View Full Version : Braid for TSS4Spinning for Pelagics

Gazza.Boyne
05-04-2008, 08:07 PM
I've been wanting to put some braid on my TSS4. I use it out around shipping channel markers or around wrecks spinning for pelagics. I've been using mono, but am thinking of changing to braid.
Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Cheers Gazza

05-04-2008, 08:24 PM
I used 14lb Fireline for many years. If I was going to a limp true braid like Fins or Whiplash I would go to 20lb

05-04-2008, 08:25 PM
IMO, mono is the best for spinning up the speedsters. braid has no 'give ' and you can pull hooks. If you must, go a low stretch mono with minimal memory.

Ya local tackle will set you right there.

TonyM
05-04-2008, 08:30 PM
Fireline on the spinstick here too, I only use true braids on my baitcasters.

fivefishes
05-04-2008, 08:38 PM
Phill,

You have a point to some extent. Does this potential prob outweigh all the benefits, better casting distance, more direct line to the lure (no huge mono belly), better line capacity etc? I use braid on light spinning gear chasing Trev, Queenies etc with small metal slices and poppers, also use 50lb braid jigging and HSS for big GT's, bludgers etc, would never go back.
I reckon fill that TSS and go slay em, having said that make sure you have a suitable rod for fishing the braid.

BARRAkid
05-04-2008, 08:47 PM
I wouldnt do it tss4 get tangled around the bail roller easy with braid and it only takes a wind or two and you have started a grove beside the roller and it will constantly get caught in the grove and make the grove deeper and after awile it becomes a pain and frays the line a little bit. I did it to my old tss4 when i was in a rush to get my lure into the school off fish or just casting in general.
Stick with mono the lo-stretch is quite good line
cheers BK

Taipan
06-04-2008, 08:23 AM
I use braid on my TSS4 and I have had no drama's with it. I have mine spooled with 30lb and usually use a 60 lb mono leader.

Gazza.Boyne
07-04-2008, 09:05 AM
Thanks for all the feedback guys

Cheers Gazza

plaztix
07-04-2008, 09:39 AM
One way of overcoming the issue with braid Phil mentioned is keep the drag backed off a bit. This will allow the fish to hit it without the initial shock that often spells disaster to braid. Once the fish runs tighten the drag and set the hook.

Having said that i still keep one spool loaded with mono as less knots equals less areas to go wrong and less time wasted when rerigging.

chief
07-04-2008, 11:58 AM
I have a TSS4 and i've had 8 kg braid on mine and been very disappionted at the way it lays line. I have another 10 spinning reels from diawa and shimano and have not hit a problem with any of them except for the TSS4. My son works in a tackle shop and spools up reels for customers day in and day out but we both can't get the dam thing to lay line to our likeing. IT s a great reel for high speed but it just bugs me . Just an opinion Cheers

tailorboi99
07-04-2008, 12:31 PM
I wouldn't bother paying good money for braid when mono will do a hell of alot better job on a TSS4!

Cheers Tom

business class
07-04-2008, 01:12 PM
I have found that the TSS4 s always lay the line high to low on the reel. If you put braid on your tss4 and want to spin for pelagics eg. Mackrel, beware of your fingers as the braid will cut them clean off if they get caught as sometimes they will hit the lure on the way down. also you will pull hooks all the time. i have used TSS4s for years now and caught many of mackrel spinning, my opinion is stick with a good mono something around 15 or 20lb will be ample.
matty

07-04-2008, 01:52 PM
I have 20lb fireline on my tss4 and never had any issues with it. I have not done a lot of spinning for palagics, but have used it for that purpose. I have also used it on a surf rod chasing tailor and bottom bashing out deep as well. I know what the others are saying about not laying perfectly, but it has not been a problem not being perfectly laid.

07-04-2008, 02:11 PM
Been using 30lb stealth on my TSS4's for a couple of years now with no problems in pulling hooks. Big bennefits in the casting department especially when your trying to match the hatch and get some distance :)

cobiaman
07-04-2008, 05:07 PM
go the braid!

abbot_86
07-04-2008, 06:37 PM
mate ive got 30lb braid on mine. i wouldnt go much lighter than that because it starts cutting into its self under preassure. as far as it not laying line even on the spool this can be fixed by adding a extra little black washer iside the spool. simply unscrew the drag and take the spool off and you will see the black washer on the shaft, just add an other one and this fixes the problam. your local tackle shop will be able to get ya one in if they dont already have one laying round the shop. nick.