View Full Version : how to use px 45
stessco
03-04-2008, 06:11 PM
g'day
i just just brought 2 of the px45 and just wondering if any one can give me a heads up on how to use it. thanks stessco
Keechie
03-04-2008, 06:24 PM
hi if landbased just cast it at a 45 degree angle to a rockwall or sandbank and twitch the rod tip downwards while winding for about 3 seconds so that way the px 45 zig zags. pause then repeat. is using a boat cast towards structure and do the same but use an elctrric motor to move along.
regards,
keechie
nuggstar
03-04-2008, 06:51 PM
some times ya dont have to do any thing, ya just cast it at a school of bream that have not been spooked and they hit it as soon as it hits the water or just after splash down with a tiny twitch then pause then CRUNCH. i like to work mine real close to the bank trying to stay about 1 foot to a meter from the edge of a cannal wall or a rock bank or just hard up against a jetty. and if ya find that if thay start to follow it with out striking just speed up ya twitches a little bit and it should ark em up enuff to hit. and just practis as it is a little tricky but you will get better.
ps. i dont like the anteners on them so i take them of as i want the fish to hit the lure and them and i think the lure walks better without them,.
stessco
03-04-2008, 09:10 PM
thanks guys 4 the tips there great, one more question can u use them in any weather?
corby12
03-04-2008, 09:35 PM
hi stessco, the px is my fav surface lure exp since 2 weeks ago down here in ballina where a mate and i caught 84 bream which 82 of them were caught on the px. one of the best advice i can give is to use a short leader if using fluro carbon. If it is too long the leader sinks and pulls your lure down rather than along the surface. small downward or sideways twitches works best for me, best conditions so far for me have been overcast with a slight breeze. but as long as there is some sort of ripple on the surface the px will work. the meathod we used on the wall to catch 84 was wait till the tide was full enough so we had water over the wall, cast over the wall and fast roll our lures back ontop of the rocks which is when we could see the fish chasing the lure, a couple more twithces and the lure was on our side of the wall to avoid being busted off. the hook up rate of the px is unreal bu keep an eye on your trebbles and split rings after a few fish. i have also caught plenty of fish on mud flats around jetties andover weed beds. hope all that helps.
loophole
03-04-2008, 10:30 PM
u didnt buy a green px did ya stessco?
stessco
04-04-2008, 06:32 PM
hi we brought a pink one they are sold out everywhere on the sunshine coast and caboolture area . we r going up the passage to give it a go.
imnotoriginal
04-04-2008, 07:05 PM
Rather than using a short leader you could use mono, it floats.
Joel
BARRAkid
04-04-2008, 07:18 PM
i use a half a rod length of 4,6 or at most 8lb leader.
all you have to do is twitch the tip and then you will see how the lure walks (zip and zags) my mate and i have used every colour px45 and the pink and pearl white seems to be the best for bream and whiting and the see through green/orange to be the least sucessfull but still catch fish.
cheers BK
stessco
05-04-2008, 11:46 AM
hi went down the passage early today before the wind got up had a great day with the px pink colour had about 10 hits and only 2 hook ups a bream and trevally both under size. the fish stopped hitting the px after the sun came out. we than changed to plastics and ended up with 2 legal bream and a 36cm grunter. thanks for all the advice it worked
BARRAkid
05-04-2008, 12:08 PM
good work mate morning and avo is the best here with them aswell but fish will eat them all day
great fun
cheers BK