View Full Version : GME Epirb warranty is fantastic
15-04-2008, 03:23 PM
must give a plug to GME for a fantastic no Quibbles warranty.
I had the last model that ran on 121 Mhz, GME MT300 and the battery was due for replacement in August of this year so I was preparing to outlay the $400.00 plus for the new 406 Mhz unit then.
I was a little shocked to find that there was a problem with the unit a few weeks back. When I tried the test function I found there to be no response from the unit.
I took it to GME in Brisbane for them to courier it to Sydney for testing as it is a prescribed dangerous good and cannot be posted.
A few days later I recieved a call from Sydney to say that the unit had a battery problem and questioned if it had been used in an emergency. The answer was negative and they said they would be in touch.
A few more days went by and then they rang again and say they will honour the warranty of the bettery life and replace the unit for me.
Today the Brisbane office rang and said the unit was in and I could pick it up.
To my surprise they have given me a new MT400, 406 Mhz unit in replacement of the old unit and I am over the moon.
I figured they may have given me an old 300 unit with a battery to take me past the date of the other unit or even a 10 or 20 percent discount on a new 406 Mhz unit. But this has shown me that there are companies out there that still honour there warranties in a no quibbles way. Top marks to GME
http://www.#######.com/modules/Forums/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif
Holden could do well to take a leaf out of the GME warranty book
BaitThrower
15-04-2008, 03:28 PM
And see, good customer service is well worth while, even if it costs them a few extra dollars... Look at the good publicity they will get from your post now :)
HYJACK
15-04-2008, 03:48 PM
G'day Angla,
What A Fantastic Outcome. Once Again It Is Great To See That There Is Such Athing As Great Service Still Around. Congrads To Gme!
Hyjack
15-04-2008, 06:31 PM
Angla, that has to be beyond the call of warranty :(
Outsider1
15-04-2008, 06:34 PM
GME are an Australian Company too. They have always had a great reputation for their products.
15-04-2008, 09:07 PM
Guess what? They are tied in with GARMIN too.
They do Navigation for Boats, Cars, Bikes, Bushwalkers. And Fishfinders too. Warranty has to be something they can pride themselves on hopefully as they have proven with me.
I have noticed my 27 meg radio is a GME product and my VHF radio is a GME product too.
They have to be a pretty big australian company
They have obviously won my vote
Hamish73
15-04-2008, 09:17 PM
I've also been looked after well by GME with Garmin warranty claims.
Until I discovered ram mounts, the vibration from by road and dirt bikes was taking its toll on my handheld GPS units, no questions asked, just fixed.
On the other tack, it is disappointing that yiour epirb wasnt working. Lucky you didnt really need it :-/
15-04-2008, 10:14 PM
Hamish, I should have checked the thing before I went on the water and not while I was on the water. It only takes a second but then so does the bung........
Local_Guy
15-04-2008, 10:44 PM
do you really beleive that it would cost more to make a 406mhz over the old 121mhz one.
i don't think so... it's a conspiracy.
they are charging over $400 for this unit "because everyone will need one as of next year"... it's like a get rich quick scheme.
wait till mid or the end of next year and watch the price plummit for the new EPIRB.
Hamish73
16-04-2008, 06:35 AM
do you really beleive that it would cost more to make a 406mhz over the old 121mhz one.
i don't think so... it's a conspiracy.
they are charging over $400 for this unit "because everyone will need one as of next year"... it's like a get rich quick scheme.
wait till mid or the end of next year and watch the price plummit for the new EPIRB.
Yes I think the price will drop within years to come. I assume that the R&D cost would be pretty high. We arent talking about a bit of electronics where it acceptable if the thing fails every year. If your theory was correct I think you would find other manufacturers to be cheaper.
The bit that intrested me was the price of epirbs in the states, much dearer than in aus
Taroona
16-04-2008, 12:39 PM
I bought my MT400 from Whitworth marine last year while they had the Santcuary Cove Boat show special on last year for around the $360 mark I think it was. They don't have a stand at the boat show so they have a discount period that coincides with the boat show.
northernblue
16-04-2008, 06:52 PM
My MT-400 was purchased in Nov 2004 $600. I think they were hot off the design/production line.
$360 nearly 4 years later seems pretty reasonable.
SatNav
16-04-2008, 07:15 PM
"do you really beleive that it would cost more to make a 406mhz over the old 121mhz one. i don't think so... it's a conspiracy."
1. Conspiracy? What evidence do have to support that statement?
2. Considering a 406 model also includes 121.5mhz the conspiracy comment is really quite a strange comment? Maybe from someone would does not understand the technology?
Local_Guy
16-04-2008, 08:09 PM
1. Conspiracy? What evidence do have to support that statement?
2. Considering a 406 model also includes 121.5mhz the conspiracy comment is really quite a strange comment? Maybe from someone would does not understand the technology?
it's a conspiracy theory, i don't need evidence to support my statement.
lets assume like fish finders that there is only about $150 markup on a $1500 unit. so roughly 10% is markup... do you really beleive that it's going to cost the company $400 to make each unit that sells for $480 when computers and machines do all the work. of course not.
it probably costs them $50. probably not even that.
Hamish73
16-04-2008, 08:43 PM
it's a conspiracy theory, i don't need evidence to support my statement.
lets assume like fish finders that there is only about $150 markup on a $1500 unit. so roughly 10% is markup... do you really beleive that it's going to cost the company $400 to make each unit that sells for $480 when computers and machines do all the work. of course not.
it probably costs them $50. probably not even that.
I'm not really sure of your theory either.
Fish finders and other electronics go through an extra set of hands (importer) than the GME products.
When we can buy fishfinders in the US retail for about 1/2 the australian retail price, I would assume that there is about a massive markup from manufacturer to final user, prabably about 200-300%
SatNav
16-04-2008, 08:53 PM
1. Perhaps we should be talking about stupid theories instead of stupid comparisons.
2. A fish finder does not have the capability to save your life like a 406 epirb
3. A 406 is a 121.5 and 406 in the one unit
4. The 406 gives almost instant notification AND verification of a problem
5. New model batteries have increased life of around 7 years compared to the old 5 years
6. A 406 is actually designed to be tracked "properly" by satellite, a 121.5 was never designed to do this
7. A 121.5 cost around 230 odd dollars and yet some are complaining about the cost of a 406 at 360 to 400 $$
8. Yes you do need evidence to support your stupid misinformed statement
Local_Guy
16-04-2008, 09:28 PM
who said i was misinformed. i was merely stating my opinion. why do people have problems with other peoples opinion on this site.
but the older EPIRBS can be picked up for $50. not 230 odd dollars.
i'm not going to continue this. you don't want to view my point of view, only yours which you deem 100% corrent, so i'm wasting my breath.
SatNav
16-04-2008, 09:54 PM
1. $50 for 9 months service, $230 for 5 years service, Yes you are being ripped off paying $50 for something that is second hand and outdated even at this point in time.
2. You were not asked to justify your opinion, you were asked to provide evidence to support your stupid conspiracy statement, there is a difference between those two.
3. You can either not continue this and not try and justify you conspiracy statement or perhaps in the first place not made such a stupid statement which you can't justify anyway
4. The choice is your's really
17-04-2008, 07:02 PM
Local Guy, I will try and explain it rationally for you. I used to design and manufacture electronics for a living.
When you design a new product, it costs a lot more than most people think. First up you have development costs. This consists of intitial development, prototyping. The cost here alone is significant, especially if you have to trash a design and start from scratch. Once you have finished prototyping and proofing, you need to make your product market ready. This means your device needs to be approved by relevant bodies. Being a saftey device these costs are huge. If they find a fault, you may have to go back to the start again. In this whole iterative process is tooling costs. To make a mould for the plastic case might cost $100k per part, if your case needs many parts, add them in too. There is also tooling cost for manufacturing the circuit board, and tooling cost for assembly of the circuit board.
Now once you have the device at a market ready state, you start manufacturing. This process will find faults that need redesign. Once you start shipping units you find faults that are only found when devices are used in realistic environments. SO now you need to factor in the cost of warantee repairs and replacement. Futhermore you need to factor in the cost of litigation (insurance is not cheap as we all know).
So why is the 121Mhz so cheap? There is a break even point when manufacturing. You need to sink the cost of millions of dollars of development and approvals. Your estimated break even point might require you to sell 1 million devices. Once you have acheived this, your product is stable and you can start reducing costs. To make it economical to manufacture, you need to mass produce. If you have 50,000 devices in a warehouse that will be useless in 2 years then your best bet is flog them off to cover expenses.
So given time the cost will be reduced. I hope that helps, its a shame others have to resort to insults rather than providing real information.
bluefin59
17-04-2008, 07:35 PM
Thanks for that realandy what you say makes a lot more sense than some rude obnoxious statment that some other so called experts contribute ,thanks again andy i am sure we all appreciate it....matt
Local_Guy
17-04-2008, 09:43 PM
self deleted post
17-04-2008, 10:20 PM
i know your directing that comment at me, but where the hell did i mention i was an expert.
like i first said in my post... it's a conspiracy theory, it's a bit of fun and i'm allowed my opinion, not to be shot down by every wanab out there.
Mate it was not aimed at you.
17-04-2008, 10:38 PM
Isn't it good how a company gives a struggling fisho a good bit of aussie warranty.
What are you others on about . You could start your own thread you know.
SatNav
18-04-2008, 07:40 AM
"Isn't it good how a company gives a struggling fisho a good bit of aussie warranty."
1. Yes that's not bad warranty, backup and support
2. Unfortuneately the conspiracy theorists had to raise issues which as usual they can't support or even attempt to support
3. Even worse there are those that then initially talk some sense but as usual throw in the snide attitude poor punch line
4. I have enough confidence in what I say to be able to support everything I say without having to resort to this poor attitude as displayed by RealAndy and bluefin59.
5. Oh so the adamant conspiracy statement was a bit of fun? Was it now?
HYJACK
18-04-2008, 08:19 AM
Seem to be getting off the topic here. 121 epirbs are finished in feb 2009 the frequency will be turned off. thats why 121's are so cheap cause retailers have to get rid of their stock and they only have a life of 10months!!!!! come feb next year you can activate your 121 but you will be waiting a long time! itz just the classic story of analogue vs digital! where throwing away analogue and going to digital!
Hyjack
SatNav
18-04-2008, 08:39 AM
1. I would be more inclined to say 121.5 epirb detection lost full functionality some time ago.
2. Several countries have already mandated the non use of 121.5 epirbs for this and other reasons.
HYJACK
18-04-2008, 10:16 AM
IM SORRY TO SAY SAT NAV BUT 121 IS STILL BEING MONITORED IN AUSTRALIA AND WILL BE UNTIL FEB 2009! and people can check this with Marintime Safety Queesnland
Hyjack
QF3 MROCP
18-04-2008, 10:39 AM
Angla:
"To my surprise they have given me a new MT400, 406 Mhz unit in replacement of the old unit and I am over the moon."
Just remember to register the unit with AMSA to get your MMSI (identification) number. Have a look on : http://beacons.amsa.gov.au
SatNav
18-04-2008, 11:21 AM
"IM SORRY TO SAY SAT NAV BUT 121 IS STILL BEING MONITORED IN AUSTRALIA AND WILL BE UNTIL FEB 2009!"
1. I'm sorry to say that is not what I said, was it? Did not mention anything about not being monitored? Did I?
2. I said 121.5 detection has lost full functionality, there is not the same number of satellites monitoring 121.5 has there has been in past years.
3. Hence 121.5 detection is not at full strength or capability as it was several years ago
HYJACK
18-04-2008, 12:16 PM
"IM SORRY TO SAY SAT NAV BUT 121 IS STILL BEING MONITORED IN AUSTRALIA AND WILL BE UNTIL FEB 2009!"
1. I'm sorry to say that is not what I said, was it? Did not mention anything about not being monitored? Did I?
2. I said 121.5 detection has lost full functionality, there is not the same number of satellites monitoring 121.5 has there has been in past years.
3. Hence 121.5 detection is not at full strength or capability as it was several years ago
A little contradiction there. You say its lost full functionality but then say its not at full strength. however it must just be my reading.
Hyjack
bluefin59
18-04-2008, 04:10 PM
"Isn't it good how a company gives a struggling fisho a good bit of aussie warranty."
1. Yes that's not bad warranty, backup and support
2. Unfortuneately the conspiracy theorists had to raise issues which as usual they can't support or even attempt to support
3. Even worse there are those that then initially talk some sense but as usual throw in the snide attitude poor punch line
4. I have enough confidence in what I say to be able to support everything I say without having to resort to this poor attitude as displayed by RealAndy and bluefin59.
5. Oh so the adamant conspiracy statement was a bit of fun? Was it now?
Perhaps if you wern't such a condersending p##ck you wouldn't cop a bit of attitude similar to what you give ,so far anything that you have offered hasn't proved you are any sort of expert it's all available [without attitude ] if you look on the net . Just leave the attitude out would be nice..;D ;D ;D ;D matt
18-04-2008, 04:51 PM
Angla:
"To my surprise they have given me a new MT400, 406 Mhz unit in replacement of the old unit and I am over the moon."
Just remember to register the unit with AMSA to get your MMSI (identification) number. Have a look on : http://beacons.amsa.gov.au
Thanks Peter, I cam home and registered it the next day by fax.
QF3 MROCP
18-04-2008, 09:21 PM
Thanks Peter, I cam home and registered it the next day by fax.
I started another thread titled "Pizza Ovens and Automatic Teller Machines lost at Sea" - have a look at it. It covers the other side of the story as to why it's happening.. The Change is Coming.....
HYJACK
18-04-2008, 11:10 PM
Well Done Bluefin59 I Thought It Was Just Me!!!!! ;d