View Full Version : Fishon Marine - great service big savings

Reefmaster
16-04-2008, 07:44 PM
I have been going through the process of building a new boat which means spending lots of money on electronics and accessories to complete the package. Over the years Australians have become a lot more comfortable with purchasing from overseas and with the strong dollar at the moment it seems silly not to take advantage of this. I have always tried my hardest to support the local industry and support guys who have helped me out over the years but after adding up the cost of purchasing electronic goods from Australian retailers (and good contacts) and then looking at overseas suppliers I almost fell over backwards. I was a little worried about spending good money through an overseas supplier so I did my research and soon found that I couldn’t go past Fishon Marine for great pricing and excellent service. Pat was fast to reply to my emails and extremely helpful with any of my questions that I fired at him. I ended up ordering a Furuno 585 sounder, Lowrance 7200C plotter, Icom VHF radio, Navionics XL9 gold Chart (whole of Australia), Navionics Nav planner and flush mount kits for GPS and VHF. I had confirmation on the Tuesday morning that the goods had been sent that night from the US and much to my surprise it arrived to my door step Friday lunchtime. How good is that for service and what is even better is that I saved a massive $2500 dollars which is just fantastic but also disappointing that here in Australia we are so far off with the pricing. The savings of buying overseas is just simply too good to refuse and with service from shops such as Fishon Marine you can’t go wrong. If you’re looking for great service and big savings then I highly recommend Fishon marine for all your needs.

Ratman
16-04-2008, 07:49 PM
Thinking of going the same on the GPS Greg.

Timfishin4fun
18-04-2008, 01:41 PM
Hi Greg, I have just purchased the furuno 585, but how did you pay customs to receive the item so quick?

You can only pre pay if you are a registed importer. Did fishon pay it for you?

Any help would be great.

Snapp
18-04-2008, 04:26 PM
Yes, hard to beat Fishon.
Purchased an Icom 422 VHF radio from Fishon earlier this year.

Ordered the FCV620 last night.

yes and sorry to say for local shops, a Chartplotter will be next month.

too easy you may say, but I say TOO MUCH MONEY to be saved.

18-04-2008, 04:47 PM
Yes, hard to beat Fishon.
too easy you may say, but I say TOO MUCH MONEY to be saved.

Yes snapp as I keep telling the missus..the more I spend ,the more I actually save http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif.

Local_Guy
19-04-2008, 08:12 AM
speaking of cost savings...

Humminbird SI 997 CI. Fishon Marine price US$1829
" " Price off www.humminbird.com.au (http://www.humminbird.com.au) AU$3999

Lets see now. saving of about AU$1500.. i know where i would shop.

19-04-2008, 08:25 AM
Greg, as you know iIm for supporting our local retailers too to keep businesses open and people employed here - sadly the pricing structure isn't their fault, but like you, when you're talking about an overall saving of $2500 on the total package, that's over a months income for me - I'd be doing the same.

There have been times where I have bought locally and payed up to $200 more than I could overseas, saving over that get me thinking and to find a retailer that is good with the communication and service to keep you in the loop is gold mate - well done Fishon Marine!

Snapp
19-04-2008, 11:18 AM
I was in Melb this week & went into a marine shop to kill time.
"where's your chartplotters"
he said "don't have any they are a waste of good floor space & I haven't had any for 3 years"
he then said next "just get on the internet from o/s cheaper and easy"

I rest my case.

19-04-2008, 01:14 PM
excellet choices mate i have both on my boat and set up to my suzuki they are an awesome system

Mindi
19-04-2008, 03:10 PM
Just calculated legally imported Furuno CV620 incl tranny and postage and customs (nil) $871 aud vs local price $1399 aud... www.fishonmarine.net (http://www.fishonmarine.net)

no customs under $1000 then customs at about 5% then GST on everything incl postage at 10%

see Fishon excellent section for Australian customers

marco
20-04-2008, 08:31 AM
Hi Greg, I have just purchased the furuno 585, but how did you pay customs to receive the item so quick?

You can only pre pay if you are a registed importer. Did fishon pay it for you?

Any help would be great.

some things are best left un said hey ;D

20-04-2008, 09:26 AM
speaking of cost savings...

Humminbird SI 997 CI. Fishon Marine price US$1829
" " Price off www.humminbird.com.au (http://www.humminbird.com.au) AU$3999

Lets see now. saving of about AU$1500.. i know where i would shop.

Look a bit futher and you can save an extra $200+ bucks.
http://www.#############.com/_e/Humminbird_GPS/product/Humminbird_997C_SI_Fishfinder_GPS/Humminbird_997C_SI_Combo_Fishfinder_GPS.htm

I've used these guys a couple of times and no probs.

20-04-2008, 12:53 PM
I am just waiting on details for the flush mounting kit for the ICOM (probably already there, need to check work email) and I will be placing and order with fishon. I just have to say cheers to everyone here for mentioning this place or I would never have found them!

Snapp
21-04-2008, 10:14 PM
FCV620 arived today.
thanks fishon.

dnej
21-04-2008, 10:38 PM
Well done snapp
David

buggerit
22-04-2008, 05:20 AM
My new FCV620 arrived on my doorstep yesterday morning . It's quicker to get gear from the States than to it is from Melbourne .

Thank you Fishon Marine .

Reefmaster
30-04-2008, 11:37 AM
Sorry about the slow response guys I have been a little busy trying to get the boat finished.

In regards to the questions about import duty I can only suggest you email Fishon marine and ask what arrangments can be made to better suit you as a buyer but be rest assured that it's not something you need to worry about;)

I feel a bit guilty because these savings are hurting the retailers in Australia and it’s very clear that the pricing is out of their hands and the importer/wholesaler is ripping both the retailer and public off. Now I'm assuming the importers here in Australia would not be getting prices as good as those in the US but surely these guys are making good money while the retail guys get hurt.

It's just unbelievable that these goods can be delivered so quickly with great savings to match.:o 8-)

battler1
30-04-2008, 01:34 PM
620 at the Brisbane tackle & tinnie show was $1150.00 with transducer ! plus you get a $75.00 cash back from Furuno ! so it costs $1075.00 aussie dollars .

Regards Joe

Just calculated legally imported Furuno CV620 incl tranny and postage and customs (nil) $871 aud vs local price $1399 aud... www.fishonmarine.net (http://www.fishonmarine.net)

no customs under $1000 then customs at about 5% then GST on everything incl postage at 10%

see Fishon excellent section for Australian customers

Whitto
30-04-2008, 03:31 PM
My new FCV620 arrived on my doorstep yesterday morning . It's quicker to get gear from the States than to it is from Melbourne .

Thank you Fishon Marine . And a damn site cheaper to boot, Whitto;)

battler1
30-04-2008, 05:14 PM
Damn site cheaper ? how much cheaper & what happen's if it fails ?.

Regards Joe

And a damn site cheaper to boot, Whitto;)

Whitto
30-04-2008, 05:31 PM
Damn site cheaper ? how much cheaper & what happen's if it fails ?.

Regards JoeI recently bought a Garmin colour sounder through J&H Marine Products, this product took 4days from the States to my PO Box and was $116.00 cheaper than buying locally, Garmin products have an International warrantee for their products, Whitto

battler1
30-04-2008, 05:40 PM
Whitto i just checked Fishon there best price now with the transducer i got is $960.00 US delivered to my door in Brisbane Thats $1033.00 Australian dollars ? i paid $1075.00 and got 2 Furuno shirts 2 stubbie holder's and 2 Hats and if it tilts its just up the road from where i live , & to save $116.00 i spill that on the bar every Friday Night ! international warranty yeah right its all good while there working ? wait till it fails then you will see what happen's ask someone who has used a international warranty claim ? i havent seen anyone say it works fine.

Joe.

night
I recently bought a Garmin colour sounder through J&H Marine Products, this product took 4days from the States to my PO Box and was $116.00 cheaper than buying locally, Garmin products have an International warrantee for their products, Whitto

Whitto
30-04-2008, 06:06 PM
Whitto i just checked Fishon there best price now with the transducer i got is $960.00 US delivered to my door in Brisbane Thats $1033.00 Australian dollars ? i paid $1075.00 and got 2 Furuno shirts 2 stubbie holder's and 2 Hats and if it tilts its just up the road from where i live , & to save $116.00 i spill that on the bar every Friday Night ! international warranty yeah right its all good while there working ? wait till it fails then you will see what happen's ask someone who has used a international warranty claim ? i havent seen anyone say it works fine.

Joe.

nightMaybe u should try a little harder that is not the best price out of the states for a FCV620 with Transducer, but u seem to be happy with your deal and thats all that matters right Joe Whitto

mik01
30-04-2008, 06:07 PM

Joe.

night

$100 may not be much to you, but it is a great deal to others. hats, shirts and stubby holders aren't much help.

I saved well over $300 on an Icom M422 unit late last year going o/s. the savings are there, but what you would call worth it is different to what others deem worth it.

and warranty? well if push came to shove, I can't see how a company could legally refuse to repair a unit with an international warranty. I reckon it would cost me $100 to get my solicitor to write a letter - watch how quick the issue then gets resolved! its not even an issue in my mind really

battler1
30-04-2008, 06:24 PM
Sorry i didn't mean to sound rude but the saving for me was $30 bucks and even to save 100 bucks i still wouldnt bother ? your choice but ! Icom M422 at Whitworths sells for $529.00 Aussie dollars Fishon is $270 Aussie to the door big saving ? .Also don't they have to be C Ticked approved ? don't get caught using it ? you should maybe check.The saving are here to Mik01 you just have to ::) ::) ::) look ?
Shirts hats might not be much for anyone but when you go to a Tackle Tinne show i got a bargin & the Kids love it. I did it for you i Google CTICK and this came up Scarey stuff & its buyer beware so next time you get pulled up by the MSB and they check ! look out also if you brake down and you use the VHF to get a tow back to your port i am sure they will check everythink ? Your Next post could be behind Bars Classic , Sorry but i research everything i buy.

ACA refers to Australian Commumications Authority.

The C-Tick label is used to indicate compliance with the ACA's electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) and radiocommunications regulatory arrangements. It also establishes a traceable link between the product and the manufacturer (or importer or agent) responsible for compliance and for placing it onto the Australia-New Zealand market.

Australian legislation states it is illegal to operate radio communication equipment which do not have a C-tick label on the unit (non-compliant).

Australian law states that the consequences of operating non-compliant radio communication equipment in Australia will result in 10 years prison, $10,000 fine and loss of equipment.

Joe

$100 may not be much to you, but it is a great deal to others. hats, shirts and stubby holders aren't much help.

I saved well over $300 on an Icom M422 unit late last year going o/s. the savings are there, but what you would call worth it is different to what others deem worth it.

and warranty? well if push came to shove, I can't see how a company could legally refuse to repair a unit with an international warranty. I reckon it would cost me $100 to get my solicitor to write a letter - watch how quick the issue then gets resolved! its not even an issue in my mind really

30-04-2008, 06:54 PM
I just bought a new VHF and navplanner software at just over half the price I could in australia. Ordered it on the Monday, turned up the following Monday. Considering one of those days was a public holiday, 4 business days turn around is not to shabby if you ask me.

battler1
30-04-2008, 07:05 PM
was it a Icom 422 ? you can get Vhf for 80 Buck's if you searh google ? .

Joe

quote=TheRealAndy;811943]I just bought a new VHF and navplanner software at just over half the price I could in australia. Ordered it on the Monday, turned up the following Monday. Considering one of those days was a public holiday, 4 business days turn around is not to shabby if you ask me.[/quote]

battler1
30-04-2008, 07:54 PM
Funny how you can spend a $100 on a problem ie solicitor ? but you can't help the local guy from the start , why don't you really check what you can buy something for here in Aust and ring around for the best deal and compare whats the differance and if its a huge differance buy OS but be responsibe and way up if you really need to get it fixed and what it really involves getting it fixed here in Australia under warranty and see what you have to go through in getting it fixed .

Joe

mik01
30-04-2008, 11:05 PM
Sorry i didn't mean to sound rude but the saving for me was $30 bucks and even to save 100 bucks i still wouldnt bother ? your choice but ! Icom M422 at Whitworths sells for $529.00 Aussie dollars Fishon is $270 Aussie to the door big saving ? .Also don't they have to be C Ticked approved ? don't get caught using it ? you should maybe check.The saving are here to Mik01 you just have to ::) ::) ::) look ?
Shirts hats might not be much for anyone but when you go to a Tackle Tinne show i got a bargin & the Kids love it. I did it for you i Google CTICK and this came up Scarey stuff & its buyer beware so next time you get pulled up by the MSB and they check ! look out also if you brake down and you use the VHF to get a tow back to your port i am sure they will check everythink ? Your Next post could be behind Bars Classic , Sorry but i research everything i buy.

ACA refers to Australian Commumications Authority.

The C-Tick label is used to indicate compliance with the ACA's electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) and radiocommunications regulatory arrangements. It also establishes a traceable link between the product and the manufacturer (or importer or agent) responsible for compliance and for placing it onto the Australia-New Zealand market.

Australian legislation states it is illegal to operate radio communication equipment which do not have a C-tick label on the unit (non-compliant).

Australian law states that the consequences of operating non-compliant radio communication equipment in Australia will result in 10 years prison, $10,000 fine and loss of equipment.

Joe

Joe

the c-tick discussion has been done to death on this thread - do a search and you will find much more research for you to digest. Perhaps you should widen your research apart from google?

none of us know what is involved with certain manufacturers and warranty repairs relating to honouring international warranties. I was only suggesting, from a legal perspective, a possible remedy. Like all things in life - never believe what a company 'tells' you - they must comply with all relevant laws and it would be interesting if I cared to research Fair Trading whether one would have a case.

I'm well aware of everything I buy and do my research well.
As, it seems, is everyone else here who have chosen where to buy their gear.

edit - here big fella, I'll even help you get started ;)
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=123380

r3volt
30-04-2008, 11:17 PM
Isnt ctick just another excuse for aus dealers to raise the price more then they should?

Local_Guy
01-05-2008, 09:08 AM
r3volt. don't get me started. thats heading down teh same path as the cost of EPIRBS.

Burley_Boy
08-05-2008, 08:41 PM
C-tick what a load of bs that is. People use it as a sign of qualityor safety or something and its simply a declaration that the piece of equipment does not emit excessive amounts of radio interference.
The importer simply has to request a C-tick number and affix the sticker. As an importer you simply refer back to the overseas testing of the equipment and if you're good you get hold of the test report.
You'd be stretching a long bow to believe that an identical piece of equipment with the sticker missing would warrant a fine as opposed to one that had the sticker affixed. (mind you there are mindless beaurocrats out there)
Plenty of stickers are crap and fall off so the sticker is not the issue the real compliance of the set has to be the issue.

marco
09-05-2008, 12:43 PM
i ordered a vhf Tuesday morning 5 am , recieved it 11.30 am friday , boy that is fast . well done pat ( fishon)

mark

ILikeBlu
11-05-2008, 07:09 PM
Looking to get a Furuno FCV 620 in the next week or so, Fishon looks like the place to shop.

roydsy
14-05-2008, 12:09 PM
I need to order a friend a gps/combo from fishon or J7Hproducts, including a navionics gold card... it totals $850 US plus $90 US postage.. so $940 US which just comes over the limit of $1000 total before import duty based on there conversions.....

Can anyone tell me if the duty is on total parcel cost or individual items?
And am I likely to get hit with import if it comes to $1020? or thereabouts if its packaged as a gift.

I am still better off ordering the items separately and sending to different addresses... but would rather just order all in one parcel to save on postage.

sangan
14-05-2008, 06:03 PM
I need to order a friend a gps/combo from fishon or J7Hproducts, including a navionics gold card... it totals $850 US plus $90 US postage.. so $940 US which just comes over the limit of $1000 total before import duty based on there conversions.....

And am I likely to get hit with import if it comes to $1020? or thereabouts if its packaged as a gift.

I am still better off ordering the items separately and sending to different addresses... but would rather just order all in one parcel to save on postage.

G'day Roydsy,

From personal experience, the duty is calculated on the total price (ie. Item + Postage). There is however a Fair Trading Policy that Australia has with the U.S. and it states that if the item is made in the U.S, then there is no Duty Charge on the item and shipping. There is still a GST charge though.

I've ordered many items from America that are worth well over 2k and nearly everytime I get into an argument with the customs officers about the policy. It's a big deal when you are paying a couple of hundred dollars extra so its worth the hassle. Just make sure you tell them.

So your order of 1020 does exceed the threshold, and they will most likely be sending you a letter or giving you a call before you recieve the item.

Hope it helps,
Sangan.

bluefin59
14-05-2008, 06:36 PM
Roydsy send pat from fishon an email he will explain it all to you dont be too concerned ...matt

marco
14-05-2008, 07:36 PM

it works on the package costs and can even work on a group of packages if delivered with in a few days of each other .
you can split them up and send to different addresses if you have someone you can trust

and with the 1020 gift , it depends on if customs believe what is written down and is hard to say whichway it goes

marco
14-05-2008, 07:41 PM
G'day Roydsy,

There is however a Fair Trading Policy that Australia has with the U.S. and it states that if the item is made in the U.S, then there is no Duty Charge on the item and shipping. There is still a GST charge though.

Sangan.

that would be the free trade agreement with the usa . if claiming that you need a letter of proof of country of origin from the manufacturer and has a bit of advise when dealing with customs , do not expect any commonsense from anyone there . it simply does not exist .

Razgo-
14-05-2008, 08:55 PM
I was looking at these 3 items

Subtotal:
$3,484.97
Shipping & Handling:
$180.50
Tax:
$0.00

Total:
$3,665.47

http://www.fishonmarine.net/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=25666&CartID=1

http://www.fishonmarine.net/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=28909&CartID=2

http://www.fishonmarine.net/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=27040&CartID=3

now even if i add the 5% plus 10% it would still come under AUD$4,600?

to buy here in total is AUD$8048 over 3K savings.

does that sound right?

mik01
14-05-2008, 09:13 PM
that would be the free trade agreement with the usa . if claiming that you need a letter of proof of country of origin from the manufacturer and has a bit of advise when dealing with customs , do not expect any commonsense from anyone there . it simply does not exist .

if its a case where the agreement stipulates country of manufacture rather than country of export, then look closely as most electronics are manufactured in Asia.

your electronics would have to be manufactured in the US according to Marco's advice to avoid the duty.

Outsider1
14-05-2008, 09:51 PM
Hi Razgo,

Here is my calculation;

Item 1 $ 499.99
Item 2 $3,399.99
Item 3 $ 174.99

Sub -Total $ 4,074.97

P & H $ 180.50

Sub-Total $ 4,255.47

@92c = $ 4,625.51 AUD

add 5% duty $ 231.28

Sub-Total $ 4,486.75

add GST@10%$ 448.67

Total in AUD $ 4,935.42

So savings would be $3112.58 assuming exchange rate of 92c and cost to buy here of $8048 you quoted.

marco
15-05-2008, 02:53 AM
if its a case where the agreement stipulates country of manufacture rather than country of export, then look closely as most electronics are manufactured in Asia.

your electronics would have to be manufactured in the US according to Marco's advice to avoid the duty.

that is correct , i have just brought in a exspensive unit and had to jump all the hurdles to prove where it came from

LostNearBribie
15-05-2008, 07:37 AM
Here is an email I received from Pat this week.
Looks like for a little bit extra you can get a form of warranty also....

Hi Red,

Here is the pricing you asked for.

Humminbird 777C2 - $469.99 USD

http://www.fishonmarine.net/HUMMINBIRD_777C2_Fish_finder_Color_p/25122.htm <http://www.fishonmarine.net/HUMMINBIRD_777C2_Fish_finder_Color_p/25122.htm>

Shipping to via USPS Express Mail International Insured - $85.50 USD

Total - $555.49 USD, approximately $588.00 AUD

The Humminbird warranty is only valid in the . We now offer Service Contracts that would allow you to have your Humminbird serviced in , pay for the repair, and the Service Contract would reimburse you for the repair up to the value of the 777C2. Click here to view the details if you are interested, http://www.fishonmarine.net/REPAIRTECH_UP_TO_500_3_YEAR_EXTENDED_WARRANTY_p/32653.htm <http://www.fishonmarine.net/REPAIRTECH_UP_TO_500_3_YEAR_EXTENDED_WARRANTY_p/32653.htm> .

The shipment is fully insured for the full amount of the purchase. We also give you a full 30 day defective exchange and we pay half the shipping to ship you a new unit.

We are not a company that occasionally sells to . We are a company that is committed to our Australian Customers. We want our Australian customers just as happy as our customers. Our business is all about service.

To place your order just click on the above link and add the item to your cart, and checkout. The website will calculate shipping for you.

Thanks,
Pat Huffman

This still adds up to a 50% saving...

Razgo-
15-05-2008, 07:38 AM
Hi Razgo,

Here is my calculation;

Item 1 $ 499.99
Item 2 $3,399.99
Item 3 $ 174.99

Sub -Total $ 4,074.97

P & H $ 180.50

Sub-Total $ 4,255.47

@92c = $ 4,625.51 AUD

add 5% duty $ 231.28

Sub-Total $ 4,486.75

add GST@10%$ 448.67

Total in AUD $ 4,935.42

So savings would be $3112.58 assuming exchange rate of 92c and cost to buy here of $8048 you quoted.

I forgot to mention item 2 is actually $2889.99 USD , you don't see it until checkout.

I have also spoken to Pat via email and he confirmed the 5% plus 10% GST to add on total. I just don't know if customs send you a bill then they send it on to you?

russ

marco
15-05-2008, 03:55 PM
I forgot to mention item 2 is actually $2889.99 USD , you don't see it until checkout.

I have also spoken to Pat via email and he confirmed the 5% plus 10% GST to add on total. I just don't know if customs send you a bill then they send it on to you?

russ

yes customs send you a bill and paperwork that is a little confusing at first but you will work it out , basically fill out the credit card slip and a couple of pages of questions and they will send it on after they charge you . be patient though as they arent in a hurry

tednted
20-05-2008, 08:51 AM

High Fellas
I just completed a sale through www.#############.com (http://www.#############.com) in the states & they were another $300.00 cheaper than Pat at fishon. I found Pat a good communicator but at the end of the day he didnt offer me any further discount or a way around the import duty where as John at J & H got around that problem for me .Roydsy just email John & ask him
cheers Al

Razgo-
20-05-2008, 09:10 AM
are you sure about that?

garmin 5012 is cheaper at fishonmarine at $2,889

############# are dearer at $2,959

http://www.#############.com/_e/Garmin_Fixed_Mount_GPS/product/Garmin_GPSMAP_5012/Garmin_GPSMAP_5012_Display_010_00594_00.htm

But if i am not paying the 5% duty plus another 10%GST then yeah i would save a bit.

is it legal to avoid GST and Duty?

tednted
20-05-2008, 10:04 AM
are you sure about that?

garmin 5012 is cheaper at fishonmarine at $2,889

############# are dearer at $2,959

http://www.#############.com/_e/Garmin_Fixed_Mount_GPS/product/Garmin_GPSMAP_5012/Garmin_GPSMAP_5012_Display_010_00594_00.htm

But if i am not paying the 5% duty plus another 10%GST then yeah i would save a bit.

G'day Raz
mine only arrived yeterday & on this unit 520s combo, Airmar transducer with temp & speed G2vision card for the entire east coast of Aus I definately saved $300.00 + I still got the garmin transducer as well ,so now I have a spare. All told to my door $1020.00 Australian . from fish on same package was $1117.82 US gst + duty . Your spending a lot more money than I so all you can do is contact them & ask about the duty & wheter thats the best price they can do?
Cheers Al

20-05-2008, 10:37 AM

If you are buying electronic goods from the states and the transaction exceeds $1000 then it's illegal to avoid paying GST and duty....

tednted
20-05-2008, 11:11 AM
If you are buying electronic goods from the states and the transaction exceeds $1000 then it's illegal to avoid paying GST and duty....

Mate ,just my opinion but with a free trade agreement it is obscene that we should have to pay it . ::) ::)
but if you want to, go ahead ;) All I know is that I wont lose any sleep:-X
cheers Al

Razgo-
20-05-2008, 11:29 AM
G'day Raz
mine only arrived yeterday & on this unit 520s combo, Airmar transducer with temp & speed G2vision card for the entire east coast of Aus I definately saved $300.00 + I still got the garmin transducer as well ,so now I have a spare. All told to my door $1020.00 Australian . from fish on same package was $1117.82 US gst + duty . Your spending a lot more money than I so all you can do is contact them & ask about the duty & wheter thats the best price they can do?
Cheers Al

Hi, yes I have sent off an email with the products I want and will wait and see what price comes back. The speed of delivery interests me also if it doesn't have to go through customs first.

what Garmin transducer did you get? The GSD22 is probably an overkill but it looked like it might give off great detail.

Outsider1
20-05-2008, 11:39 AM
Mate ,just my opinion but with a free trade agreement it is obscene that we should have to pay it . ::) ::)
but if you want to, go ahead ;) All I know is that I wont lose any sleep:-X
cheers Al

I personally don't care what individuals decide to do on this. If they want to evade (as Kingtin pointed out it evading, not avoiding) the taxes, then that is their decision and the consequences are on their head.

But they better understand what they are risking, because if you get caught it won't be nice! Save your hundred dollars or so if you must, but understand you are risking thousands in the process. Not a very good risk/reward equation on my assessment.

This is a public forum, anyone can read it, or "google" it up to find it. If you don't think someone from Customs and Excise has not already read this and similar threads, you are kidding yourself. They might even be boaties and/or fisherman themselves!

I fail to see what GST and Free Trade have to do with each other?, the fact that there is a concession level of $1,000 even seems generous to me.

tednted
20-05-2008, 12:16 PM
You may well be right , & I can see where your comming from but fact is I didn't sign any declaration stating its value!!
So I'm not sure where I would be in trouble
cheers Al
Raz
I got the aimar P66 transducer wich has dual frequency with temp & speed sensors 200/50 khz& beamwidth 12/45 degres
cheers Al

marco
20-05-2008, 06:01 PM
You may well be right , & I can see where your comming from but fact is I didn't sign any declaration stating its value!!
So I'm not sure where I would be in trouble
cheers Al
Raz
I got the aimar P66 transducer wich has dual frequency with temp & speed sensors 200/50 khz& beamwidth 12/45 degres
cheers Al

raz,
customs treat you as the importer and therefore responsible for the documentation , if they pull your item and then ask you for proof of the value that is when you become liable if you lie to them .

dave was right about this stuff being said on a public forum and dont be surprised if anything sent by j and h products gets flagged with all this open talk about tax evasion .

some things are best left unsaid .

Razgo-
20-05-2008, 07:04 PM
How long does it normally take when customs send the bill? Like if it only takes 4 or 5 days to get here customs may add another few days? I am guessing I can pay over the phone when they send ? I think it would only save me around $600.00 if i didn't pay customs. But I am saving over $3,000 by buying garmin from fishonmarina which did take me by surprise.

it was another $2,000 for the garmin 5015 larger screen but didn't think it was worth it for another 2 inches.

marco
20-05-2008, 07:40 PM
How long does it normally take when customs send the bill? Like if it only takes 4 or 5 days to get here customs may add another few days?

man are you in for a shock , the last item i got customs got it march 16 and i received it april 24th .

that old saying about working in a iron lung comes to mind with customs ;D;D;D;D

marco
20-05-2008, 07:43 PM
to give you a bit more advice , if you are hoping to claim the free trade agreement with the usa you will need a letter from the manufacturer stating the country of origin of the product , im not sure about garmin stuff but if it is made in brazil and sold in the usa then no fta .

cehart
21-05-2008, 10:49 PM

Joe.

night

Would be interested to know where you bought it for $1075 not interested in the inducements shirt etc as the best I can find here through a Furuno dealer in that if I buy from an authorised dealer I have a better prospect for repairs through warranty if it goes pear shaped rather than a non dealer, local dealer is j n tayl@rs cost $1397 minus 5 - 6 % if you haggle if you’re lucky versus $950 delivered from a furuno dealer in the states i.e. three rivers marine.

If I could get it for $1075 it would be worth buying local but not for $1300 or there abouts, with the savings I could spend on other goodies.

But only from an authorised daeler.

levinge
25-05-2008, 08:54 AM
I have just received my units from Fishon and I have nothing but praise for Pat and his crew. Ordered two Eagle units which in Aust would have cost me the better side of 2K. Paid USD $1024 including the postage. Pat advised me that it would incur the wraith of Customs. Asked if the order could be split and had no probs doing it, cost me an extra USD $28 but still a big savings on what I would have had to pay in duty. The only difference was I had to wait a little longer for the items, just and extra week for the second unit to arrive. As for warranty I am quite a few hundred dollars ahead, so if a unit has to be repaired under warranty, I will gladly pay the postage back to Fishon and still be saving money.

If Aust Dealers were to be as competitive, I am sure that we would use them. In the end the mighty dollars will win, as others have stated, it lets us spend more dollars on the little things we wanted to put in the boat, but otherwise would not have been able to. Without Fishon being around. A+ Dealer with the best support communications and salemanship around.

25-05-2008, 08:58 AM
Picked up the boat yet , Levinge?

25-05-2008, 09:17 AM
I got a downrigger and BOMB!! sent from O/S only took 2 days to make it through Quaranteen from customs - straight to the head of the cue:)

levinge
25-05-2008, 10:05 AM
Going up to Mission Beach next Saturday to do all the custom fitout, should be about a week after that and I will be up there doing the Wet Test, all being good I'll be towing her home and ready for her first hard run for some Macks