View Full Version : Rebel Pop-R (Teeny Pop-R)
Gold_Coast_Chaser
09-04-2008, 04:19 PM
Hey, I recently bought a Rebel Pop-R (Teeny Pop-R) in clear and was just wondering if anyone has used this lure/popper before for catching Bream/Whiting/Trevally etc with success?.. and also wondered when using this popper for bream, how big should i jerk the rod?? and how offen should i pause?? All help appreciated!
traviso182
09-04-2008, 04:49 PM
yove picked one the best popper for shallow water flats fishing. whiting love this lure. As far as technique for bream small sharp twitches of the rod tip is best. you want the lure to make the popping noise and move a little bit of water. what you dont want is long rod movement where the popper is moving a great distance and perhaps creating to much noise which may scare finicky bream. cheers
Gold_Coast_Chaser
09-04-2008, 05:17 PM
yove picked one the best popper for shallow water flats fishing. whiting love this lure. As far as technique for bream small sharp twitches of the rod tip is best. you want the lure to make the popping noise and move a little bit of water. what you dont want is long rod movement where the popper is moving a great distance and perhaps creating to much noise which may scare finicky bream. cheers
Yeh, thanks, ill give it a go tomorrow and tell u how it goes, will this popper work if say im casting it towards structure such as rockwalls, pontoons, trees or is more suited to just flats?? And if im going to chase trevally would i then jerk it a bit harder or just stick to the little short pops??
loophole
09-04-2008, 05:40 PM
i saw these new rebels teny pop r's come in a couple of weeks ago the clear ones looked real nice, i have no doubt they will go off on the whiting,,
if fishing for the trevers try and get hat bloop--bloop-- bloop happening it really gets them active.
also River 2 Sea are soon to be relasing a clear poper in the 35 and 45 size.
ffejsmada
09-04-2008, 05:43 PM
They're out now. And yes, they work.;D
loophole
09-04-2008, 05:47 PM
They're out now. And yes, they work.;D
:o GREAT hopefully ill see them come in the next couple of weeks.
Gold_Coast_Chaser
09-04-2008, 05:52 PM
i saw these new rebels teny pop r's come in a couple of weeks ago the clear ones looked real nice, i have no doubt they will go off on the whiting,,
if fishing for the trevers try and get hat bloop--bloop-- bloop happening it really gets them active.
I went down to my canal before (Not really that fishy, Although can occasionally get a good fish) and casted the Rebel popper a few times and i could here that bloop, bloop sound, which is good, im still wondering will this popper be any good casting towards structure??? and how do u get these trevers??? is it towards structure or in the open???
loophole
09-04-2008, 10:04 PM
I went down to my canal before (Not really that fishy, Although can occasionally get a good fish) and casted the Rebel popper a few times and i could here that bloop, bloop sound, which is good, im still wondering will this popper be any good casting towards structure??? and how do u get these trevers??? is it towards structure or in the open???
Trevers are a bit random ive caught em foriging over sand flats less than 1m deep while i was whiting fishing (gee wasnt that a good fight:) ) and seen them patroling rock walls and dropoffs if theres bait around the pontoons or structure the trevers wont be to far away.
traviso182
10-04-2008, 07:45 AM
Your popper will be good for casting towards the structure that your talking about. the bloop bloop will attract fish out of there structure to come and have a look.... hopefully meaning a hook up. for trevvers the more aggressive bloop is better. a long sharp rod movement will make 1. a louder bloop sound whic will draw travally from a long distance 2. it will create bigger splash and move the lure a further distance much like an injured bait fish would. a quicker retrieve might also be useful as this may grab the attention of a trevally a little better however you will have to try and see on the day. cheers mate.
SimonT
10-04-2008, 12:54 PM
I have been using these successfully for bream the last few trips out. I don't think you can have a pause that is too long for bream.
Simon
jayvee
10-04-2008, 04:47 PM
do the new r2s come with owner hooks now aswell????
loophole
16-04-2008, 02:48 PM
do the new r2s come with owner hooks now aswell????
I am almost certain they would as the new glassy vibes have come with owners.
marty_z
17-04-2008, 06:07 PM
G'day Dylan,
try a fast aggressive blooping action for trevally and a slow 'timid' (heaps of pauses) action for Bream.
You should find both around any structure, but you can also try shallow sandflats for Bream.
Good Luck
Marty