View Full Version : First Bay Trip, First Squire/Snapper at 55cm.

NeMo84
30-03-2008, 12:20 PM
Well i finally got to go on a fishin trip out in the bay with a couple of mates. We went out and saw tuna going ballistic but werent really prepared to target them so we were basically caught out and unable to sticks the hooks into one. I did however get what i went out for and was targeting, my first decent squire/snapper, it measured in at 55cm and put up a hell of a fight in shallow water. We also got plenty of bream(about 9 all up), my mate caught a morwong, about 6 just undersize sweetlip and 3 bloody moray eels. The photos were taken when we got back and are of what we kept for a feed.

chief
30-03-2008, 02:20 PM
Mate, your mastering pulling a few fish but your not doing well on the photos.Whats going on . How about putting the photos up before you start celebrating ;D. Congrads on the PB.Well done

30-03-2008, 02:55 PM
Glad to hear you got your boat trip out mate! Congrats on the 1st too!

SummerTrance
30-03-2008, 07:09 PM
Nice one mate. What area were ya fishing?

Keechie
30-03-2008, 07:20 PM
great snapper uinlucky about those eels keep up the good work.

regards,
keechie

Fish_gutz
30-03-2008, 11:14 PM
Crikeys keechie everyone will have to work so much harder to keep up keeping up all the good work , your everywhere!
great report pitty about the pics nemo84 if your having drama`s loading them there is some helpfull hints and tips in the help section and a 55 is a good fish from the bay sounds like a top day out. Cheers Andrew

Great White
31-03-2008, 08:04 AM
Well done, 55 is a nice PB to start off with :D Bummer about the Tuna, next time.

NeMo84
31-03-2008, 11:07 AM
well here are the pics, i couldn't be bothered doin it yesterday i was too tired(Sorry chief:))

NeMo84
31-03-2008, 12:56 PM
by the way do u fish shrink in the esky and ice cos i swear it looked a lot bigger when i pulled him out of the water:)

Outsider1
31-03-2008, 12:59 PM
by the way do u fish shrink in the esky and ice cos i swear it looked a lot bigger when i pulled him out of the water:)

Yep, definitely a know phenomenon;D;D;D

Roo
31-03-2008, 02:18 PM

they sure do! i had a 36cm fish shrink enough to be illegal in QLD. when i checked it at home, some 6-7hours after it went on ice......34cms. could've ended poorly if a fisheries officer had checked us out at the ramp.

NeMo84
01-04-2008, 10:43 AM
anyone else reckon it happens?

baitwaster
01-04-2008, 10:53 AM
yep, definately, but they do grow bigger again after they have been eaten and the frames/evidence has been disposed of, and you are telling your mates about them.

This would be the fastest growing stage of any species. ;D ;D ;D