View Full Version : Nasty day at Mud
baychaser
21-03-2008, 10:02 AM
G'day all .:D
The wife and I headed out to Mud on Thursday to throw some soft plastics around and ended in a shocking day.:-[
Early mornin was choppy but got better as the day wore on and very overcast which was great.
I had made a super duper berley bucket out of 6"pipe and was giving it it's maiden voyage when I didn't tie it to the boat well enough and it sunk to the bottom. Next I dropped my alvey rod/reel (for bait) in the drink ,straight to the bottom.
There was plenty of bait and arches on the sounder on the Western side and when we drifted over and let our 5" nuc.chooks down we would be SMASHED straight away ! The reels would scream and when we tried to set the hooks and began pulling them in,they would simply let go the sp's.:'(
I would let them run for a bit ,was sure they were on but........nuh!
I think they were snapps as the sp's came back a little chewed but with nothing missing.We wound up the drags a bit and then ( would you believe ) the wifes sp rod and reel took off out of the rod holder straight into the drink.
I estimate about $ 400 worth of gear lost and one undersized moses perch.
Anyone want to buy a boat ?
tailorboi99
21-03-2008, 10:20 AM
Unluck! My mate Keechie has gone there today!
Cheers TOm
BaitThrower
21-03-2008, 10:22 AM
man thats some streak of bad luck!
3rd degree
21-03-2008, 03:10 PM
Just read another report where they too lost a rod in the bay, sounds like there may be a few out there!
Hamish73
21-03-2008, 03:16 PM
what a bugger!
I wont complain about my day then, all I lost was $100(?) in fuel and a bit of bait, but it was a nice day out on the water
baychaser
21-03-2008, 03:47 PM
Yeah , I reckon I'll probably laugh about this day , when I'm about 90 ;D
21-03-2008, 04:36 PM
Yeah , I reckon I'll probably laugh about this day , when I'm about 90 ;D
I'm not laughing, too close to home for me. I lost a 12ft custom made schneider a mate and I built. 5.5" Alvey - the lot!! And a mates' G Loomis is somewhere around southwest rocks at Peel.
I NEVER leave rods unattended these days only fishing one. It's called the two rod curse, and plastics fishing is definitely a 1 rod affair. Will you change? Sorry to hear about your bad day.
Freeeedom
21-03-2008, 04:38 PM
Years ago I had a rod pulled overboard at Peel when fishing there at night. The next day I donned mask and snorkel and went over the side. Found the rod on the bottom just a few metres behind the boat. The fish, unfortunately was long gone. I've still got the rod, by the way.
Cheers Freeeedom
baychaser
21-03-2008, 05:57 PM
Yeah Scalem , I will now be using one rod only and making sure everyone holds on tight when in use.
The wife was having too much fun watching me fight a big one one which reefed me to keep an eye on the other rod bent over and slipping out the holder !:P
chief
21-03-2008, 06:59 PM
What can you say to that, Mate i hate losing a hard body to a fish let alone my whole combo.That has to be the worst bad luck. Lets hope your lucks on the change and next trip you score a few PBs
No Fear
21-03-2008, 08:49 PM
Mate I'm hearing ya about shit days...... Me and and mate went out in our boats respectivly to Wide Cal, a bit bumpy in the 5m Centre Console and 17foot banana boat (only cos its yellow)... get to spot X only to find that my TLD 25 and rod had mysteriously disappeared from its rod holder....I assume it had done a dive and is now part of the wire weed somewhere.............then first drop banana boat decided he wants to donate his new anchor and 75metres of rope to the reef.....we tried to explain that spinning props and rope don't mix.....he's from Toowoomba and still learning, so another 14 trips and he'll have it down pat!!!! $600 worth of gear for 4 pearl perch...... thats like swapping Lara Bingle for Dame Edna.........awesome!!!!
Keechie
22-03-2008, 07:26 AM
we had some bad luck on friday too we decided to troll and some guy raced through our wash and all of a sudden zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz he ended up losing about 150 bucks worth of line next instance we were fishing for s few small squire around the mouth of the brizzie river and all of a sudden zzzz the rod ops out and bounced on the floor and luckily mu incle caught it;D we ended up losing that fish because we got spooled and the only thing holding the line on the spool was sticktape:-/ the fish jumped twice then all the line disapeared.
ANY ONE KNOW WHAT THIS FISH COULD OF BEEN???
regards,
keechie
baychaser
22-03-2008, 08:05 AM
We also had a sp flick at the mouth of the brisbane river about midday and a LOT of strikes ect ( no hookups ) and I think it was just junk fish as they kept biting the tails off our sp's making them useless. Wasted a lot of nuc.chooks.
woodsy76
22-03-2008, 09:26 AM
great report thanks 4 the info. woodsy
22-03-2008, 09:33 AM
That certainly was not a very good day on the water for you sorry to hear. That age old saying "A bad day fishing beats a good day at work!" is very borderline in your case. Oh well on the bright side you now have an excuse to shop for more fishing gear. Better luck next time.
mik01
22-03-2008, 11:07 AM
a special thanks to the old fools who anchored up within 10m of us at Western mud yesterday. these dicks did 3 runs past us, then with a huge ocean to choose from, promptly dropped anchor close enough for me to piss on them.
realising we were giving them many odd looks and that my line was already in the water near them, these geniuses decide to up anchor and move away....
right over the top of my line!!!
so zzzzzzzzzz, off it goes wrapped around this idiot's prop and I'm yelling but they can't hear. quickly tightened the drag and snapped it off but not before losing our last livey on the other end and about 50m of line.>:(
oh, and while I'm at it - special thanks also to the tools in an inflatable who flew past us at fisherman's island while we were anchored up out of the channel. appreciated the huge swell you guys threw up for us and the way you managed to get really close to us at full throttle. I have a good memory for boats and will return the favour someday soon!!!
gotta love public holidays right??::)
RayDeR
22-03-2008, 11:24 AM
G'day!
It seems that rods disapear over the side regualrly. Certainly with this bunch of fishos.
Is it feasible to put a safety chain on a rod in a holder? A quick release pin would allow the rod to be picked up quickly. With the pice of gear, the comparitably small price of a chain and pins plus brackets would be not worth considering.
Ray De R
baychaser
22-03-2008, 01:13 PM
Hey Mik01 , I'm sorry mate but your tale ended up giving a laugh and made me feel a bit better.:D
Those old blokes at Mud , were they in a real beat up old fiberglass tinney ,maybe a dirty green ?
These clowns decided to clean their boat and put on the straps , have a coffee ect right in the middle of the whyte Island boat ramp with van doors wide open so the missus had a hell of a time trying to back the boat down .
That was the start to my day and really put my teeth on edge.;D
At the wifes urging I now have to go to the tackle shop and get lots of new gear "sigh" ;)
mik01
23-03-2008, 12:23 AM
haha - no mate they were in a new cruise craft. but I'm sure there were more than a few 'tools' out there yesterday.
you want a laugh???
then you should have been at the ramp at Colmslie at 11.30 yesterday! what a dogs breakfast that was! blokes everywhere, cars everywhere -
blokes trying to launch the tinny after not backing the trailer in enough (trying to drop it off the back@!), plus left the tie down strap on(::) ), one on the mobile while both heaving to lift the tinny off.. had no idea why it wouldn't slide off the trailer???? :-/ finally the penny dropped while I broke out laughing!!
what a laugh that was!
of course no one can wait - bloke trying to reverse right down while my mate was trying to drive our boat off the ramp - had to weave between boats and people.
sigh!!
and they call it Good Friday!!!!
baychaser
23-03-2008, 06:36 AM
LOL. you've made my day :D
Keechie
23-03-2008, 06:30 PM
a special thanks to the old fools who anchored up within 10m of us at Western mud yesterday. these dicks did 3 runs past us, then with a huge ocean to choose from, promptly dropped anchor close enough for me to piss on them.
realising we were giving them many odd looks and that my line was already in the water near them, these geniuses decide to up anchor and move away....
right over the top of my line!!!
so zzzzzzzzzz, off it goes wrapped around this idiot's prop and I'm yelling but they can't hear. quickly tightened the drag and snapped it off but not before losing our last livey on the other end and about 50m of line.>:(
oh, and while I'm at it - special thanks also to the tools in an inflatable who flew past us at fisherman's island while we were anchored up out of the channel. appreciated the huge swell you guys threw up for us and the way you managed to get really close to us at full throttle. I have a good memory for boats and will return the favour someday soon!!!
gotta love public holidays right??::)
those guys in the inflatable got us too we were anchored just inside the rockwall legally then we were seated and i nearly fell out of the boat thanks alot to you guy's. also while i feel like complaining also some people on a 435 hornet decided while we were anchored by the rockwall decided to fly past us then put the electric in and go through where i was casting at the rockwall with my plastics>:(
regards,
keechie
Didley
23-03-2008, 07:25 PM
Baychaser, At least I bet your next trip will be a better one.;D
To the rest of U that's what U get 4 going boating at Easter.:'(
baychaser
23-03-2008, 11:24 PM
Yeah Didley , its best to avoid Easter on the water if possible but with the weather being such crap over the last 4 months I reckon its too tempting to sit at home , you know the drama that will probably unfold at the ramp ect but we go anyway ::) .
The best thing about public hols.are all the nightmare stories that come out and always give me a laugh. :D
BLOOEY
24-03-2008, 08:59 AM
Jesus, you guys had a shocker. Keechie, your big fish sounds like it could have been a thready. Ben
ddobson
24-03-2008, 12:57 PM
You think your the only one to do it but then it happens to you. I just punched out to peel and pulled up and grabbed my light snapper rod and broke the tip of my new brim rod and had a laugh about how everyone seems to be loosen there whole rods overboard and then i go and break a rod i have only used about 3 times. Cheers PS At least you got some good hits on the west side when i never get a touch on that side.
baychaser
24-03-2008, 02:33 PM
Hi Ddobson , that was the worst part , that we were finally getting big hits on the western side for the 1st time and then end up with two out of three rods in the drink >:( .
If I had landed just one of those big biters ( whatever they were ) it would have almost been worth it.
All we got was one undersize Moses Perch ( and a ton of lessons learnt the hard way ):P
mik01
24-03-2008, 03:33 PM
Yeah Didley , its best to avoid Easter on the water if possible but with the weather being such crap over the last 4 months I reckon its too tempting to sit at home , you know the drama that will probably unfold at the ramp ect but we go anyway ::) .
The best thing about public hols.are all the nightmare stories that come out and always give me a laugh. :D
haha - yeah I love the stories as well.
as bad as some of the behaviour is out there I never let it upset me too much as it will ruin my day. I'm happy to come home safe with a feed and have a whinge on here!!! always makes me feel better :-/
oh and yeah - after weeks of no fishing the weather gods turned on a pearler on friday and again last night when I went out. its like offering heroin to a junkie::) ::)
Seahorse
24-03-2008, 05:09 PM
I went down to vic point today visiting and thought i would go down to the boat ramp, as and boatie would do.
I dont think i have been at a ramp that is nicely organised.
Iam talking about the pontoon one.
My first visit there.
Park ur boat on pontoon then just wait ur turn.
All went so well.
Only one lane per side of pontoon.
baychaser
24-03-2008, 06:02 PM
Hi Seahorse , did you get out to NE Mud on Thursday night ?
Just wondering how you went , I was up to it but couldn't get out. I see the moon was really full that night so maybe not much would have happened :-/