View Full Version : Couple a J's....

Creek Vermin
03-04-2008, 05:38 PM
Went for a throw this arv only because the weather was so bloody inviting. Threw in the jack gear along with the bream and flatty gear cause I couldnt make my mind up what to chase. Arriving to a sheet of glass had me picturing a big jack boiling under a smooth surface gliding into the net, so it didn't take too long to make my mind up. First up I had a troll and nailed a nice jewie at 68cm. The old faithful bomber did the trick once again. This one went into the esky as i don't mind the odd jew fillet. Further up the creek I started pegging the red prawn and a couple of plastics around and finally found a couple of takers. Nice fat bream were the culprits and a couple 30-33cm were landed. No finessing here boys with the 50lb leader doing the job. They were in top condition and obviously ready to blow and were quickly released. Next hit was a bit different and had me amongst the timber for a second before a nice jack smack on 50cm surfaced and slid into the net. A couple of quick pics and it was on it's way. Spent the rest of the arvy cruising back to the ramp while suckin on a couple of cold sherberts. Unfortunately the jewie was loaded with worms, so it's now become crab bait. First one I have come across with worms after hearing so many stories about it. Cheers. Keith

straddy77
03-04-2008, 05:53 PM
oh yeah mate, good looking jack! nice jew too! pitty about the worms

Pistol_P
03-04-2008, 06:11 PM
Thats a ripper photo of the jack...Great shot.8-)

Nice Jew too...8-) ....Go and lob some plastics where you caught that Jew.

Why-ting
03-04-2008, 06:19 PM
Hey Keithy

By the title i thought youd been smokin someting else besides the fish. Some quality fish once again mate.

I thought only the bigger fish got worms?

Whytey.

Ps When dont you have a couple of cold sherberts close by.

nuggstar
03-04-2008, 06:21 PM
your the man vermin

youngy
03-04-2008, 07:04 PM
They reckon those worms are ok once cooked Keith.
Were the worms big enough to catch whiting on, i am always looking for different types to try, so far i have tried 7 different ones.
Great fish Keith.cheers Wayne.

Creek Vermin
03-04-2008, 07:28 PM
Cheers wayne, but I think I might leave it to "they" to eat those worms. Be worth a go if you're willing to stick twenty on a hook mate.
Whytey-Cold sherbs are never far away mate. I'm not sure if it's legal to catch jacks without one in the boat.

ffejsmada
03-04-2008, 07:29 PM
Keithy, champion mate, you consistently get good fish.
Well done.
Jeff.

03-04-2008, 07:35 PM
Shame about the Jewy. It seems a few more are scoring them in SEQ on lures. Any hints as to the Bomber?

jackextracter
03-04-2008, 07:42 PM
Nice one Keith, that spot of yours seems to always fish well, i have only ever heard of worms most common in jewies do you know why this is? is it somethink they eat.

Creek Vermin
03-04-2008, 07:52 PM
Horse-The bombers the smaller version of a Long A. They dive to about 13 feet and seem to catch a lot more jewies than other things I troll. I've tried flatz ratz, jackhammers, brad smiths diggas, manns and a heap of others. The only other one I've nailed a jew on is the reidy's goulbourn jack and I think that was pretty arsey. Best colours have been gold, mortein and that shitty lookin one in the pic that i scored out of a bargain bin for 8 bucks. Also catches jacks. Against the current seems to be better.
Extractor-no idea bout the worms mate. It's a first for me, though I don't target a lot of jewies. Someone told me today that his mate speared some big fish off the beach at fraser and they had worms, so I guess it's prtetty hard to tell where they get it from. This one was caught well upstream.

loophole
03-04-2008, 10:43 PM
nice fish Keith looks like a good arvo out.

shame bout the jewie such a nice fish tho.