View Full Version : 2 reports for the price of 1' River/Green
chief
16-03-2008, 02:29 PM
I did a solo trip to the river this morning and Garrett went to Green in a mates boat.It was always an interesting comparison between the river and the islands ,to what was caught on the day. Garrett spent a few hours drifting the Island this morning and came up with 3 squire all about 38 cm , 1 legal cod and a sole. Heaps of small sweetlip biting there heads off so it there was plenty of action but not a lot of quality. He tells me 5-6 boats fished this area with the ones he spoke to, finding they couldn't get a touch,Sounds like he did all right .
I was up the sunny coast late last night so I had a late start on the water so my choice was the river. I found it dead quiet today and really worked hard to produce only 2 hits for 2 fish. Very tough ,I didn't even release 1 undersized fish although each fish I did catch were of reasonable quality. Wind and tide together made for a quicker drift today and i was forced to fish a little heavier than i would have liked to. Also had a hard time finding bait shows on the sounder .So put the 2 trips together and we would have made a good day. No pics of garretts fish as i had the camera. Bream went 38 cm and squire 57 cm;D Cheers and have a safe ,happy easter8-) and hope we get some decent wheather:-/
Mark-P
16-03-2008, 03:31 PM
Nice report Chief, when you go up the river what ramps the best ?
Fish_gutz
16-03-2008, 03:31 PM
thats a nice squire Chief . I also found the going quiet yesterday with a quick bite session just as the sun went down but couldn`t get my timing right and missed a few. threw a couple of undersized back.
Your Mum will be happy with the bream :) well done again Chief. Andrew.
marty+jojo
16-03-2008, 03:51 PM
Hey Chief, that is a cracker squire for the river mate, i bet he went hard. D id ya pull it from one of the wharfs or in open water?
Marty.
chief
16-03-2008, 05:06 PM
Mark-p .... I use fishermans Is. mostly or Aquarium passage ramp. The only problem at aquarium is the old mate who is always naked on his yatch as you pass by at 6 knots. Funny bugger ,even in winter he only wears the jumper ,never wears any strides ;D
Marty...He came from open water about 6 meters Depth. Mate what i've found that in the summer months the squire hold very close to the wharves and even right back in the sticks and the quality seems to be better. Making them hard to get out. As the colder months come on they tend to venture out into more open water and you get that mix of sizes with the rats as well. That one today is the first one for a while I've caught clear from the wharves . This is just a personal observation of river squire and interesting today I found the area I was fishing had dropped 4 degrees ?? in water temp than previous months??? Then come winter when the temps at 16 your catching them around the green near the boat passage and well in the open river areas.
GO THE REDS..
16-03-2008, 06:20 PM
Both are quality fish Chief. Nice work
HMMMMM Green might be worth a look later in the week
Pistol_P
16-03-2008, 06:22 PM
Nice squire Chief....
I have to look these days as to what chief I am replying too....
There are some members trying to steal ya name....:P
Fish_gutz
16-03-2008, 06:44 PM
I came unstuck also pete!
Seahorse
16-03-2008, 06:46 PM
Lucky chief.
Fishing and catching.:'(
I hope to go out to mud on thursday arvo and night. Mate got couple nice ones there. Think they are still there. Good tide thurs night.
Hope to get amonst them.
Lets pray for good weather.
Aquarius
16-03-2008, 06:51 PM
Nice snappery squire there Chief.
It may have been a quiet session but atleast you came home with a nice feed.
Many hours in the same location soon yields some quality fish and it looks like you and Garret have the river sussed.
What was the surface temp today?
Did Garret happen to notice the temp around Green?
Cheers Brent
tailorboi99
16-03-2008, 07:06 PM
That's a tough Squire, nice size Bream aswell. What plastics did the damage?
Cheers Tom
ddobson
16-03-2008, 07:59 PM
You still know the river better than most. Good catch of both brim and squire. Do you put your good catches to the leccy or is this just youe experiance keeping the good catches coming because my tillar leccy is bugging me when in the river for brim having the wind turning my bow around and then not enough power to pull me back in on reverse. I have had better luck in raby bay with some brim on plastics which at least puts me on the board. Keep em coming chief well done again.
chief
16-03-2008, 08:20 PM
Horse... I was thinking the same thing ,from wednesday on.
Brent..I asked Garrett when he got home and unfortunately they were fishing blind. Sounder was on the blink and they had no readings. He was fishing by land marks.
Tailorboi ... 4 inch turtle backs
Pete and Muz...Funny I've met a lot of people from ausfish around the ramps who recognised me by the hair plaited in the tail at the back. Cut that off yesterday so just another chief now ;D
haggis
16-03-2008, 08:54 PM
good report chief ,
I spent the day in nuggee creek playing with soft plastics only . no bait which for me is very unusual as I always like to throw out a pillie or mullet strip .
only got the one hit which smashed the plastic I was using .
will keep trying whith the softies .
cheers haggis .
MattChew
16-03-2008, 09:02 PM
Good on ya Chief, Nice couple of fish there! Doesn't seem to be many small Bream in the Brisbane river of late ... maybe all the Threadies & Snapps are keeping them in check!!!
Bassmaster1
16-03-2008, 09:14 PM
Sounds like a tough session with a reasonable result, that is one very nice looking squire and I bet he tastes as good as he looks ;D.
Gave the 4 inch turtleback a good crack in the Kedron Brook floodway on Saturday, was quite effective producing both lizards, bream and toadies!!! Got quite a few prawns and a beatuiful little school jew almost on the doorstep of DFO. Will do a post when my mate sends me the pics 2moz. Great healthy little eastury over there.
BM
chief
17-03-2008, 05:07 AM
Dobson.... you couldn't fish where i do without an electric.That auto pilot on the bow mounts is what makes it a lot easier than the tiller. But that wind still makes it hard work at the moment,you still have to keep correcting your position. Mate i'm still learninghow to use it,Garrett picked it up pretty quick but he's young and still has all his brain cells ;D
BM ...I wouldn't go witout a few packets
bayfisher
17-03-2008, 11:12 AM
A couple of nice specimens there mate, You seem to have the place worked out, even on the tough days your bringing home the goods out from the river.
jarhead
17-03-2008, 11:57 AM
Nice couple of fish there chief, good stuff.
Wal
NeMo84
17-03-2008, 12:49 PM
mate that is one lovely fish.
chief
17-03-2008, 02:24 PM
Hey Carlos, I think theres one there with your name on it when you can drag yourself away from the ladies ;D