View Full Version : Shattered.....31-03-08

Pistol_P
31-03-2008, 06:24 PM
Hit the rocks this afternoon and the work 'Shattered' sums up how I feel at the moment....:'(

I managed to spot a pod of about 8 longtails cruise past the ledge and spun one up on an 85g raider.
Fought the fish for a good hour and Richard (tunapikus) was watching further out in his tinny. I had him just about beat right near the gaffing zone and he did one little head shake and threw the lure....:'( :'(
I just watched him swim off.....:'( :'( ....Fish would have been a good 15kg...

After a good hour long fight and losing the fish like that I am not a happy fellow.
If you can remember that movie 'The Crying game' where Jim Carey gets curled up in a ball in the corner of the shower and crys that maybe me later on...:'( ;D

nuggstar
31-03-2008, 06:31 PM
hahahaha better luck next time. its ok i lost a nother towadi 2 days ago to a 10gk+ gt that spooled me

Keechie
31-03-2008, 06:36 PM
ooh unlucky mate better luck next time.

regards,
keechie

ffejsmada
31-03-2008, 07:07 PM
One thing's for sure Pete, it'll get you back out there again.
Bad luck mate.:'( next time!

Jeff.

ryansrods
31-03-2008, 07:14 PM
spewin ah well thats what keeps us going back

31-03-2008, 07:19 PM
that is fishing ain't it! Sometimes the throw of the dice goes against you. I lost a longtail which I fought for over 2 hours a few years back lurecasting solo in my boat. Just couldn't quite get the gaff shot. I know it is alot more kudos landbased tho.

Fish_gutz
31-03-2008, 07:31 PM
Bad luck pete i know the feeling but at least it wasn`t terminal failure or a bad knot etc it was just a bit of luck on the tuna`s side. chin up champ . Cheers Andrew

BR65
31-03-2008, 07:36 PM
Bugger mate, land based long tail would have been a great catch

Pistol_P
31-03-2008, 07:52 PM
Bugger mate, land based long tail would have been a great catch

Cheers Fellas
Yeah I have hooked and landed quite a few from the rocks.
But also lost many to sharks,pull outs,missed runs on livies etc....
But when you lose them they all hurt.

Anyway like Jeff said it fires you up to get back out there.

hodaddy_11
31-03-2008, 07:55 PM
great emo session keep up the good emo sesh

regards'
hodaddy

rather catch gold fish then bream

imnotoriginal
31-03-2008, 08:07 PM
Spewin!:sick2: :bigcry: :wut:
Joel

Mark-P
31-03-2008, 08:56 PM
Badluck Pete, but keep up the good work

regards,

Pistol_P
31-03-2008, 09:12 PM
Badluck Pete, but keep up the good work

regards,

;D ;D ;D

On the plus side if you look above he actually wrote something different...:o

Mark-P
31-03-2008, 09:17 PM
He's mixing it up , good 2 c ;)

abbot_86
31-03-2008, 09:19 PM
hard luck pete, i lost a wahoo the otherday wich hurt , because of a poor rig. oh well thats why they call it fishing not catching. cheers abbot

Pistol_P
31-03-2008, 10:12 PM
hard luck pete, i lost a wahoo the otherday wich hurt , because of a poor rig. oh well thats why they call it fishing not catching. cheers abbot

Yeah I heard about that Nick.....Heard you had a good trip though.8-)

chief
01-04-2008, 04:14 PM
Shattered is right,sorry to hear that, would have been a great land based fish,DAM.

greenie.77
01-04-2008, 05:51 PM
Thats why fishing is such a great sport, better luck next time

01-04-2008, 06:16 PM
Thats fishing all right. You have to just keep on trying. You know it is a pretty fair fight when they are able to get away free at the end of the battle.

I had a 10 Kg Cobe do that to me after I tried to gaff him like 4 times and he would roll every time. Solo is a hard task to finish off the job sometimes.

Pistol_P
01-04-2008, 06:41 PM
Cobes are one of the worst fish to gaff I reckon.
I gaffed one solo on the rocks fairly recently....Dead the big snake rolls too...

Didley
01-04-2008, 09:28 PM
Good on ya, PP, catch and release, that's the way. What are u shattered about?

Pistol_P
01-04-2008, 09:44 PM
Good on ya, PP, catch and release, that's the way. What are u shattered about?

Suppose youre right in a way.....Only missed out on another photo really..?
I got the good hour fight from the fish and he swum away...Some good in I suppose.8-)

IRMC000
01-04-2008, 10:11 PM
Great to hear your Longtail story - we all have one (many) like that and we can all empathise with you. (Maybe not crying in the shower but ...).

Robert

Pistol_P
01-04-2008, 10:18 PM
Great to hear your Longtail story - we all have one (many) like that and we can all empathise with you. (Maybe not crying in the shower but ...).

Robert

;D ;D ...

Yeah that may have been a bit to far...:-/ ;D

Yes the old story of the one that gotta away.

nuggstar
01-04-2008, 10:44 PM
you should have had me there to gaff ya fish :P ;D i dont miss.;)

Didley
02-04-2008, 08:23 AM
Suppose youre right in a way.....Only missed out on another photo really..?
I got the good hour fight from the fish and he swum away...Some good in I suppose.8-)

No Pete U lost him, all that fight for nil. He beat you. U should be shattered;D;D;D;D;D;D;D

Pistol_P
02-04-2008, 08:27 AM
No Pete U lost him, all that fight for nil. He beat you. U should be shattered;D;D;D;D;D;D;D

Dog....;) ;D

Nugg....Do you think you are good with the gaff because of all the practice with your bream...??;) ;D

LostNearBribie
02-04-2008, 09:37 AM
Oh that's got to hurt Pete.
Bad luck mate.
Should be to test the Samurai next week.
Will let you know how it goes.

bdowdy
02-04-2008, 10:12 AM
bad luck pete, sounds like heaps of fun , i fly out to fiji next week cant wait, cheers bdowdy..brett... p.s BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME HEY MATE..LOL..LOL

Pistol_P
02-04-2008, 10:41 AM
bad luck pete, sounds like heaps of fun , i fly out to fiji next week cant wait, cheers bdowdy..brett... p.s BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME HEY MATE..LOL..LOL

Good luck in Fiji.....Hope you have some nice big poppers with you.8-)

nuggstar
02-04-2008, 07:58 PM
Nugg....Do you think you are good with the gaff because of all the practice with your bream...??;) ;D[/quote] pete i am good;D and i got 8 years pratice working on tuna, reef boat and mack and barra commercial fishing boats to back it up so :o i know what im doing8-) . i dont miss mate;D

abbot_86
03-04-2008, 07:04 AM
Nugg....Do you think you are good with the gaff because of all the practice with your bream...??;) ;D pete i am good;D and i got 8 years pratice working on tuna, reef boat and mack and barra commercial fishing boats to back it up so :o i know what im doing8-) . i dont miss mate;D[/quote]

what fights better nugg a bream or a yellow fin??::)