View Full Version : Able to withstand Barra and Snapper?

Plastix
31-03-2008, 09:24 PM
http://www.dealsdirect.com.au/p/fishing-reel-bait-casting-murraycod6000/

Just looking for advice, i am looking for a cheap reel that will withstand the Hard fight of a Barra and also on occasion Snapper too.

I relise you get what you pay for in the end, but having kiddies and house interest rates and all....leaves me to trying to make do. I would also like some advice as to what Rod should go with it? ::)

abbot_86
31-03-2008, 09:30 PM
do you want a baitcasting reel or spin?? also whats your price range?? cheers nick

Plastix
31-03-2008, 09:33 PM
I want max price to be around $150 (including Braid and rod), i would like a Baitcaster too. i was thinking about that one in the link in my first post...any thoughts on that one?

Tetsuo
31-03-2008, 09:38 PM
For that price it might be worth trying. Spend according to usage.

Is that reel up to saltwater??? Ask yourself, why the $200 price drop. Saying that, Deals direct often come up with the goods.

I'm not sure where you would look for a rod in that price range. Maybe an ugly stick. Try the discount stalls at the tackle shows or better yet second hand.

Tetsuo
31-03-2008, 09:39 PM
the cheapest braid worth looking at would be fireline. About $24

Plastix
31-03-2008, 09:44 PM
I also saw a Low Profile Baitcaster rod combo at BCF today for $140 that seems pretty sweet, are BCF pretty good with value for money?

bayfisher
31-03-2008, 10:12 PM
That reel is definitely not worth $205 and even at $35 its not cheap... It comes with a 30 day warranty ::). If your after a cheap bait casters Abu is probably your best best. Sure there not the nicest/smoothest but are a real work horse they will catch you plenty of fish and last a life time. You should be able to get a Abu 5000 rod reel combo and some line for around that $150 mark.

Roo
01-04-2008, 09:00 AM
http://www.dealsdirect.com.au/p/fishing-reel-bait-casting-murraycod6000/

Just looking for advice, i am looking for a cheap reel that will withstand the Hard fight of a Barra and also on occasion Snapper too.

I relise you get what you pay for in the end, but having kiddies and house interest rates and all....leaves me to trying to make do. I would also like some advice as to what Rod should go with it? ::)

no. it wont. it will fail. barra are not a fish to underestimate, it will destroy almost anything. you need to spend a bit more than $30 for a reel to cope with those fish. if your budget is $150 then spend the bulk of that on a reel that may just cope with the pressure barra will put it under and get a $30 rod to go with it.
Try looking for a Second hand out fit. you may find just what you need for less than you think.

Cheers Roo.

plaztix
01-04-2008, 09:51 AM
That reel is definitely not worth $205 and even at $35 its not cheap... It comes with a 30 day warranty ::). If your after a cheap bait casters Abu is probably your best best. Sure there not the nicest/smoothest but are a real work horse they will catch you plenty of fish and last a life time. You should be able to get a Abu 5000 rod reel combo and some line for around that $150 mark.

Gotta agree with you BF, i have had a few abu's over the years and they have never let me down. Used to catch big gummies in the brissie river mouth all night on my 3000 cardinal, it still works but is now just an ornament and reminder of the good old days::)

I would be concentrating on getting a good reliable reel first and then buy the best rod you can with what you have left.

01-04-2008, 10:33 AM
Yeah suspect it will do everthing you need it for, if it were $120 or closer to what it may sell for in the shops then NO but only because of the price.

$44 to your door it's worth the risk, the level wind will forever be a worry though!

Some times and esp these days people can loose sight of what others can and do fish with very well.

abbot_86
01-04-2008, 06:31 PM
mate also try ebay for a reel, you can get some cheap reels on there at times

yorty
01-04-2008, 07:47 PM
BCF have a sale on abu's at the moment, $119 for rod and reel and for that price you can nearly have braid put on it also, all under $150. Abu's won't let you down, that's the path I'd follow.

01-04-2008, 07:53 PM
I would be looking around the 2nd hand shops for a decent reel and pay less than half price for it. It will outlast anything you are currently looking at by a long way.

If you get stuck put up an ad in the wanted to buy section for a baitcaster strong enough for a barra. I am sure there are quite a few reels in possession iof the members here they no longer use and would be prepared to part with.

reidy
02-04-2008, 11:24 AM
Seen plenty of those under several names on the bay with a e.Grabbed a smaller version out of interest ok but
fnq cairns got a point with the level wind mech.
All the lw gearing in those beauties are plastic,I havent caught to many Barra (one small one in 1993 during my fnq work/fishing year) but i feel the lw will pack it in on a good one.
Use mine for lead line on trout
Reidy

BARRAkid
02-04-2008, 07:22 PM
mate i would save abit longer and extra $100 will make a big difference.
for barra $150 set up wont last long but for snapper $150 will get you a decent but average spin combo mabey you should watch ebay for a decent used reel
cheers Bk

azzure
20-04-2008, 06:01 PM
Berkley Dropshot Combo... Awesome Stuff $115 :)

Steve B
20-04-2008, 09:00 PM
Mate, I am genuinly trying to help you here, $150 rod,reel,braid combo WILL NOT do you any favours when trying to catch and land big barra in QLD impoundments. They will break. I have seen good quality gear destroyed by these fish. I would hate to hear that you lost a fish of a lifetime because of sub standard gear. You wouldn't have to spend much more. probably $250 should get you a respectable combo. (or cheaper if you find a second hand outfit)

Things to remember :
- putting 30-50lb braid (which you will need) will cause damage to the internals of cheap reels. cheap bearings, cheap drags with the forces applied from these fish.
- You might get away with one or two fish, but they (reel) wont last long. That reel in the link at $35 bucks wouldnt even survive the catfish!!! Sorry.
Rods- actually some of the cheaper ones are really good and heavy for the job. the problem is casting them all day, if your trolling OK.

Have you considered the lures, leader, upgraded trebbles etc..this is not a cheap excersise either.

Again, I am not trying to discourage you, in fact quite the opposite, I would love to hear you have caught big barra. I just dont like seeing people under prepare and then get dissapointed. I understand budget problems (I have 2 young kids and 2 mortgages!) I reckon most of the serious barra fishos would agree here, try and save the extra and get the right gear the first time. If your coming up this way, I can lend you a combo that will suit if you really get stuck.

cheers steve

20-04-2008, 09:33 PM
6 solid days of casting & catching average size barra .... saw 1 Shimano Barra Raider rod fail ( grips) , 1 Shimano Chronarch SF fail ( bearing) & 1 Daiwa Zillion fail (pinion gear) + braid failure x 2
This is all reasonable to high quality gear! .... which borders on new or little use ...... Its just the stress on the gear is immense .... be it fish related or the repetition involved (1000 cast days)

so what Steve B & others have said is very true ..... specially with regard to big fish:P ....... but repetitive casting & average fish will also take its toll:o

Nagg