View Full Version : What bait to use

whiting-wizard
10-04-2008, 08:55 AM
Just want to know what sort of bait people use.
If the bait you use is not on the poll post a reply and share with us the bait you use.
whiting-wizard:D

reddybayfisher
10-04-2008, 09:03 AM
What about pilchard and you can't pick more than one.....

Some people might argue that SP is not a bait....

sharkymark2
10-04-2008, 09:04 AM
pillies nearly all the time

CreelReaper
10-04-2008, 01:15 PM
pillies for me too!!!!! in nearly all cases except chasing jew etc which is a livey's domain

10-04-2008, 01:28 PM
Livies are my prefered bait, everything will take a livey. but if they can't be gathered, squid, pillies, prawn, mullet are all on the top of the list.

chief 1
10-04-2008, 03:11 PM
I use prawns,they catch what i'm looking for

10-04-2008, 07:10 PM
All of the above and big slabs of mullet and big strips of tuna or bonito's usauly a large bait for me works well

loophole
10-04-2008, 08:10 PM
What about pilchard and you can't pick more than one.....

Some people might argue that SP is not a bait....

Soft Plastic is clased as an ARTIFICAL BAIT :P

chief 1
10-04-2008, 08:16 PM
Your right loophole,i didn't take much notice

BARRAkid
10-04-2008, 08:21 PM
i picked lures im not much off a bait person rather just chuck hard bodies or placys

cheers bk

loophole
10-04-2008, 08:27 PM
Your right loophole,i didn't take much notice

i voted live bait so its all good:P

chief 1
10-04-2008, 08:58 PM
live bait would have been my second vote

snelly1971
10-04-2008, 10:10 PM
Atlantic Salmon is my fav....plenty of oil on that flesh

The_Outlaw
10-04-2008, 10:42 PM
Live bait is a personal favorite of mine when I'm fishing here in Ipswich, but prawns, squid and earthworms are a close second.(only because I don't know what SP's to use yet)

r3volt
11-04-2008, 06:56 PM
Large peeled prawns, starting to use fresh mullet flesh too as it caught my first snapper :)

Keechie
11-04-2008, 06:59 PM
anything its lures or soft palstics if i have to use bait you can't go past a good pilly, prawn or tuna/mullet fillet.

regards,
keechie

Seahorse
11-04-2008, 08:42 PM
Red Meat for those snapper

bustastu
11-04-2008, 08:47 PM
pillies all the way...

whiting-wizard
11-04-2008, 10:57 PM
hmm i havnt tried pillies before i might give them a go;D
what can you catch with them?

loophole
11-04-2008, 11:45 PM
hmm i havnt tried pillies before i might give them a go;D
what can you catch with them?

everything

CHAPPY
12-04-2008, 06:11 AM
Peeled prawns, beach worms and pilchard, only if live bait is not available.
Chappy

rally tomo
28-04-2008, 03:35 PM
i like to use live bait when i can then squid or prawns regards rally tomo

chief 1
28-04-2008, 03:47 PM
Peeled prawns, beach worms and pilchard, only if live bait is not available.
Chappy
I'm with you on that one

Jimbo73
28-04-2008, 05:30 PM
I chose live bait. Cant beat fresh live worms for catching whiting. Cheers Jamie

Skusto
28-04-2008, 06:35 PM
yakkas, and whiting are our fav for the snaps the love them out at deep tempest. but if can get fresh then most of the time a block of pillies does the trick.alsop this mite sound strange to but cooked prawns work a treat for the bream in our local creek. plus uve always got something to snack on while your fishing.

whiting-wizard
28-04-2008, 09:34 PM
thanks guys;D

Poles_Hole
29-04-2008, 08:40 AM
pillies for me , and sp's

FISHAWN
29-04-2008, 04:32 PM
ive recently been converted to Sp's but for the heck of it i threw out 2 pillies yesty in the logan river and got a nice tailor and had a croc bite off - also on 2 pillies. My mate cleaned up some big tings on prawns. Got nothing on various SP's. Started to think it may be best to always arm ones self with both baits.

Also, are Sp's effective at night ? Am yet to catch anything at night on them.

Bloody Grinner
29-04-2008, 06:56 PM
frogmouth pilchards for me. nice and oily, stays on your hooks well. great for flathead on gangs.

second is whitebait.

onerabbit
08-05-2008, 04:27 PM
Pretty hard to go past a good bit of mullet.

Noiseworks
08-05-2008, 07:50 PM
Livies for me, kids enjoy the soft plastics though. They've watched all the squidgy videos and reckon there all the go.

trymyluck
08-05-2008, 08:52 PM
Mullet, livies and live prawns (Bream just carn't say no:D )

kahla_creek
09-05-2008, 09:00 PM
fresh is best
Muddy

Mangfish
11-05-2008, 09:19 PM
strasburg ..

polky
12-05-2008, 03:19 AM
fresh cut baits, usually hussar or baldy brim. keep a few sides as starter bait for when we next hit the reef. Polky.

Gold_Coast_Chaser
12-05-2008, 07:30 AM
strasburg ..

Not my favourable bait but i have used strasburg in my canal and have caught plenty of bream on it, they seem to love it, not sure if any other species eat it.

My favoured bait would be HardBody lures and then prawns.

whiting-wizard
16-05-2008, 05:49 PM
thanks guys for your info;D;D

sharkymark2
17-05-2008, 07:52 PM
peelies with lots of burley ;).

rockfisho
17-05-2008, 09:26 PM
there is no one be all end all bait. I use a wide variety of baits depending on what i fish for. pillys for tailor, worms, pippys for dart whiting and bream. flathead with fishbait etc. squid and mullet for jewies and snapper off the rocks. Cunjie aswell

the list goes on forever

Owen

shorty 01
18-05-2008, 03:03 PM
live bait for me it brings the big ones to me

whiting-wizard
18-05-2008, 05:54 PM
My fav is pillies and squid;D;)

stevea
18-05-2008, 07:28 PM
I like to use octopus , when I cant get live bait or not using SP,
as it sticks on the hook like glue and floatline it down. Woolies used to sell it in the deli , so I got the Mrs to buy it (in the grocery budget and not the fishing budget) giving me more money to spend on tackle.:D