View Full Version : 27 Meg

Mark-P
16-03-2008, 03:25 PM
Was just wondering if theres a brand that stands out eg ( GME ) & if there range
is based on line of site ?? Any help appreciated !!

Kleyny
16-03-2008, 03:47 PM
I think there are two main brands that would be OK, they are GME and uniden.
the distance of the units can come down to size of arial. but line of site is the normal rule of thumb.

neil

16-03-2008, 03:54 PM
GME Uniden or Icom. All good and all work. Are you planning on outside trips? If so mate fit a VHF as well, for the extra cost worth it for outside.

Mark-P
16-03-2008, 04:04 PM
Yeah i was think of both mike , just trying to cut down on expences !!
Cheap Ass

Mark-P
16-03-2008, 04:09 PM
What about handheld VHF ???

16-03-2008, 04:23 PM
Handheld VHF work ok, but again is limited in range due to aerial height issues. With VHF, higher the aerial the better and also line of sight. Fit a 26meg and then fit a VHF down the track when you have enough and pick one up cheap maybe on ebay or in thewanted thread on ausfish

Fish Guts
16-03-2008, 08:45 PM
i reckon i could yell and get further than a 27mg. honestly not worth it mate, go a gme vhf, pretty cheap and work a treat !

16-03-2008, 09:09 PM
If you want to save the coin dont get the 27 - just get a VHF especially if you plan to go outside regularly.

16-03-2008, 09:15 PM
27 meg is not goimng to be monitored much from here on in, it will become simply a chat radio.

VHF only way to go

Mark-P
17-03-2008, 03:59 PM
Thank Garry, Greg & F'G ..... You just don't realise how much johnny cash is required to set a boat up from new ! My last boat had every thing you could possible need , but of cause it was secondhand when i got it ....... Starting to think i may have been better off buy an established boat , like from some one who fished offshore //??

fsh00
17-03-2008, 08:20 PM
Another misconception that has been gained over the years is that VHF will carry further than 27meg which is not the case. VHF is strictly line of sight where as 27meg will bounce of the earths ionesphere (i think it is) and reflect the signal out.
fsh00.

Simmo2
17-03-2008, 08:41 PM
Another misconception that has been gained over the years is that VHF will carry further than 27meg which is not the case. VHF is strictly line of sight where as 27meg will bounce of the earths ionesphere (i think it is) and reflect the signal out.
fsh00.

A very good point. I have had reliable conversations with Japan and the US with 27 ish megs, but only when conditions were right.
Tropospheric ducting could also see your VHF signal quite easily get to NZ....
But the conditions have to be right....
With waiting for weather, swell, days off, moons, tides and whether or not the missus says its ok... I'd rather get a more reliable short/medium range radio.
VHF fits that bill rather nicely.

QF3 MROCP
17-03-2008, 08:43 PM
27 meg is not goimng to be monitored much from here on in, it will become simply a chat radio.

VHF only way to go

Mark-T.

Have a read of the radio operators handbook: http://www.amcom.amc.edu.au/handbook/amc.omc.mrohb.08.pdf

You'll see it becomes more of an issue of "Who's Listening" rather than price or range etc..

The listening audience, not range, is the thing to be more worried about. At the end of the day, the radio is there for two reasons:

One - when you have to send a MAYDAY call (not ever wishing that on anyone) and
Two; for you the hear one and be able to relay the call or assist the other boatie..

Go for VHF

Mark-P
18-03-2008, 05:05 PM
Thanks for the feedback, looks like a radio coarse is my next move !!

Willo
18-03-2008, 06:25 PM
fsh00.

True FshOO
From off Tweed Heads on my 27mg I have picked up the Gippsland Lakes in Victoria down South
And Townsville up north
But must admit only on rare occasions
Willo

18-03-2008, 06:29 PM
True FshOO
From off Tweed Heads on my 27mg I have picked up the Gippsland Lakes in Victoria down South
And Townsville up north
Willo

Well if its that good how come ya cant hear us from Palmy then ;D

Willo
18-03-2008, 08:09 PM
Well if its that good how come ya cant hear us from Palmy then ;D

As I told ya,... It's was hard to hear ya from my bed that day . LOL :) :)
Willo

BrewGuru
18-03-2008, 08:18 PM
With 27meg be careful, its not all about aerial its also about watts, there is a lot of cheap 1-3 watt hand held units out there if you are going 27meg, make sure it is a 5 watt unit either GME or Uniden

trueblue
18-03-2008, 08:28 PM
go with VHF

27 meg is just a good extra radio for close communications between 2 boats fishing close together who don't want others to hear what they are saying.......

Agreed, in some locations and on some days with perfect atmospheric conditions you can get very good range with a 27 meg radio, but no one is listening if you need help!!

stick with the VHF if you can only afford one radio.

QF3 MROCP
18-03-2008, 10:14 PM
True FshOO
And Townsville up north
Willo

and with VHF I've heard Rotnest Island which is of the coast in Perth W.A. in the Manly radio room on a normal Saturday radio watch. It's all about "ducting"

jeffrey_h
19-03-2008, 09:14 AM
Hi Peter,

What do you think of a handheld VHF radio and which is the best to get.

I think the radio room's mast at MBTBC is somewhat bigger that most boaties have.

Jeffrey
IFG

QF3 MROCP
19-03-2008, 08:18 PM
Hi Peter,

What do you think of a handheld VHF radio and which is the best to get.

I think the radio room's mast at MBTBC is somewhat bigger that most boaties have.

Jeffrey
IFG

Ours is bigger than theirs.... It's now on a mobile phone tower....

Handheld - based on what I've seen over the years at different locations - their always stuffed. Easy to drop, never charged, aerials broken. We use them mainly in the rubber ducks when leaving the mother ship to go either ashore or onto another boat.

Around the bay, they'll work with the repeater stations.

Not had any experience buying them - I'll check our brand over the weekend or give us a call on 3203 5522, Easter Sat or Sunday - I'm on duty those days.

Simmo2
19-03-2008, 09:03 PM
I'll go out on a limb here and say that Hand helds do indeed have their place. In situations such as Peter described, ie local boat to boat, stern to bow type stuff...no worries. The majority of radio's used in this manner would be returned to charger in a short while one would think.

The majority of hand helds operate on low power (1 or 2 watts max) to conserve a rather meagre power supply/battery. Sure, some can be turned up to high power (maybe 3 to 5 watts) and if the supply is available, will output this level.

Then they operate into a rather inefficient antenna (IMO!), the 'rubber ducky' in most cases. They are really battling to radiate any power at all.

Although I have done so in the past, I would not rely on a HH radio to be of any use at sea other than to talk to a bloke you can physically see over there.

QF3 MROCP
24-03-2008, 10:05 PM
Ours is bigger than theirs.... It's now on a mobile phone tower....

Handheld - based on what I've seen over the years at different locations - their always stuffed. Easy to drop, never charged, aerials broken. We use them mainly in the rubber ducks when leaving the mother ship to go either ashore or onto another boat.

Around the bay, they'll work with the repeater stations.

Not had any experience buying them - I'll check our brand over the weekend or give us a call on 3203 5522, Easter Sat or Sunday - I'm on duty those days.

We just bought a Raymarine. Apparently it was value for money. I found it a bit heavy for holding over a short time and was a bit surprised the squelch control knob larger than the volume one - just my opinion only. It was also branded "water resistant" - time will tell
file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/PETER&%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.jpgfile:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/PETER&%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.jpgfile:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/PETER&%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-2.jpg

Bowser
30-03-2008, 12:10 PM
For mine I would probably go with a 2nd hand 27 meg. These can be bought very cheaply and then save up for a decent VHF with DSC. At the moment the DSC is next to useless but it will become the thing for marine distress signals giving accurate, fast and reliable location and vessel ID to monitoring stations. I fish of South Passage bar in Brisbane and get good reception from Bribie to Victoria point and stations in between. These aren't random signals dependent on atmospheric conditions, for these I have picked up stations as far afield as Victoria and Townsville with a basic radio and 1.8m cheap antennae. I can clearly call VMR Raby Bay or MBBC mid week from the 35's which gives me the security I need. I will get VHF when I upgrade the boat but will still run the 27 meg. Using both systems gives the added security of redundancy and coverage by more stations and vessels.