaganda!
mat_anderson04
21-04-2008, 10:51 PM
There will always be guys who defend there rights to kill breeders, fine by me. saw it all years ago with the big flathead debate, then there is the one for area e off cooktown, giant blacks.
in the end the fisheries will be swayed to make a decision if warranted.
I would love fishries to change to rules 60-90cms you can keep for a feed.
All the rest go back
LIVE_2_FiSH
21-04-2008, 11:13 PM
honestly, why does this always happen? its seriously rediculous! Sometimes people should just keep their opinions to themselves. Like me ;D
mat_anderson04
21-04-2008, 11:28 PM
honestly, why does this always happen? its seriously rediculous! Sometimes people should just keep their opinions to themselves. Like me ;D
fell free to share your own opinion
LIVE_2_FiSH
21-04-2008, 11:34 PM
fell free to share your own opinion
fair call, this argument comes up far too often but.
mik01
22-04-2008, 07:45 AM
no wonder some people don't like to post up reports anymore.
pull ya head in mat and gummy and if you have nothing positive to add, then best leave your thoughts in your heads.
this is where the mods should step in IMO and remove said posts, and posting rights.
sorry Dog and Custaro to say this in your thread, but these people really annoy me.
ps - I'm jealous! great threadies and good reading!
Richo1
22-04-2008, 09:00 AM
Hmmm Threadfin on the menu tonight and maybe again tomorrow night and we even released a few :) :)
dayoo
22-04-2008, 09:02 AM
pull ya head in mat and gummy and if you have nothing positive to add, then best leave your thoughts in your heads.
this is where the mods should step in IMO and remove said posts, and posting rights.
sorry Dog and Custaro to say this in your thread, but these people really annoy me.
Yes mate,
I will be posting my last estuary report tonight on the pile of banana prawns caught last night by Frank the Fishing Machine. I will restrict future reports to the offshore section where there doesn't appear to be too many knockers.
I now understand why Reefking doesn't post anymore reports.
Barry
Reel Nauti
22-04-2008, 09:57 AM
Some of these knockers would be better off visiting Sea World and just sit and look. For those of us that like to take a feed, it is our fundamental right so long as it is within the law. This site is all about sharing, sharing experiences, photographs and our love of our chosen sport. It's not about knocking and bagging people for sharing their captures and keeping what the law says we can.
There are bloody millions of threadfin salmon, both the Cooktown Blue and the Burdekin King. As has been said, the Fitzroy is just one river that is full of them, even after 150 years of white settlement and all of the pro netters.
Good on the blokes who caught them and good on them for taking them a feed. I'd have taken them too, in fact if I caught 4 or 5 of them I'd have taken them.
If some of you don't like that or can't handle our right to fish legally and lawfully then may I suggest you seek out some form of counselling for the trauma it seems you suffer.
22-04-2008, 10:48 AM
This is a CHAT BOARD. If you can't take both negative and positive feedback, harden up or don't post at all. Big loss.
1. threadies are dead set easy to catch if you know where and how. Ain't no big hero to catch one or several. They don't fight very hard and most people target them with heavy gear anyway. Big deal.
2. they seem to have poor survival after release from personal experience, talking to others and also talking to a biologist from the Southern Fisheries Research Centre, Deception Bay.
3. Anyone who thinks they can catch as many as they want annd not have an effect on the fishery is living on another planet. There are more and more people targetting the threadies. Next summer, you will have to book a spot. They are a fantastic sportfish to have on our doorstep and we should be doing as much as we can to ensure they remain in good numbers.
So Maybe the answer is to only target them if you want one for a feed?
Neil, you quoted 10-50% (?) of released fish survive. Where did you get these figures from? I took part in a flathead survival study in wihc about 160 flathead were caught on lures and bait, tagged and placed in a holding tank for 5 days and released. The overall surivial was 97%. Probably would have been higher for fish released straight back into the sea. Some fish might be more, some definitely less. I question your figures tho....
Yep, a lot don't post anymore because of the fish huggers! A lot of information is now lost (as some of the more longer term members would have noticed). JEREMY, it's not about 'hardening up', people just get sick of the constants that it's actually an annoyance to even be bothered posting!
Also, just about your part in the survival study, i have no doubt that you know how to correctly handle a fish - which goes a long way to ensuring it survives? A lot out there don't know and hence the survival rate of those fish would in my opinion be less, as i think HORSE is alluding to.
You're right about one thing, they are a disappointment in the fighting stakes! And yes, they also struggle to survive post release - they're nearly dead at the side of the boat...
I'm with CUSTARO & DOGS, operate within the law - NO problem! You want to keep 1 or 10, that's each persons call! Personally, i'd keep whatever i wanted - it doesn't last long in my circle! We refuse to buy fish! Animals/fish were put on this planet in abundance for us humans to eat and grow - it is part of the necessary food cycle that is required to nurture us - every food type has benefits for the human body and its health. If God didn't want us to eat it, he wouldn't have created it! It's a system and it's there for an important reason... If all the fish taken is being consumed, then the system is operating effectively!
If people don't like the fact i and others keep all my/our 'legal' fish, then stiff! I stopped doing what i was told when i left high school - and as for opinions, just like b%mholes, everone's got one and as Tony Greig once said, 'I don't give a flying F%#K...'!
Take Care T
PS: I see this debate started with Jacks, then Flathead, then Bream, then Snapper and now Threadies... And gradually, you stop seeing reports about these fish being caught! Some people are saying there's NO Snapper in the Bay - how wrong are they? There's plenty around (upto 8Kg) - it's just we're not hearing about them on this forum! Soon, we'll be knocking people who take more than 6 whiting...
Richo1
22-04-2008, 11:51 AM
Don't let them put you off Dayoo! Thanks to your advice I'll be trying a big fat Herring on Wednesday night maybe it will get me the 1.2m+ I'm after.
Richo1
mattooty
22-04-2008, 12:04 PM
Nothing wrong with a feed......... But cmon..... Why target the best fish brisbane has to offer!? The threadys have got an absolute belting in the last year or so. They are the best inshore fish brisbane has to offer. A fantastic fighting fish, also yes, very good eating but surely the blast of catching one is far greater than eating one, doesnt mean you shouldnt take the odd one for a feed, but two big breeders like that just makes me sad..
Mate, they only did take 1! 1 each! In case my eyes are deceiving me, each man is holding onto their OWN fish.
Get off your high horse, find another site to preach your ways on mate, we have all read the pro's and con's of C&R and also love to enjoy the benefits of fillet and release.
We don't need anymore controversy among us as anglers, divided we are falling. The introduction of marine parks are made all the more easier to be implemented in the state we're in, disorganised and unbanded! If you want to make a real difference to fish stocks, study biology, major in marine science and then implement new rules on what you think should be in place. In fact, why stop there, instead of attacking a single fisher, get public and make a constructive workshop on the pro's and con's of releasing fish healthily and less stressfully.
Reel Nauti
22-04-2008, 12:57 PM
Jeremy you are right when you say that this is a chat board. But that should not make law abiding anglers, taking legal fish, open to the continual bloody criticism that lurks around the boards. If the C & R guys have a genuine problem, then let them go to the authorities who set the rules and whinge and bitch to them.
22-04-2008, 01:38 PM
Glad to see the debate going nowhere. Fellas if you want to make a real difference go and preach at a grass roots level. This is not the thread for it, or better yet start your own bloody thread.
As you can see it doesn't change a thing.
Bloody tasty. Group hug.
Keep an eye out for our next report. :P
Fish_gutz
22-04-2008, 03:55 PM
Nice fish boys and they go real good on the chew. well done.
chief
22-04-2008, 05:10 PM
This is pathetic,as a past member of ANSA 20 years ago I'm disgusted by the comments by some of these members. I quote from your own code of ethics RESPECT THE RIGHTS AND INTERESTS OF OTHER ANGLERS AND COMMERCIAL FISHERS WHO ARE LEGALY PARTICIPATING IN OUR FISHERY. I feel a complaint should be lodged with Steve Slobodzian on this matter and stop individuals bringing their great organisation into such a poor manner of conduct .
chief
22-04-2008, 07:15 PM
So do i mate ,Fish responsibly ,always have, always will ,but never have the gaul to tell any one how they should fish . A very sad event for a fellow member to put up a post and have it turn to this. Personally i feel extremely sorry for the lads who posted and had this shit pushed down their throats and what a top effort of respect shown to a few older members. Yes things have changed but humility and respect should never change.
kingtin
22-04-2008, 07:49 PM
And there ye have it Chief.............no humility and very little respect for others. Perhaps it's because they hold themselves in such high esteem that they feel they can preach to others.
I really don't know what the answer is as everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and also entitled to voice it. It's just the manner in which they do it that is the question here. When some poor bugger takes ONLY two fish and are as proud as punch of their capture, do they really deserve to be questioned and admonished in public? No they do not. ................I've seen Sergeants busted down to Corporals for admonishing their men in front of a squad (despite what you see in the movies, it only happens in recruit training).
If you have a point to make, then you can make it by utilising the "flea in the ear" approach. It is likely to achieve more, gain you more respect, and not drag down the troops morale............quite easy and gentlemanly actually.............but then again, as I mooted in the first para, only those who have started and aggravated this debate, know their true motives.............hopefully they're just misguided 'cause for the life of me, I don't see how anyone can think that pushing their opinions publicy in such a manner can not be counter-productive.
Custaro
22-04-2008, 07:53 PM
Bloody hell chief! Don't feel sorry for Dave and I. We been having a chuckle about it all day. We got a thick enough skin to let this roll over. Just silly to see a thread explode for a debate on what we all heard over and over again.
There seems to be some feeling that the now magic threadfin salmon should be protected against overfishing in the Brisbane River. Sunday afternoon was almost perfect conditions as far as catching a fish. Great moon and time of tide. All the local fishing mags have been expressing how well the fishing in the river is going. "Get in while it's hot" was one headline I recall off the top of my head. Yet, Dave and I were the only boat within sight of us wetting a line. I don't think there is any need for panic. Plenty more fish out there.
mat_anderson04 and gummybusta have been banned for a month as a result of their negative and inflaming comments on this post.
We cannot read every post as I have said many times before and need people to let us know about these things by hitting the report button
It's this http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/report.gif one
nuggstar
23-04-2008, 03:30 AM
Custaro Yeah i managed to fillet it ok. But i think some bastard threw a heap of golf balls in there. Dave.[/quote]
hehe i no all about them golf balls in the tail hehe. when i worked on barra boats thay would give me the sh$ts when i got a full net of threddies and had to fillet the lot of them, its verry eazy to stuff up a fillet and loose a lot of meat. top fishing dude. did they cook up all right, i love a fresh pice of threddie, verry yummy
23-04-2008, 07:23 AM
Nice fish boys and they go real good on the chew. well done.
Actually, in all honesty, do you really think so? They have a reputation as being good eating, but the one I ate out of the Brissie was muddy and bland. Nearly every other saltwater fish I have eaten I would rate better.
23-04-2008, 07:26 AM
This is pathetic,as a past member of ANSA 20 years ago I'm disgusted by the comments by some of these members. I quote from your own code of ethics RESPECT THE RIGHTS AND INTERESTS OF OTHER ANGLERS AND COMMERCIAL FISHERS WHO ARE LEGALY PARTICIPATING IN OUR FISHERY. I feel a complaint should be lodged with Steve Slobodzian on this matter and stop individuals bringing their great organisation into such a poor manner of conduct .
Don't know what you are talking about. I don't believe I made any negative comments about the fish in this thread or the people who caught them. But, I am trying to promote the right to free speech on this forum.
How about "each fish should have an even chance for freedom" (or however it goes) and "limit your catch, don't catch your limit"
All my commments are my own and do not reflect that of any organization or body I belong to
23-04-2008, 08:29 AM
To anyone that has stopped posting reports in this section, please have a re-think.
There are now two members that have been banned for their comments. Jeremy is right in that one can offer opinions, but to be constantly ' flamed ' by people that offer nothing more than critisism is not on, as far as myself and other Mods are concerned.
We moderators do not get an opportunity to read every thread, but since this one has attracted a lot of attention, a more vigilant approach will be taken towards the " Fishing Reports " sections.
To those that want to debate the pro's and cons of legal fish, size limits, breeding stocks, take / no take etc, do it by another means other than ' highjacking ' someones else's thread. People who put up reports go to a great deal of trouble and effort to do so in the hope of assisting other fishos and entertaining members and guests. I personally don't believe in the " hero " ideal of posting pics and reports as members here post up reports for genuine reasons.
This site is and has always been based around the members. The members make this site what it is today.
Opinions are welcome and encouraged, but certainly critisism without being constructive or factual is not condoned.
Please enjoy the reports and take onboard what advice is offered and participate in the threads if you want.
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
mullet66
04-06-2008, 08:14 PM
Seems opinion on releasing or keeping such great fish as the Threadys goes around in circles with everyone getting worked up about it. Both sides of the argument have their points, one thing that came up is that a lot of released fish die anyway, maybe we all need to be looking at how we handle fish we intend to release, this includes how we hold them for photos (ie; holding a fish up by its mouth cant be good for it), or what sort of net we use, i think a bit more discussion on good handling and release techniques would benefit us all as those who believe they are doing the right thing but might be committing the fish to a lingering death.
Personally i think we are blessed to have fish like these big Threadies so close so would always choose to take a feed of bream, snaps etc instead, i dont even keep Flatties over about 58cm, thats just my choice. I love taking a few fish to eat but am always a bit dissapointed when we hear of guys filling their boats and freezers with hundreds of whiting or tailor/bream etc, thankfully most of the guys in Ausfish seem past that type of kill all mentality, those that arent may rue the day they cant take their kids and show them how to catch a fish.
nuckle
05-06-2008, 11:12 AM
spot on.. ;D