View Full Version : Almost !

peterm
28-03-2008, 10:54 PM
I went to the "secret spot" up the sunny coast last Sat night with my brother & a friend chasing the fabled monster red fish. It turns out the spot is getting more and more popular each time I go.

We had a few live poddy mullet and used 20 - 40lb rigs. Got a few good bream a pike eel (yuck) and got smashed about 1/2 a dozen times with multiple bite offs just in front of the hook. Good runs but no hookups - the big boys are definately there !

After speaking with a local shop owner, it seems the using a single hook through the back was our problem and I am looking forward to the next session were I will be using a snelled double hook rig with the line laying down the length of the bait.

The session was a blast & I can't wait to get the green light from the mrs to go back while the weather is still warm.

Keechie
29-03-2008, 08:15 AM
i hope you keep up the work next time i hope you pull in a few.

regards,
keechie

Shagga
29-03-2008, 08:38 AM
Pete,

Do you think your bust offs were jacks or bullies?

cuzzamundi
29-03-2008, 05:13 PM
G'day mate i think a snell would be the way to go. ALso curious about the bite off - a jack won't bite you off as they have canine teeth, they'll bust you. So, if you think it wasn't a result of abrasion from a snag then i'd be guessing the more likely culprit would be a bull as shagga suggested, or maybe eels. But yeah, definitely use two hooks next time, especially when using the longer baitfish.

cuzza

Benny01
29-03-2008, 06:46 PM
I can't wait to get the green light from the mrs to go back while the weather is still warm.

we should make a club

84mick
29-03-2008, 10:20 PM
Hey Pete did you get my PM?
My holidays are getting close ;););) lol Might even be able to go during a weekend night before it gets to cold.

Cheers, Mick.

peterm
30-03-2008, 12:10 AM
Thanks for the comments guys.

My bro went back to the spot this morning and picked up a nice 45cm version ! How's this - he used a bit of smelly old servo mullet on a tailor gang !

Yeah Cuzz - pretty sure they were big jacks from the canine fang marks in the bait & the way they hit the bait.

I think I'm going to have to be extra good now to get a leave pass so I can have another go asap ;-)

peterm
30-03-2008, 12:13 AM
we should make a club

He he he he - would have a vast membership ;-)

peterm
31-03-2008, 07:43 PM
Pete,

Do you think your bust offs were jacks or bullies?

Jacks Shagga - and I would like to think monsters ;-)

I read a post a few years back on this site that originally put me onto this spot. Those were the days when folk didn't black the background out in pics :-) That guy had pics of fish going to 65cm & around 20 in one session from this exact spot. I have never actually hears of anyone catching bullies there - not saying they are not around.