View Full Version : Moon-up mulloway, greenback by-catch.

02-04-2008, 03:33 PM
After being inspired by Childers nice greenback, and local feedback from an impeccible source of good tailor on the prowl, I figured I'd get off me bum and fish the moon-up this am.
Moon-up and moon-down are favourite fishing times for me, but occuring at un-godly hours means a bit of committment is neccesary.
So 2.00am I'm out of bed and after a coffee its a walk down the beach to spot A.
By about 3am, after a blood-red moon rise, its painfully apparent that a change of venue is called for.
A quick 300m hike to the next possie, and first throw, straight down the gullet of a nice 3.5kg tailor.
15 minutes later and a 2.5kg job joins the party.
Normally 2 tailor this size would be enough for me to head for home, but by now its 4.30 am or so, not much point worrying about going back to bed, just enjoy the morning, ho hum.
Next throw, 10kg jew swallows the bait, great first run, then peters out to the usual game of cat-and-mouse in the treacherous shore break.
This time my lucks in and the hooks hold. All I have to do is clean the bu$$ers and cart them home!
Arrived back home at 5.20am, quick shower and into bed for a quick hours kip!
Don't ya' love it when a plan comes together!
Bait was squid strips, on a triple gang of Gamakatsu Saltwater Fly hooks.
great hooks, sharp as anything, however the jew managed to snap the eye of the second hook, lucky for me he was pinned by the top hook, hehehe!

LIVE_2_FiSH
02-04-2008, 04:58 PM
nice fish mate, keep it up.

Mark-P
02-04-2008, 04:59 PM
Very nice, all i can say is you've gotta be keen 2 catch decent fish these days ....

plaztix
02-04-2008, 05:11 PM
MMMMMMMMMMMM fresh tailor for tonight and jew for the rest of the week.

Very nice haul.

84mick
02-04-2008, 07:10 PM
Yum! thats all I can say! ;) What area were you fishing (ie sunny coast, gold coast?)
I'm going out Saturday night (Bout time!) and I hope it all falls into place like it did for you! Congrats.

Mick.

ffejsmada
02-04-2008, 07:15 PM
Excellent catch mate, makes it all worthwhile when you get up that early and your plan comes together. Makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside dont it???????;D

Cheers Jeff.

nuggstar
02-04-2008, 07:49 PM
great catch dude

Pistol_P
02-04-2008, 08:19 PM
Nice fish mate...that jew would have been a great little surprise.
Nothing better than seeing a jew being washed up onto the sand.8-)

02-04-2008, 09:21 PM
Thats a great catch and well deserved putting in the hard yards. What sort of quality was the squid. I normally only use the stuff that I have caught myself if at all possible

childers
02-04-2008, 10:15 PM
nigeir ya legend nice tailor but luv that jew ,great sesion well done ,cheers.

03-04-2008, 07:26 AM
Thanks all for your kind replies.
Mick, I live near Urunga on the Mid North Coast of NSW.
Neil, would love to catch my own squid, but its pretty rare hereabouts. The stuff I use I buy fresh from the co-op at Coffs, then freeze. I can usually buy the stuff same day as capture, always works well enough, the prawners usually bring some back on the dark so a bit of organising and I'm set.
There has been heaps of whitebait around, all those fish were stuffed with them, the white colour of the squid in the low moonlight would have helped I reckon.
Yeah, mulloway are very welcome capture from the surf, a really beautiful fish to catch and eat!
Cheers all.

03-04-2008, 09:49 AM
Congrats, thats a fantastic haul, and personally I reckon Mulloway are one of the best table fish.:-*

Silly question, in the pic, what are all 3 fish looking up at ?;D

03-04-2008, 12:55 PM
Um, they're looking at the stars!::) :)

03-04-2008, 04:34 PM
Sorry mate, couldn't resist that one :D