View Full Version : Prawns North or South?

One Day
05-04-2008, 11:59 AM
Hi guys,

Ducked out Thursday and Friday to throw the cast net about to find some prawns. On Thursday I went around Russell Island down to the powerlines. First trip down that way so wasn't expecting too much. Found some around the powerlines of good size but not in huge numbers. Had to work hard for about a kilo. The other boats doing the same.

Friday headed to the Pine Rvr where I've done quite well in the past. Not sure what happened but there were none to be seen. A few small greasy's and about 4 bananna's. Every cast came up with 100's of small round jelly fish, if only they were prawns! Spoke to and old timer at the ramp and he had the same result.

Anyway hope this guides a few of you in the right direction. If I was heading out this weekend I would have a go down the Logan Rvr (I would but my back has had enough). They have been doing well down there but be careful where you throw your net, a few big rocks and snags. All the best.

warrior1
05-04-2008, 01:43 PM
hi one day,this year down the pine has been the worst,with all the fresh we had early on you would had thought it was going to do some good.maybe next year.

Freeeedom
05-04-2008, 04:06 PM
Yeah - the Pine has been really hard work just to get a bit of live bait. On Monday I checked out Cabbage Tree Creek (1 banana prawn in an hour) and Nundah Creek (0 prawns in about 40 minutes). I then went up the Pine and managed only about 30 greasies and 5 bananas in another 1.5 hours. At least I'm getting some exercise!
Cheers Freeeedom

snasman
05-04-2008, 07:08 PM
I hit the Pine this Arvo (05/04/08) and got 600 grams of good prawns in 3 hours,To much like hard work in my book ,down south sounds the go

One Day
05-04-2008, 07:17 PM
Ha, I was thinking I should have tried Nundah Creek! By the sounds of it Freeedom I wouldn't have done much better. That's fishing. Looks like a closed shop up on the North side.

I have to agree with you snasman bloody hard work. Like I said to my brother who was with me prawning just isn't much fun when your casting your arm off for no result! Hope the rest of you get into some.

05-04-2008, 09:00 PM
Poodroo and I used up a fair amount of energy trying to find the prawns today, and the sum total of what we caught was enough to fill a skewer for garlic prawns on the Barby. Total of 5 Bananas, and one smaller Tiger.

There were a few guys trying, one solo in a tinny was beside himself he managed to get one prawn!!:o At least we got 5, which seemed to attract some attention, one boat sticking to us like glue.

I'm over it, that's now two trips down the Logan with poor results, and we certainly didn't see anyone doing any better.

Attached is where we tried, stopping here and there to read the water. When prawns are on, they often skip across the water in their panic to get away from the boat - Nothing even remotely like that today.

Back to fishing for us me thinks.

marty_z
05-04-2008, 09:41 PM
I'm over it, that's now two trips down the Logan with poor results, and we certainly didn't see anyone doing any better.

I'm no expert, but I reckon the smaller tides closer to next weekend will hopefully help them school up? That is when I plan to give them a bit of a run anyway.

Marty

BayDog
06-04-2008, 01:12 AM
Scalem oh no! looking at your map you missed the 2 spots that have been firing by about 500m! I nailed 2 1/2 kg in two casts on thursday, they only came on for a couple of minutes, but i got 20 litres on wednesday in about 1/2 an hour. they have been really tide dependent this week due to the strong run, hopefully after this wind and with some smaller tides they'll be a little easier to get onto.

06-04-2008, 06:39 AM
Scalem oh no! looking at your map you missed the 2 spots that have been firing by about 500m! I nailed 2 1/2 kg in two casts on thursday, they only came on for a couple of minutes, but i got 20 litres on wednesday in about 1/2 an hour. they have been really tide dependent this week due to the strong run, hopefully after this wind and with some smaller tides they'll be a little easier to get onto.

Close but not close enough hey Baydog?? The places we tried generally are where the prawns will show when they are on, but there were a few of our Asian friends ( and I mean that in a positive way, there are a few nice blokes amoungst them) who seemed unable to find them. They were simply not there. I have it on good advice that a beam trawler tried all night a few nights ago for 10KG total. I think Marty has the right approach, there was too much run and wind.

Pitty I have that slight speed hump in my way called WORK that I can't look around in the middle of the week when the conditions are more suited, but hey, at least we tried.:)

Pero
06-04-2008, 07:09 AM

How many litres are you allowed ? Baydog. Or was that meant as- "WE" got twenty litres on Wednesday.

Chris Ryan
06-04-2008, 07:23 AM
Scalem, depends what mood Ken is in on Wednesday, I might have some spare time soon. :)

marty_z
06-04-2008, 08:47 AM
you missed the 2 spots that have been firing by about 500m! .

BayDog,

As Scalem said all the spots he hit are regular producers - couldn't be a litle more specific on your 2 spots and the tides they work (even by PM)...please ;D

Marty

BayDog
06-04-2008, 09:55 AM
How many litres are you allowed ? Baydog. Or was that meant as- "WE" got twenty litres on Wednesday.

And you are? Dont come the raw prawn with me mate! You can take it any way you like, me, you, we, he, she, but do you really think i would say i caught 20L by myself when the limit is 10L per person, get a life.

06-04-2008, 02:23 PM
Hey Baydog,

I don't think Ima Rawprawn meant anything by it mate. This catch limit of 10L is definitely not well publicized by fisheries as to the specifics. Sure, 10L is easy enough to find, but if you have more than one person, does that mean 10L per person? And is that " In posession??" I could research more websites if I had the time, but I couldn't be bothered. I know that 10L between two people is about as much as I could ever eat, and when friends or relatives start holding their hands out with those typical two words everyone loves to ear " Where's mine" after you've flogged yourself with 500 casts of the net.... you can guess what my response will be... ;D ;D

marty_z
06-04-2008, 03:56 PM
the rules as I understand are 10L per person "in possession" - meaning your total of what you have on you, in your car and at home in the fridge/freezer. that is how I read the rules anyway.

hopefully one day I will be able to test them - yet to get 5 litres, little alone 10!

Marty

06-04-2008, 06:49 PM
there was plenty of ignorant buggers blocking the channel at Rudy marr's on Saturday morning...dunno if they were getting any but there was plenty of boats there and they did not care who they inconvenienced.

06-04-2008, 09:55 PM
there was plenty of ignorant buggers blocking the channel at Rudy marr's on Saturday morning...dunno if they were getting any but there was plenty of boats there and they did not care who they inconvenienced.

One of the best prawning sessions I have ever experienced was right in the middle of horizon shores marina. We were on our way out for a fish, hoping to get livebait on the way out, having only a 6ft (no top pocket) net that was full of holes. 9.5KG of juicy bananas - but you could not navigate through all the boats chasing them.... I guess that's why you can't throw cast nets in Horizon shores anymore::)

BayDog
07-04-2008, 09:29 AM
Hey Baydog,

I don't think Ima Rawprawn meant anything by it mate. This catch limit of 10L is definitely not well publicized by fisheries as to the specifics. Sure, 10L is easy enough to find, but if you have more than one person, does that mean 10L per person? And is that " In posession??" I could research more websites if I had the time, but I couldn't be bothered. I know that 10L between two people is about as much as I could ever eat, and when friends or relatives start holding their hands out with those typical two words everyone loves to ear " Where's mine" after you've flogged yourself with 500 casts of the net.... you can guess what my response will be... ;D ;D

Rawprawn knows the limits all too well, he knows his prawning pretty well and does quite well. Just having a little dig is all and i probably bit back too hard, oh well.

But it is 10L per person, 2 people 20L so thats why most people who know how to prawn well take there mates or missus cos if you are lucky and they are on its nice to take 2buckets home, thats about 13 or 14kg which if you eat a lot of prawns doesnt go far. When i have prawns i eat them about 5 times a week and I would encourage more people to get out and fill their buckets because fresh seafood is SO GOOD FOR YOU. Buying from the shops is my greatest hate! Farming ruins our environment in a lot of cases. And food you have to work for is so much more appreciated.

As for bag limits including what you have at home in your freezer i think that is bollocks. Don't believe that for a second.

Pero
07-04-2008, 11:39 AM
Rawprawn knows the limits all too well, he knows his prawning pretty well and does quite well. Just having a little dig is all and i probably bit back too hard, oh well.

But it is 10L per person, 2 people 20L so thats why most people who know how to prawn well take there mates or missus cos if you are lucky and they are on its nice to take 2buckets home, thats about 13 or 14kg which if you eat a lot of prawns doesnt go far. When i have prawns i eat them about 5 times a week and I would encourage more people to get out and fill their buckets because fresh seafood is SO GOOD FOR YOU. Buying from the shops is my greatest hate! Farming ruins our environment in a lot of cases. And food you have to work for is so much more appreciated.

As for bag limits including what you have at home in your freezer i think that is bollocks. Don't believe that for a second.
Spot on Baydog. It was just tongue in cheek. I didn't think it would stir you up. I wouldn't have posted if I knew it wass going too. I had great day yesterday, just 2 prawns. lol. embarassing.:-[

Outsider1
07-04-2008, 01:20 PM
......,As for bag limits including what you have at home in your freezer i think that is bollocks. Don't believe that for a second......

In practice I have never heard of someone's place being raided to check what is in their Freezer, but technically in Qld the bag limits are possession limits and do include any you have in your freezer at home. Silly idea IMHO, but that is how the legislation is written;

From the Qld DPI site;

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xchg/dpi/hs.xsl/28_3042_ENA_HTML.htm

The following legal limits apply to fish taken in Queensland waters. A take and possession limit is the total number of fish a person may take or possess at any one time.