View Full Version : So , How was (is) your barra season
Hi all you barra fishoes ( & fellow I.B.D sufferers) ..
... As we approach winter & the more traditional end to the barra season ( Yes , some clued ups or desperadoes;D will still fish .... & succeed during winter:P )
I'm thinking ...... Time for a little stock taking , soul searching & review
How did you all go over the past 6-8 months ?
Was it good for you:)
Did those strong SE winds that seemed to have been blowing for months affect your results .... or keep you off the water
The big influx of fresh ...... How it changed your favorite locations!
The fish kills:'( ..... Callide eg ...... Did you avoid going there?
Also ..... what did you learn? ,,,,, Tackle , tactics , techniques ..... Are the barra getting angler wise ?
& most importantly memories, big fish , funny moments , the one that got away!
Yeh .. , So I'm curious to hear your thoughts ( it also helps with my I.B.D);D
Nagg
Hi all you barra fishoes ( & fellow I.B.D sufferers) ..
... As we approach winter & the more traditional end to the barra season ( Yes , some clued ups or desperadoes;D will still fish .... & succeed during winter:P )
I'm thinking ...... Time for a little stock taking , soul searching & review
How did you all go over the past 6-8 months ?
Was it good for you:)
Did those strong SE winds that seemed to have been blowing for months affect your results .... or keep you off the water
The big influx of fresh ...... How it changed your favorite locations!
The fish kills:'( ..... Callide eg ...... Did you avoid going there?
Also ..... what did you learn? ,,,,, Tackle , tactics , techniques ..... Are the barra getting angler wise ?
& most importantly memories, big fish , funny moments , the one that got away!
Yeh .. , So I'm curious to hear your thoughts ( it also helps with my I.B.D);D
Nagg
Cant complain I spose. I only fished Mondy this season, hopefully still a couple of trips to go before I put the gear away for a couple of months.
Its been interesting watching the dam change from 17% water level, red hot fishing in the sticks up at H back in October/November, to 38% after the rain, and a bit of a struggle to consistantly find fish.
I learnt that the weather report ISNT the be all and end all when it comes to impoundment barra, had some great fishing in really crap conditions, with only so so water temps.
All my lures are now sporting up-graded splits and owner trebles, and Ive gone to 80 leader, seems to have reduced the number of rub offs on structure and lost fish. Im rigging more and more HB's with only front and rear oversize trebles hanging off double splits, pretty happy with the way thats working out.
As a self confessed tackle rat, Ive brought some new toys this summer, a couple of flash Daiwa reels and an Egrell rod, still to be christened.
Memories, big fish, funny moments?? - great to fish with my mates, beers and laughs, loved putting my bro onto his first big girl, discovered flicking lures and getting smashed in the dark, spent a bit of time watching in amazement at some of the antics carried out by some people who obviously dont spend a lot of time on the water, nor respect the enviroment they are in, solo fishing, just me and my thoughts for company for a couple of days, really lets you appreciate how good it can be.
Yeah, cant complain I spose
brian
Gordie
12-04-2008, 06:12 PM
Hi NAGG hope you are feeling better.
I only had 2 trips to Monduran in the last 8 months. I saw the results of the big chill. Saw some sleeply fish in the shallows.
I still managed to get smashed a few times they were not all asleep.
Second trip I started getting smashed again ( I am a slow learner ) Back to the park and re-rigged down along the fence.
50 B with 80 leader. Started catching them them then. Some tossed the lures at me. I caught a catfish that would have touched 90 cm.
I like to pull in quitely and walk the shores or climb a hill and do a bit of spoting then cast the likely spots (no trees preferably). It will be interesting to see how I will land a fish through the weed.
That may not be a problem with the extra water level.
As I was packing up from the last camp a non fishing wife near by informed me her husband had caught 12 in the time I was there and in the latter part of his good run he took his 5 year old daughter out and she caught her first Barra.
Most of his haul came from right up top, I think that is H with out checking my maps.
Wife and I are going soon so we will put our report in.
Have you ever had a go for the Bass around Penrith. The boys at the Australian Bass Angler were very helpful to me. We were down there for family so not a lot of time to give it a go.
Regards Gordon
BARRAkid
12-04-2008, 06:22 PM
Fished monduran for no fish fish local area around hervey bay for a dozen barra (so fare) they are stiill feeding well i got 1 about 75cm 4 days ago and lost 3 big ones 2 days ago.
not as good as last season yet i got 14 last season but only started fishing for them at the end of march.
12-04-2008, 06:51 PM
Last 4 months = 15 hours over 3 trips, pretty solid casting, results = one tap with flash from a saltwater rat.
Tis demoralising...
Hi NAGG hope you are feeling better.
I only had 2 trips to Monduran in the last 8 months. I saw the results of the big chill. Saw some sleeply fish in the shallows.
I still managed to get smashed a few times they were not all asleep.
Second trip I started getting smashed again ( I am a slow learner ) Back to the park and re-rigged down along the fence.
50 B with 80 leader. Started catching them them then. Some tossed the lures at me. I caught a catfish that would have touched 90 cm.
I like to pull in quitely and walk the shores or climb a hill and do a bit of spoting then cast the likely spots (no trees preferably). It will be interesting to see how I will land a fish through the weed.
That may not be a problem with the extra water level.
As I was packing up from the last camp a non fishing wife near by informed me her husband had caught 12 in the time I was there and in the latter part of his good run he took his 5 year old daughter out and she caught her first Barra.
Most of his haul came from right up top, I think that is H with out checking my maps.
Wife and I are going soon so we will put our report in.
Have you ever had a go for the Bass around Penrith. The boys at the Australian Bass Angler were very helpful to me. We were down there for family so not a lot of time to give it a go.
Regards Gordon
Gordon .... I'm a born & bred Penrith boy::)
I actually put up a report a few months ago ( Nepean River) ...... 16 hours on the water for 1 BAS ( I couldn't even give it the other S .... as it was so small:( ;D )
but it is a nice stretch of water8-)
Nagg
Last 4 months = 15 hours over 3 trips, pretty solid casting, results = one tap with flash from a saltwater rat.
Tis demoralising...
:'( :'( :'( ..... 15 hours! ..... Thats only 1 days fishin;) ...... Go to the blackboard & write 100 times ..... "I must try harder"
Nagg
rc@hinze
12-04-2008, 07:11 PM
Well Nagg,I am not the most experienced barra fisher but here goes.
Started the season well at Awoonga in September but recent trip to Monduran not as succesful but learnt alot.In the daytime at Awoonga I found trolling deeper using a down rigger definatly helped in the main basin. I found I couldnt employ this tactic at Monduran due to all the submerged trees I lost lures on in normal trolling.
My new T-Curve 5-10kg was an excellent casting rod with my daiwa spinning reel -it was a great combo. My Revo baitcaster was a great reel for playing fish on.
Learnt the importance of using GPS for a more relaxing trip home in the dark and learnt that trolling at night definatly seemed to get more hits.
At both dams I learnt that you can get fish in southeasters.
One other really handy thing was that a red LED in my headlamp doesnt attack bugs in the trees at night at Monduran!
Tropicaltrout
12-04-2008, 07:13 PM
I know the story gordon of the wife and the 5 year old girl too well???;D
It was a great season so far one more trip to go, The Meet and Greet. Next summer I have been prommissed double time, with a two weeker to kick off.
I met many a good bloke and met some from ausfish too I also made some life long friends aswell.
I did Fish Mondy this summer and passed the split trip to awoonga to focus on this fantastic dam.
I had some great success over the first 8 day trip with some real big fish coming boat side but what was becoming my addiction was simply hooking them, Its a that first hit and run when you dont have a bit of controll i reaped for it and thought that trip I was having a ripper.
I nailed my pb for aswell 115 cm
The highlight as was mention by gordon was my little girl getting her first barra and yep it was a metery.;)
For the next trip the water had doubled and fishing would be a new game so to speak and with the last five fish taken over the magic meter I was reeling for it all over again, with the end tally of 7 fish in a row over the meter all flicking bar one.
The best part was the place, Monduran is a fantastic place once you hit the water and shoot up bass straight throught B you are totally drawn in by it tranquility, and reflections were just superb.
Monduran draws some wonderful people and the facilities provided at the camp is the beginning of many a tale and the begining of many a friendship, Greg, Bruce, Simon, Brian, Craig, Foxie and many more.
Cheers to the stocking groups that make it what it is for us
To next trip cheers Nath
12-04-2008, 07:27 PM
:'( :'( :'( ..... 15 hours! ..... Thats only 1 days fishin;) ...... Go to the blackboard & write 100 times ..... "I must try harder"
Nagg
LOL Yeah you are right:-[, think I will now go stand in the corner.8-)
Tis demoralising...
Yeah but the company was teriffic LOL,
Atleast you had a flash:-[ ,
Dan........
12-04-2008, 07:47 PM
Dan........
Yes Dan, loads better than the fishing:-[
and at least you caught one!
Well Nagg,I am not the most experienced barra fisher but here goes.
Started the season well at Awoonga in September but recent trip to Monduran not as succesful but learnt alot.In the daytime at Awoonga I found trolling deeper using a down rigger definatly helped in the main basin. I found I couldnt employ this tactic at Monduran due to all the submerged trees I lost lures on in normal trolling.
My new T-Curve 5-10kg was an excellent casting rod with my daiwa spinning reel -it was a great combo. My Revo baitcaster was a great reel for playing fish on.
Learnt the importance of using GPS for a more relaxing trip home in the dark and learnt that trolling at night definatly seemed to get more hits.
At both dams I learnt that you can get fish in southeasters.
One other really handy thing was that a red LED in my headlamp doesnt attack bugs in the trees at night at Monduran!
Go to the head of the class with that tip! ....... But can you actually see anything?
I tried a red LED on my boat ...... & :-/
Nagg
I know the story gordon of the wife and the 5 year old girl too well???;D
It was a great season so far one more trip to go, The Meet and Greet. Next summer I have been prommissed double time, with a two weeker to kick off.
I met many a good bloke and met some from ausfish too I also made some life long friends aswell.
I did Fish Mondy this summer and passed the split trip to awoonga to focus on this fantastic dam.
I had some great success over the first 8 day trip with some real big fish coming boat side but what was becoming my addiction was simply hooking them, Its a that first hit and run when you dont have a bit of controll i reaped for it and thought that trip I was having a ripper.
I nailed my pb for aswell 115 cm
The highlight as was mention by gordon was my little girl getting her first barra and yep it was a metery.;)
For the next trip the water had doubled and fishing would be a new game so to speak and with the last five fish taken over the magic meter I was reeling for it all over again, with the end tally of 7 fish in a row over the meter all flicking bar one.
The best part was the place, Monduran is a fantastic place once you hit the water and shoot up bass straight throught B you are totally drawn in by it tranquility, and reflections were just superb.
Monduran draws some wonderful people and the facilities provided at the camp is the beginning of many a tale and the begining of many a friendship, Greg, Bruce, Simon, Brian, Craig, Foxie and many more.
Cheers to the stocking groups that make it what it is for us
To next trip cheers Nath
I've gotto say ...... I enjoyed my 4 days that I spent at Mondy 8-) i'm certainly looking forward to time spent there later this year & 2009, 10 , 11 & 12
Cheers & thanks Nath
Nagg
LOL Yeah you are right:-[, think I will now go stand in the corner.8-)
At least you can admit it FNQ ...... Thats the first step to recovery!
Dan........
Dan ..... Every looser says that ! ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) Nagg
Steve B
12-04-2008, 08:24 PM
I have been thinking about this one for today and wasn't really sure what to write.
Personally I have been dissapointed with my season. Previous year was better for me numbers wise. This year was better size and knowledge wise. I refined a few tactics....but failed to explore new possibilites when I had the chance. I will now have to this through the difficult winter season....this might be benefitial, time will tell.
August 2007...spectacular
Sept07 ....again spectacular
Oct 07....Above average...not as good as it could have been for me, refining tactics needed. New baby boy in the middle of barra season slowed things up from here!!!
Nov... good, concentrated on ABT..satisfied with outcome from ABT awoonga and Monduran for first attempt at the southern tour.
Dec...crap
Jan....worse
Feb.....worserer.. boat was for sale. then I landed a fish....boat not for sale!
March.....about 10 hookups.....0 fish....looking for bananas under the deck. Foxie had about the same luck thru this 3 month period.
April.....went to Awoonga (thought my curse may have been limited to Monduran).....WRONG. Zero fish from a few hookups.
Basically 2008 is off to a terrible start!! But, you never saw Makabe Diva win races in april!!!!!;)
cheers steve
Mak579
12-04-2008, 08:26 PM
I still don't understand why the general populace "put the rods away" when chasing barra over winter. IMHO impoundment barra are an all year round proposition.
Just my thoughts,
Matt C
Steve B
12-04-2008, 08:33 PM
Too right Matt. More satisfying too. Less crowds, Might be a good time to try new tactics and lures. If they work in winter, chances are they will produce more in spring and summer.
I have been thinking about this one for today and wasn't really sure what to write.
Personally I have been dissapointed with my season. Previous year was better for me numbers wise. This year was better size and knowledge wise. I refined a few tactics....but failed to explore new possibilites when I had the chance. I will now have to this through the difficult winter season....this might be benefitial, time will tell.
August 2007...spectacular
Sept07 ....again spectacular
Oct 07....Above average...not as good as it could have been for me, refining tactics needed. New baby boy in the middle of barra season slowed things up from here!!!
Nov... good, concentrated on ABT..satisfied with outcome from ABT awoonga and Monduran for first attempt at the southern tour.
Dec...crap
Jan....worse
Feb.....worserer.. boat was for sale. then I landed a fish....boat not for sale!
March.....about 10 hookups.....0 fish....looking for bananas under the deck. Foxie had about the same luck thru this 3 month period.
April.....went to Awoonga (thought my curse may have been limited to Monduran).....WRONG. Zero fish from a few hookups.
Basically 2008 is off to a terrible start!! But, you never saw Makabe Diva win races in april!!!!!;)
cheers steve
Hey Steve ...... When I started to write this post ...... I sought of had you in mind ... in one way( sorry)
Was it a case of the Influx ..... raining on your parade ( so to speak) ...... I guess it would have been such a huge change for your fishery:(
Thanks for the honesty
PS Makybe Diva .... is off having babies too:oops:
I still don't understand why the general populace "put the rods away" when chasing barra over winter. IMHO impoundment barra are an all year round proposition.
Just my thoughts,
Matt C
Matt ..... Thats why I said clued up anglers ( Impoundment barra dont migrate north for the winter ....... (even though they probably would like too)
I reckon it would be fun .... fishing in ultra shallow water for Barra8-)
Nagg
rc@hinze
12-04-2008, 09:07 PM
Nagg, the headlamp has its first LED as red and it is fine for doing general stuff within the boat. Especially good for looking at the foot pedal controls for the bowmount at night in the trees.
With the mention of winter fishing and many recent articles about it, I would be interested to know also how many guys are planning a barra trip away this winter to an impoundment?
Regards Gordon
[quote=Tropicaltrout;800150]I know the story gordon of the wife and the 5 year old girl too well???;D
To next trip cheers Nath
Gordon, if that is the same weekend as Nath is talking bout, we were up there at the same time, had the tent up next to the top camp kitchen, H was red hot, and so was Nathan. It wasnt only her first barra, it was meter plus to boot, the liitle scamp, near broke me cause at that stage I hadnt netted a meter girl, though the crew had a couple.
Nagg, another fine thread mate, good stuff
brian
Nagg, the headlamp has its first LED as red and it is fine for doing general stuff within the boat. Especially good for looking at the foot pedal controls for the bowmount at night in the trees.
With the mention of winter fishing and many recent articles about it, I would be interested to know also how many guys are planning a barra trip away this winter to an impoundment?
me, if the winter highs play the game
Steve B
12-04-2008, 09:20 PM
Chris, actually my wife having our second bub 5 weeks early in October did give me a big fright. All good and healthy now, but naturally it was a worry at the time, and fishing was the last thing on my mind. Money for MY toys has been relocated to house and baby stuff lately:-[.
Work commitments, 2 kids under 2 years old, wife had a knee reconstruction during my holidays in Feb, moving house ect have all played their part.
But mainly just a lack of serious effort and commitment latley have been the major problem. My preparation has been pretty ordinary and I really haven't been committed. I have ACTUALLY enjoyed my fishing just as much with mates etc. Appreciating the relax, unwind and a few beers. I am fortunate enough to be so close to the dam......there is always another day to get serious.!!:D:D
No point peaking too early in the year;). I have some major tackle overhauls planned for winter, and hopefully some new lures and ideas too. I will get serious then!
cheers steve
For me ..... the past 6 months have been a revelation!
Impoundment barra ..... were always a novelty that broke a big trip to NQ up.
Never taken seriously .... even though my biggest fish have all come from impoundments! ...... There was just something about taking barra in the salt ( mangroves)
Last Oct ... We decided ( on the run) to spend more time at the impoundments on our way back from Hinchinbrook ( the weather was shite) ..... I dropped a couple at Faust ....... We caught some at Teemburra ( magnificent waterway) ...... & did no good at Monduran ( a PB bass though) ....... but we ( Whitey & I ) both agreed that there was something about these Impoundments ........ We had to get back
Well we did in March ........ Expectations were met8-)
Looking back on my time at Faust , Teemburra , Monduran & Awoonga ..... I feel that I've learnt so much.
Tackle ..... It seemed all so .. cliche .... about the need to upgrade etc ...... But its true! quality rods & reels ( specialties for Timber & point work!) , Upgrade the trebles of lures ( ST-66s or X-S21) ...... + Sps ( slick rigs) ..... 60lb leaders ... Blah! when they are broken in 30 sec flat !
Stealth ....... The biggest single factor ........ be it casting as long as you can .... or sitting on an anchor & casting for hours
Use the conditions .....dont run from them! .... It might not be as comfortable , but its effective!
Be flexible ..... Try different tactics , techniques... & methods
The appreciation of an Iconic Australian Fish ....... The Barra8-) :) :thumbsup: :iloveyou:
Finally ...... The people that I have met along the way! ..... The best! ..... Several Ausfishers herabouts8-)
So for me ..... Its been great in more ways than I could imagine!
I.B.D ...... Hmmm .... as I sit here in Sydney:(.... Planning my next assult:P
Nagg
all that Chris, plus our beer, when did you say you were moveing up????
brian
I wired in a red LED ... hoping that it would be enough ( yes it illuminated the cockpit) ..... but you wont tie hooks by it:(
Mate ..... I'm going to try to get up to Awoonga / Monduran during winter!
Nagg
all that Chris, plus our beer, when did you say you were moveing up????
brian
Chrissy for sure! ...... now that we have employed a lass to take over from me in Sydney ....... i'll try to convince the boss that I really need to relocate by November:P
Can anyone tell me when the ABT barra tour starts ;)
Nagg
Chris, actually my wife having our second bub 5 weeks early in October did give me a big fright. All good and healthy now, but naturally it was a worry at the time, and fishing was the last thing on my mind. Money for MY toys has been relocated to house and baby stuff lately:-[.
Work commitments, 2 kids under 2 years old, wife had a knee reconstruction during my holidays in Feb, moving house ect have all played their part.
But mainly just a lack of serious effort and commitment latley have been the major problem. My preparation has been pretty ordinary and I really haven't been committed. I have ACTUALLY enjoyed my fishing just as much with mates etc. Appreciating the relax, unwind and a few beers. I am fortunate enough to be so close to the dam......there is always another day to get serious.!!:D:D
No point peaking too early in the year;). I have some major tackle overhauls planned for winter, and hopefully some new lures and ideas too. I will get serious then!
cheers steve
Steve ..... i'm glad to hear that you are helping to establish the next generation of barra enthusiasts ..... & importantly things are well! (love the photo of your little one at the helm)
Fishing with mates is gold! ...... specially if you kick their butts:P ;)
Ahhhhhhh your proximity:smash:
you better let us all know of your overhauls!!!! ...... I love this stuff
TinarooTriumph
13-04-2008, 09:29 AM
Well... where do I start? Spent some huge hours on the water... results were hard to come by on some days but we had nights where every fish in Tinaroo was after our presentations. For me it was the case of the one's that got away... dropped alot of big fish, as well as having some sessions on the water where you won't see a fish but will get 6 or 7 goooood bites from fish. It goes either way sometimes... bites are definetely encouraging at times up here. Truthfully, I have had 3 rub off's from 110+cm fish in the last month, as well as lazy hook setting late last year (dropped 3 meteries in one night!). Lost a fish due to chaffing on Friday lunchtime... Weedless soft plastic fished on 50lb 10X... got 2 looks at him (nice fish... 110'er) and that was it. These fish are telling me what Im doing wrong and I know what to do so the scores are settled. Standing on a casting deck for 7 or 8hrs for a few touches and then your concentration lapses... they know when to strike don't they? Bloody teasers! Caught alot of rats over the last few months (rediculous amount... maybe 8 or 9 under 70cm). My new PB of 108 on Tango Dancer was fun to say the least, however it seems that every time I tie on a certain 'plastic' that PB looks like being shattered! Best fish I saw caught was a 126cm fish off the bank on a Rapala Skitterpop, as well as a 123cm which was sucked off the surface (gotta love that sound!). Best fish I saw was Joe's 135 and Matt's gutso of 127. Also saw a pic of a young bloke who was fishing landbased off 'Downfall' and pulled a 122... fella was 14yrs old and the fish was easily 3/4 of the kids bodyweight! Gotta love it!
Still after that 100lb'er... it will come I know it!
Theo
Steve B
13-04-2008, 01:36 PM
Theo, if there is a 100lber in there you (or Barraboss) would be the likely candidates to get it. !!! That horse of barrabosses would have to be the fish of the season from any dam IMHO. Closely followed by that Keg with fins that Brian (BR65 aviator) caught!
cheers steve
the_matrix
13-04-2008, 04:08 PM
:o Theres one you didnt see Steve.
Tinaroo monster:o :o
Jas
would like to see that Jas, Matts (barraboss) 127 was an absolute beast, are we talking over 130???
brian
the_matrix
13-04-2008, 07:55 PM
Yeh 135 from the email Navi sent me.
Very skinny, long fish. Matts would have been 10kg heavier I reckon.
Bloody impressive, and from a guy who's quiet and not looking for the spotlight.
One hell of a long fish, and if it was 135, would be the longest impoundment barra on record.
Awesome hey!
Jas
Steve B
13-04-2008, 08:03 PM
Jas Thanks for that.
Yep, that is a big long fish alright!!! Ok, Its in my top THREE fish for the season !!!!!;D
steve
Well... where do I start? Spent some huge hours on the water... results were hard to come by on some days but we had nights where every fish in Tinaroo was after our presentations. For me it was the case of the one's that got away... dropped alot of big fish, as well as having some sessions on the water where you won't see a fish but will get 6 or 7 goooood bites from fish. It goes either way sometimes... bites are definetely encouraging at times up here. Truthfully, I have had 3 rub off's from 110+cm fish in the last month, as well as lazy hook setting late last year (dropped 3 meteries in one night!). Lost a fish due to chaffing on Friday lunchtime... Weedless soft plastic fished on 50lb 10X... got 2 looks at him (nice fish... 110'er) and that was it. These fish are telling me what Im doing wrong and I know what to do so the scores are settled. Standing on a casting deck for 7 or 8hrs for a few touches and then your concentration lapses... they know when to strike don't they? Bloody teasers! Caught alot of rats over the last few months (rediculous amount... maybe 8 or 9 under 70cm). My new PB of 108 on Tango Dancer was fun to say the least, however it seems that every time I tie on a certain 'plastic' that PB looks like being shattered! Best fish I saw caught was a 126cm fish off the bank on a Rapala Skitterpop, as well as a 123cm which was sucked off the surface (gotta love that sound!). Best fish I saw was Joe's 135 and Matt's gutso of 127. Also saw a pic of a young bloke who was fishing landbased off 'Downfall' and pulled a 122... fella was 14yrs old and the fish was easily 3/4 of the kids bodyweight! Gotta love it!
Still after that 100lb'er... it will come I know it!
Theo
Theo .... It looks like your having a cracker of a season ..... regardless of the losses & misses
nice to see those big girls still getting around Tinaroo:)
By the way ..... What is the stocking situation these days ???
Cheers & thanks for sharing your thoughts8-)
Nagg
bishop
14-04-2008, 06:35 AM
Nagg,
Thanks for your post, made me look back over the last 12 months and WOW is all I can say. As I live in Gladstone most sessions at Awoonga were only 2-4hrs and I can count the number of trips without a barra on one hand
I don’t understand you comment, “the more traditional end to the barra season” ? The proper barra session is just about to start, we just need a few weeks of cold weather and it will be on.
Best trips in the last 12 months were just after a week long cold snap. Friday afternoon, hooked a 114cm barra and seen schools of large barra swimming under the boat, but had to make a mad dash home to get my daughter from school. Returned next day and all I can say was “AWSOME”. Anything that hit the water got smashed, including Arnott’s BBQ shapes. And my office brag wall is testament to that day.
By the way don’t mention SE winds, it has been reclassified as a naughty word in our house.
What did I learn - Warm clothes, listen to the pro’s and your lures need to match the bait fish, especially the big mullet. “Big bait equals big fish”
Funniest moments, this can be broken into two categories
Fishing – on two occasions while setting for the next cast had barra jump out of the water to try and grab lures a foot above the water, one smacked into the boat and the latest on Friday night left a brown stain in everyone’s undies.
Armature hour at the Awoonga boat ramp. All I can say some people need to practice reversing, but it does make for an entertaining afternoon if you’re bored.
two fold
14-04-2008, 06:46 AM
listen to the pro's what does that mean if you dont mind me asking.
purcho
Peter4
14-04-2008, 08:19 AM
Good topic Nagg - I only just spotted it!
This year was easily our best barra season ever! Mind you it was only our second season! Last year in three trips to Monduran we (KH15 & me) managed 4 barra with the biggest going 98cm.
This year in three trips we managed 19 barra with 2 over the magic metre mark - a 114cm to me and a 103cm to KH15 - both caught on the same day.
We found the fishing much tougher in the first part of 2008 with most of our fish coming from a magical three days last October. We are learning more about impoundment fishing every trip - especially from forums such as this. The reports from the guys not only help but inspire us to greater efforts.
I think you would have to go long way before you would find another group of people that are so willing to share and help each other.
We are now prepared to 'think laterally' and try odd things in order to crack the pattern. Our next challenge is a winter trip to Monduran in August. Can't wait!
The barra gear is all packed away for now but once in a while I'll look lovingly at a few pics of big fish on the bragmat, go and sort out the lures, re-spool the reels with new braid and dream of the next adventure!;)
Regs
bishop
14-04-2008, 10:20 AM
listen to the pro's what does that mean if you dont mind me asking.
purcho
Two Fold,
The Pro’s are the local guides Jason & Johnny. Jason did an article last year which had some great advice on Awoonga and they both give great advice on Ausfish
I don’t understand you comment, “the more traditional end to the barra season” ? The proper barra session is just about to start, we just need a few weeks of cold weather and it will be on.
Earl ........ Lots of people seem put away their barra gear as it gets colder ( They see it has warmer weather fishing only):( ........
If you noticed I did make a little comment " Clued up fishoes" They will continue to fish through the winter months .... & catch fish
Thats all
TinarooTriumph
14-04-2008, 10:46 AM
NAGG,
The stocking is going very well - the footies as I call em' (30cm fingerlings) are climbing over everything and are gaining size rapidly - probably better then at any other Impoudment. That said the Stocking Group are holding onto alot of money... most going towards useless equiptment such as Tables, Chairs and Coffee machines! I can't knock their work too much though... but more fish would be good, and the banning of the Barra Bash even better!
Can I just say that Jason hit it on the head in regards to J's 135cm fish. Yes, it probably would have broken a few records but he isn't wanting any spotlight. We were taking about it this morning actually when we were out on the Dam. Pretty sure he would like people to view the photo but not copy it if you could understand.
Theo
Whitto
14-04-2008, 11:18 AM
Bloody impressive, and from a guy who's quiet and not looking for the spotlight.
One hell of a long fish, and if it was 135, would be the longest impoundment barra on record.
Awesome hey!
Jas Thanks for that photo Jas, If that horse is not 135 in length its 136cm that is a beautiful Barra, Im not sure who caught it but well done whoever, Cheers Whitto
Awesome hey!
Jas
aye carumba, thats a bloody big fish, thanks for the pic and congrats to the shy guy who caught it. Well done champion!!!
so, do we have a new bench mark at 135??, has there been a bigger impoundment fish measured, not guesstimated, what about the electro fishing up in Tinaroo, I know those boys see some big girls.
bloody hell, 135, I'll be casting for the next 20 years, and still not get near that lol
brian
Tropicaltrout
14-04-2008, 07:33 PM
I don't know brian with the amount of trips you put in you will beat all of us LOL and to get bigger then that we will have to put a trebble in our selves.....
That fish is huge very long if he was fully weighted to his lenght he would be a massive creature.
cheers nath
tinniemad
14-04-2008, 07:47 PM
well done on the p.b's
I don't know brian with the amount of trips you put in you will beat all of us LOL and to get bigger then that we will have to put a trebble in our selves.....
That fish is huge very long if he was fully weighted to his lenght he would be a massive creature.
cheers nath
Ive got a very understanding missus Nath, told her 22 years ago that I had a little problem with a fishing habit I couldnt seem to quit.
Scary to think of the weight of a 135 fattened up on boney's, would that be the 100lb honey pot???
brian
Tropicaltrout
14-04-2008, 07:59 PM
We should have a meeting group, Like AA for us B.I.D guys oh hang on we do may 3rd 4th and 5th LOL
spose I better book my site, cant miss that one, dont know what sounds the better deal, a week end of fishing or a weekend of frosties at nite with youse blokes
now ..... How can I get up for that one ?????
Nagg
Colo77
14-04-2008, 09:23 PM
Hey Nagg, good post.
This season has been pretty slow for me really. Only cos I havn't been able to put in the hours I'd like to, wife, little kids, another one on the way, you know how it goes.
And now... another bloody hurdle, there's a hole in me boat>:( :'( . Any way that's a whole nother story, I'll get that fixed pronto.
I've lived in Mackay now for nearly 2 years and I'm just lovin Teemburra Dam. It's a top spot and I've nailed a few rats (less than 70cm) and dropped a few bigger ones. Hopefully I'll get a good chop at it next year.
I got a mate who spends a heap of time up there and lately he's been killin em. Gotta spend the time eh. He's been up there 2-3 times a week but. How keen is he(would be me too if minus wife and kids, sorry dear).I plan to continue to fish it over winter when I can, probably mostly for sooties... but, put a lure in the right place at the right time, who knows?
It's been a learning curve and it will be a never ending one for all of us I'm sure. Looking forward to being a fishing scholar for the rest of my days.
Cheers, Colo
Hey Nagg, good post.
This season has been pretty slow for me really. Only cos I havn't been able to put in the hours I'd like to, wife, little kids, another one on the way, you know how it goes.
And now... another bloody hurdle, there's a hole in me boat>:( :'( . Any way that's a whole nother story, I'll get that fixed pronto.
I've lived in Mackay now for nearly 2 years and I'm just lovin Teemburra Dam. It's a top spot and I've nailed a few rats (less than 70cm) and dropped a few bigger ones. Hopefully I'll get a good chop at it next year.
I got a mate who spends a heap of time up there and lately he's been killin em. Gotta spend the time eh. He's been up there 2-3 times a week but. How keen is he(would be me too if minus wife and kids, sorry dear).I plan to continue to fish it over winter when I can, probably mostly for sooties... but, put a lure in the right place at the right time, who knows?
It's been a learning curve and it will be a never ending one for all of us I'm sure. Looking forward to being a fishing scholar for the rest of my days.
Cheers, Colo
Colo .... Teemburra is a lovely little impoundment :) I think the water levels have nearly doubled since I had my little peek last Oct
I'm dyimg to get back there ...... & maybe having a few casts on bass gear:P
Stick to it Colo ..... you live close to some awesome waters8-)
Nagg
PS ... dont forget those Sooties at Teemburra & Eungella ( if thats how you spell it!:-/ )
Peter4
15-04-2008, 08:06 AM
bloody hell, 135, I'll be casting for the next 20 years, and still not get near that lol
brian
Yeah Brian, but what a great prospect!
Imagine another twenty years+ of cruising through the timber at Monduran, casting at likely spots and all the while learning more and more..........
The way you go those poor barra don't stand a chance!!;D ;)
Regs
thats why Im keepin the blacksheep Pete, I reckon another couple of years and 120,s from the sticks will be regular, IF you can pull them out
& that would be a big IF !!! ...... But it will be fun trying:P
Gordie
16-04-2008, 02:29 PM
Just to answer BRIAN and NATHAN, I remember a bunch of blokes camped around the kitchen area. I was usually on the water before sun up. probably woke a few of you up with my early starts.
What worried me is on the last Fri & Sat I counted over 80 cars and trailers on the 2 ramps. I hope that is not a sign of things to come for Monduran.
Catch up with you next time.
Regards Gordon
Barraboss
16-04-2008, 02:40 PM
So I was thinking about my "barra season" and don't know when it started and when/if it has ended. I think it started after my first 62 cm barra was caught at Tinaroo a short while ago, and in all honesty don't think it has finished to this day.....
Summer period this year has been good to me, and think the barra god was shining his light occasionally on my boat :)
I have seen a fair few decent fish brought to the boat::) :o , by myself and others on board, with a few very memorable catches on the way, and a few memorable bust offs as well. It has been really good to note the amount of "footies" (thanks TT) coming through the system, and am just as glad to catch these, especially whilst there is "uncertain waters" (cold/warm changes and higher water levels etc) up here at the moment.....
One of the most memorable so far is Kim (wife) catching her first barra at 83 cm recently. Was hoping she too would become addicted, but I think I may have to find the elusive 100lb and see if that makes her blood boil.....
All the best for the winter period just around the corner, I personally can't wait to wake up those fat winter fish.....
fish2death
16-04-2008, 03:22 PM
Had a excellent Monduran trip in feb 08 the levels came up by 3m just before we turned up arrived on the 15/feb boated a few on the first day but the highlight was Barra Bloody Sunday 17th Main basin late afternoon at least 40 boats and at one stage every second boat had hooked up landed or just been busted, they went ballistic
No theory behind this event? All in deep open water, a day I will never forget, for the trip Stats:
• 15 of February 2008
• 3 Boats
• 8 Days
• 33 Barra
• 30.058m total length
• 8 over one metre
• 1.080m biggest Barra caught by Kel
• .914 m average
• Only one died before release
Haff!!!
Steve B
16-04-2008, 03:50 PM
Haff, thats a pretty impressive trip, I love the statistics!!!
Hot bite periods happen like that all the time, with most species too. It just looks cool when most boats are hooked up at the same time!!
cheers steve,
Hey matt, you still have my best barra award for the spring/summer period IMHO. size length and great photo.!! Gives you a pretty good target to beat in winter!
I have seen a fair few decent fish brought to the boat::) :o , by myself and others on board, with a few very memorable catches on the way
understatement of the year Matt, youve given most of us a new benchmark to try to reach, it was a BIG fishy
Gordon, a lot of boats at the ramps at times, specially on moons, at least theres allways the timber up the back to escape the mob
brian
Dick Pasfield
16-04-2008, 11:24 PM
Had a good year across thus neck of the woods, the Ord usually can produce a steady amount of nice fish. Biggest issue was access over the wet, missed a lot of run off due to road closures. Feb gave us 500 mm plus, plenty of water going everywhere but a hard slog to get to it.
Fish are all in good nick and plenty of stuff from 80 to over a metre.
Got a moon this weekend, Friday night should be a good one. Not going to miss it
richieboy
20-04-2008, 11:27 PM
Yeh, not too bad considering I didn't fish run off much this year.
Now that the billabongs and Lagoons that feed the major rivers are restocked with chromies after the wet I think I'm gonna get my fair share this dry season.
Hoping so anyways. PB is currently at 84cm of solid saltwater barramundi.
Richie
go the salties Richie, half ya luck mate
brian
SQUIDDA
22-04-2008, 10:21 PM
last year was awesome.this year is just getting better and better.pic is of my wife with a WINTER 07 awoonga monster.bloody cold!!!
Steve B
22-04-2008, 10:35 PM
last year was awesome.this year is just getting better and better.pic is of my wife with a WINTER 07 awoonga monster.bloody cold!!!
Squidda,
mate, that is a monster of a fish...what size was it!!!
Great effort....looking at the the way the wife is rugged up ....it looks VERY cold!!
good work
cheers steve
SQUIDDA
23-04-2008, 09:47 AM
Thanks Steve.Fish was 116cm.It was in great condition as you can see.I dont no who was more excited me or her!We had been home(gladstone) for about a week after being in Weipa for 5 months.So we were really feeling the cold!Water temp at Awoonga that evening was around 16degressC.We landed 3 fish over a metre.
McCod
23-04-2008, 10:18 AM
A reasonable calendar year in 2007 seen the average size go up to around 90 cm in Monduran with big numbers of meter plus boated...... No where near the numbers of 2006 though . The most common size was ether low 90's or Hi 90's
Had some fun @ Faust 'Teemburra & Awoonga as well and scored a new Pb out of Awoonga:) . This year has started a bit quiet.... mainly due to water quality issues and less time on the water so far.... but that's about to change real soon;D
Cheers Les
We havn't heard too much about Faust in recent times - - The Taylor boys must be out fishing too much:P
Nagg
Colo77
24-04-2008, 08:36 PM
Colo .... Teemburra is a lovely little impoundment :) I think the water levels have nearly doubled since I had my little peek last Oct
I'm dyimg to get back there ...... & maybe having a few casts on bass gear:P
Stick to it Colo ..... you live close to some awesome waters8-)
Nagg
PS ... dont forget those Sooties at Teemburra & Eungella ( if thats how you spell it!:-/ )
Sure is a nice place. It's my favourite next to Cania, love whackin some bass and togas there:)
Teemburra is all but full at the moment and alot of structure that was there when you were I guarantee won't be anymore but at the same time has opened up a heap of new stuff. Last time I spoke to my mate he'd been up there the previous weekend with some work buddies (good to know people at the local BCF8-) ) and he boated 17 barra for the day and his 2 mates also nailed a dozen each. That's like 41 barra total, that's awesome. Coincidentally I was there on the same day (about a 1.5 months ago:'( ) for about 2 hrs fishing time mid arvo and managed 1 rat and dropped a couple more before my curfew which was ok. :)
Haven't been back yet since but my tinny is gettin fixed tomorrow so it won't be long now. I'm counting the sleeps til my next trip:D . Unfortunately I can't make it to the sooty comp at Eungulla next weekend. It would've been a good experience.
Any way, best of luck out there. Colo
P.S. Would be good to hear from some other Mackay area freshwater fishos.
Sure is a nice place. It's my favourite next to Cania, love whackin some bass and togas there:)
Teemburra is all but full at the moment and alot of structure that was there when you were I guarantee won't be anymore but at the same time has opened up a heap of new stuff. Last time I spoke to my mate he'd been up there the previous weekend with some work buddies (good to know people at the local BCF8-) ) and he boated 17 barra for the day and his 2 mates also nailed a dozen each. That's like 41 barra total, that's awesome. Coincidentally I was there on the same day (about a 1.5 months ago:'( ) for about 2 hrs fishing time mid arvo and managed 1 rat and dropped a couple more before my curfew which was ok. :)
Haven't been back yet since but my tinny is gettin fixed tomorrow so it won't be long now. I'm counting the sleeps til my next trip:D . Unfortunately I can't make it to the sooty comp at Eungulla next weekend. It would've been a good experience.
Any way, best of luck out there. Colo
P.S. Would be good to hear from some other Mackay area freshwater fishos.
So Colo ...... How did Teemburra fish ???
Nagg
Colo77
05-05-2008, 07:59 PM
Hi Nagg,
Still didn't make it up to Teemburra this weekend:( . My family has alot of stuff going on at the moment. I assume the barra would be slowing down a fair bit with the cooler weather of late. I'll catch up with my mate Jas this week and let you know. He will be sure to have been up there very recently. A guy from work was going up there this weekend too.
Cheers, Colo